Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kopeschka et al. (US 20200271061).
With respect to claims 1, 8-10 Kopeschka teaches aircraft an aircraft comprising a turbine engine comprising an electrical supply circuit of a turbine engine (see Fig. 1-4: for example 306) comprising a high-voltage DC circuit (see bus 360) powered by a high-voltage DC source (see 348), connected to at least one DC/AC converter (356) of the electrical supply circuit, the at least one DC/AC inverter being respectively connected to at least one rotary electrical machine (see for example generator/motor) of the turbine engine, the at least one rotary electrical machine being respectively coupled to at least one propeller of the turbine engine (see in Fig. 3-4: see for example 102) so as to rotate the at least one propeller (driven by motor 306/406) by the rotation of the at least one propeller, the electrical supply circuit comprising at least one voltage step-up stage (358, see for example paragraph 0017) connected between the high-voltage source and the at least one DC/AC converter, the at least one voltage step-up stage (358 see voltage conversion paragraph 0030) being capable of raising the voltage provided to the at least one rotary electrical machine when said rotary electrical machine rotates the at least one propeller, wherein the aircraft further comprises a full authority digital engine control (paragraph 0021-28, see engine controller may be embodied as a FADEC arrangement): adapted to detect (see 334 and control algorithms paragraph 0037-38: see step 506, 509 and 510) a power requirement greater than the power that the turbine engine is able to deliver (paragraph 0044)), adapted to control the activation of the voltage step-up stage so that it delivers a high voltage to the rotary electrical machine for a transient period (paragraph 0048), when a power requirement greater than the power that the turbine engine is able to deliver is detected, and adapted to control the end (for example step 506 to begin sink operations) of the activation of the voltage step-up stage at the end of the transition period.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopeschka et al. (US 20200271061)
With respect to claim 2 Kopeschka teaches the use of a DC converter however does not teach the converter is a boost type. Boost type converters are a well-known type of converter for interconnection with a bus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kopeschka to include the use of a boost type converter for the benefit of stabilizing the bus voltage efficiently.
With respect to claim 3 Kopeschka teaches the use of a DC converter however does not teach the converter is a boost type. Interlaced type converters are a well-known type of converter for interconnection with a bus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kopeschka to include the use of a interlaced type converter for the benefit of increased power capability.
With respect to claim 4 Kopeschka teaches the use of a DC converter however does not teach the converter is a boost type. DAB type converters are a well-known type of converter for interconnection with a bus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kopeschka to include the use of a DAB type converter for the benefit of bidirectional power flow and high stabilizing power.
With respect to claim 5 Kopeschka teaches the use of a DC converter however does not teach the converter is a boost type. Quasi- Z type converters are a well-known type of converter for interconnection with a bus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kopeschka to include the use of a Quasi- Z type converter for the benefit of stabilizing the bus voltage with a variable supply input and wide voltage gain.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopeschka et al. (US 20200271061) in view of Dalal (US 20220025820)
With respect to claim 6 Kopeschka teaches the aircraft however does not teach the system
comprising a low-voltage DC circuit connected to the high-voltage DC circuit by means of a converter of the electrical supply circuit. Dalal teaches a low-voltage DC circuit (see loads connected via 376 for example) connected to the high-voltage DC circuit by means of a converter of the electrical supply circuit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kopeschka to include the use of a low voltage Dc circuit for the benefit of interconnecting loads with differing power requirements.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopeschka et al. (US 20200271061) in view of Azari (US 20180115246)
With respect to claim 7 Kopeschka teaches the voltage step-up stage however does not teach the connection of contactor. Azari teaches the know use of a contactor (37) connected in parallel to the voltage step-up stage (boost). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kopeschka to include a parallel contactor for the benefit of increased efficiency.
Conclusion
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836