DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
• The following is an office action in response to the communication filed 06/20/2025.
• Claims 1-9 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of Application No. CN 202310508313.7, filed on 05/08/2023 has been received.
The examiner acknowledges that the instant application is a national stage entry of PCT/CN2024/091099, filed 05/06/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
First, it is determined whether the claims are directed to a statutory category of invention. See MPEP 2106.03(II). In the instant case, claims 1-9 are directed to a process. Therefore, claims 1-9 are directed to statutory subject matter under Step 1 of the Alice/Mayo test (Step 1: YES).
The claims are then analyzed to determine if the claims are directed to a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04. In determining whether the claims are directed to a judicial exception, the claims are analyzed to evaluate whether the claims recite a judicial exception (Prong 1 of Step 2A), as well as analyzed to evaluate whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of the judicial exception (Prong 2 of Step 2A). See MPEP 2106.04.
Taking claim 1 as representative, claim 1 recites at least the following limitations that are believed to recite an abstract idea:
S1: constructing a multi-party dataset for recommending potential users to a financial product; the dataset comprising information of users who have purchased the financial product and users information from other parties; preprocessing the dataset and performing sample alignment to construct a positive sample dataset and an unlabeled sample dataset;
S2: performing random sampling with replacement on the unlabeled sample dataset to construct a negative sample dataset; constructing a training set using the negative sample dataset and the positive sample dataset; constructing a prediction set using unsampled data from the unlabeled sample dataset; constructing a model, performing prediction on the prediction set, and then obtaining a prediction score for each sample in the prediction set;
S3: repeating the sampling, and prediction processes of step S2 multiple times; calculating a probability of each sample in the unlabeled sample dataset being positive, based on a cumulative prediction score and a number of times it appeared in the prediction sets; ranking all samples in the unlabeled sample dataset in descending order according to the probability of being positive; selecting the top-ranked samples as reliable positive samples according to prior knowledge; adding the reliable positive samples to the positive sample dataset; and simultaneously removing the reliable positive samples from the unlabeled sample dataset;
S4: repeating steps S2 to S3 until a preset maximum number of iterations is reached, whereby all reliable positive samples identified from the unlabeled sample dataset are designated as potential users of the financial product, such that accurate and scalable batch recommendations can be provided to financial product providers based on the designated potential users.
The above limitations recite the concept of analyzing user data to provide financial product recommendations. These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in the MPEP, in that they recite commercial or legal interactions such as advertising, marketing, or sales activities or behaviors. Specifically, providing product recommendations is a sales and marketing activity. Further, these limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in the MPEP, in that they recite concepts performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Specifically, the determinations are observations, evaluations, and judgements. These limitations are similar to the mental process of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis. Accordingly, under Prong One of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
Under Prong Two of Step 2A of the MPEP, claim 1 recites additional elements, such as a multi-party semi-supervised learning method, a vertical federated learning model based on a base estimator; training the model on the training set; and repeating the training. These additional elements are described at a high level in Applicant’s specification without any meaningful detail about their structure or configuration. As such, these computer-related limitations are not found to be sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Although these additional computer-related elements are recited, claim 1 merely invokes such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer is not indicative of integration into a practical application. Similar to the limitations of Alice, claim 1 merely recites a commonplace business method (i.e., analyzing user data to provide financial product recommendations) being applied on a general purpose computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, claim 1 generally links the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The courts have identified various examples of limitations as merely indicating a field of use/technological environment in which to apply the abstract idea, such as specifying that the abstract idea of monitoring audit log data relates to transactions or activities that are executed in a computer environment, because this requirement merely limits the claims to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer (see FairWarning v. Iatric Sys.). Likewise, claim 1 specifying that the abstract idea of analyzing user data to provide financial product recommendations is executed in a computer environment merely indicates a field of use in which to apply the abstract idea because this requirement merely limits the claims to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer. As such, under Prong Two of Step 2A of the MPEP, when considered both individually and as a whole, the limitations of claim 1 are not indicative of integration into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong Two: NO).
