DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is responsive to the claims filed 20 June 2025.
Claims 11-21 are currently pending and being examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected for the following reasons:
The figures appear to be pixilated and blurry. All lines should be solid, black, and continuous.
The figures and numbers appear to be handwritten. All reference numerals in the figures should be easily readable. Examiner suggest using computer generated figures and numbers.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16 recites “both machine planes”, which should read “both of the first and second machine planes”.Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 12, 13, and their dependents are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 last line recites “the drive unit” which lacks antecedent basis. Examiner will interpret as “an internal drive unit”, to correspond with the language of claim 15. If Applicant chooses to say “a drive unit” in claim 1, then claim 15 should recite “the drive unit”.
Claim 12 recites “the lower side or the upper side”, which lacks antecedent basis. Examiner will interpret as “a lower side or an upper side”.
Claim 13 recites “the flank side” which lacks antecedent basis. Examiner will interpret as “a flank side”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seltmann (EP 3875225 A1), reference made to the Espacenet translation provided with this non-final.
Seltmann teaches:
Claim 11: An electric hand tool (1-fig.1) comprising:
a tool receiver (4-fig.1) for a tool (¶[0023]) arranged along an impact axis (annotated fig.3);
a drive (5-fig.3) for the tool subsequently accommodated in a machine housing (2-fig.1; ¶[0017]);
a handle (3a-fig.1) arranged opposite the tool receiver on the machine housing (see fig.1 showing 3a opposite of 4);
at least one accumulator unit (14-fig.2) detachably fastened to the machine housing for electrical power supply (¶[0031]), at least one housing recess (28-fig.3) extending transversely (C-fig.2) to the impact axis at the machine housing for exchangeable accommodation of the accumulator unit (¶[0031]), the accumulator unit being arranged in such a way that an overall center of gravity with respect to the impact axis in the radial direction lies within a lateral dimension of the drive unit (¶[0037]).
Claim 12: The electric hand tool as recited in claim 11 wherein the housing recess (28-fig.3) is arranged on the upper side of the machine housing (see fig.3 showing 28 on the upper side of the housing).
Claim 13: The electric hand tool as recited in claim 11 wherein the housing recess is arranged on one of the flank sides of the machine housing (see fig.3 showing 28 is on a flank side of the housing when the tool is on rotated 90°).
Claim 14: The electric hand tool as recited in claim 11 wherein the housing recess (26,28-fig.3) extends continuously through the machine housing, such that two recess openings opposite one another are formed (¶[0035]).
Claim 15 (new): The electric hand tool as recited in claim 11 wherein the housing recess is arranged inside the machine housing with respect to the impact axis between the internal drive unit (5-fig.3) and the handle (3-fig.3; see fig.3 showing 28 is between 5 and 3).
Claim 16: The electric hand tool as recited in claim 11 wherein the impact axis extends on a line of intersection of two machine planes (E1 & E2-fig.2) arranged at right angles to one another (¶[0037]), wherein the accumulator unit (14-fig.2) is positioned symmetrically with respect to both machine planes (¶[0013], [0037]).
Claim 17: The electric hand tool as recited in claim 11 wherein the accumulator unit is fastened completely within the housing recess via of a clip mechanism detachable with one hand (¶[0031]; 14 is capable of being detachable to the tool with one hand).
Claim 18: The electric hand tool as recited in claim 11 wherein the drive (5-fig.3) accommodated in the machine housing (2-fig.1) includes an electric motor (¶[0019]) with a downstream impact mechanism (6-fig.3).
Claim 21: An impact hammer (¶[0016]) comprising the electric hand tool as recited in claim 11 (see claim 11 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seltmann (EP 3875225 A1), reference made to the Espacenet translation provided with this non-final, in view of McCallops (US 2002/0104666).
Seltmann teaches:
Claim 19: The electric hand tool as recited in claim 11.
Seltmann does not expressly teach the handle is designed in a manner molded directly onto the machine housing.
However, McCallops teaches a handle (63-fig.2) is designed in a manner molded directly onto the machine housing (62-fig.2; ¶[0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Seltmann, by over-molding a grip surface on a handle, as taught by McCallops, so as the tool is easier to hold on and grip by the user and has the additional benefit of vibration dampening.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seltmann (EP 3875225 A1), reference made to the Espacenet translation provided with this non-final, in view of Rejman (US 2018/0069208).
Seltmann teaches:
Claim 20: The electric hand tool as recited in claim 11.
Seltmann does not expressly teach the accumulator unit has a plastic housing with at least one rechargeable battery cell accommodated therein.
However, Rejman teaches an accumulator unit (100-fig.4) has a plastic housing (600-fig.4; ¶[0041]) with at least one rechargeable battery cell (400-fig.4) accommodated therein (¶[0037],[0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Seltmann, by using the battery configuration, as taught by Rejman, as a well-known rechargeable battery configuration used in power tools. See figures 2-4 of Seltmann showing that the battery appears to look the exact same as that of Rejman.
Conclusion
/KATIE L GERTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3731