CTNF 19/141,172 CTNF 90542 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Jang, WO 2018143496, as referenced by machine translation from https://worldwide.espacenet.com . Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses: a video coding method comprising: receiving data for a block of pixels to be encoded or decoded as a current block of a current picture of a video; deriving a plurality of intra-prediction modes based on a reference region neighboring the current block among already-reconstructed pixels of the current picture (See [0054]-[0055], which disclose “determining the prediction mode of the current sub-block based on at least one of the adjustment prediction mode or the intra prediction mode of the current block.” [0055] makes clear that the reference blocks are already reconstructed, because they are upper, left, and upper-left blocks.) ; generating a predictor for the current block using at least one of the plurality of intra prediction modes (See [0079] “addition, in the present invention, the neighbor block includes at least one of an upper block, a left block, or an upper-left block adjacent to the current sub-block, and the adjustment prediction mode is characterized by being derived from the prediction mode value of any one of the neighbor blocks, the average value of any two prediction modes, or the median value of three prediction mode”) ; and encoding or decoding the current block by using the generated predictor to reconstruct the current block, wherein the to-be-referenced intra-prediction mode is used for encoding or decoding the current block or at least one subsequent block (See [0182], which discloses: “Looking at Figure 8 above, it can be seen that each block is encoded in a prediction mode similar to the prediction direction of an adjacent neighbor block.”) . Regarding claim 8, Jang discloses: the video coding method of claim 1, further comprising: when a size of the current block is greater than a threshold: dividing the current block into grids and the reference region into a plurality of subregions that are aligned with the grids of the current block (Lee [0152]: “For example, the current block may be partitioned based on a boundary at which an intra-prediction mode of a neighbor block is different. Alternatively, the current block may be partitioned based on whether the neighbor block is an intra coding block or an inter coding block.”) , deriving one or more intra-prediction modes for each sub-region of the plurality of sub-regions (See Jang [0006], “the present invention aims to provide a method for dividing a block into sub-blocks and inducing a prediction mode of each block so that each sub-block can have a different prediction mode without additional syntax signaling.”) ; generating an intra-prediction for each grid based on intra-prediction modes for subregions that are aligned with the grid (“See [0059]”) ; and using the intra-prediction for each grid to generate the predictor of the current block (See [0060].) . Electronic apparatus claim 13 is directed to an electronic apparatus that performs operations corresponding to the video coding method of claim 1, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as given above with respect to video coding method claim 1 Video decoding method claim 14 and video encoding method claim 15 are respectively directed to a video decoding/encoding method corresponding to the video coding method claimed in claim 1, and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as given above in video coding method claim 1 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Lee, US 2019/0215512 A1 Regarding claim 2, Jang discloses the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 2 depends. Jang does not disclose: the video coding method of claim 1, wherein: the reference region comprises at least one of an above reference region that is divided into a plurality of sub-regions and a left reference region that is divided into a plurality of sub-regions, the plurality of intra-prediction modes comprises intra-prediction modes that are derived based on the plurality of sub-regions of the reference region, the current block is divided into a plurality of grids that are aligned with the sub-regions in at least one of the above and left reference regions; wherein generating the predictor of the current block comprises generating an intra-prediction for each grid based on two or more intra-prediction modes. However, these limitations are disclosed in an analogous art by Lee, the reference region comprises at least one of an above reference region that is divided into a plurality of sub-regions and a left reference region that is divided into a plurality of sub-regions (See [0152], “size or form or both of a sub-block may be a predetermined size or block or both (for example, 4×4), or may be determined according to a size or form or both of the current block. Alternatively, the size of the sub-block may be determined based on whether or not a neighbor block of the current block is partitioned, or may be determined based on an intra-prediction mode of a neighbor block of the current block”) , the plurality of intra-prediction modes comprises intra-prediction modes that are derived based on the plurality of sub-regions of the reference region (See, “For example, the current block may be partitioned based on a boundary at which an intra-prediction mode of a neighbor block is different. Alternatively, the current block may be partitioned based on whether the neighbor block is an intra coding block or an inter coding block.”) , the current block is divided into a plurality of grids that are aligned with the sub-regions in at least one of the above and left reference regions (For example, the current block may be partitioned based on a boundary at which an intra-prediction mode of a neighbor block is different. Alternatively, the current block may be partitioned based on whether the neighbor block is an intra coding block or an inter coding block.) ; wherein generating the predictor of the current block comprises generating an intra-prediction for each grid based on two or more intra-prediction modes (See [0124], which discloses, “The intra-prediction mode of the current block may be derived as a statistical value of an intra-prediction mode of a predetermined positional neighbor block or an intra-prediction mode of at least two neighbor blocks. In the present description, the statistical value may mean at least one of an average value, a maximum value, a minimum value, a mode, a median value, a weighted average value, and an interpolation value.”) