“DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 06/19/2025.
Claims 1-17 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/19/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. It is unclear the meaning of claim limitation having “from mapped intra-prediction mode according to GPM angle, DIMD (Decoder-side Intra Prediction Mode), TIMD (Template-based Intra-Prediction Mode), spatial neighbours, to perpendicular derived mode” with intermediate commas in the claim limitations. The interpretation of the sentence is not defined by the clear claim language, and the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree and one of the ordinary skills in the art would not be reasonably appraised of the scope of the invention, because limitation having one from ending two “to” with comma in between those “to”. So, the claim scope is undefined. Applicant is advised to amend the claim to clear sequential format to items instead of “from” to “to” structure.
Other dependent claims are also rejected because of the deficiencies of their respective parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (U.S. Pub. No. 20220150537 A1), in view of Chen (U.S. Pub. No. 20250386019 A1).
Regarding to claim 1 and 17:
1. Heo teach a method of video coding, the method comprising: (Heo Fig. 1 [0015] FIG. 1 schematically illustrates an example of a video/image coding system) receiving input data associated with a current block, (Heo Fig. 2 [0058] The inter predictor (221) may derive a predicted block for the current block based on a reference block (reference sample array) specified by a motion vector on a reference picture) wherein the input data comprise pixel data to be encoded at an encoder side or data associated with the current block to be decoded at a decoder side; (Heo [0083] As described above, in performing video coding, a prediction is performed to enhance compression efficiency. A predicted block including prediction samples for a current block, that is, a target coding block, can be generated through the prediction. In this case, the predicted block includes the prediction samples in a spatial domain (or pixel domain). The predicted block is identically derived in the encoding apparatus and the decoding apparatus. [0150] According to the intra subpartition method, whether to apply the intra subpartitions is first transmitted in the unit of a block, and if the current block uses the intra subpartitions (intra_subpartitions_mode_flag), information on whether the partition method is horizontal partition or vertical partition (intra_subpartitions_split_flag) is then encoded/decoded.) generating a target MPM (Most Probable Modes) list for the current block, (Heo [0025] FIG. 13 is a diagram explaining an embodiment of a method for generating a unified MPM list. [0224] The decoding apparatus may derive an intra prediction mode for the current block based on the MPM list (S1620). [0225] According to an embodiment, the decoding apparatus may obtain information on the intra prediction mode for the current block from a bitstream. As information for indicating an intra prediction mode of the current block, the information on the intra prediction mode may include MPM flag information, MPM index information, remaining mode information, and so on.) wherein the target MPM list is shared by two or more intra prediction tools, (Heo [0214] The decoding apparatus may construct a Most Probable Mode (MPM) list by deriving candidate intra prediction modes of the current block, based on a value of the reference line index information (S1610). [0215] According to an embodiment, based on whether or not a specific intra prediction method (e.g., multiple reference line intra prediction, subpartition intra prediction, and so on) is being applied, the decoding apparatus may construct an MPM list. At this point, the above-described embodiments may be applied to the process of constructing an MPM list. For example, the MPM list may be constructed according to the method shown in FIG. 13 and FIG. 14)
and encoding or decoding the current block by using information comprising the target MPM list. (Heo [0116] FIG. 8 illustrates an example of an intra prediction method based on the MPM mode in the encoding apparatus to which the exemplary embodiments of the present document are applicable. [0117] Referring to FIG. 8, the encoding apparatus constructs the MPM list for the current block (S800). The MPM list may include candidate intra prediction modes (MPM candidates) which are more likely applied to the current block. The MPM list may also include the intra prediction mode of the neighboring block, and further include specific intra prediction modes according to a predetermined method as well. A specific method for constructing the MPM list will be described later. [0156] By using the unified MPM list generation method according to embodiments of this document, the encoding/decoding structure of the intra prediction can be simplified, and the video encoding/decoding efficiency can be increased through an increase of the intra mode encoding/decoding efficiency.)
