DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichenlaub (US 20230304982 A1) in view of Smith (US 20210109074 A1).
Claim 1. Eichenlaub teaches a leak emissions sensor system for a facility, comprising one or more detector assemblies
(Fig. 1 100, [0013] One or more methods of locating and quantifying emissions at a site are disclosed... one or more air quality monitors further obtain concentrations of a target substance... one or more potential emission sources that may leak the target substance.
Figs. 2 and 4A sensor system 400A))
, each detector assembly comprising:
a sensor assembly for obtaining and sending emission information
([0092] Chemical sensors 221-223 are configured to measure gaseous chemicals and particulates in analyte gas, such as gas under sampling by air quality monitor 200.),
wherein:
the sensor assembly comprises a leak emission detection sensor
([0021] The total emissions quantification method may include providing a first air quality monitor comprising: a first sensor responsive to the target substance and a first location at which the first air quality monitor is located on the site.
[0092] Chemical sensors 221-223 are configured to measure gaseous chemicals),
a sensor processor
([0092]),
a GPS
([0092]Environmental sensor 230 measures environment conditions, such as temperature, pressure, humidity, location, wind speed, and the like. ),
a real-time clock
([0116] time stamping [0121] each weather measurement is time-stamped [0137] he sensor system takes these measurements and relays messages related to these measurements with timestamps,),
a wind sensor
([0264] weather sensor system 411 may include sensing elements to measure wind speed and direction. ),
and a sensor communicator
([0092] communication module 215 may handle communication between air quality monitor 200 and air quality data processing module 121 )
Eichenlaub further discloses a displacement apparatus ([0012]) but does not specifically disclose the sensor assembly is disposed on the displacement apparatus, and the displacement apparatus is configured to relocate the sensor assembly within the facility.
However, Smith teaches the sensor assembly is disposed on the displacement apparatus, and the displacement apparatus is configured to relocate the sensor assembly within the facility.
([0084] The system may include one or more trace gas sensors located in one or more vehicles 2002, 2004, 2006, 2010. The one or more trace gas sensors may detect elevated trace gas concentrations from one or more potential gas sources 2020, 2022, such as a holding tank, pipeline, or the like. The potential gas sources 2020, 2022 may be part of a large facility, a small facility, or any location.
[0085] The ground vehicle 2010 may have wheels, tracks, and/or treads in one embodiment. In other embodiments, the ground vehicle 2010 may be a legged robot....In some embodiments, the one or more stationary monitoring devices may be relocated.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the displacement apparatus as taught by Smith within the system of Eichenlaub for the purpose of enhancing the system with an ability to mobilize and relocate the sensor at a more appropriate location for better detection of the emission.
Claim 2. Eichenlaub and Smith teach the leak emissions sensor system of claim 1, wherein the leak emissions sensor system further comprises a leak emission computing system, comprising:
a network adapter for receiving the emission information from the sensor communicator
(Eichenlaub [0368] The communication module 5210 may be configured to perform processing of the data gathered by the sensors and further communicate the data to a remote location over a wireless or a wired communication network.
[0137] Sensing unit 433 can relay messages, as described above, to centralized computing unit 427 using network layer. );
a memory for storing the emission information and instructions
([0130] The memory may be configured to store sensor data obtained by the emissions sensors. );
a processor for processing the emission information according to the instructions stored in the memory to create a command
(Eichenlaub [0142] Once detection, quantification, qualification, and localization of sources is obtained by the processes in the centralized computing unit 427, actionable data may be generated. )
; and a command actuator for relocating the sensor assembly
([0142] For example, a drone may be deployed to perform precise automated inspection of a certain area identified by sensing unit 433 to perform fine-scale equipment leakage detection. Another example would be automated excavation equipment which can be deployed for placing additional ground cover on a detected emission hotspot at a landfill.).
Claim 3. Eichenlaub and Smith teach the leak emission sensor system of claim 2, wherein the leak emission computing system is configured to process data received from the one or more detector
Assemblies
(Eichenlaub [0146] As seen in FIG. 4B, the centralized computing unit 427 processes the messages received by the sensing unit 433. ).
