DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-27 have been presented for examination and are rejected.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 and of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy was filed on 06/18/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/18/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-17 objected to because of the following informalities: claims 16-17 are objected to because of the following informalities: limitation “ a SISL data “, acronyms the SISL need to be spelled out in their first occurrence “stands for Simple Information Serialization Language”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: limitation “ JSON, XML, CSV “, acronyms the JSON, XML or CSV need to be spelled out in their first occurrence “eXtensible Markup Language”, “JavaScript Object Notation” etc. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-15, 19, 21 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton et al. (US 20200349275 hereinafter Milton) in view of Samaranayake et al.(US 10686899 hereinafter Samaranayake).
With respect to claims 1, 11 and 18, Milton teaches a method for accessing calendar information located across a network domain boundary (9) separating a first network domain (3) and second network domain (2) (Milton, see FIG. 1 and paras. [0013-0015] a first domain D1 internal to the computing system 100. For example, the first domain D1 may be hosted by one or more of the server computing devices 10… a second account of a second domain D2 external to the computing system 100), comprising:
a user creating enquiry data at the first network domain (3) and transferring the enquiry data between the first network domain (3) and the second network domain (2) to provide a user data request (Milton, see para. [0015] the disclosed configurations offer the potential technical advantage some calendar information can be shared in a manner that maintains a user's privacy without requiring an API to be provisioned for shared communication between the domains. To link the accounts together, the user may, at the first client device 14, request the personal information management service 12 to add the second account. Because the second account is at the second domain D2 and not the first domain D1, the personal information management service 12 requests an external server 22 having a processor 22A and associated memory 22B that hosts the second domain D2 to authenticate access to the second account (S1));
comparing the user data request to permission criteria relating to the user in the second network domain (2) to determine whether at least part of the permission criteria is met (Milton, see para. [0020] In interface 28A of FIG. 4A, after the user enters the name of the second account, the user is prompted to enter a password for authenticating the second account. In interface 28B of FIG. 4B, after the user's credentials are verified, the user may confirm or deny any listed permission requests by the personal information management service 12. If the permission requests are denied, the authentication may fail, and the second account may not be linked. If the permission requests are confirmed, then the accounts may be linked);
based on the comparing, retrieving response data from a data storage area located in the second network domain (2) (Milton, see para. [0030] the method 800 may include storing an authentication token in memory for retrieving a copy of a calendar of a second account of the user from a server of a second domain);
subsequently transferring the response data between the second network domain (2) and the first network domain (3) (Milton, see para. [0030] the method 800 may include sending a second calendar entry for display on the calendar interface, the second calendar entry being for the calendar of the second account of the user of the second domain); and
displaying or otherwise alerting receipt of the response data by the user located at the first network domain (3) (Milton, see paras. [0031-0032] At 812, the method 800 may include, in response to the request, sending to the requesting user the first calendar entry including first calendar entry details, and the second calendar entry without second calendar entry details…At 814, the method 800 may include receiving an update to the second calendar entry from a server of the second domain, and at 816, sending the update to the user for display on the calendar interface. The client device used by the user may be configured to query the server of the second domain directly to sync updates, or the server of the first domain may sync updates to the sandboxed folder, if included, and then send the updates to the client device),
Milton yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein any response data received by the user located at the first network domain (3) is ephemeral.
However, Samaranayake discloses wherein any response data received by the user located at the first network domain (3) is ephemeral (Samaranayake, see Col. 21, lines 39-44, in response to the data about the message indicating a change in a volume of past ephemeral messages exchanged between the first client device and a second client device, wherein the ephemeral messages are associated with a message deletion trigger…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Milton with the teaching of Samaranayake to provide a method for ensuring that the response data received by the user at the first network is ephemeral enhances data security and privacy by avoiding permanent storage in an insecure or less trusted environment.
With respect to claims 3, 13 and 20, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, further comprising electronically mapping the response data into calendar information to be displayed or otherwise received by the user located at the first network domain (3) (Milton, see paras. [0002, 0021] to send a first calendar entry 20A for display on a calendar interface 18 for the user, the first calendar entry 20A being for the first account of the user of the first domain D1).