Heo do not explicitly teach wherein said two or more intra prediction tools comprise spatial-GPM (Geometric Partition Mode) prediction mode, GPM intra prediction mode, regular intra mode, TMRL (Template-based Multiple Reference Line intra) mode, or a combination thereof;
However Chen teach and wherein said two or more intra prediction tools comprise spatial-GPM (Geometric Partition Mode) prediction mode, GPM intra prediction mode, regular intra mode, TMRL (Template-based Multiple Reference Line intra) mode, or a combination thereof; (Chen [0186] More than 2 IPMs for a CU may be supported (e.g., TIMD may support 2 IPMs; DIMD may support 3 IPMs). The blending process may be performed on one or more pixels with the same weights. To model such blocks, geometric partition modes for intra prediction may be considered. GPM may be extended to intra prediction, which may be referred to as spatial GPM (SGPM). FIG. 21A shows an example of SGPM. This may include a partition mode and associated IPMs (e.g., two associated IPMs). FIG. 21B shows an example of a partition mode and two IPMs associated with SGPM signaled in video bitstream. In examples, if these modes are signaled in the bitstream as shown in FIG. 21B, overhead bits may be yielded. To express the partition and prediction information efficiently in the bit-stream, a candidate list may be employed, and the candidate index may be signaled in the bitstream. A candidate in the list may derive a combination of a partition mode and intra prediction modes (e.g., two prediction modes), as shown in FIG. 21C. Chen [0176] Intra prediction mode signaling may be provided. In examples, if the intra prediction mode selected to predict the current CU is not a DIMD, MIP mode, or a TIMD (e.g., it is one of the 67 IPMs as described herein), the index of the intra prediction mode may be signaled using the MPM list of the CU. Block differential pulse code modulation (BDPCM), template-based intra prediction (TMP), intra block copy (IBC), and palette coding may be activated for video sequences (e.g., exclusively, such as screen content), and may be disabled when MPM list is used. [0177] An MPM list may include a list of primary MPMs (e.g., 6 primary MPMs) and a list of secondary MPMs (e.g., 16 secondary MPMs), as shown in FIG. 14. FIG. 14 shows an example of an MPM list. The MPM list may be built by sequentially adding candidate IPM indices, from the one most likely to be selected as the IPM for predicting the current CU to the one least likely to be selected for predicting the current CU. Redundancy in the list of MPMs may be removed, e.g., such that a MPM list may not include multiple identical IPM indices.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Heo, further incorporating Chen in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate said two or more intra prediction tools comprise spatial-GPM (Geometric Partition Mode) prediction mode, GPM intra prediction mode, regular intra mode, TMRL (Template-based Multiple Reference Line intra) mode, or a combination thereof. This functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 2:
2. Heo teach the method of Claim 1, Heo do not explicitly teach wherein when the current block is coded in a GPM prediction mode, one or more neighbouring modes of the current block are derived as one or more candidates to be added into the target MPM list during MPM list construction according to one or more constraints, and wherein said one or more neighbouring modes of the current block are derived based on a decoder-side derivation mode of the current block.