Since claim 1 recites an abstract idea and fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, claim 1 is “directed to” an abstract idea (Step 2A: YES).
Next, under Step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine if there are additional claim limitations that individually, or as an ordered combination, ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05. The instant claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for at least the following reasons.
Returning to independent claim 1, these claims recite additional elements, such as a multi-party semi-supervised learning method, a vertical federated learning model based on a base estimator; training the model on the training set; and repeating the training. As discussed above with respect to Prong Two of Step 2A, although additional computer-related elements are recited, the claims merely invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Moreover, the limitations of claim 1 are manual processes, e.g., receiving information, analyzing information, sending information, etc. The courts have indicated that mere automation of manual processes is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality (see MPEP 2106.05(a)(I)). Furthermore, as discussed above with respect to Prong Two of Step 2A, claim 1 merely recites the additional elements in order to further define the field of use of the abstract idea, therein attempting to generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such as the Internet or computing networks (see Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC. (Fed. Cir. 2014); Bilski v. Kappos (2010); MPEP 2106.05(h)). Similar to FairWarning v. Iatric Sys., claims specifying that the abstract idea of analyzing user data to provide financial product recommendations is executed in a computer environment merely indicates a field of use in which to apply the abstract idea because this requirement merely limits the claim to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer.
Even when considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not add anything that is not already present when they are considered individually. In Alice Corp., the Court considered the additional elements “as an ordered combination,” and determined that “the computer components…‘[a]dd nothing…that is not already present when the steps are considered separately’ and simply recite intermediated settlement as performed by a generic computer.” Id. (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1972). Similarly, viewed as a whole, claim 1 simply conveys the abstract idea itself facilitated by generic computing components. Therefore, under Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test, there are no meaningful limitations in claim 1 that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claims 2-9, when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they recite an abstract idea, are not integrated into a practical application, and do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. More specifically, dependent claims 22-33, 35-38, and 40 further fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in the MPEP, in that they further recite commercial or legal interactions such as advertising, marketing, or sales activities or behaviors. These claims, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, further fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in the MPEP, in that they recite concepts performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Dependent claims 2 and 5-9 fail to identify additional elements and as such, are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Dependent claims 3-4 further identify the additional elements of one-hot encoding and Gradient Boosting Decision Tree. Similar to discussion above the with respect to Prong Two of Step 2A, although additional computer-related elements are recited, the claims merely invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As such, under Step 2A, dependent claims 2-9 are “directed to” an abstract idea. Similar to the discussion above with respect to claim 1, dependent claims 2-9 analyzed individually and as an ordered combination, invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea and merely indicate a field of use in which to apply the abstract idea because this requirement merely limits the claims to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer, and therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Accordingly, under the Alice/Mayo test, claims 1-9 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. (US 20240362361 A1), hereinafter Shao, in view of Abad et al. (US 20200285958 A1), hereinafter Abad, in view of Cessna et al. (US 10387787 B1), hereinafter Cessna.
