Detailed Action
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The swage sleeve being covered by the decorative material of the outer portion of claim 5.
The cord member and handle of the leash being integrated and therefore a single element
as claimed in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 is rejected for lack of clarity regarding the handle, openings and cover shells. It appears, based on the specification and drawings, particularly fig 7, that the handle is formed from a second flexible section with its own openings and cover shells. However, this is not claimed, and therefore the claims are unclear as to which parts are part of the cord member versus that of the handle. Suggested corrected language includes: “wherein the handle is formed by coupling second flexible structure with a connection member." Claim 15 is likewise rejected in regards to the coupling openings and flexible structure. Claim 16 is rejected by virtue of dependency. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michonski (US 2737154 A, as cited by Applicant in IDS) in view of Yong-hwan (KR-20120006775-U) and Margot (DE-202017000782-U1).
Regarding claim 1, Michonski discloses an accessory for an animal, comprising at least one flexible structure (12), comprising an inner portion (26) surrounded at least in part by an outer portion (24), wherein the inner portion is a cord (cord 26), wherein the outer portion is made of a decorative material (wire coiled spring 24), which has its ends fixed inside a fastening element (24 is fixed inside 22, see fig 4), characterized in that the fastening element is a cover shell (22) with a coupling opening and (20), the decorative material of the outer portion is a mesh or a mesh-like structure (stainless steel wire spring chord 24, mesh like).
Michonski fails to disclose wherein the cord is formed by twisting a plurality of wires and wherein each end of the cord is folded back to form a loop that is held in place by a swage sleeve.
Yong-hwan teaches wherein the inner portion is a cord (3), formed by twisting a plurality of wires (1a, see fig 3 and pages 2 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the cord to be formed by twisted wires with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide increased strength and durability of the inner portion, thereby providing an accessory that will withstand rough play by an animal.
Margot teaches wherein each end of the cord (8) is folded back to form a loop that is held in place by a swage sleeve (10, see figs 71-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the end of the cord with the configuration and swage sleeve of Margot with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the connecting loop end of the cord is securely attached, thereby provide increased strength and durability such that the accessory will withstand rough play by an animal.
Regarding claim 2, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 1, and Michonski further discloses wherein the mesh or the mesh-like structure is made of metal (24 is stainless steel).
Regarding claim 4, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the loop and the swage sleeve are positioned inside the cover shell.
Margot teaches wherein the loop (9) and the swage sleeve (10) are positioned inside the cover shell (shell 7 with coupling 5, see fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the loop and swage sleeve inside the cover shell with a reasonable expectation of success as this will protect the loop and swage sleeve from damage by the animal such as chewing or scratching, to provide a more durable accessory.
Regarding claim 5, the modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the swage sleeve is covered by the decorative material of the outer portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the accessory with the swage sleeve being covered by the decorative material with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide a more aesthetically pleasing and protective configuration, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70. Applicant has not provided criticality for this placement of the decorative material.
Regarding claim 6, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the loop is positioned around the coupling opening of the cover shell.
Margot teaches wherein the loop (9) is positioned around the coupling opening (5) of the cover shell (loop 9 around coupling 5 of cover shell 7, see fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the loop positioned around the coupling opening of the shell with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide a stronger and more secure arrangement, thereby providing increased strength and durability such that the accessory will withstand rough play by an animal.
Regarding claim 7, the modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the mesh or mesh-like structure is made of brass. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mesh to be made of brass with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide a more aesthetically pleasing accessory, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Applicant has not provided criticality for the type of material.
Regarding claim 8, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 1, and Yong-hwan further teaches wherein the twisted wires of the cord are made of steel (interior core wires are steel, see page 4).
Regarding claim 9, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 1, and Michonski further discloses wherein the coupling opening of the cover shell of at least one end of the at least one flexible structure is fitted with a ring and/or a chain (ring 20, see figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 1, and Michonski further discloses wherein the accessory is a leash (see figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 1, and Michonski further discloses wherein the leash comprises a handle (10) and a cord member (12, see figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 1, and Michonski further discloses wherein the cord member and the handle of the leash are integrated (see fig 1-2) and have a cover shell with a coupling opening (20 and 22).
Regarding claim 13, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 1, and Michonski further discloses wherein the cord member of the leash comprises a flexible structure (12) provided at each end with a cover shell (22) having a coupling opening (20, see figs 1-2).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michonski (US 2737154 A) in view of Yong-hwan (KR-20120006775-U) and Margot (DE-202017000782-U1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gibson (BR-112018005431-B1).
Regarding claim 3, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 1, and Michonski further discloses wherein the cord is surrounded by the mesh or mesh-like structure (see fig 2).
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the ends of the mesh or the mesh-like structure are soldered to the cover shell.
Gibson teaches the ends of the mesh or the mesh-like structure are soldered to the cover shell (first and second panel permanently fixed together by soldering, see page 7 and claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the connection of the mesh to the cover shell to be soldered as taught by Gibson with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide a very strong and durable connection, thereby providing increased strength and durability such that the accessory will withstand rough play by an animal.
Claim(s) 14-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michonski (US 2737154 A) in view of Yong-hwan (KR-20120006775-U) and Margot (DE-202017000782-U1) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Scott (US-5842446-A).
Regarding claim 14, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 13.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the handle is formed by coupling the openings of the cover shells of both ends of a flexible structure with a connection member.
Scott teaches wherein the handle (1) is formed by coupling the openings (10, 11) of the cover shells of both ends of a flexible structure (1) with a connection member (12, see fig 2a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the handle with the configuration and couplings of Scott with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the handle is securely fastened to prevent accidental uncoupling of the handle if the animal pulls excessively, thereby preventing injury to the owner, and escape of the animal.
Regarding claim 15, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 13.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the handle is formed by coupling rings and/or chains fitted to the coupling opening of the flexible structure with a connection member.
Scott teaches wherein the handle (1) is formed by coupling rings and/or chains fitted to the coupling opening (10,11) of the flexible structure (1) with a connection member (12, see fig 2a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the handle with the configuration and couplings of Scott with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the handle is securely fastened to prevent accidental uncoupling of the handle if the animal pulls excessively, thereby preventing injury to the owner, and escape of the animal.
Regarding claim 16, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 15, and Scott further teaches wherein the leash (13) is formed by coupling the opening of the cover shell of one of the cord member's ends (5) with the connection member of the handle (12, see fig 2a).
Regarding claim 17, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the accessory is a collar.
Scott teaches wherein the accessory is a collar (1, see fig 2a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the accessory to be a collar as taught by Scott with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the animal is properly restrained to prevent escape of the animal.
Regarding claim 18, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 17, and Scott further teaches wherein the collar (1) is formed by coupling the openings (10, 11) of the cover shells of both ends of a flexible structure (3) with a connection member (12 and 5, see fig 2a).
Regarding claim 19, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 17, and Scott further teaches wherein the collar (1) is formed by coupling rings and/or chains (12) fitted to the coupling opening (10, 11) of the flexible structure (3) with a connection member (5 and 12, see fig 2a).
Regarding claim 21, the modified reference teaches the accessory according to claim 18, and Scott further teaches wherein the connection member is a snap hook (snap hook 5, see fig 2a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Those references cited on the attached 892 form, but not referenced in the rejection above, exhibit similarities to the present invention, particularly, Tozawa (JP 4918195 B2), which discloses an animal accessory with a multi-material cord secured in a loop via a swage sleeve, and connecting hooks.
/K.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642