However Chen teach wherein when the current block is coded in a GPM prediction mode, (Chen [0187] FIG. 21C shows a derived combination of a partition mode and two IPMs associated with SGPM signaled in video bitstream. FIG. 22 shows an example of a prediction generated for the template with the partitioning weight extended to the template. The combinations may be ranked in ascending order of their SATD between the prediction and reconstruction of the template. The length of the candidate list may be set equal to 16, and the candidates may be regarded as the most probable SGPM combinations of the current block) one or more neighbouring modes of the current block are derived as one or more candidates (Chen [0220] To improve the accuracy of estimation and selection, if the block size is smaller than 8×8, the corresponding template may include one above neighboring row and one left neighboring column of the current block. In examples, if the block size is larger than 16×16, the corresponding template may include the whole above neighboring block and the whole left neighboring block of the current block. To reduce the complexity of computation and memory access, the smaller block may use a larger template and vice versa. For frame resolution, a larger template size may be applied for larger resolution contents (e.g., 4K contents) to find an SGPM candidate. For the slice type, a smaller (or larger) template size may be applied for an inter-coded slice. In examples, if the slice is a B slice, the corresponding template size may include one above neighboring row and one left neighboring column of the current block set as M=2.) to be added into the target MPM list during MPM list construction according to one or more constraints, (Chen [0230] In examples, SGPM may be tested if TIMD is enabled. Described herein, IPMs (e.g., the first two IPMs) involving the MPM list with the minimum SATD between the prediction and reconstruction samples of the template may be retained in the pass (e.g., first pass). For these modes (e.g., two modes), if the IPM is neither PLANAR nor DC, TIMD may test in terms of prediction SATD its closest extended directional IPMs (e.g., two closest extended direction IPMs). On a condition that SATD.sub.IPM2<2*SATD. sub.IPM1 is true, the selected IPMs (e.g., final two selected IPMs) may be fused with the weights, which may depend on the SATDs of the IPMs (e.g., two IPMs). The blended predictor Pred.sub.TIMD and the related RDO cost Cost.sub.TIMD may be stored. The TIMD IPMs (e.g., two best TIMD IPMs) may be reused as the intra prediction modes for SGPM. 26 out of 64 partition modes may be used (or possible partition modes described herein) for combinations with these TIMD IPMs (e.g., two best TIMD IPMs))
and wherein said one or more neighbouring modes of the current block are derived based on a decoder-side derivation mode of the current block. (Chen [0176] Intra prediction mode signaling may be provided. In examples, if the intra prediction mode selected to predict the current CU is not a DIMD, MIP mode, or a TIMD (e.g., it is one of the 67 IPMs as described herein), the index of the intra prediction mode may be signaled using the MPM list of the CU. Block differential pulse code modulation (BDPCM), template-based intra prediction (TMP), intra block copy (IBC), and palette coding may be activated for video sequences (e.g., exclusively, such as screen content), and may be disabled when MPM list is used. [0177] An MPM list may include a list of primary MPMs (e.g., 6 primary MPMs) and a list of secondary MPMs (e.g., 16 secondary MPMs), as shown in FIG. 14. FIG. 14 shows an example of an MPM list. The MPM list may be built by sequentially adding candidate IPM indices, from the one most likely to be selected as the IPM for predicting the current CU to the one least likely to be selected for predicting the current CU. Redundancy in the list of MPMs may be removed, e.g., such that a MPM list may not include multiple identical IPM indices. [0178] FIG. 15 shows an example of the signaling of the intra prediction mode selected to predict the current CU on the encoder side. In examples, the signaling of the intra prediction mode selected to predict the current CU on the encoder side may apply on the decoder side. Chen [0186] More than 2 IPMs for a CU may be supported (e.g., TIMD may support 2 IPMs; DIMD may support 3 IPMs). The blending process may be performed on one or more pixels with the same weights. To model such blocks, geometric partition modes for intra prediction may be considered. GPM may be extended to intra prediction, which may be referred to as spatial GPM (SGPM).)
Regarding to claim 4:
4. Heo teach the method of Claim 2, Heo do not explicitly teach wherein the decoder-side derivation mode comprises DIMD (Decoder-side Intra Mode Derivation) mode, TIMD (Template-based Intra Mode Derivation) mode, or any other intra-prediction mode derived by a decoder.
However Chen teach wherein the decoder-side derivation mode comprises DIMD (Decoder-side Intra Mode Derivation) mode, TIMD (Template-based Intra Mode Derivation) mode, or any other intra-prediction mode derived by a decoder. (Chen [0186] More than 2 IPMs for a CU may be supported (e.g., TIMD may support 2 IPMs; DIMD may support 3 IPMs). The blending process may be performed on one or more pixels with the same weights. To model such blocks, geometric partition modes for intra prediction may be considered. GPM may be extended to intra prediction, which may be referred to as spatial GPM (SGPM). [0177] An MPM list may include a list of primary MPMs (e.g., 6 primary MPMs) and a list of secondary MPMs (e.g., 16 secondary MPMs), as shown in FIG. 14. FIG. 14 shows an example of an MPM list. The MPM list may be built by sequentially adding candidate IPM indices, from the one most likely to be selected as the IPM for predicting the current CU to the one least likely to be selected for predicting the current CU. Redundancy in the list of MPMs may be removed, e.g., such that a MPM list may not include multiple identical IPM indices. [0178] FIG. 15 shows an example of the signaling of the intra prediction mode selected to predict the current CU on the encoder side. In examples, the signaling of the intra prediction mode selected to predict the current CU on the encoder side may apply on the decoder side)
Regarding to claim 5:
5. Heo teach the method of Claim 2, Heo do not explicitly teach wherein pruning or redundancy check is applied to the target MPM list when said one or more candidates are inserted into the target MPM list.