In regards to claim 1, Shao discloses a multi-party semi-supervised learning method for recommending potential users of financial products, comprising the following steps (Shao: [abstract]; [0065]; [0306]):
S1: constructing a multi-party dataset for recommending potential users to a financial product; the dataset comprising information of users who have purchased the financial product and users information from other parties (Shao: [0092] – “A data type of the training sample may be user data, service data, product data, or the like. There may be a plurality of data types for the training sample in this embodiment of this disclosure. In a implementation, the data type of the training sample is user data”; [0306] – “the party B can establish an AI model with the type-A users in a multi-party collaborative manner, to provide loan suggestions for users of the participant A”; [0294] – “A participant B is an e-commerce service provider (for example, a device that stores e-commerce data), and has many users'…purchase record data on a website of the participant B. Type-A users are e-commerce website users (mobile phones of users, other terminal devices, and the like). A mobile phone of a user has behavior information of the user on the mobile phone, including a quantity of various apps, daily use time of the mobile phone, and other behavior information. After consent of the user is obtained, this type of information can be used to collaboratively establish a model with type-B e-commerce users, to offer product recommendation to the type-B users”);
preprocessing the dataset and performing sample alignment to construct a positive sample dataset and an unlabeled sample dataset (Shao: [0069] and Fig. 2 – “In the vertical federated learning system, user groups of the plurality of participants are different, and alignment processing needs to be performed on data maintained by the plurality of parties, to ensure that sample space of training samples of the models maintained by the plurality of parties is the same”; [0284] – “after obtaining the target vector, the device participating in the vertical federation obtains the alignment samples from all local samples based on the target vector, and uses the alignment samples as training samples”; the examiner notes that “to construct a positive sample dataset and an unlabeled sample dataset” is merely an intended use/result and is accordingly granted little to no patentable weight);
S2: performing random sampling (Shao: [0110] – “the participant A1 may locally obtain the initialized model, and randomly initialize the parameter of the initialized model”);
constructing a vertical federated learning model, training the model on the training set and performing prediction on the prediction set, and then obtaining a prediction score (Shao: [0069-0070] and Fig. 2 – “an architecture of a vertical federated learning system. A structure of the vertical federated learning system generally includes one collaborator and a plurality of clients as participants. In addition, training data of models maintained by the plurality of participants is characterized by different data feature space but same sample space. In the vertical federated learning system, user groups of the plurality of participants are different, and alignment processing needs to be performed on data maintained by the plurality of parties, to ensure that sample space of training samples of the models maintained by the plurality of parties is the same. Moreover, in the vertical federated learning system, the plurality of parties need to exchange intermediate computation results, so that the plurality of parties compute a loss value and gradient values… for vertical federation, only data in different feature space and same sample space can be used as training samples to train a model”; [0008] – “better predict a decision of a user and provide more accurate recommendation information for the user”; [0130] – “A predicted value of the model maintained by the participant A1 may be determined by using an operation between UA and U3 that is received by the participant A1, a value really expected to be predicted is determined based on the local data of A1”);
S3: repeating the sampling, training, and prediction processes of step S2 multiple times (Shao: [0147-0149] – “the iterative training condition can be understood with reference to the description of determining, by A1, whether the iterative training condition is satisfied in step 407. In a possible implementation, if the participant B learns that the iterative training condition is satisfied, iterative training performed on the model maintained by the participant A2 is stopped. In a possible implementation, if the participant B learns that the iterative training condition is not satisfied, step 402″ to step 407″ are performed again. It should be noted that, correspondingly, in the iterative training process, the initialized parameter WB has been updated and the parameters of the models maintained by the participant A1 and the participant A2 have also been updated, and in steps related to the initialized parameters WB, WA1, and WA2 in step 402″ to step 407″, computation needs to be performed by correspondingly replacing WB, WA1, and WA2 with current parameters of the models maintained by the participants”);
S4: repeating steps S2 to S3, whereby all reliable positive samples identified from the unlabeled sample dataset are designated as potential users of the financial product, such that accurate and scalable batch recommendations can be provided to financial product providers based on the designated potential users (Shao: [0147-0149] – “the iterative training condition can be understood with reference to the description of determining, by A1, whether the iterative training condition is satisfied in step 407. In a possible implementation, if the participant B learns that the iterative training condition is satisfied, iterative training performed on the model maintained by the participant A2 is stopped. In a possible implementation, if the participant B learns that the iterative training condition is not satisfied, step 402″ to step 407″ are performed again. It should be noted that, correspondingly, in the iterative training process, the initialized parameter WB has been updated and the parameters of the models maintained by the participant A1 and the participant A2 have also been updated, and in steps related to the initialized parameters WB, WA1, and WA2 in step 402″ to step 407″, computation needs to be performed by correspondingly replacing WB, WA1, and WA2 with current parameters of the models maintained by the participants”; the examiner notes “whereby all reliable positive samples identified from the unlabeled sample dataset are designated as potential users of the financial product, such that accurate and scalable batch recommendations can be provided to financial product providers based on the designated potential users” is merely intended use/result and is granted little to no patentable weight).
