Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 12-14, 16-18, 20, and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 12101052 B2) in view of TABATOWSKI-BUSH et al. (US 20190176803 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Chen teaches:
an electric or hybrid vehicle containing:
- modules, each of which includes a control unit with at least one battery pack connectable to the power supply circuit switcher of a e- vehicle traction motor inverter, wherein:
(Chen – At [2:28-38] it states “In some embodiments, the electric vehicle control system also includes: a switch module for turning on or off power supply circuits of the electrical device and the motor driver module; and a voltage sampling unit for sampling voltage of the switch module and sending the sampling signals to the domain control unit, wherein the domain control unit performs on/off control of the switch module according to the sampling signals sent by the voltage sampling unit.” At [10:38-50] it further states “ In the prior art, high side control components for high-voltage power distribution in the electric vehicle mainly include the VCU (Vehicle Control Unit, vehicle controller) and the BMS (Battery Management System, power battery management system). The VCU, through the power distribution unit (Power Distribution Unit, PDU), mainly performs high-voltage control of such electrical device as the water cooling unit, the electric defroster, the electric air conditioner, the electric warm-air blower, the oil pump DC/AC, and the air pump DC/AC and DC/DC; and the BMS mainly performs high-voltage control of the motor driver module (inverter) of the motor control unit (Motor Control Unit, MCU).”)
- one of the control units enables:
- the receipt of data on the status of one or more battery packs connected, and data on the status of other control units, the data sharing with the control unit of the electric vehicle;
(Chen – At [13:54-61] it states “In this embodiment, the DCU 101 integrates the functions of the four controllers including the VCU, the BMS, the MCU and the PDU in the prior art. The DCU 101 acquires information of a plurality of electrical device, the power battery 102 and a plurality of switches, detects the status of a plurality of electrical device, the power battery 102 and switches, and then performs internal calculations and logical judgment to determine the control strategy.”)
- the execution of the traction motor inverter capacitor precharge logic. The control unit, when executing the traction motor inverter capacitor precharge logic, sends at least 0.3 - 0.8 s. control signal to the capacitor precharge unit.
(Chen – At [13:23-24] it states “The positive ole of the motor driver module 103 is connected to a positive-side main relay K3 and the precharging relay K4, and the precharging relay K4 precharges the capacitor in the motor driver module 103.” Note: The examiner interprets the 0.3-0.8s to be a design choice of the applicant that does not change the scope of the claim enough to exceed the prior art teaching.)
Chen teaches a battery power control system with a precharge unit. However, Chen does not teach a modular battery.
TABATOWSKI-BUSH teaches:
A modular battery (MB) of an electric or hybrid vehicle containing:
(TABATOWSKI-BUSH – Paragraph [0001] states “The present disclosure relates generally to systems and methods for control and utilization of modular and parallel high voltage batteries in an electric vehicle.”)
- the receipt of data on the status of one or more battery packs connected, and data on the status of battery packs from other control units, the data sharing with the control unit of the electric vehicle;
(TABATOWSKI-BUSH – Fig. 3, see below, elements 170,175 are battery packs with controllers 265, Paragraph [0048] states “In this arrangement, VSC 200 and VCS 205 cooperatively manage and control the vehicle components and other controllers, sensors, and actuators. For example, the controllers may communicate control commands, logic, and instructions and code, data, information, and signals to and/or from engine 115, disconnect clutch 125, EMs 120, 123, TC 155, transmission 160, ISCs 165, 167, batteries 170, 175, 180, and MCM 185, and other components and systems.”)
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle battery control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen with TABATOWSKI-BUSH. It would have been obvious to combine a battery power control system with a precharge unit with a modular battery system because they are both forms of protecting a vehicle battery. This allows the system to safeguard its electrical devices and create a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 2,
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH teach the limitations of claim 1.
Chen further teaches:
which additionally includes the capacitor precharge unit of a e-vehicle traction motor inverter, connected to the traction motor inverter power circuit.
(Chen – Fig. 6, see below, BMS (Battery Management System) 603 is connected to the VCU (Vehicle Control Unit) 604 and controls the MCU (Motor Control Unit) 606, At [10:47-50] it states “the BMS mainly performs high-voltage control of the motor driver module (inverter) of the motor control unit (Motor Control Unit, MCU).”)
Regarding claim 3,
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH teach the limitations of claim 2.
Chen further teaches:
a motherboard or other integration board with a mounted-in capacitor precharge unit,
(Chen – At [13:23-24] it states “The positive ole of the motor driver module 103 is connected to a positive-side main relay K3 and the precharging relay K4, and the precharging relay K4 precharges the capacitor in the motor driver module 103.”)