However Chen teach wherein pruning or redundancy check is applied to the target MPM list when said one or more candidates are inserted into the target MPM list. (Chen [0192] FIG. 25 shows an example of the derivation of the possible IPM candidates for SGPM. At 3001, an IPM list may be initialized. The available primary MPMs (e.g., at 2504, 6 primary MPMs such as PLANAR, IPM of left/above/below-left/above-right/above-left blocks) and DIMD IPMs (e.g., at 2506, 2 DIMD IPMs) may be included in the list of the possible intra prediction modes. At 2508, for an intra-coded slice (e.g., I slice), extra IPMs (e.g., DC, horizontal, and/or vertical) may be inserted (e.g., continually inserted) in the list. In examples, at 2510, if the size of current possible IPMs does not reach 4, it may be indicated that up to 8 IPM candidates may be added to the list for intra-coded slice. Otherwise, at 2512, the 3 extra IPMs may be inserted (e.g., continually inserted) in the list, which may indicate that up to 11 IPM candidates may be added to the list for inter-coded slice (e.g., B/P slice). In examples, if inserting an IPM candidate to the list, a redundancy check may be applied to find whether there is an identical IPM already in the list.)
Regarding to claim 6:
6. Heo teach the method of Claim 2, Heo do not explicitly teach wherein the target MPM list is shared by all partitions or only by partial partitions in the spatial-GPM prediction mode, the GPM intra prediction mode, or both.
However Chen teach wherein the target MPM list is shared by all partitions or only by partial partitions in the spatial-GPM prediction mode, the GPM intra prediction mode, or both. (Chen [0046] FIG. 18 shows an example of GPM intra mode. [0049] FIG. 21A shows an example of spatial geometric partition mode (SGPM). [0186] More than 2 IPMs for a CU may be supported (e.g., TIMD may support 2 IPMs; DIMD may support 3 IPMs). The blending process may be performed on one or more pixels with the same weights. To model such blocks, geometric partition modes for intra prediction may be considered. GPM may be extended to intra prediction, which may be referred to as spatial GPM (SGPM). [0192] FIG. 25 if inserting an IPM candidate to the list, a redundancy check may be applied to find whether there is an identical IPM already in the list. In examples, for I slice, the possible IPM candidates may reach 8. 2 out of 8 IPM candidates may be selected for SGPM, which means 2×8×Num.sub. PartitionMode predictions may be generated, and the related template SATD costs may be calculated. 8× 7× Num.sub.PartitionMode comparisons may be checked.)
Regarding to claim 7-10:
7. Heo teach the method of Claim 2, wherein the target MPM list is unified from two MPM lists (Heo [0163] As an example, as illustrated in (a), (b), and (c) of FIG. 13, the temporary MPM list may be generated with respect to the normal intra prediction, the multiple reference line intra prediction, and the subpartition intra prediction. In this case, each of the temporary MPM lists equally includes 6 MPM candidates. Heo teach unifying lists from multiple lists)
Heo do not explicitly teach for the spatial-GPM prediction mode and the GPM intra prediction mode respectively according to a MPM list construction order.