Shao further discloses samples (Shao: [0069]). Yet Shao does not explicitly disclose sampling with replacement on the unlabeled sample dataset to construct a negative sample dataset; constructing a training set using the negative sample dataset and the positive sample dataset; constructing a prediction set using unsampled data from the unlabeled sample dataset; the model constructed based on a base estimator; the prediction score for each sample in the prediction set; calculating a probability of each sample in the unlabeled sample dataset being positive, based on a cumulative prediction score and a number of times it appeared in the prediction sets; ranking all samples in the unlabeled sample dataset in descending order according to the probability of being positive; selecting the top-ranked samples as reliable positive samples according to prior knowledge; adding the reliable positive samples to the positive sample dataset; and simultaneously removing the reliable positive samples from the unlabeled sample dataset; and repeating until a preset maximum number of iterations is reached.
However, Abad teaches a similar prediction method (Abad: [0001]), including
sampling with replacement on the unlabeled sample dataset to construct a negative sample dataset (Abad: [0020-0021] – “Once trained, the classifier can classify data points between the two classes, e.g., the classifier can determine whether each data point belongs to the positive class or negative class. In an example embodiment, a server can obtain a variety of unclassified (or unlabeled) data points. These unclassified data points can be called the (unlabeled) context data points, and the dataset is containing them can be called the (unlabeled) context dataset”);
constructing a training set using the negative sample dataset and the positive sample dataset (Abad: [0025] – “a classifier can be trained using the combination of the single-class training dataset (i.e., positive data points) and the labeled context dataset (i.e., negative data points)”);
constructing a prediction set using unsampled data from the unlabeled sample dataset (Abad: [0026] – “Once trained, one can run the classifier on the refined unlabeled context dataset. The classifier can classify some of the data points as positive and the other data points as negative. The positive data points can be added to the refined single-class training dataset and removed from the refined labeled or unlabeled context datasets”);
the prediction score for each sample in the prediction set (Abad: [0063] – “A classification model can determine a prediction probability which indicates the system's certainty that the given observation belongs to the positive class”);
calculating a probability of each sample in the unlabeled sample dataset being positive, based on a prediction score (Abad: [0063] – “A classification model can determine a prediction probability which indicates the system's certainty that the given observation belongs to the positive class. The user can define a classification threshold value for predictions of the model. This threshold value specifies a minimum prediction probability for the model to assign an observation to the positive class. Any observation with prediction probability higher than the threshold value can then be predicted as the positive class and probability lower than the threshold value can be predicted as the negative class”);
all samples in the unlabeled sample dataset according to the probability of being positive; selecting the top samples as reliable positive samples according to prior knowledge (Abad: [0063] – “A classification model can determine a prediction probability which indicates the system's certainty that the given observation belongs to the positive class. The user can define a classification threshold value for predictions of the model. This threshold value specifies a minimum prediction probability for the model to assign an observation to the positive class. Any observation with prediction probability higher than the threshold value can then be predicted as the positive class and probability lower than the threshold value can be predicted as the negative class”;
adding the reliable positive samples to the positive sample dataset; and simultaneously removing the reliable positive samples from the unlabeled sample dataset (Abad: [0026] – “The classifier can classify some of the data points as positive and the other data points as negative. The positive data points can be added to the refined single-class training dataset and removed from the refined labeled or unlabeled context datasets. This step can be repeated several times”); and
repeating until a preset maximum number of iterations is reached (Abad: [0026] – “This step can be repeated several times. For example, one can repeat this step until the classifier does not identify any positive data points in the refined unlabeled context dataset”; the examiner notes the preset maximum number would be the number of identifiable positive data points).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have included the sample details of Abad in the method of Shao because Shao already discloses a model and samples and Abad is merely demonstrating information regarding these. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have included sampling with replacement on the unlabeled sample dataset to construct a negative sample dataset; constructing a training set using the negative sample dataset and the positive sample dataset; constructing a prediction set using unsampled data from the unlabeled sample dataset; the prediction score for each sample in the prediction set; calculating a probability of each sample in the unlabeled sample dataset being positive, based on a prediction score; all samples in the unlabeled sample according to the probability of being positive; selecting the top samples as reliable positive samples according to prior knowledge; adding the reliable positive samples to the positive sample dataset; and simultaneously removing the reliable positive samples from the unlabeled sample dataset; and repeating until a preset maximum number of iterations is reached as taught by Abad because operations with positive and negative samples are well-known and the use of it in a prediction setting would have made for better predictions (Abad: [0018]).