With respect to claim 4, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, wherein the calendar information is displayed on a user display (4b) and an act of refreshing the user display (4b) triggers the calendar information to be cleared (Milton, see para. [0028] While FIG. 6 shows an example calendar interface 18 in which the second calendar entry 24A is displayed for the user without the second calendar entry details 24B, upon receiving a request from the user to hide all calendar entries from the second account in the calendar interface 18 (e.g., by unchecking the box 30), the at least one processor 10A, 14A, 14B may be configured to cause the first client device 14 to cease displaying the second calendar entry 24A in the calendar interface 18, as in FIG. 5).
With respect to claim 5, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, wherein response data is retrieved only for the part of the user data request where the permission criteria is met (Milton, see para. [0031] At 810, the method 800 may include receiving a request for an availability of the user from a requesting user having a third account of the first domain. The requesting user may be a coworker, etc., authorized to be on the same work network as the user. The requesting user has login credentials that have been authenticated to grant access to the personal information management service and also has permission to view the user's non-private calendar entries).
With respect to claim 6, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, wherein the part of the user data request where the permission criteria has not been met is discarded or otherwise ignored (Milton, see para. [0020] In interface 28A of FIG. 4A, after the user enters the name of the second account, the user is prompted to enter a password for authenticating the second account. In interface 28B of FIG. 4B, after the user's credentials are verified, the user may confirm or deny any listed permission requests by the personal information management service 12. If the permission requests are denied, the authentication may fail, and the second account may not be linked. If the permission requests are confirmed, then the accounts may be linked).
With respect to claim 7, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, wherein either the first network domain (3) is a trusted network domain and the second network domain (2) is a lesser trusted network domain or the first network domain (3) is a lesser trusted network domain and the second network domain (2) is the trusted network domain, or the first network domain (3) and the second network domain (2) have the same level of trust (Milton, see para. [0020] In interface 28A of FIG. 4A, after the user enters the name of the second account, the user is prompted to enter a password for authenticating the second account. In interface 28B of FIG. 4B, after the user's credentials are verified, the user may confirm or deny any listed permission requests by the personal information management service 12. If the permission requests are denied, the authentication may fail, and the second account may not be linked. If the permission requests are confirmed, then the accounts may be linked).
With respect to claim 8, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, wherein the first network domain (3) and the second network domain (2) have separate and distinct security management criteria (Milton, see para. [0015] the disclosed configurations offer the potential technical advantage some calendar information can be shared in a manner that maintains a user's privacy without requiring an API to be provisioned for shared communication between the domains To link the accounts together, the user may, at the first client device 14, request the personal information management service 12 to add the second account. Because the second account is at the second domain D2 and not the first domain D1, the personal information management service 12 requests an external server 22 having a processor 22A and associated memory 22B that hosts the second domain D2 to authenticate access to the second account (S1)).
With respect to claim 9, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, further comprising response data solely being transferred between the second network domain (2) and the first network domain (3) upon a calendar information request by the user located at the first network domain (3) (Milton, see FIG. 1 and paras. [0013-0015] a first domain D1 internal to the computing system 100. For example, the first domain D1 may be hosted by one or more of the server computing devices 10… a second account of a second domain D2 external to the computing system 100).
With respect to claim 10, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, further comprising collating the response data associated with the second network domain (2) with calendar data stored on the first network domain (3) to provide a single calendar display comprising both event entries from the first network domain (3) and the second network domain (2) (Milton, see para. [0022] FIG. 5 is an example calendar interface 18 where the true availability feature is being activated. Here, the personal information management service 12 may be executed to cause the client device 14 to display the first calendar entry 20A on the calendar interface 18. The first calendar entry 20A may be for the first account of the user. Here, the second account has already been linked to the first account… Para. [0028] further discloses thus, since the true availability feature is still turned on for the first account, even if the user turns off display of the calendar 24 of the second account in the calendar interface 18 of any given client of the user, the user's combined availability from both accounts is still presented to authorized users of the first domain D1).
With respect to claim 11, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, further comprising redacting at least part of the response data in dependence upon pre- determined disclosure criteria (Milton, see para. [0030] the copy of the calendar of the second account retrieved from the server of the second domain may be stripped of personal information and may, for example, include time and availability status while not including a subject, location, or other attendees).
With respect to claim 13, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, wherein the enquiry data and the user data request comprises a stream of data comprising data packets (Milton, see para. [0015] to link the accounts together, the user may, at the first client device 14, request the personal information management service 12 to add the second account. Because the second account is at the second domain D2 and not the first domain D1, the personal information management service 12 requests an external server 22 having a processor 22A and associated memory 22B that hosts the second domain D2 to authenticate access to the second account (S1)).