Claim 4. Eichenlaub and Smith teach the leak emissions sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the displacement apparatus is configured to relocate the sensor assembly along a vertical axis with respect to a position of the sensor assembly along the displacement apparatus
(Smith [0085] The ground vehicle 2010 may have wheels, tracks, and/or treads in one embodiment. In other embodiments, the ground vehicle 2010 may be a legged robot....In some embodiments, the one or more stationary monitoring devices may be relocated.).
.
Claim(s) 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichenlaub in view of Liu (US 20210293219 A1).
Claim 12. Eichenlaub teaches a leak emissions sensor system for a facility, comprising one or more detector assemblies, the detector assembly comprising:
a sensor assembly for obtaining and sending emission information, wherein:
the sensor assembly includes
a leak emission detection sensor
([0021] The total emissions quantification method may include providing a first air quality monitor comprising: a first sensor responsive to the target substance and a first location at which the first air quality monitor is located on the site.
[0092] Chemical sensors 221-223 are configured to measure gaseous chemicals),
a sensor processor
([0092]),
a GPS
([0092]Environmental sensor 230 measures environment conditions, such as temperature, pressure, humidity, location, wind speed, and the like. ),
a real-time clock
([0116] time stamping [0121] each weather measurement is time-stamped [0137] he sensor system takes these measurements and relays messages related to these measurements with timestamps,),
a wind sensor
([0264] weather sensor system 411 may include sensing elements to measure wind speed and direction. ),
and a sensor communicator
([0092] communication module 215 may handle communication between air quality monitor 200 and air quality data processing module 121 ).
Eichenlaub further discloses the sensor system to be relocated but does not specifically disclose
a sensor track; a sail, wherein: the sensor assembly is disposed on the sensor track, the sensor track is configured to allow the sensor assembly to freely move along the sensor track, the sail is disposed on the sensor assembly, and the sail is configured to utilize air movement about the sensor assembly to move the sensor assembly along the sensor track.
However, Liu teaches a sensor track
([0065] The track 11 has inner guides 162 and outer guides 164, which guide the carts 10, 50 around the track.);
a sail
([0047] Aerofoil (or airfoil)—an elongated solid, hollow or sail-like structure with surfaces that are shaped for creating a force on the aerofoil perpendicular to the wind direction when the wind blows across the surfaces.)
, wherein:
the sensor assembly is disposed on the sensor track
([0065] The track 11 has inner guides 162 and outer guides 164, which guide the carts 10, 50 around the track. The guides 162, 164 each extend in a loop round the track 11, and are in the form of low-rise walls on which side guide wheels on the carts 10, 50 run.),
the sensor track is configured to allow the sensor assembly to freely move along the sensor track,
the sail is disposed on the sensor assembly, and the sail is configured to utilize air movement about the sensor assembly to move the sensor assembly along the sensor track
([0047] Aerofoil (or airfoil)—an elongated solid, hollow or sail-like structure with surfaces that are shaped for creating a force on the aerofoil perpendicular to the wind direction when the wind blows across the surfaces.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use a sensor track and sail as taught by Liu within the system of Eichenlaub for the purpose of enhancing the system to allow the sensor assembly to detect precise movement of wind direction.
Claim 13. Eichenlaub and Liu teach the leak emissions sensor system according to claim 12, wherein the leak emissions sensor system includes a leak emission computing system, comprising:
a network adapter for receiving the emission information from the sensor communicator
(Eichenlaub [0368] The communication module 5210 may be configured to perform processing of the data gathered by the sensors and further communicate the data to a remote location over a wireless or a wired communication network. [0137] Sensing unit 433 can relay messages, as described above, to centralized computing unit 427 using network layer.);
a memory for storing the emission information and instructions
(Eichenlaub [0130] The memory may be configured to store sensor data obtained by the emissions sensors.)
; and a processor for processing the emission information according to the instructions
stored in the memory
(Eichenlaub [0142] Once detection, quantification, qualification, and localization of sources is obtained by the processes in the centralized computing unit 427, actionable data may be generated.).
