DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Widsten (US 10,913,628).
Regarding claim 1, Widsten discloses an alignment and discrimination module of a medium deposit device, comprising an alignment unit configured to perform alignment correction so that a medium being conveyed is aligned, wherein the alignment unit includes a pair of a first correction roller 104C1 and a second correction roller 104C2 that are inclined toward one side with respect to a conveyance direction of the medium so as to face a reference surface on one side of a medium conveyance surface (see figure below) in order to perform skew correction so that the medium being conveyed is parallel to the conveyance direction, and at the same time, perform shift correction so that one end of the medium is aligned with the reference surface. See e.g. col. 6, lines 6-10.
Regarding claim 2, Widsten discloses the alignment and discrimination module of claim 1, wherein the first correction roller 104C1 is connected to a main conveyance drive system 104E that drives all of a plurality of conveyance rollers arranged at a predetermined interval in the conveyance direction of the medium for conveyance of the medium and is rotatably driven, and the second correction roller 104C2 is rotatably driven by a correction conveyance drive system. See figure below.
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fehrenbach (US 8,944,433).
Regarding claim 1, Fehrenbach discloses an alignment and discrimination module of a medium deposit device, comprising an alignment unit configured to perform alignment correction so that a medium being conveyed is aligned, wherein the alignment unit includes a pair of a first correction roller 630 and a second correction roller 732 that are inclined toward one side with respect to a conveyance direction of the medium so as to face a reference surface 750 on one side of a medium conveyance surface in order to perform skew correction so that the medium being conveyed is parallel to the conveyance direction, and at the same time, perform shift correction so that one end of the medium is aligned with the reference surface. See, e.g., col. 14, lines 47-61.
Regarding claim 10, Fehrenbach discloses the alignment and discrimination module of claim 1, further comprising a discrimination unit 29 configured to discriminate a type and authenticity of the medium, wherein the alignment unit 600 and the discrimination unit 29 are formed as an integrated structure. See Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 11, Fehrenbach discloses the alignment and discrimination module of claim 10, wherein the discrimination unit 29 includes at least one sensor among an image sensor for acquiring an image of the medium and discriminating the type of the medium, a magnetic sensor for detecting a magnetic component within the medium and discriminating the authenticity of the medium, and an ultraviolet sensor for detecting an ultraviolet substance within the medium and discriminating the authenticity of the medium. See col. 9, lines 1-14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 and 12-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, Widsten does not disclose everything claimed, including
a plurality of skew sensors configured to detect whether the medium being conveyed is skewed; a plurality of shift sensors configured to detect whether the medium being conveyed is shifted; and a control unit configured to control skew correction and shift correction of the medium to be performed by determining a degree of skew of the medium on the basis of data detected by the plurality of skew sensors and determining a degree of shift of the medium on the basis of data detected by the plurality of shift sensors
in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Matsumoto (US 11,180,334), Widsten (US 9,969,583), and Kallin (US 8,113,511) disclose sheet aligning devices.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759