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the Applicant’s effective filing date to incorporate the feature of average prediction modes from adjacent sub-blocks, as disclosed in Jang, in order to provide a more accurate prediction value. See Lee [0021], “In addition, the present invention can minimize prediction errors by performing intra-prediction at the sub-block level.” Regarding claim 4, the combination Jang in view of Lee discloses the limitations of claim 2, upon which claim 4 depends. This combination, specifically Jang, further discloses: the video coding method of claim 2, wherein generating the predictor of a first grid comprises blending a first intra prediction generated by a first intra-prediction mode derived from a first subregion aligned with the first grid and a second intra prediction generated by a second intra-prediction mode derived from a second sub-region aligned with the second grid that is adjacent to the first grid (See [0377], which discloses: or example, the above adjustment prediction mode may mean the average value of the prediction mode values of the left block and the upper block. As another example, the above adjustment prediction mode may be any one of the prediction mode values of the left block or the upper block. Alternatively, the adjustment prediction mode may be any one of the prediction mode values of the neighboring blocks, an average value, or a median value.” Left block and upper block are aligned with respective first and second grids.) . Regarding claim 6, the combination of Jang in view of Lee discloses the limitations of claim 6, upon which depends claim 2. This combination, specifically Jang, further discloses: the video coding method of claim 2, wherein at least one of the plurality of intra-prediction modes comprises at least one of respective representative intra-prediction modes corresponding to the plurality of sub-regions (See Jang, [0020], which discloses: “In addition, the present invention enables different prediction modes without additional signaling for sub-blocks within a block during the process of performing intra prediction, and can induce prediction modes of angles that cannot be expressed in existing methods during the process of inducing the prediction mode of a sub-block.”). Regarding claim 7, the combination of Jang in view of Lee discloses the limitations of claim 6, upon which depends claim 6. This combination, specifically Jang, further discloses: the video coding method of claim 6, wherein for each sub-region, samples neighboring the sub-region are used to identify the representative intra-prediction mode of the subregion (See [0192], “Looking at the above Fig. 10(b), the present invention can induce a prediction mode on a sub-block basis based on at least one of an intra prediction mode, a representative prediction mode (or representative directionality), or a sub-prediction mode (or sub-directionality) of neighboring blocks (A, B, C, D).”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang, in view of Lee, in view of Sim, US 2023/0048262 A1 Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jang in view of Lee discloses the limitations of claim 2. This combination, does not disclose: the video coding method of claim 2, wherein the predictor for a grid is generated by a first intra prediction generated by a first intra-prediction mode derived from the above reference region or a sub-region of the above reference region aligned with the grid and a second intra prediction generated by a second intra-prediction mode derived from the left reference region or a sub-region of the left reference region aligned with the grid, wherein the first and second intra predictions at a sample in the grid are blended according to a weighting that is assigned based on the sample's respective distances from the above and left reference regions. However, Sim discloses these limitations, the video coding method of claim 2, wherein the predictor for a grid is generated by a first intra prediction generated by a first intra-prediction mode derived from the above reference region or a sub-region of the above reference region aligned with the grid and a second intra prediction generated by a second intra-prediction mode derived from the left reference region or a sub-region of the left reference region aligned with the grid, wherein the first and second intra predictions at a sample in the grid are blended according to a weighting that is assigned based on the sample's respective distances from the above and left reference regions (See [0143], which discloses: “If it is determined that the blending process is applied, the predictor 120, 440 may derive an inter weight and an intra weight (S1402). The inter weight and the intra weight may be derived by considering a distance between the target sample in the current block and the partition edge, prediction types of neighbor blocks, an intra prediction mode, etc. The inter weight corresponds to a weight to be applied to an inter prediction value for the target sample. The intra weight corresponds to a weight to be applied to an intra prediction value for the target sample.”) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to incorporate a distance-based weighting of the intra mode blending, as it was understood in video coding that proximity of a target region to a reference region generally correlates with similarity of the content, such that a closer reference region should be given a larger weight . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5, and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The prior art does not disclose or suggest: Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not disclose: the video coding method of claim 2, wherein: when a first cost based on a plurality of costs of respective representative intra-prediction modes corresponding to the plurality of sub-regions in the above reference region or the left reference region is less than a second cost of using a representative intra-prediction mode of the above reference region or the left reference region by considering a threshold, the predictor of the current block is generated by using at least one of the respective representative intra-prediction modes corresponding to the plurality of sub-regions in the above reference region or the left reference region; or when the first cost is not less than the second cost by considering the threshold, the predictor of the current block is generated by using the representative intra-prediction mode from the above reference region or the left reference region. At best, the prior art, Jang, discloses calculating a rate distortion cost to determine an optimal partitioning of the coding, prediction, and transform units. See [0138]. The video coding method of claim 1, wherein the to-be-referenced intra prediction mode is stored for the current block or propagated to the at least one subsequent block. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KYLE M LOTFI whose telephone number is (571)272-8762. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian Pendleton can be reached at 571-272-7527. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KYLE M LOTFI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/141,172 Page 2 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/141,172 Page 3 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/141,172 Page 4 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/141,172 Page 5 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/141,172 Page 6 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/141,172 Page 7 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/141,172 Page 8 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/141,172 Page 9 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/141,172 Page 10 Art Unit: 2425