DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fastening device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 20 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steinhardt et al. (US2014/0044549).
Regarding claim 1, Steinhardt teaches a blade for a turbomachine, comprising: an airfoil part (paragraph [0003]), and a blade root (10), the blade root comprising at least one bearing surface (generally 16,17) configured to cooperate with a fastening device (11) of the turbomachine, wherein at least the blade root is made of TiAI (paragraph [0042]), and wherein the bearing surface is provided with an anti-wear coating (19), this anti-wear coating being made of a Nickel-based alloy comprising at least 9.5% by mass of Co and/or at least 14% by mass of Cr (paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 20, Steinhardt teaches the anti-wear coating is devoid of a protective varnish (Steinhardt makes no disclosure of a protective varnish).
Regarding claim 23, Steinhardt teaches a turbomachine module, comprising: a disc (12), comprising a plurality of cells (11), and a plurality of blades according to claim 1, the blade root of each blade being engaged in a cell of the disc so that the bearing surfaces of the blade root are in contact with retaining surfaces of the cell.
Regarding claim 24, Steinhardt teaches a turbomachine, comprising a blade according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinhardt.
Regarding claims 17-19, Steinhardt fails to explicitly teach the anti-wear coating comprises a thickness comprised between 0.1 and 1.5 mm, a thickness comprised between 0.1 and 1.0 mm and a thickness comprised between 0.1 and 0.3 mm.
However, Steinhardt teaches the coating is relatively thin so that no net-shape machining is required (see paragraph [0046]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the blade of Steinhardt and change it so that the anti-wear coating comprises a thickness comprised between 0.1 and 1.5 mm, a thickness comprised between 0.1 and 1.0 mm and a thickness comprised between 0.1 and 0.3 mm to use a relatively thin coating that does not require net-shape machining.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinhardt in view of Werner et al. (US2014/0356644).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Steinhardt fails to teach the anti-wear coating is made of an alloy comprising at least 3% by mass of Molybdenum, and an alloy comprising between 3 and 30% by mass of Molybdenum.
In an analogous art, Werner teaches a turbomachine component with a coated region. Werner teaches the coating is made from 27% to 30% Molybdenum (paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the blade of Steinhardt and change it to have an anti-wear coating made of an alloy comprising at least 3% by mass of Molybdenum, and an alloy comprising between 3 and 30% by mass of Molybdenum as taught by Werner to provide protection to selected regions.
Claims 12-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinhardt in view of Chamberlain et al. (US2017/0073820).
Regarding claims 12-13 and 16, Steinhardt fails to teach the anti-wear coating is made of an alloy comprising at least 3% by mass of Silicon, an alloy comprising between 3 and 5% by mass of Silicon, wherein the anti-wear coating is made of one of the following alloys: Rene 80, Cr3C2-Ni20Cr or Inconel 718 (registered trademark).
In an analogous art, Chamberlain teaches a turbine blade with a protective coating. Chamberlain teaches the coating is made from 4-5% Silicon (see paragraph [0006]) and suggests the use of Inconel (see paragraph [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the blade of Steinhardt and change it so that the anti-wear coating is made of an alloy comprising at least 3% by mass of Silicon, an alloy comprising between 3 and 5% by mass of Silicon, wherein the anti-wear coating is made of one of the following alloys: Rene 80, Cr3C2-Ni20Cr or Inconel 718 (registered trademark) as taught by Steinhardt to provide protection to selected regions.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinhardt in view of Bruce et al. (US2006/0018760).
Regarding claims 14-15, Steinhardt fails to teach, the alloy of the anti-wear coating comprises carbide particles, wherein the alloy of the anti-wear coating comprises chromium carbide.
In an analogous art, Bruce teaches a turbine airfoil with a coating. Bruce teaches the coating comprises chromium carbide for erosion resistance (paragraph [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the blade of Steinhardt and change it so that the alloy of the anti-wear coating comprises carbide particles, wherein the alloy of the anti-wear coating comprises chromium carbide as taught by Bruce for erosion resistance.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinhardt in view of DaCunha et al. (US2016/0169012).
Regarding claims 21-22, Steinhardt fails to teach the anti-wear coating is deposited by thermal spraying and the anti-wear coating is deposited by plasma spraying.
In an analogous art, DaCunha teaches a plated turbine component. DaCunha teaches applying the plating with either thermal or plasma spray coating (paragraph [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the blade of Steinhardt and change it so that the anti-wear coating is deposited by thermal spraying and the anti-wear coating is deposited by plasma spraying as taught by DaCunha as known art processes for applying coatings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the PTO-892 for relevant coated turbine component references.
/CAMERON A CORDAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745