Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a mobile body position determining unit that determines…”, “a mobile body control unit that controls…”, “a route setting unit that sets…” and “a malfunction detecting unit…determines” in claim 1 (and all claims that depend therefrom.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the corresponding structure for each of the units is a processor as described in paragraph [0040] and Fig. 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aso (US 2024/704054) in view of Leone et al. (US 2019006393).
With respect to claim 1, Aso teaches a mobile body control system (see at least Abstract and ¶[0033]-[0034], comprising: a mobile body position determining unit that determines a current position of a mobile body that runs along a route in a predetermined area of a floor surface (see at least ¶ [0041]-[0044] and [0059]); a mobile body control unit that controls a behavior of the mobile body on the basis of the determined current position of the mobile body (see at least ¶[0041]-[0044] and [0059]); a route setting unit that sets the route as data (see at least ¶[0041]-[0044], [0059] and [0094]); and a malfunction detecting unit; wherein the mobile body position determining unit (a) acquires a partial floor surface image generated when a floor surface part at the current position of the mobile body is scanned by the mobile body, (b) determines a position of the partial floor surface image in a floor image of the whole predetermined area, and (c) on the basis of the determined position, determines the current position of the mobile body (see at least ¶[0078]-[0081] and [0083]; the mobile body control unit determines an error between a predetermined route set by the route setting unit and the current position of the mobile body, and causes the mobile body to run so as to reduce the error (see at least ¶ [0080] and [0083]). While Aso teaches the determination that an abnormality exists plural times, it is determined that the abnormality is with the conveyance vehicle, Aso does not specifically teach that the malfunction detecting unit determines whether malfunction occurs on a running system in the mobile body or not on the basis of an occurrence frequency of the error larger than a predetermined threshold value; or that if it is determined that malfunction occurs on a running system in the mobile body, the mobile body control unit derives a correction amount corresponding to the malfunction, and continuously corrects a behavior of the running system of the mobile body with the derived correction amount. However, such matter is taught by Leone et al. (see at least ¶[0047], [0054]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present invention to include the system of Leone et al. that teaches a detection of an error (misalignment) in the running system of a vehicle (wheels) based on a positional divergence and attempts to correct the error with the system of Aso going to detecting an abnormality in a vehicle (which could include the wheels) as both systems are directed to detecting and diagnosing positional errors of autonomous vehicles as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of the system of Leone et al. and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Aso to more specifically determine an abnormality with the wheels of the vehicle.
With respect to claim 3, Aso does not specifically teach wherein if the correction amount exceeds a predetermined threshold value, the malfunction detecting unit notifies of the malfunction or stops running of the mobile body. However, such matter is taught by Leone et al. (see at least ¶[0047], [0054]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present invention to include the system of Leone et al. that teaches a detection of an error (misalignment) in the running system of a vehicle (wheels) based on a positional divergence and attempts to correct the error with the system of Aso going to detecting an abnormality in a vehicle (which could include the wheels) as both systems are directed to detecting and diagnosing positional errors of autonomous vehicles as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of the system of Leone et al. and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Aso to more specifically determine an abnormality with the wheels of the vehicle.
With respect to claim 4, Aso teaches a management server; wherein the management server comprises a communication device, the mobile body position determining unit, the mobile body control unit, the route setting unit, and the malfunction detecting unit; wherein the mobile body position determining unit acquires the partial floor surface image using the communication device; and the mobile body control unit transmits an operation instruction based on the determined current position of the mobile body to the mobile body using the communication device and thereby control a behavior of the mobile body (see at least ¶[0051] and Fig. 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3666A
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666