DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, “the recognized type” lack antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 22, “output device” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claims 17-21 and 23, claims 17-21 and 23 are rejected because they depend from rejected claim 16.
Regarding claim 24, “the recognized type” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 27, “a consumable”, “a response wave”, “a type of the consumable”, and “an energy wave” are indefinite because it is unclear if “a consumable”, “a response wave”, “a type of the consumable”, and “an energy wave” in claim 27 are the same as “a consumable”, “a type of the consumable”, and “an energy wave” in claim 16, as claim 27 depends from claim 16. For examination purposes, “a consumable”, “a response wave”, “a type of the consumable”, and “an energy wave” in claim 27 is being interpreted as “the consumable”, “the response wave”, “the type of the consumable”, and “the energy wave”.
Regarding claim 30, “the wave modifier” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claims 25-26 and 28-29, claims 25-26 and 28-29 are rejected because they depend from rejected claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birk et al (US 2004/0045997), hereinafter Birk, in view of Robinson et al (US 2022/0105614), hereinafter Robinson.
Regarding claim 16, Birk teaches a tool (Fig. 1) comprising:
a receptacle (Fig. 2, item 26, 34) configured to temporarily receive a consumable (Fig. 1, item 20) (Para. 0026, fasteners 20 are fed from the magazine into channel 34 of nosepiece 26);
a feed channel (Fig. 1, item 36, magazine 36 has an interior which holds fasteners 20, fasteners 20 are guided into channel 34 of nosepiece 26) configured to guide consumables into the receptacle (Para. 0026);
a controller (Fig. 2, item 80, 81) configured to control an operation of the tool (Para. 0041);
a detector (Fig. 3, item 50, 64) configured to generate a signal (Para. 0033-0035) indicative of a parameter of the consumable (Para. 0033-0035);
a signal line (Para. 0033-0035, detector 50 communicates with controller 80, 81) configured to transmit a signal (Para. 0033-0035) from the detector to the controller (Para. 0033-0035);
the controller being configured to recognize a type (Para. 0033-0035) of the consumable upon receipt of the signal (Para. 0033-0035) and to at least one of: control the operation (Para. 0033-0035) of the tool in dependence of the recognized type (Para. 0033-0035) of the consumable (Para. 0033-0035); and (optional limitation) store the recognized type of the consumable in a data storage.
Birk does not expressly disclose the detector having a transmitter configured to transmit an energy wave onto a consumable located in the feed channel or in the receptacle; and a receiver configured to receive a response wave emitted by the consumable upon exposure to the energy wave and to generate a signal indicative of the response wave.
However, Robinson teaches a detector (Robinson, Fig. 8, item 128) (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064) having a transmitter (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064) configured to transmit an energy wave onto a target (Robinson, Fig. 8, item 126) (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064), a receiver (Robinson, Fig. 14, item 160) (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064) configured to receive a response wave (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064) emitted by the target upon exposure to the energy wave (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064) and to generate a signal (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064) indicative of the response wave (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064), and a signal line (Fig. 12A-12D, item 118, 119, 129) (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064) configured to transmit a signal (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064) from the detector to a controller (Robinson, Fig. 14, item 140, 152, 154, 150) (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Birk and Robinson to modify the tool of Birk to include the transmitter, receiver, and signal line of Robinson. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to enable the tool to monitor usage and operational parameters, thus increasing the efficiency and effectiveness of the tool (Robinson, Para. 0008).
Regarding claim 17, Dirk discloses the tool as recited in claim 16 wherein the controller is configured to derive a modification (Para. 0033-0035, modification occurs when detector 50 detects fasteners of a different type or size than what was previously detected) of the response wave with respect to the energy wave (Para. 0033-0035) from the signal (Para. 0033-0035) and to assign the modification to the type of the consumable (Para. 0033-0035).
Regarding claim 18, Birk discloses the tool as recited in claim 16 wherein the receiver includes an electromagnetic sensor or optical sensor (Para. 0035, optical detectors or magnetic detectors can be used).
Regarding claim 19, Birk discloses the tool as recited in claim 16 wherein the receiver includes an acoustical sensor (Para. 0035, a sonic detector, which is a type of acoustical sensor, can be used).