With respect to claim 14, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, wherein the response data comprises a stream of data comprising data packets(Milton, see para. [0030] the method 800 may include storing an authentication token in memory for retrieving a copy of a calendar of a second account of the user from a server of a second domain).
With respect to claim 15, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, wherein the enquiry data and/or the response data is transferred across the network domain boundary (9) via a network gateway device (8) (Milton, see para. [0030] the method 800 may include sending a second calendar entry for display on the calendar interface, the second calendar entry being for the calendar of the second account of the user of the second domain).
With respect to claim 19, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, wherein the response data transferred between the second network domain (2) and the first network domain (3) data or between the first network domain (2) and the second network domain (3) is devoid of contextual information (Milton, see para. [0031] the second calendar entry, without the second calendar entry details, may include a time period and an availability status. Accordingly, the requesting user may be informed of the user's availability without the user having to expose their personal information to other users of the first domain. Furthermore, if the requesting user does not have permission to view the user's calendar, then both the first and second calendar entries may instead be displayed without calendar entry details, so that the user's availability is still conveyed to the requesting user).
With respect to claim 24, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, further comprising a permissions processor (12) located at the second network domain (2) configured to compare the user data request to predetermined permission criteria for a given user prior to retrieving the response data(Milton, see para. [0020] In interface 28A of FIG. 4A, after the user enters the name of the second account, the user is prompted to enter a password for authenticating the second account. In interface 28B of FIG. 4B, after the user's credentials are verified, the user may confirm or deny any listed permission requests by the personal information management service 12. If the permission requests are denied, the authentication may fail, and the second account may not be linked. If the permission requests are confirmed, then the accounts may be linked).
With respect to claim 25, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, further comprising a redaction processor (13) in the second network domain (2) configured to redact information retrieved in dependence upon predetermined disclosure criteria (Milton, see para. [0031] the second calendar entry, without the second calendar entry details, may include a time period and an availability status. Accordingly, the requesting user may be informed of the user's availability without the user having to expose their personal information to other users of the first domain. Furthermore, if the requesting user does not have permission to view the user's calendar, then both the first and second calendar entries may instead be displayed without calendar entry details, so that the user's availability is still conveyed to the requesting user).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton et al. (US 20200349275 hereinafter Milton) in view of Samaranayake et al.(US 10686899 hereinafter Samaranayake) further in view of Bien et al. (US 20240353571 hereinafter Bien).
With respect to claim 2, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, wherein the response data is marked as being reclaimable once the response data ceases to be displayed to the user in the first network domain (3) (Samaranayake, see Col. 21, lines 39-44, in response to the data about the message indicating a change in a volume of past ephemeral messages exchanged between the first client device and a second client device, wherein the ephemeral messages are associated with a message deletion trigger (i.e., equivalent to marked as being reclaimable and terminate).
Milton-Samaranayake fails to explicitly disclose wherein the response data is held in Random Access Memory (RAM) (4c).
However, Bien discloses wherein the response data is held in Random Access Memory (RAM) (4c) (Bien, see paragraph [0048] It is contemplated that the ephemeris data detected in step a) may be replaced in the RAM by the ephemeris data detected in step b) after the ephemeris data detected in step a) has been read out of the RAM, so no large memory space is required).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Milton-Samaranayake with the teaching of Bien to provide the method for holding the response data in Random Access Memory (RAM), to ensure near-instantaneous data retrieval and rendering speeds, as RAM reads are significantly faster than fetching data from permanent storage or re-requesting it over the network.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton et al. (US 20200349275 hereinafter Milton) in view of Samaranayake et al.(US 10686899 hereinafter Samaranayake) further in view of Wang (US 20200073990 hereinafter Wang).
With respect to claim 12, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein user identifier information is mapped from a first network domain identifier to a second network domain identifier and/or from a second network domain identifier to a first network domain identifier.