Furthermore, Cessna teaches a similar prediction method (Cessna: Col. 8, Ln. 25-35), including
the model constructed based on a base estimator (Cessna: Col. 13, Ln. 55-67 – “user experience analytics model training module 221 initializes and/or updates the user experience analytics model 219 using techniques that include, but are not limited to, regression, logistic regression, decision trees, artificial neural networks, support vector machines, linear regression, nearest neighbor methods, distance based methods, Naive Bayes, linear discriminant analysis, k-nearest neighbor algorithm, and/or another mathematical, statistical, logical, or relational algorithms to determine correlations and/or other relationships between the user characteristics data and the performance of user experience options on segments of users, according to one embodiment”);
the probability based on a cumulative score and on a number of times it appeared in the prediction sets (Cessna: Col. 23, Ln. 15-20 – “process 800 uses the probability density function (‘PDF’) and the cumulative distribution function (‘CDF’) to determine the probability that the true performance of each user's experience or of each user experience option is better than alternative options”; Col. 18, Ln. 1-5 – “edge logic includes an edge frequency (γ) for which a single user characteristic (f.sub.i) satisfies a threshold (v.sub.i). The edge logic provides rules and the average frequency by which data samples traverse parent nodes to children nodes”);
ranking in descending order; and top-ranked items (Cessna: Col. 15, Ln. 55-62 – “performs data transformation on the existing software system data 222 (inclusive of user characteristics data and user responses), on user experience options 213, and on business metrics 225. Data transformation includes, but is not limited to…ranking, and/or prioritizing the data to enable it to be uniformly processed or analyzed by one or more equations and/or algorithms”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have included the base estimator, probability details, and ranking of Cessna in the method of Shao/Abad because Shao/Abad already discloses an analysis and Cessna is merely demonstrating information regarding these. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have included the model constructed based on a base estimator; the probability based on a cumulative score and on a number of times it appeared in the prediction sets; and ranking in descending order; and top-ranked items as taught by Cessna because analysis such as this are well-known and the use of it in a prediction setting would have improved user satisfaction (Cessna: Col. 19, Ln. 20-25).
Subject Matter Allowable Over the Prior Art
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, but would otherwise be allowable if these rejections can be overcome.
Upon review of the evidence at hand, it is hereby concluded that the evidence obtained and made of record, alone or in combination, neither anticipates, reasonably teaches, nor renders obvious the below noted features of applicant’s invention as the noted features amount to more than a predictable use of elements in the prior art.
The most relevant prior art made of record includes Shao, Abad, Cessna, Shi et al. (US 20240281745 A1), hereinafter Shi, and NPL Reference U.
Although individually the references teach concepts such as a vertically federated model, random sampling with replacement, processing of samples, and vectorized samples, none of the references teach nor render obvious the specific method of classifying samples into negative, positive, or unlabeled, and using a vertically federated model iteratively, where preprocessing the data includes processing of redundant data, handling of missing values, treatment of outliers, data normalization, and label data processing, to obtain data sets for each party that denote feature vectors as well as vector dimensions.
