DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 6/18/2025 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 3-10 have been amended, claim 10-18 have been newly added. Currently claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-12, 14-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (JP 2015123840 A, hereinafter, “Suzuki”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 6/18/2025)
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches an arrangement structure (headlight 34, see figures 1-3), comprising:
an illumination mechanism (light source 76 and reflecting portion 90, see fig 3) that is installed in a vehicle (motorcycle 12, see fig 1) that is a motorcycle (as seen in fig 1), that is provided with a container (housing 62 and lens 64, see fig 3) having a shielding portion (partitioning portion 70 of 62, see fig 3) and a transmissive portion (64), and that is provided with an illumination unit (76, 90) inside the container (62, 64), the illumination mechanism (76, 90) emitting light downward (as expected from a low beam emission) as a result of the illumination unit (76, 90) emitting light, the shielding portion (70 of 62) shielding the light (via 70), and the transmissive portion (64) transmitting the light (as expected from a lens (82); and
an imaging mechanism (camera unit 60, see fig 3) that has at least one part (lower part of 60) disposed at a same position (at 70) as the shielding portion (70 of 62) in a vehicle (12) front-rear direction (direction of light emission, see fig 1), that images (images captured by 60) surroundings of the vehicle (12), and that has an imaging direction (forward, as seen in fig 1) that is oriented further upward (ahead and upward, as seen in fig 1) than a light emission direction (downwards, as expected from a low beam) of the illumination mechanism (76, 90).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki teaches wherein the imaging mechanism (60) is attached to (via 62, 64) the illumination mechanism (76, 90).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki teaches wherein the imaging mechanism (60) is attached to a vehicle (12) body side (body frame 14, see fig 3).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki teaches wherein the imaging mechanism (60) is disposed at a vehicle (12) inner side (better seen in fig 3) relative to the illumination mechanism (76, 90).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki teaches wherein a protruding part (lower protruding part and upper part of 60 around lens (82) 82, see fig 3) is provided around a lens (82) of the imaging mechanism (60) and protruding toward an imaging side (front side of 60) of the imaging mechanism (60).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki teaches wherein a camera (camera within 60) of the imaging mechanism (60) is disposed separately (as seen in fig 3) from the illumination mechanism (76, 90).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki teaches wherein a camera (camera of 60) is accommodated inside an imaging container (formed between enclosure, not labeled but seen in fig 3 and lens 82) in the imaging mechanism (60).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki teaches an arrangement structure (34), comprising:
an illumination mechanism (76, 90) that is installed in a vehicle (12) that is a motorcycle (as seen in fig 1), that is provided with a container (62, 64) having a shielding portion (70 of 62) and a transmissive portion (64), and that is provided with an illumination unit (76, 90) inside the container (62, 64), the illumination mechanism (76, 90) emitting light as a result of the illumination unit (76, 90) emitting light, the shielding portion (70 of 62) shielding the light (via 70), and the transmissive portion (64) transmitting the light; and
an imaging mechanism (60) that has at least one part (lower part of 70) disposed at a same position (at 70) as the shielding portion (70 of 62) in a vehicle (12) front-rear direction (along the emission direction), and that images (as expected from a camera) surroundings of the vehicle (12) and the vehicle (12).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki teaches wherein the imaging mechanism (60) is attached to (via 62, 64) the illumination mechanism (76, 90).
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki teaches wherein the imaging mechanism (60) is attached to a vehicle (12) body side (body frame 14, see fig 3).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki teaches wherein the imaging mechanism (60) is disposed at a vehicle (12) inner side (better seen in fig 3) relative to the illumination mechanism (76, 90).
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki teaches wherein a protruding part (lower protruding part and upper part of 60 around lens (82) 82, see fig 3) is provided around a lens (82) of the imaging mechanism (60) and protruding toward an imaging side (front side of 60) of the imaging mechanism (60).