Chen teaches a battery power control system with a precharge unit. However, Chen does not teach a contactor connecting each battery module and inverter, and a control unit for each module.
TABATOWSKI-BUSH teaches:
each module of which includes a motherboard or other integration board with a mounted-in capacitor precharge unit, a contactor connecting each battery module and inverter, and a control unit for each module.
(TABATOWSKI-BUSH – Fig. 3, see above, batteries 170, 175, and controller 265. Paragraph [0031] states “For further example, such batteries 170, 175, 180 may cooperatively storage energy with and/or may be replaced entirely by ultracapacitors, flywheels, fuel cells, and a number of energy storage devices and associated components and systems…” Paragraph [0060] further states “In the various figures, vehicle power bus 190, terminals of battery packs 170, 175, and terminals of contactors and other components are labeled to have positive and negative bus lines and terminals designated respectively with a positive sign “+” and a negative sign “−”, which for purposes of added illustration identify polarity of respective voltages.” Paragraph [0064] further states “Positive and negative terminal blocks 310, 315 couple battery packs 170, 175 together and to vehicle bus contactor 305. Switch enclosure 300 also includes variations that incorporate a normally open precharge contactor 320 and a current limiting device such as a resistor or similar device 325.”)
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle battery control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen with TABATOWSKI-BUSH. It would have been obvious to combine a battery power control system with a precharge unit with a modular battery system because they are both forms of protecting a vehicle battery. This allows the system to safeguard its electrical devices and create a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 4,
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH teach the limitations of claim 2.
Chen further teaches:
with the capacitor precharge unit of the traction motor inverter being designed as a series-connected high- voltage relay and a current-limiting resistor.
(Chen – At [13:9-14] it states “Each switch is connected with the DCU 101 with hard wires, and the DCU 101 controls the disconnection and closing of each switch and the current supplied by the power battery 102 to each electrical device so as to perform high voltage distribution and drive each electrical device.” At [13:18-24] it further states “Specifically, in FIG. 2, the positive pole of the power battery 102 is connected to a manual maintenance switch MSD 202, and its negative pole is connected to a general negative relay K0, and the positive and negative poles of the charging port 204 are respectively connected to a positive charging relay K1 and a negative charging relay K2. The positive ole of the motor driver module 103 is connected to a positive-side main relay K3 and the precharging relay K4, and the precharging relay K4 precharges the capacitor in the motor driver module 103.” At [] it further states “S1104, acquiring, by the DCU 101, the major loop current, detecting whether the major loop current is less than the threshold value, and acquiring the bus current of the motor, and then lowering the current to the threshold value in the shortest time”)
Regarding claim 5,
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH teach the limitations of claim 1.
TABATOWSKI-BUSH further teaches:
which control unit enables the execution of logic to select one or all of the e-vehicle capacitors, and/or inverters, and/or traction motors.
(TABATOWSKI-BUSH – Paragraph [0026] states “Powertrain 110 and/or driveline 105 further include one or more invertor system controller(s) (ISC or ISCs) 165, which are coupled to the various other system controller(s) and respective EMs 120, 123 and batteries 170, 175, and/or 180, any and/or each of which components may be cooperatively and independently adjustable, selectable, and operable.”)
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle battery control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen with TABATOWSKI-BUSH. It would have been obvious to combine a battery power control system with a precharge unit with a modular battery system because they are both forms of protecting a vehicle battery. This allows the system to safeguard its electrical devices and create a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 6,
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH teach the limitations of claim 1.
Chen further teaches:
which control unit, when executing the traction motor inverter capacitor precharge logic, polls the control units of other modules for feedback, and in the absence of feedback, sends a signal of the modular battery failure to the control unit of the electric vehicle and/or disables one of the modules or the entire modular battery.
(Chen – At [2:1-12] it states “a current sampling unit for sampling current of a power battery and a motor driver module of the electric vehicle, and sending sampling signals to the domain control unit; and an electrical device, driven by its power battery, for sampling current flowing through the electrical device and sending sampling signals to the domain control unit, the domain control unit manages the power battery and controls motor driver module and the electrical device according to the sampling signals sent by the electrical device and the current sampling unit.” At [2:52-56] it further states “In the above embodiment of this application, the DCU receives sampling signals from the electrical device, detects its state, calculates the detected state data, and determines control strategy of the electrical device on the basis of the calculated detection data.” At [19:1-44] it states “initializing by the DCU 101, to complete self-detection proceeding to S8103 if the initialization fails or times out; or proceeding to s8104; s8103, reporting faults and disabling power-on; s8104” Note: The examiner interprets “times out” as not responding by a certain time frame which would be an “absence” of signal.)