However Chen teach for the spatial-GPM prediction mode and the GPM intra prediction mode respectively (Chen [0046] FIG. 18 shows an example of GPM intra mode. [0049] FIG. 21A shows an example of spatial geometric partition mode (SGPM). [0186] More than 2 IPMs for a CU may be supported (e.g., TIMD may support 2 IPMs; DIMD may support 3 IPMs). The blending process may be performed on one or more pixels with the same weights. To model such blocks, geometric partition modes for intra prediction may be considered. GPM may be extended to intra prediction, which may be referred to as spatial GPM (SGPM))
according to a MPM list construction order. (Chen [0195] The IPM candidate list may be constructed by including one or more of the following possible types of IPM candidates: PLANAR; DIMD IPMs (e.g., 2 DIMD IPMs); TIMD IPMs (e.g., 2 TIMD IPMs); DC; or horizontal (e.g., IPM=18), vertical (e.g., IPM=50), diagonal (e.g., IPM=34), and/or antidiagonal (e.g., IPM=66). [0230] In examples, SGPM may be tested if TIMD is enabled. Described herein, IPMs (e.g., the first two IPMs) involving the MPM list with the minimum SATD between the prediction and reconstruction samples of the template may be retained in the pass (e.g., first pass). For these modes (e.g., two modes), if the IPM is neither PLANAR nor DC, TIMD may test in terms of prediction SATD its closest extended directional IPMs (e.g., two closest extended direction IPMs). On a condition that SATD.sub.IPM2<2*SATD.sub.IPM1 is true, the selected IPMs (e.g., final two selected IPMs) may be fused with the weights, which may depend on the SATDs of the IPMs (e.g., two IPMs). The blended predictor Pred.sub.TIMD and the related RDO cost Cost.sub.TIMD may be stored. The TIMD IPMs (e.g., two best TIMD IPMs) may be reused as the intra prediction modes for SGPM.)
Regarding to claim 13:
13. Heo teach the method of Claim 1, Heo do not explicitly teach wherein for the spatial-GPM prediction mode or the GPM intra prediction mode having a same GPM-angle, a same MPM list generation is used.
However Chen teach wherein for the spatial-GPM prediction mode or the GPM intra prediction mode having a same GPM-angle, (Chen Fig. 16, Fig. 26-27 [0179] Geometric partition mode (GPM) may be used for better alignment of inter prediction boundary with objects. A GPM may include 64 partitions in total for inter prediction. In examples, if the geometric merge mode is used, a CU may be split into partitions (e.g., two partitions) by a geometrically located straight line (e.g., as shown in FIG. 16). FIG. 16 shows an example of 64 partitions for GPM. The location of the splitting line may be mathematically derived from the angle q; and distance offset ρ.sub.i of a specific partition.) a same MPM list generation is used. (Chen [0195] The IPM candidate list may be constructed by including one or more of the following possible types of IPM candidates: PLANAR; DIMD IPMs (e.g., 2 DIMD IPMs); TIMD IPMs (e.g., 2 TIMD IPMs); DC; or horizontal (e.g., IPM=18), vertical (e.g., IPM=50), diagonal (e.g., IPM=34), and/or antidiagonal (e.g., IPM=66). [0230] In examples, SGPM may be tested if TIMD is enabled. Described herein, IPMs (e.g., the first two IPMs) involving the MPM list with the minimum SATD between the prediction and reconstruction samples of the template may be retained in the pass (e.g., first pass). For these modes (e.g., two modes), if the IPM is neither PLANAR nor DC, TIMD may test in terms of prediction SATD its closest extended directional IPMs (e.g., two closest extended direction IPMs). On a condition that SATD.sub.IPM2<2*SATD.sub.IPM1 is true, the selected IPMs (e.g., final two selected IPMs) may be fused with the weights, which may depend on the SATDs of the IPMs (e.g., two IPMs). The blended predictor Pred.sub.TIMD and the related RDO cost Cost.sub.TIMD may be stored. The TIMD IPMs (e.g., two best TIMD IPMs) may be reused as the intra prediction modes for SGPM.)
Regarding to claim 14:
14. Heo teach the method of Claim 1, Heo do not explicitly teach wherein the target MPM list is generated for one of said two or more intra prediction tools and an extended MPM list is generated based on the target MPM list for another of said two or more intra prediction tools.