Regarding claim 16, Suzuki teaches wherein a camera (camera within 60) of the imaging mechanism (60) is disposed separately (as seen in fig 3) from the illumination mechanism (76, 90).
Regarding claim 18, Suzuki teaches wherein a camera (camera of 60) is accommodated inside an imaging container (formed between enclosure, not labeled but seen in fig 3 and lens 82) in the imaging mechanism (60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Gates et al. (US 20050194805 A1, hereinafter, “Gates”).
Regarding claim 5, Although, wiring is required to power the imaging mechanism (60) and illumination mechanism (76, 90);
Suzuki does not explicitly teach wherein a wiring hole is provided at a vehicle (12) body side, and wiring of the illumination mechanism (76, 90) and wiring of the imaging mechanism (60) pass through the wiring hole.
Gates teaches an arrangement structure (lift gate outer panel 36 and component module, see figures 1-21);
wherein a wiring hole (lift gate outer panel 36 opening for connector 230, not labeled but clearly seen in figures 1 and 18) is provided at a vehicle body side (inside surface of the lift gate outer panel 36), and wiring (leads 214) of the illumination mechanism (incandescent bulbs 216 and 218, see fig 16) and wiring (214) of the imaging mechanism (camera 100) pass through the wiring hole (opening of 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the wiring hole as taught by Gates into the teachings of Suzuki in order to provide a channel to run wiring through. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to protect the wiring from the environment.
Regarding claim 9, Although, wiring is required to power the imaging mechanism (60) and illumination mechanism (76, 90);
Suzuki does not explicitly teaches wherein wiring of the imaging mechanism is routed to a vehicle body side via an interior of the illumination mechanism.
Gates teaches an arrangement structure (lift gate outer panel 36 and component module, see figures 1-21);
wherein wiring (leads 214) of the imaging mechanism (camera 100) is routed to a vehicle body side (side of 36) via an interior of the illumination mechanism (interior of 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the wiring as taught by Gates into the teachings of Suzuki in order to provide a channel to run power wires through. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to electrically isolate the wiring from the environment.
Regarding claim 13, Although, wiring is required to power the imaging mechanism (60) and illumination mechanism (76, 90);
Suzuki does not explicitly teach wherein a wiring hole is provided at a vehicle (12) body side, and wiring of the illumination mechanism (76, 90) and wiring of the imaging mechanism (60) pass through the wiring hole.
Gates teaches an arrangement structure (lift gate outer panel 36 and component module, see figures 1-21);
wherein a wiring hole (lift gate outer panel 36 opening for connector 230, not labeled but clearly seen in figures 1 and 18) is provided at a vehicle body side (inside surface of the lift gate outer panel 36), and wiring (leads 214) of the illumination mechanism (incandescent bulbs 216 and 218, see fig 16) and wiring (214) of the imaging mechanism (camera 100) pass through the wiring hole (opening of 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the wiring hole as taught by Gates into the teachings of Suzuki in order to provide a channel to run wiring through. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to protect the wiring from the environment.
Regarding claim 17, Although, wiring is required to power the imaging mechanism (60) and illumination mechanism (76, 90);
Suzuki does not explicitly teaches wherein wiring of the imaging mechanism is routed to a vehicle body side via an interior of the illumination mechanism.
Gates teaches an arrangement structure (lift gate outer panel 36 and component module, see figures 1-21);
wherein wiring (leads 214) of the imaging mechanism (camera 100) is routed to a vehicle body side (side of 36) via an interior of the illumination mechanism (interior of 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the wiring as taught by Gates into the teachings of Suzuki in order to provide a channel to run power wires through. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to electrically isolate the wiring from the environment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Murasawa et al. (WO 2018043485 A1) discloses an arrangement structure for a motorcycle having, an illumination and imaging mechanisms enclosed in a housing. Wherein light is emitted downwards and images surrounding the vehicle are captured. Since the imaging device is positioned in the headlight case in the state supported by the control board of the LED, the LED and the imaging device are compactly positioned in common headlight case, and the enlargement of the vehicle is suppressed.
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875