However, Wang discloses wherein the response data is held in Random Access Memory (RAM) (4c) wherein user identifier information is mapped from a first network domain identifier to a second network domain identifier and/or from a second network domain identifier to a first network domain identifier (Wang, see para. [0034] the NiFi identity manager will then communicate with iHub to get user information. This enables NiFi to use the entire set of iHub users, so that a user can simply login, and security will be maintained with respect to which users have access to which information. Thus, the system provides authentication or verification of user identity as users login to iHub and then access NiFi as allowed by the permissions indicated in iHub. Para. [0045] the implementation of the iHub permissions scheme by iPortal means that the permissions of each user will be mapped from iHub to NiFi for access for the dataflows that are associated with those users. IHub may achieve this by accessing the NiFi APIs to set the permissions of a processor group to the permissions set in iHub. The permissions may be set to default values when a dataflow is created, but the permissions may be updated by a user with sufficient access permission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Milton-Samaranayake with the teaching of Wang to provide the method for NiFi, the primary advantage of configuring identity mapping between a local network and a remote network (or different authentication schemes) is the normalization and unification of user identities across varying domain infrastructures. When NiFi connects different networks such as managing data transfers via Site-to-Site communication or handling multi-tenant user access to different environments inevitably present identities in different formats.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton et al. (US 20200349275 hereinafter Milton) in view of Samaranayake et al.(US 10686899 hereinafter Samaranayake) further in view of Han (US 20200341593 hereinafter Han).
With respect to claim 16, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the response data is transferred from a file format of the second network domain (2) to a SISL data structure prior to crossing the network domain boundary (9).
However, Han discloses wherein the response data is transferred from a file format of the second network domain (2) to a SISL data structure prior to crossing the network domain boundary (9) ( Han, see para. [0134] the one or more external calendar resources 311A-311N may implement different calendar server protocols (including protocols for remote client-server calendar access and scheduling based on the XML, HTTP, and other standards). The Secure Information Sharing Language (SISL) as the data format specifically including XML across cross-domain networks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Milton-Samaranayake with the teaching of Han to provide the method for using Secure Information Sharing Language (SISL) as the data format specifically including XML across cross-domain networks is enhanced syntactic security, automated validation, and strong protection against malware during data transformation at secure trust boundaries.
With respect to claim 17, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the enquiry data is transformed from the first network domain data format to a SISL data structure prior to being passed across the network domain boundary (9).
However, Han discloses wherein the enquiry data is transformed from the first network domain data format to a SISL data structure prior to being passed across the network domain boundary (9)(Han, see para. [0134] the one or more external calendar resources 311A-311N may implement different calendar server protocols (including protocols for remote client-server calendar access and scheduling based on the XML, HTTP, and other standards) and may provide calendar services separated from the group-based communication system 305 and/or among other external calendar resources 311A-311N)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Milton-Samaranayake with the teaching of Han to provide the method for using Secure Information Sharing Language (SISL) as the data format specifically including XML across cross-domain networks is enhanced syntactic security, automated validation, and strong protection against malware during data transformation at secure trust boundaries.
With respect to claim 18, Milton-Samaranayake-Han teaches the method, the method, wherein the first network domain data format and/or the second network domain data format is JSON, XML or CSV(Han, see para. [0134] The one or more external calendar resources 311A-311N may implement different calendar server protocols (including protocols for remote client-server calendar access and scheduling based on the XML, HTTP, and other standards) and may provide calendar services separated from the group-based communication system 305 and/or among other external calendar resources 311A-311N).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton et al. (US 20200349275 hereinafter Milton) in view of Samaranayake et al.(US 10686899 hereinafter Samaranayake) further in view of Klausmeier (US 20080040188 hereinafter Klausmeier).
With respect to claim 20, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the transfer of enquiry data from a user is rate limited dependent upon an identity of the user.
However, Klausmeier discloses wherein the transfer of enquiry data from a user is rate limited dependent upon an identity of the user (Klausmeier, see paras. [0011, 0017] A system and method for providing temporary and limited grants of calendar access is provided…[0017] There is an additional need to provide such temporary and limited calendar access in real-time such that an event may be planned and confirmed without the immediate need for user intervention and confirmation. Para. [0020] FIG. 2 illustrates, invitee-end calendar interface as may be displayed to an invitee with respect to offering temporary and limited grants of calendar data to an event planner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Milton-Samaranayake with the teaching of Klausmeier the system provides temporary and limited calendar access in real-time so that the event is planned and confirmed without the immediate need for user intervention and confirmation.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton et al. (US 20200349275 hereinafter Milton) in view of Samaranayake et al.(US 10686899 hereinafter Samaranayake) further in view of Schmutzer et al. (US 20240171271 hereinafter Schmutzer).