However Chen teach wherein the target MPM list is generated for one of said two or more intra prediction tools and an extended MPM list is generated based on the target MPM list for another of said two or more intra prediction tools. (Chen [0176] Intra prediction mode signaling may be provided. In examples, if the intra prediction mode selected to predict the current CU is not a DIMD, MIP mode, or a TIMD (e.g., it is one of the 67 IPMs as described herein), the index of the intra prediction mode may be signaled using the MPM list of the CU. Block differential pulse code modulation (BDPCM), template-based intra prediction (TMP), intra block copy (IBC), and palette coding may be activated for video sequences (e.g., exclusively, such as screen content), and may be disabled when MPM list is used. [0177] An MPM list may include a list of primary MPMs (e.g., 6 primary MPMs) and a list of secondary MPMs (e.g., 16 secondary MPMs), as shown in FIG. 14. FIG. 14 shows an example of an MPM list. The MPM list may be built by sequentially adding candidate IPM indices, from the one most likely to be selected as the IPM for predicting the current CU to the one least likely to be selected for predicting the current CU. Redundancy in the list of MPMs may be removed, e.g., such that a MPM list may not include multiple identical IPM indices.)
Regarding to claim 15:
15. Heo teach the method of Claim 1, wherein the target MPM list is generated (Heo [0163] As an example, as illustrated in (a), (b), and (c) of FIG. 13, the temporary MPM list may be generated with respect to the normal intra prediction, the multiple reference line intra prediction, and the subpartition intra prediction. In this case, each of the temporary MPM lists equally includes 6 MPM candidates. Heo teach unifying lists from multiple lists)
Heo do not explicitly teach for all intra prediction tools or partial intra prediction tools in a group of intra prediction tools.
However Chen teach for all intra prediction tools or partial intra prediction tools in a group of intra prediction tools. (Chen [0195] The IPM candidate list may be constructed by including one or more of the following possible types of IPM candidates: PLANAR; DIMD IPMs (e.g., 2 DIMD IPMs); TIMD IPMs (e.g., 2 TIMD IPMs); DC; or horizontal (e.g., IPM=18), vertical (e.g., IPM=50), diagonal (e.g., IPM=34), and/or antidiagonal (e.g., IPM=66). [0230] In examples, SGPM may be tested if TIMD is enabled. Described herein, IPMs (e.g., the first two IPMs) involving the MPM list with the minimum SATD between the prediction and reconstruction samples of the template may be retained in the pass (e.g., first pass). For these modes (e.g., two modes), if the IPM is neither PLANAR nor DC, TIMD may test in terms of prediction SATD its closest extended directional IPMs (e.g., two closest extended direction IPMs). On a condition that SATD.sub.IPM2< 2*SATD.sub.IPM1 is true, the selected IPMs (e.g., final two selected IPMs) may be fused with the weights, which may depend on the SATDs of the IPMs (e.g., two IPMs). The blended predictor Pred.sub.TIMD and the related RDO cost Cost.sub.TIMD may be stored. The TIMD IPMs (e.g., two best TIMD IPMs) may be reused as the intra prediction modes for SGPM.)
Regarding to claim 16:
16. Heo teach the method of Claim 15, wherein the group of intra prediction tools (Heo [0163] As an example, as illustrated in (a), (b), and (c) of FIG. 13, the temporary MPM list may be generated with respect to the normal intra prediction, the multiple reference line intra prediction, and the subpartition intra prediction. In this case, each of the temporary MPM lists equally includes 6 MPM candidates. Heo teach unifying lists from multiple lists)
Heo do not explicitly teach comprises regular intra prediction mode, TMRL, the GPM intra prediction mode, and the spatial-GPM prediction mode.
However Chen teach comprises regular intra prediction mode, TMRL, the GPM intra prediction mode, and the spatial-GPM prediction mode. (Chen [0188] The SGPM may attempt to limit the possible partitions and IPMs. A trade-off may occur between complexity and performance (e.g., 0.26% gain for intra configuration (AI) with 172% encoding time and 114% decoding time increase). SGPM may be disabled, for example, if DIMD, TIMD, or MIP is used. MRL and ISP may be disabled, for example, if SGPM is used (e.g., as shown in FIG. 24). FIG. 24 shows an example of signaling the intra prediction mode selected to predict the current CU on the encoder side including adding SGPM.)