Shao discloses a method of providing financial product recommendations (Shao: [0306]). Shao further discloses an architecture of a vertical federated learning system where a plurality of parties may to exchange information. Only data in different feature space and same sample space can be used as training samples to train a model (Shao: [0069-0070]). Shao additionally discloses making predictions pertaining to various entities (Shao: [0130]). Shao further discloses the plurality of parties participating in the vertical federation may find an intersection set of users between different participants in an encrypted-sample alignment manner (Shao: [0258]). Shao further discloses identifier vectors in 10 dimensions (Shao: [0288]). However, Shao does not disclose all of the limitations regarding preprocessing of the data for the multiple parties, and the unlabeled samples.
Abad teaches a prediction method (Abad: [0001]). Abad further teaches classifying data points between the two classes, e.g., the classifier can determine whether each data point belongs to the positive class or negative class. In an example embodiment, a server can obtain a variety of unclassified (or unlabeled) data points. These unclassified data points can be called the (unlabeled) context data points, and the dataset is containing them can be called the (unlabeled) context dataset (Abad: [0020-0021]). Abad further teaches classifying some of the data points as positive and the other data points as negative. The positive data points can be added to the refined single-class training dataset and removed from the refined labeled or unlabeled context datasets. This step can be repeated several times (Abad: [0026]). Yet Abad does not explicitly teach the limitations regarding the preprocessing, the vectors, and the specific parties associated with the datasets.
Cessna teaches a prediction method (Cessna: Col. 8, Ln. 25-35). Cessna further teaches performance of data transformation on a system (inclusive of user characteristics data and user responses), on information. Data transformation includes, but is not limited to ranking, and/or prioritizing the data to enable it to be uniformly processed or analyzed by one or more equations and/or algorithms (Cessna: Col. 15, Ln. 55-62). However, Cessna does not explicitly teach the limitations regarding the specific preprocessing steps, the vectors, and the specific parties associated with the datasets.
Shi teaches a federated learning method (Shi: [0065]). Shi further teaches processing of data to avoid redundant data. Shi further teaches feature processing mainly includes operations such as feature enhancement, feature transformation, feature dimension reduction, feature selection and feature standardization. The feature enhancement realizes data consistency by performing operations such as format and content cleaning, logic error cleaning, abnormal value cleaning and missing value cleaning on data review and verification. Shi additionally teaches normalizing features (Shi: [0155-0156]). Yet Shi does not teach the limitations regarding the specific parties and the specific datasets denoting specific information.
NPL reference U teaches a vertical federated model. Banks may be enabled to share data with non-banking entities. The bank records the customers’ incomes, expenses, and credit histories while the online retailer has the browsing and purchasing histories of the clients, which all involve sensitive personal data. Encryption-based user IDs are aligned to confirm the intersection of clients from the bank and the e-commerce company. Yet U does not teach all of the limitations regarding the specific parties and the specific datasets denoting specific information.
While these references arguably teach the claimed limitations using a piecemeal analysis, these references would only be combined and deemed obvious based on knowledge gleaned from the applicant's disclosure. Such a reconstruction is improper (i.e., hindsight reasoning). See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Accordingly, claim 2, taken as a whole, is indicated to be allowable over the cited prior art. The examiner emphasizes that it is the interrelationship of the limitations that renders these claims allowable over the prior art/additional art. Claims 3-9 depend from claim 2, and therefore the dependent claims 3-9 are also indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
The examiner further emphasizes the claims as a whole and hereby asserts that the totality of the evidence fails to set forth, either explicitly or implicitly, an appropriate rationale for further modification of the evidence at hand to arrive at the claimed invention. The combination of features as claimed would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as combining various references from the totality of the evidence to reach the combination of features as claimed would require a substantial reconstruction of the Applicant's claimed invention relying on improper hindsight bias.
It is thereby asserted by the examiner that, in light of the above and in further deliberation over all the evidence at hand, that the claims are allowable as the evidence at hand does not anticipate the claims and does not render obvious any further modification of the references to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/ANNA MAE MITROS/Examiner, Art Unit 3689