DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on September 18, 2025 and June 09, 2026 has been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0014541).
Regarding claim 1, Park et al. discloses a method of processing media data, comprising:
generating media data (see abstract; a method of transmitting a broadcast signal according to embodiments including generating service data, see fig. 1 (1000-1030) shows input formatting, BICM, frame building, and OFDM generation, which together constitute media data generation);
generating a service list related to the media data (see figs. 8-15, 19-20, 29-30. Figs. 8-15 discloses generating ServiceDiscoveryListTable (SDLT)); and
transmitting the media data and the service list based on a network (see fig. 1, shows Tx Signal Output transmitted via antennas, fig. 10 shows transmitting SDLT from broadband server: “Respond with service display list…”, figs. 19, 29).
Regarding claim 11, Park et al. discloses an apparatus for processing media data, comprising:
a server storing media data (see abstract; fig. 1 (1000-1030), fig. 29 shows broadband server hosting media content: https://bbl.com/KBSsports33-7.mpd);
a server storing a service list related to the media data (see figs. 8-15, stores ServiceDiscoveryListTable (SDLT), see fig. 10, fig. 19 shows SDLT stored and served by a broadband server “<Service@serviceId=0x2107/>…”, see fig. 29 shows USBD and MPD stored on the server); and
a processor configured to transmit the media data and the service list based on a network (see fig. 1 shows Tx Signal Output transmitting media data, see fig. 10, 19, 29).
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 15, Park et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1, 12 and 14). Park et al. discloses receiving a query for discovery of the service list from a client (see fig. 7 (700 – SDLT Request to Broadband Server), fig. 9, fig. 18 (steps 18001-18003));
transmitting an entry point for the service list in response to the query (see fig. 18 “<SdltlnetUrl @urllType=1> http://aaa.bbb.com/ <SdltnetUrl>” – this is the entry point for retrieving the service list. See fig. 10 and 19);
receiving a request for the service list (see fig. 18 (step 3 “https://aaa.bbb.com/0x2107/ALL”) the client requests the service list using the entry-point URL. See fig. 19 (step 5)); and
transmitting the service list in response to the request (see fig. 10 (step 3 “Respond with service display list including all of terrestrial, cable, satellite, and Internet services), see fig. 19 (the server transmits SDLT containing <Service@serviceId=0x2107/> and <SdltInetUrl>)),
wherein the service list is related to an internet-based broadcasting service (see fig. 10 (step 3 – display list including all of terrestrial, cable, satellite, and Internet services), see fig. 19, 29).
Regarding claim 3, Park et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). Park et al. discloses wherein a service for 5G multicast streaming (5GMS) is selected based on the service list (see fig. 3 (shows DVB-I integrating 5G delivery paths), see fig. 10 shows the receiver selecting among Internet-based services from the SDLT. 5GMS is an Internet-based broadcast/multicast service, so it falls within the same category).
Regarding claim 4, Park et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Park et al. discloses wherein the service list comprises a service instance, the service instance comprising DASH delivery parameter information (see figs. 20, 26, 29),
wherein the DASH delivery parameter information comprises information related to a unicast-based DASH service (see figs. 26, 29).
Regarding claim 5, Park et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4). Park et al. discloses wherein the service for the 5GMS is requested based on the service instance (see fig. 29 shows a User Service Description (USD) (the DVB-I service instance) containing: “@MediaPresentationDescription = http://bbl.com/KBSsports33-7.mpd, see fig. 19 (steps 4 and 5), see fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Blatek et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0137596).
Regarding claim 6, Park et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Park et al. discloses wherein the DASH delivery parameter information comprises 5GMS host name information (see fig. 29 MPD excerpt: “<BaseURL>http://bb1.com/33-7/sports/</BaseURL>”. The host name is bb1.com. and see fig. 18) and session-identifier-based service access (see fig. 29, fig. 19 (step 5), see fig. 18 (step 3), fig. 3).
However, Park et al. is silent as to provisioning session ID information for service access supporting the 5GMS.