Claim 14. Eichenlaub and Liu teach the leak emission sensor system of claim 13, wherein the leak emission
computing system is configured to process data received from the one or more detector assemblies
(Eichenlaub [0021] The total emissions quantification method may include providing a first air quality monitor comprising: a first sensor responsive to the target substance and a first location at which the first air quality monitor is located on the site.
[0092] Chemical sensors 221-223 are configured to measure gaseous chemicals).
Claim 15. Eichenlaub and Liu teach the leak emissions sensor system according to claim 12, wherein the sensor track is a railway configuration
(Eichenlaub [0052] The track 11 has a supporting structure that runs on wheels around a circular supporting track 44).
Claim 16. Eichenlaub and Liu teach the leak emissions sensor system according to claim 12, wherein the sensor track is a cable-car configuration
(Eichenlaub [0053] Multiple aerofoil carts 10 ).
Claim 17. Eichenlaub and Liu teach the leak emissions sensor system according to claim 12, wherein the sail is configured to move the sensor assembly in a downwind direction
(Eichenlaub [0061] FIG. 6 shows the track 11 without carts 10, 50, the gearbox 100 and the drive mechanism 102. The track 11 has a semi-circular downwind turn 130,
[0047] Aerofoil (or airfoil)—an elongated solid, hollow or sail-like structure with surfaces that are shaped for creating a force on the aerofoil perpendicular to the wind direction when the wind blows across the surfaces.).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichenlaub and Smith and further in view of Liu.
Claim 5. Eichenlaub and Smith teach the leak emissions sensor system according to claim 1, and discloses the use of a moveable displacement apparatus but does not specifically disclose wherein the displacement apparatus is configured to relocate the sensor assembly with respect to a rotational position of the sensor assembly about the displacement apparatus.
However, Liu teaches wherein the displacement apparatus is configured to relocate the sensor assembly with respect to a rotational position of the sensor assembly about the displacement apparatus.
([0065] The track 11 has inner guides 162 and outer guides 164, which guide the carts 10, 50 around the track. The guides 162, 164 each extend in a loop round the track 11, and are in the form of low-rise walls on which side guide wheels on the carts 10, 50 run.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the displacement as taught by Liu within the system of Eichenlaub for the purpose of enhancing the system to restrict movement in a specific pattern in order to determine precise movement.
Claim 6. Eichenlaub and Smith teach the leak emissions sensor system according to claim 1, and discloses the use of a moveable displacement apparatus but does not specifically disclose wherein the displacement apparatus is configured to relocate the sensor assembly along a horizontal axis with respect to a position of the sensor assembly along the displacement apparatus.
However, Liu teaches wherein the displacement apparatus is configured to relocate the sensor assembly along a horizontal axis with respect to a position of the sensor assembly along the displacement apparatus.
([0065] The track 11 has inner guides 162 and outer guides 164, which guide the carts 10, 50 around the track. The guides 162, 164 each extend in a loop round the track 11, and are in the form of low-rise walls on which side guide wheels on the carts 10, 50 run.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the displacement as taught by Liu within the system of Eichenlaub for the purpose of enhancing the system to restrict movement in a specific pattern in order to determine precise movement.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichenlaub in view of Decker (US 20090255350 A1).
Claim 10. Eichenlaub teaches the leak emissions sensor system according to claim 7, and discloses an airflow apparatus but does not specifically disclose wherein the airflow apparatus comprises one or more tubes, and wherein the one or more tubes comprise a plurality of holes disposed along a length thereof configured to allow the gas to flow into the airflow apparatus.
However, Decker teaches wherein the airflow apparatus comprises one or more tubes, and wherein the one or more tubes comprise a plurality of holes disposed along a length thereof configured to allow the gas to flow into the airflow apparatus.
([0133] During operation, the detector 900 is charged with a quench gas through a gas input line 984. The gas passes through the tube 938 and out of holes cross-drilled in the tube 938. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the one or more tubes with a plurality of holes as taught by Decker within the system of Eichenlaub for the purpose of enhancing the collection of the gas by using small orifices to prevent liquid condensation from entering into the sensor so that the sensor can properly identify a chemical gas type without condensation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eichenlaub.