Claims 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (U.S. Pub. No. 20220150537 A1), in view of Chen (U.S. Pub. No. 20250386019 A1), further in view of Liu U.S. Pub. No. 20170353730 A1).
Regarding to claim 3:
3. Heo teach the method of Claim 2, wherein said one or more neighbouring modes of the current block comprise the decoder-side derivation (Please see the rejection of claim 2)
Heo do not explicitly teach current block comprise the decoder-side derivation mode ± n and n is a positive integer.
However Liu teach current block comprise the decoder-side derivation mode ± n and n is a positive integer. (Liu [0069] In a second variation, the Intra prediction mode (referred as target mode K) with lowest cost during the template matching search is selected. An integer number N is set such that the final Intra prediction mode for the current block will be selected from these N modes, using explicit signaling. In particular, if N can be expressed by 2̂M (M is another integer number), then the signaling of Intra prediction mode can be done by using M bins. Note that N should be smaller or equal to the number of total available Intra prediction modes. The followings are rules to build these N modes. [0070] If the target mode (e.g. mode K) is an angular mode, non-angular based modes such as DC and planar modes are also selected. If the sum of these modes does not add up to N, other angular modes that are close to this mode are also selected. For example, modes K+1, K+2 . . . K−1, K−2, etc. are its neighboring modes. If any of the modes is not an available Intra prediction mode, this mode will be replaced by extending the original mode towards reverse direction (i.e., direction of the original mode plus180 degree). For example, in FIG. 11, mode (K+2) is replaced by mode (K+2)′, which corresponds to mode (K+2) rotated by 180 degrees. This operation is referred here as extended expression of Intra prediction mode. The ordering in the N-candidate mode list can vary. For example, the order can be: mode K, mode K+1, mode K−1, DC, planar, mode K+2, mode K−2, etc. [0116] In a sixth variation, approach B in all the above mentioned methods can be generalized such that in addition to the best mode from template matching search (referred as a target mode, K), some neighboring modes close to mode K are also put into the MPM set for the current block. In one embodiment, if mode K is an angular mode, mode K+1, mode K−1, mode K+2, mode K−2 . . . mode K+M, mode K−M are also put into the MPM set, where M is a positive integer number. All the additional modes here are from a set of predefined Intra prediction directions used in template matching search. In one embodiment, when there are 127 directions used in template matching search, all modes are from these 127 directions. In another embodiment, when mode K+M or mode K−M is smaller than 45 degree, a mode corresponding to adding 180 degrees to the mode angle is used. When mode K+M or mode K−M is greater than 225 degree, a mode corresponding to subtracting 180 degrees from the mode angle is used.)
The motivation for combining Heo and Chen as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 3. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Heo, further incorporating Chen and Liu in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate current block comprise the decoder-side derivation mode ± n and n is a positive integer. This functionality will improve quality with predictable results.
Claims 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (U.S. Pub. No. 20220150537 A1), in view of Chen (U.S. Pub. No. 20250386019 A1), further in view of Zhang (U.S. Pub. No. 20200413045).
Regarding to claim 11-12:
11. Heo teach the method of Claim 2, Heo do not explicitly teach wherein said one or more candidates comprise non-adjacent spatial candidates.
However Zhang teach wherein said one or more candidates comprise non-adjacent spatial candidates. (Zhang FIG. 46 [0433] In some embodiments, the above methods 4500 and 4600 include constructing a Most Probable Mode (MPM) list based on at least one of: the one or more tables of prediction mode candidates or the intra prediction mode of the non-adjacent block. In some embodiments, the method includes re-ordering non Most Probable Mode (MPM) intra prediction modes based on at least one of: the one or more tables of prediction mode candidates or the intra prediction mode of the non-adjacent block [non-adjacent patterns])
The motivation for combining Heo and Chen as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 11. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Heo, further incorporating Chen and Zhang in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate said one or more candidates comprise non-adjacent spatial candidates. This functionality will improve user experience with predictable results.
Closely related prior art
Examiner notes teaching of U.S. Pub. No. 20230112074 A1 is/are pertinent to the independent claim(s), however is not used because dependent claims are better covered by cited reference.
Conclusion
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896