Regarding claim 7,
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH teach the limitations of claim 1.
Chen further teaches:
which control unit, when executing the traction motor inverter capacitor precharge logic, provides data on the state of the battery packs, including from the control units of other modules, and in case of deviation of these parameters from the allowable values, sends a signal of the modular battery failure to the control unit of the electric vehicle and/or disables one of the modules or the entire modular battery.
(Chen – At [2:52-56] it states “In the above embodiment of this application, the DCU receives sampling signals from the electrical device, detects its state, calculates the detected state data, and determines control strategy of the electrical device on the basis of the calculated detection data.” At [21:1-7] it further states “The set threshold value of the major loop current is generally not greater than 15 A. When the DCU 101 detects whether the major loop current is less than the set threshold value, if the major loop current is less than the set threshold value, the power-off operation may be performed. Power-off with load should be avoided, otherwise the performance of the vehicle devices may be affected.” At [19:1-44] it states “initializing by the DCU 101, to complete self-detection proceeding to S8103 if the initialization fails or times out; or proceeding to s8104; s8103, reporting faults and disabling power-on; s8104” Note: The examiner interprets “times out” as not responding by a certain time frame which would be an “absence” of signal.)
Chen teaches a battery power control system with a precharge unit. However, Chen does not teach a modular battery.
which control unit, when executing the traction motor inverter capacitor precharge logic, provides data on the state of the battery packs, including from the control units of other modules, and in case of deviation of these parameters from the allowable values, sends a signal of the modular battery failure to the control unit of the electric vehicle and/or disables one of the modules or the entire modular battery.
(TABATOWSKI-BUSH – Paragraph [0001] states “The present disclosure relates generally to systems and methods for control and utilization of modular and parallel high voltage batteries in an electric vehicle.” Paragraph [0068] states “Battery pack controllers 265 detect voltage, SoC, and other parameters respective cells 260 of the same, respective battery pack 170, 175. More specifically, battery pack controller(s) 265 detect whether each of cells 260 are balanced and/or within a pack voltage threshold (PVT) relative to each other, such that controller(s) 265 further detect cells 260 to be voltage balanced when they are each within the PVT. When cells 260 are detected to be outside the PVT relative to one another, then battery pack controller(s) 265 detect and identify cells 260 as being unbalanced” Paragraph [0065] states “Operating and closing precharge contactor 320, in advance of and before operating and closing vehicle bus contactor 305, can be utilized to reduce the voltage difference across vehicle bus contactor 305 to mitigate such possible arcs and surges. Commanding precharge contactor 320 to remain closed until the voltage difference is reduced to the CVD or zero, and to open thereafter, enables such mitigation.”)
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle battery control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen with TABATOWSKI-BUSH. It would have been obvious to combine a battery power control system with a precharge unit with a modular battery system because they are both forms of protecting a vehicle battery. This allows the system to safeguard its electrical devices and create a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 9,
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH teach the limitations of claim 1.
Chen further teaches:
with at least 0.5 s. signal being sent by the control unit to the precharge capacitor unit.
(Chen – At [13:23-24] it states “The positive ole of the motor driver module 103 is connected to a positive-side main relay K3 and the precharging relay K4, and the precharging relay K4 precharges the capacitor in the motor driver module 103.” Note: The examiner interprets the 0.3-0.8s to be a design choice of the applicant that does not change the scope of the claim enough to exceed the prior art teaching.)
Regarding claim 12,
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH teach the limitations of claim 1.
TABATOWSKI-BUSH further teaches:
which control unit enables the execution of logic for detecting the unbalanced electrical performance of modules.
(TABATOWSKI-BUSH – Paragraph [0004] states “Responsive to a vehicle key on signal, one or more of the vehicle controller(s) and/or the battery pack controller operates and closes the single battery pack contactor, for at least one of the battery packs having voltage balanced cells. The battery pack controller detects the voltage of the respective cells of the same battery pack, and detects whether each of the cells are within a voltage threshold relative to each other, and also detects that the cells are voltage balanced when within the voltage threshold, and otherwise unbalanced.”)
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle battery control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen with TABATOWSKI-BUSH. It would have been obvious to combine a battery power control system with a precharge unit with a modular battery system because they are both forms of protecting a vehicle battery. This allows the system to safeguard its electrical devices and create a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 13,
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH teach the limitations of claim 1.
Chen further teaches:
which modules contain heaters and/or coolers for the battery packs.
(Chen – At [9:66-10:2] it states “The water cooling unit, through water convection heat transfer, takes away the beat generated by the battery and lowers the temperature of the battery.”)
Regarding claim 14,
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH teach the limitations of claim 1.