Blatek et al. discloses provisioning session ID information for service access supporting the 5GMS (see paragraph 0023; describes personalization using UUIDs, profile IDs, and group IDs, fig. 3a, 3c).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Park et al. with the teachings of Blatek et al., the motivation being to access personalized services.
Regarding claim 7, Park et al. and Blatek et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). Park et al. discloses wherein the DASH delivery type information comprises delivery type information for the 5GMS (see fig. 29 MPD excerpts ”<BaseURL>http://bb1.com/33-7/sports/</BaseURL>”. This is DASH delivery type information, fig. 3),
wherein the delivery type information for the 5GMS comprises the 5GMS host name information and provisioning session ID information (see fig. 29 MPD excerpt: http://bb1.com/... Host name is bb1.com), figs. 18, 19, 29).
Blatek et al. discloses wherein the provisioning session ID information references a provisioning session ID related to 3GPP (see paragraph 0023, figs. 3a, 3c).
Regarding claim 8, Park et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Park et al. discloses wherein the DASH delivery parameter information comprises a 5GMS delivery parameter (see fig. 29 MPD excerpts ”<BaseURL>http://bb1.com/33-7/sports/</BaseURL>”, fig. 3), the 5GMS delivery parameter being defined as a URI value (see fig. 29 MPD excerpt: http://bb1.com/33-7/sports/” – a URI value; fig. 18), and
wherein the URI value comprises a 5GMS host name (see fig. 29, 18).
However, Park et al. is silent as to wherein the provisioning session ID information references a provisioning session ID related to 3GPP.
Blatek et al. discloses wherein the provisioning session ID information references a provisioning session ID related to 3GPP (see paragraph 0023, figs. 3a, 3c).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Park et al. with the teachings of Blatek et al., the motivation being to access personalized services.
Regarding claim 9, Park et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Park et al. discloses wherein the DASH delivery parameter information comprises a 5GMS delivery parameter in a sequence form (see fig. 29 USBD excerpt shows a sequence of DASH parameter: “<UnicastAppService> <BasePattern>http://bb1.com/33-7/sports/</BasePttern> </UnicastAppService>”, see fig. 26, fig. 3),
the 5GMS delivery parameter comprises 5GMS host name information (see fig. 29 MPD excerpt: Host name = bb1.com, fig. 29 USBD excerpts: Host name = bbl.com, fig. 18 Host name = aaa.bbb.com).
However, Park et al. is silent as to provisioning session ID information, the provisioning session ID information referencing a provisioning session ID related to 3GPP.
Blatek et al. discloses provisioning session ID information, the provisioning session ID information referencing a provisioning session ID related to 3GPP (see paragraph 0023, fig. 3a, 3c shows UUID#1, UUID#2, UUID#N used to generate personalized linear channels).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Park et al. with the teachings of Blatek et al., the motivation being to access personalized services.
Regarding claim 10, Park et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Park et al. discloses wherein a sequence of the DASH delivery parameter information contains a 5GMS delivery parameter (see fig. 29 USBD excerpt shows a sequence of DASH parameters: “<UnicastAppService> <BasePattern>http://bb1.com/33-7/sports/</BasePttern> </UnicastAppService>. This is a sequence form (element, sub-element, string). Fig. 26 defines UserServiceDescription containing multiple sequential fields (serviced, globalServiceId, MediaPresentationDescription, DeliveryMethod, etc.),
wherein the DASH delivery parameter information comprises 5GMS host name information (see fig. 29 MPD excerpt: Host name = bb1.com, fig. 29 USBD excerpts: Host name = bbl.com, fig. 18 Host name = aaa.bbb.com).
However, Park et al. is silent as to provisioning session ID information, the provisioning session ID information referencing a provisioning session ID related to 3GPP.
Blatek et al. discloses provisioning session ID information, the provisioning session ID information referencing a provisioning session ID related to 3GPP (see paragraph 0023, fig. 3a, 3c shows UUID#1, UUID#2, UUID#N used to generate personalized linear channels).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Park et al. with the teachings of Blatek et al., the motivation being to access personalized services.
Conclusion
NNENNA EKPO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/NNENNA N EKPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 June 23, 2026.