Regarding claim 20, Birk discloses the tool as recited in claim 16 wherein the controller is configured to operate the tool at reduced power (Para. 0033-0035, detector determines a property of the fastener 20 and that property determines variation in primary power of the tool) or to prevent or abort operation (Para. 0033-0035) of the tool if the type of the consumable is not recognized (Para. 0033-0035).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Birk teaches the tool as recited in claim 16 further comprising an output device (Robinson, Para. 0080-0084) configured to output the recognized type of the consumable (Robinson, Para. 0080-0084) (Birk, Para. 0033-0035).
Regarding claim 22, Robinson teaches the tool as recited in claim 16 wherein output device comprises at least one of a display (Robinson, Para. 0080-0084), a LED, a buzzer, and a wireless transmitter (Robinson, Para. 0080-0084).
Regarding claim 23, Birk discloses the tool as recited in claim 16 wherein the tool is a driving tool having a driving piston (Para. 0027) (Fig. 1, item 40) and an actuating device (Fig. 1, item 16, 38, 41, 12, 42) (Para. 0026-0027) configured to actuate the driving piston (Para. 0026-0027) such that the driving piston drives a fastening element (Fig. 1, item 20) into a substrate.
Regarding claim 24, Dirk discloses a method of operating a tool (Fig. 1) having (Fig. 2, item 26, 34) configured to temporarily receive a consumable (Fig. 1, item 20) (Para. 0026, fasteners 20 are fed from the magazine into channel 34 of nosepiece 26), and a feed channel (Fig. 1, item 36, magazine 36 has an interior which holds fasteners 20, fasteners 20 are guided into channel 34 of nosepiece 26) configured to guide consumables into the receptacle (Para. 0026), the method comprising:
generating a signal (Para. 0033-0035) indicative of a parameter (Para. 0033-0035) of the consumable (Para. 0033-0035);
recognizing a type (Para. 0033-0035) of the consumable (Para. 0033-0035) upon receipt of the signal (Para. 0033-0035) and at least one of:
controlling an operation (Para. 0033-0035) of the tool in dependence (Para. 0033-0035) of the recognized type of the consumable (Para. 0033-0035); and (optional limitation) storing the recognized type of the consumable in a data storage.
Birk does not expressly disclose transmitting an energy wave onto a consumable located in the feed channel or in the receptacle; receiving a response wave emitted by the consumable upon exposure to the energy wave.
However, Robinson teaches transmitting an energy wave (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064) onto a target (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064); receiving a response wave (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064) emitted by the target (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064) upon exposure to the energy wave (Robinson, Para. 0062-0064).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Birk and Robinson to modify the tool of Birk to include the transmitter, receiver, and signal line of Robinson. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to enable the tool to monitor usage and operational parameters, thus increasing the efficiency and effectiveness of the tool (Robinson, Para. 0008).
Regarding claim 25, Birk discloses the method as recited in claim 24 wherein the tool is a driving tool (Fig. 1) having a driving piston (Para. 0027) (Fig. 1, item 40) and an actuating device (Fig. 1, item 16, 38, 41, 12, 42) (Para. 0026-0027) configured to actuate the driving piston (Para. 0026-0027) such that the driving piston drives a fastening element (Fig. 1, item 20) into a substrate.
Regarding claim 26, Robinson teaches the method as recited in claim 24 further comprising outputting (Robinson, Para. 0080-0084) the recognized type of the consumable (Robinson, Para. 0080-0084) (Birk, Para. 0033-0035).
Regarding claim 27, Birk discloses a consumable (Para. 0033-0035) configured to be used in the tool as recited in claim 16, comprising a wave modifier (Para. 0033-0035, wave modifier is bar code on the tape holding the fasteners together) configured to emit a response wave (Para. 0033-0035) indicative of a type (Para. 0033-0035) of the consumable (Para. 0033-0035) upon exposure to an energy wave (Para. 0033-0035) transmitted to the consumable by the transmitter of the tool (Para. 0033-0035).
Regarding claim 28, Birk discloses the consumable as recited in claim 27 wherein the wave modifier comprises a pigment (Para. 0033-0035, bar code on tape holding fasteners 20 together is a pigment), or luminescent pigment.
Regarding claim 29, Birk discloses the method as recited in claim 24 further comprising a fastening element (Fig. 1, item 20) or an energy carrier.
Regarding claim 30, Birk discloses the method as recited in claim 24 further comprising a container or collation element (Para. 0033-0035, tape holding fasteners 20 together) comprising the wave modifier (Para. 0033-0035).
Conclusion
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731