Claim 7. Eichenlaub teaches a leak emissions sensor system for a facility, comprising one or more detector assemblies
(Fig. 1 100, [0013] One or more methods of locating and quantifying emissions at a site are disclosed... one or more air quality monitors further obtain concentrations of a target substance... one or more potential emission sources that may leak the target substance.
(Figs. 2 and 4A sensor system 400A) )
, each detector assembly comprising:
a sensor assembly for obtaining and sending emission information
([0092] Chemical sensors 221-223 are configured to measure gaseous chemicals and particulates in analyte gas, such as gas under sampling by air quality monitor 200.),
wherein:
the sensor assembly includes a leak emission detection sensor
([0368] a methane (CH4) sensor 5206 configured to detect the presence and concentration of the methane gas in the air sample. ),
a sensor processor, a GPS, a real-time clock, a wind sensor,
a pump
([0368] diaphragm pump 5204.),
and a sensor communicator
([0092] Chemical sensors 221-223 are configured to measure gaseous chemicals);
And an airflow apparatus
([0368] a separator 5202) ,
wherein the sensor assembly is in fluid communication within the airflow apparatus
([0368] In some configurations, the air quality monitor 4901 may further include a separator 5202 configured to separate liquid (e.g., water) from the air sample.),
and the airflow apparatus is configured to direct a gas to or about the sensor assembly using the pump
([0368] In some configurations, the air quality monitor 4901 may further include a separator 5202 configured to separate liquid (e.g., water) from the air sample. To this end, the separator 5202 may include filter. A magnified view of the separator 5202 is further shown in FIG. 54. The air quality monitor 4901 may further include a diaphragm pump 5204. Further, the air quality monitor 4901 may include a methane (CH4) sensor 5206 configured to detect the presence and concentration of the methane gas in the air sample.).
Claim 8. Eichenlaub teaches the leak emissions sensor system according to claim 7, wherein the leak emissions sensor system includes a leak emission computing system, comprising:
a network adapter for receiving the emission information from the sensor
communicator
(Eichenlaub [0368] The communication module 5210 may be configured to perform processing of the data gathered by the sensors and further communicate the data to a remote location over a wireless or a wired communication network.
[0137] Sensing unit 433 can relay messages, as described above, to centralized computing unit 427 using network layer. );
a memory for storing the emission information and instructions
([0144] Actionable data, emission data and raw data may be transmitted to other servers 430, that may be internal or external.);
a processor for processing the emission information according to the instructions stored in the memory to create a command
[0142] Once detection, quantification, qualification, and localization of sources is obtained by the processes in the centralized computing unit 427, actionable data may be generated.);
and a command actuator for relocating the sensor assembly
([0142] For example, a drone may be deployed to perform precise automated inspection of a certain area identified by sensing unit 433 to perform fine-scale equipment leakage detection. Another example would be automated excavation equipment which can be deployed for placing additional ground cover on a detected emission hotspot at a landfill.); and
a command actuator for operating the pump.
([0116] the actuation and controlling of any subsystem of the sensor system 400A.
[0124] In step 513, a sample acquisition mechanism may be triggered. In the case of a short open path, the sample collection may be achieved naturally by the force of the wind without any actuator. Other systems may trigger a pumping mechanism that transfers the air sample to a sampling chamber. The step 513 may further involve the trigger of active subsystems for the conditioning of the sample, such as pneumatic systems for the removal of water or particulate matter or other undesirable contaminants. )
Claim 9. Eichenlaub teaches the leak emission sensor system of claim 8, wherein the leak emission computing system is configured to process data received from the one or more detector
Assemblies
(Eichenlaub [0146] As seen in FIG. 4B, the centralized computing unit 427 processes the messages received by the sensing unit 433. ).
Claim 11. Eichenlaub teaches the leak emissions sensor system according to claim 7, wherein the airflow apparatus is configured to direct the gas from nearly the entire facility
([0142] For example, actuators on a site may be automatically put in a safe position if an explosive concentration of a flammable compound is detected. Another example would be the operation of alert equipment such as sirens or visual cues triggered to alert operators to perform emergency evacuation if a toxic compound is detected...Another example would be automated excavation equipment which can be deployed for placing additional ground cover on a detected emission hotspot at a landfill. ).
Conclusion
/RUFUS C POINT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689