DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because, as provided in 37 CFR 1.75(i), each
element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first
paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 4 recites “a device for measuring spatial inhomogeneities in the strip”; however, the only structure the Specification discloses which performs this function is disclosed in ¶0034, which recites “The device for measuring spatial inhomogeneities in the strip also acts as a strip position detector”, the strip position detector identified as elements 117,132,142,172,203. While ¶0054 discloses the device for measuring spatial inhomogeneities being element 114, there is no disclosure in particular as to what element 114 is. Therefore, the Specification does not make clear what the device for measuring spatial inhomogeneities is.
Claims 4,7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ),
second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7-10 recite “a guiding unit”; however, claim 1 recites “a plurality of guiding units”. It is not clear if the “guiding unit” is one of the plurality of guiding units recited in claim 1, or a guiding unit separate from one of the plurality of guiding units.
Claim 4 recites “a device for measuring spatial inhomogeneities in the strip” while claim 1 recites “a plurality of detectors which detect the position of the strip”; however, the Specification discloses the structure which performs this function is disclosed in ¶0034, which recites “The device for measuring spatial inhomogeneities in the strip also acts as a strip position detector”, the strip position detectors being elements 117,132,142,172,203. Therefore, it is not clear if the device for measuring spatial inhomogeneities in the strip is a separate element or same element as that as the “plurality of detectors which detect the position of the strip”, as recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-9, as best understood by the Examiner (see ¶3-6 above), are rejected
under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bai et al. CN 104484560 B.
Bai discloses, regarding claim 1, A system (1) for guiding a strip (2) traveling in a continuous processing line (3) for the continuous processing of the strip (¶0002), comprising a plurality of guiding units, and a plurality of detectors which detect the position of the strip and are arranged along the line (¶0004,0014,0016,0020,0067), characterized in that it comprises a dynamic computer-assisted control model that can take account of the position of the strip relative to the center of the line at several points along the line for the joint control of the plurality of guiding units (¶0013-0033).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the dynamic computer-assisted control model comprises a predictive model for anticipated a deviation of the strip at a point along the line (¶0002,0012).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the predictive model comprises artificial intelligence (¶0002,0012).
Regarding claim 4, wherein it comprises a device for measuring spatial inhomogeneities in the strip (the device to perform the function is inherently disclosed in at least ¶0004,0014,0016,0020,0067).
Regarding claim 5, wherein it comprises at least one device for measuring the temperature profile across the width of the strip (the device to perform the function is inherently disclosed in at least ¶0023,0035).
Regarding claim 6, A continuous processing line for a metal strip (see at least ¶0002,0004), wherein it comprises a strip guiding system according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, A method for controlling a system for guiding a strip traveling in a continuous line, wherein it provides dynamic control of a guiding system according to claim 1 by taking account of the position of the strip at a plurality of points along the line for the control of a guiding unit (¶0004,0014,0016,0020,0067).
Regarding claim 8, wherein it controls a guiding unit by taking into account spatial inhomogeneities in the strip (¶0004,0014,0016,0020,0067).
Regarding claim 9, wherein in it controls a guiding unit by taking into account the temperature profile across the width of the strip (¶0023,0035).
Claims 1-4,6-8, as best understood by the Examiner (see ¶3-6 above), are
rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gafur et al. USP 10,908,566.
Gafur discloses, regarding claim 1, A system for guiding a strip (1) traveling in a continuous processing line for the continuous processing of the strip (C1/L50), comprising a plurality of guiding units (2a,2b), and a plurality of detectors (8) which detect the position of the strip and are arranged along the line (see at least C17/L17-21), characterized in that it comprises a dynamic computer-assisted control model that can take account of the position of the strip relative to the center of the line at several points along the line for the joint control of the plurality of guiding units (see at least C1/L50-67, C3/L31-C4/L4,40-51).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the dynamic computer-assisted control model comprises a predictive model for anticipated a deviation of the strip at a point along the line (see at least C3/L31-36).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the predictive model comprises artificial intelligence (see at least C3/L57-C4/L4).
Regarding claim 4, wherein it comprises a device for measuring spatial inhomogeneities in the strip (the device to perform the function is inherently disclosed in at least C1/L61-67).
Regarding claim 6, A continuous processing line for a metal strip (C1/L50), wherein it comprises a strip guiding system according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, A method for controlling a system for guiding a strip (1) traveling in a continuous line, wherein it provides dynamic control of a guiding system according to claim 1 by taking account of the position of the strip at a plurality of points along the line for the control of a guiding unit (see at least C1/L50-67, C3/L31-C4/L4,40-51).
Regarding claim 8, wherein it controls a guiding unit by taking into account spatial inhomogeneities in the strip (see at least C1/L61-67).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35
U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
Daube (USP 12,528,107) discloses A system (1) and method for guiding a metal strip (2) comprising strip control devices (4,5,6) each designed to detect and adjust the position of the strip transverse to the transportation direction (C8/L35-49) via transportation rollers (3).
examiner should be directed to LESLIE A. NICHOLSON III whose telephone number is (571)272-5487. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-4.
/LESLIE A NICHOLSON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 9/22/2026