DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: page 3, line 21 recites “external annular portion 5”. Page 5, lines 9/10 recite “cup element 5”. Page 4, line 9 recites “upper end portion 6e”. Page 8, line 24 recites “end wall 6e”.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 4, line 3 recites “…crown 4 through support means 3.” It should be --…crown 3 through support means 4.--
Appropriate correction is required.
These examples of inconsistent nomenclature and wrong element numbers are just a few of numerous others found. Examiner suggests reviewing the entire Specification for accuracy.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, lines 5/6 recite “said first portion being radially comprised around said axis (A) by said crown…”. It is unclear how said first portion is radially comprised. Comprised doesn’t appear to be the correct word. Are applicants claiming a location of said crown?
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Lines 9/10 recite “said support means being placed so as to radially match said profile,”. It is unclear how the support means (bearing) radially matches the profile (3b) of crown (3). It appears the profile (grooves) are radially further from axis (A) than the support means (4). Do applicants mean axially match said profile along axis (A)?
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Lines 11/12 recite “wherein said filtering unit….and axially faces said crown,” It is unclear how a filtering unit faces a particular direction. What feature of the filtering unit determines which way it faces?
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 10 recites “said support means…….and said rolling bearing are at the same radial distance…”. It is unclear what is being claimed. Is it support means or a rolling bearing? A rolling bearing has not been introduced. For examination purposes examiner interprets “said support means are at the same radial distance from said axis (A).”
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 12 and 13 recite “said mechanical connections…” Claims 12 and 13 depend from claim 7 that recites “a mechanical connection.” It is unclear what mechanical connections (plural) are being claimed since claim 7 recites a mechanical connection (singular).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tran et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0091048.
As per claim 1, Tran et al. disclose a filtering pulley (200) [isolator] (figs. 13-18)comprising;
a hub (214) adapted to be fixed to a shaft (253a) rotating around an axis (A) (AA),
a crown (212) [rotary drive member] mounted coaxially and rotationally free on said hub (214), and
a filtering unit (216) [isolation spring arrangement] (fig. 14) operatively interposed between said hub (214) and said crown (212),
wherein said hub (214) comprising a first portion (fig. E-1) and a second portion (fig. E-1), said first portion being radially comprised around said axis (A) by said crown (212), and said pulley (200) comprising support means (215) [bushing] for supporting said crown (212) on said hub (214), said support means (215) being the only element radially interposed between said first portion (fig. E-1) and said crown (212),
wherein said crown (212) defines a profile with grooves (213) [endless drive member engagement surface], said support means (215) being placed so as to radially match said profile (213),
wherein said filtering unit (216) is operatively interposed between said hub (214) and said crown (212) around said second portion (fig. E-1) of the hub and axially faces said crown (212), and
said filtering unit (216) comprises:
a housing (276) [spring shell] connected, integrally with the rotation, to one of said hub and said crown (212), and
an actuator (26) [driver] connected, integrally with the rotation, to the other one of said hub (214) (figs. 14, 15) and said crown,
wherein said housing (276) defining a space (fig. E-1) to house elastic means (216) operatively interposed between said actuator (26) and said crown (212).
As per claim 2, Tran et al. as set forth above, disclose said support means (215) are placed at a line of symmetry of said profile (213) (fig. 15).
As per claim 4, Tran et al. as set forth above, disclose said housing (276) has a maximum diameter (R"') (fig. 15) around said axis (A) (AA) greater than the average diameter (R') of said profile (213) of said crown (212) (fig. 15).
As per claim 5, Tran et al. as set forth above, disclose the average actuation diameter (R") (fig. 15) of said actuator (26) around said axis (A) (AA) is greater than the average diameter (R') of said profile (213) of said crown (212) (fig. 15).
As per claim 6, Tran et al. as set forth above, disclose said actuator (26) comprises a hub portion (splined hub portion shown in fig. 14)) carried by said second end (fig. E-1) of said hub (214) and a plurality of spokes (flange portions of actuator 26 shown in figs. 14, 15) configured to cooperate in contact with said elastic means (216), said plurality of spokes being connected to said hub portion via a mechanical connection (unitary construction).
As per claim 7, Tran et al. as set forth above, disclose said housing (276) comprises a first and a second element (276a, 276b) connected to each other to define said space (fig. E-1), one of said first and second elements (276a) is connected to one of said hub and said crown (212) via a mechanical connection (figs. 14, 15). First element (276a) is connected to crown (212).
As per claim 8, Tran et al. as set forth above, disclose said mechanical connections (unitary construction) comprise a threaded, riveted or shaped connection (unitary construction). The unitary construction of actuator (26) between the splined ring and the spokes (fig. 14) is a shaped connection at their intersection.
As per claim 9, Tran et al. as set forth above, disclose said mechanical connections are coaxial with each other (figs. 14, 15).
As per claim 10, Tran et al. as set forth above, disclose said support means (215) are placed at a line of symmetry of said profile (213) (fig. 15) and said mechanical connections (unitary construction) and said support means (215) are at the same radial distance from said axis (A) (AA) (fig. 15).
As per claim 11, Tran et al. as set forth above, disclose said first and second portions (fig. E-1) of said hub (214) are separated by a flange portion (fig. E-1)) configured to act as a shoulder for said support means (215).
As per claim 12, Tran et al. as set forth above, disclose said mechanical connections (figs. 14, 15) comprise a threaded, riveted or shaped connection (fig. E-1). First element 276a fits into the stepped portion of crown 212)
As per claim 13, Tran et al. as set forth above, disclose said mechanical connections (figs. 14, 15) are coaxial with each other (figs. 14, 15). Mechanical connections are coaxial around axis (AA)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0091048.
As per claim 3, Tran et al. as set forth above, discloses the claimed invention except for said support means comprise at least one rolling bearing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute a roller bearing over a bushing for optimal performance and durability since the examiner takes Official Notice of the equivalents of bushings and roller bearings for their use in the filtering pulley art and the selection of any of these known equivalents to support the crown would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
/M.K.B/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654