With respect to claim 22, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a network gateway device (8) located between the first network domain (3) and the second network domain (2) and configured to enable data transfer therebetween.
However, Schmutzer discloses further comprising a network gateway device (8) located between the first network domain (3) and the second network domain (2) and configured to enable data transfer therebetween (Schmutzer, FIG. 1 and paras. [0012-0013] Using the delay measurement in the second network domain, the gateway node sends to the first node an end-to-end delay measurement response that enables the first node to compute the end-to-end delay… There is a gateway node 134 (Node 3) at a boundary of the first network domain 110 and the second network domain 120. Gateway node 134 is also referred to herein simply as node 134).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Milton-Samaranayake with the teaching of Schmutzer to provide the method for a network gateway device placed between two network domains allows them to talk to each other by translating data formats and managing traffic. Converts data from one format or transmission rule to another so that dissimilar networks can understand each other.
With respect to claim 23, Milton-Samaranayake-Schmutzer teaches the method, wherein the network gateway device (8) is a hardware device(Schmutzer, FIG. 1 and para. [0013] there is a gateway node 134 (Node 3) at a boundary of the first network domain 110 and the second network domain 120. Gateway node 134 is also referred to herein simply as node 134).
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton et al. (US 20200349275 hereinafter Milton) in view of Samaranayake et al.(US 10686899 hereinafter Samaranayake) further in view of Ivkushkin et al. (US 20210232703 hereinafter Ivkushkin).
With respect to claim 26, Milton-Samaranayake teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose further comprising an Extract, Transform and Load (ETL) tool to be a local data target endpoint for data in the first network domain (3) and a remote data target endpoint for data in the second domain (2).
However, Ivkushkin discloses further comprising an Extract, Transform and Load (ETL) tool to be a local data target endpoint for data in the first network domain (3) and a remote data target endpoint for data in the second domain (2) (Ivkushkin, see paras. [0070, 0074] as shown in FIG. 7, ETL, which comprises steps extract, transform, and load, is used to blend data associated with a data subject received from two sources: the application without API and the custom application with API. ETL is used specifically to build a data warehouse on which analytical tools (using analytical UI/command line interface (CLI)) are executed… At 904, method 900 comprises generating the first domain responsive to the request, wherein the first domain comprises a set of smart contracts and policies for a first subset of the nodes and a pre-existing second domain in the cloud comprises a different set of smart contracts and policies for a second subset of the nodes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Milton-Samaranayake with the teaching of Ivkushkin to provide the method for using an Extract, Transform, and Load (ETL) tool that acts simultaneously as a local data target endpoint for one network domain and a remote data target endpoint for another provides several distinct strategic advantages.
With respect to claim 27, Milton-Samaranayake-Schmutzer teaches the method, wherein the Extract, Transform and Load (ETL) tool is configured to perform an Identity substitution step whereby [[the ]]a first user identity in the first network domain (3) is transformed to a second user identity in the second network domain (2) or the second user identity in the second network domain (2) is transformed to [[a ]]the first user identity in the first network domain (3) (Ivkushkin, see paras. [0070, 0074] as shown in FIG. 7, ETL, which comprises steps extract, transform, and load, is used to blend data associated with a data subject received from two sources: the application without API and the custom application with API. ETL is used specifically to build a data warehouse on which analytical tools (using analytical UI/command line interface (CLI)) are executed… At 904, method 900 comprises generating the first domain responsive to the request, wherein the first domain comprises a set of smart contracts and policies for a first subset of the nodes and a pre-existing second domain in the cloud comprises a different set of smart contracts and policies for a second subset of the nodes).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
PG. Pub. US 20210133693 Computer-based method for providing cross-domain access to calendar availability, involves causing events that organizer user account has access from electronic calendar which is associated with invitee user account.
PG. Pub. US20210374686 System for comparing calendars, has processor that determines list of open times based on list of users, period of time, and time frame, and transmits list of opened times by calendar comparison server, and server is unaffiliated with two organizations.
PG. Pub. US 20210328855 Computer-implemented method for contextual generation of ephemeral network, involves removing element information from portion of computing devices associated with a set of network elements in response to terminating ephemerally network.
10/03/2026
/ELIZABETH KASSA/Examiner, Art Unit 2457
/ARIO ETIENNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457