TABATOWSKI-BUSH further teaches:
each module of which includes a power switch that provides a positive opening of the electrical circuit between the battery packs.
(TABATOWSKI-BUSH – Paragraph [0061] states “… Each of cells 260 include positive and negative terminals that are connected in series arrangements. In variations of the disclosure, each battery pack 170, 175 includes only a single, normally open contactor 270 coupled to a negative terminal 275 or a positive terminal 280 of battery pack 170, 175.”)
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle battery control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen with TABATOWSKI-BUSH. It would have been obvious to combine a battery power control system with a precharge unit with a modular battery system because they are both forms of protecting a vehicle battery. This allows the system to safeguard its electrical devices and create a more efficient system.
Regarding claim 16, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim
1 above, therefore it is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 17, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim
6 above, therefore it is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 18, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim
7 above, therefore it is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 20, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim
9 above, therefore it is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 23, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim
12 above, therefore it is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 24, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim
5 above, therefore it is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 25,
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH teach the limitations of claim 1.
Chen further teaches:
whereby the control unit executes the traction motor inverter capacitor precharge logic when the modular battery "wakes up".
(Chen – At [19:1-44] it states “ As shown in FIG. 8, the power-on method 800 in this embodiment includes the following steps: s8101, detecting, by the DCU 101, a high voltage startup request signal to start the power-on process; s8102, initializing by the DCU 101… proceeding to s8109; s8109, sending, by the DCU 101, the closing command to the precharging relay K4 to connect to the precharging loop, and then precharging the motor driver module 103”)
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 12101052 B2) in view of TABATOWSKI-BUSH et al. (US 20190176803 A1) and further in view of KOBAYAKAWA (JP 05290662 A).
Regarding claim 15,
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH teach the limitations of claim 1.
However, Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH do not teach the limitations of claim 15.
KOBAYAKAWA teaches:
each module of which (or the entire modular battery) contain a lid enclosure with a limit switch to ensure that the traction motor inverter supply circuit opens when the lid is opened.
(KOBAYAKAWA – On Page 1, it states “Failure in turning off of a power source switch or unnecessary battery consumption when the switch of the power source is turned ON by strong outer force and so on, can be prevented by cutting the power source circuit of an electronic unit 1 provided with a lid 3 when the lid 3 is closed, regardless of ON/OFF condition of the power source switch of the unit. An engaging protrusion 4 to be engaged with a main body 2 is provided on the lid 3, and the engaging protrusion is engaged with the engagement part of the main body 2 when the lid 3 is closed, and the lid 3 is maintained at a closed position, while a switch contact inserted in series in the power source circuit by the engaging protrusion when the lid 3 is closed, is opened, and when the lid is closed, the contact is turned OFF, while it is turned ON when the lid 3 is opened, and the power source circuit is switched regardless of ON/OFF of the power source switch 12 of the electronic unit 1.”)
Chen, TABATOWSKI-BUSH, and KOBAYAKAWA are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrical control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH with KOBAYAKAWA. It would have been obvious to combine a battery power control system with a precharge unit and a modular battery system with a lid structure for shutting off the electric when opened because they are all forms of protecting a vehicle battery. This allows the system to safeguard its electrical devices and the person opening the system lid.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 12101052 B2) in view of TABATOWSKI-BUSH et al. (US 20190176803 A1) and further in view of CYPERS (FR 3110880 A1).
Regarding claim 26,
Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH teach the limitations of claim 1.
Chen further teaches:
whereby the control unit executes the traction motor inverter capacitor precharge logic
(Chen – At [13:23-24] it states “ The positive ole of the motor driver module 103 is connected to a positive-side main relay K3 and the precharging relay K4, and the precharging relay K4 precharges the capacitor in the motor driver module 103.”)
Chen teaches a battery power control system with a precharge unit. However, Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH do not teach several traction motors are installed on the same vehicle, which each being operated independently.
whereby the control unit executes the traction motor inverter capacitor in the case where several traction motors are installed on the same vehicle, which each being operated independently.
(CYPERS – On page 2, it states “The present invention relates to a method for supplying a set of traction motors comprising at least a first and a second traction motor, a first and a second inverter and being on board a mobile vehicle under the action of said set of motors traction, said method comprising the following steps controlled by an electronic power supply control device:”)
Chen, TABATOWSKI-BUSH, and CYPERS are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle battery control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen and TABATOWSKI-BUSH with CYPERS. It would have been obvious to combine a battery power control system with a precharge unit and a modular battery system with having multiple inverters because they are all forms of protecting a vehicle battery. This allows the system to have more modular components to safeguard its electrical devices and the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/E.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JAMES J LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668