DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
The information disclosure statements filed 12/03/2025 and 06/20/2025, have been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of the PTO-1449 forms are included in this correspondence.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-10, 12-13, 30, 38-39, 41, 59, and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US 20150287354 in view of Buckley et al. US 20140118388.
Consider claim 1. Wang discloses a method comprising, for an input color of a pixel fig. 13,
determining, based on the input color of the pixel, a pair of alternating complementary colors comprising a first color and a second color fig. 13 (1310) [0095] N primary colors where N can be 2, 4, 6 et. when N is 2 a first primary color and a second primary color will be identified and displayed in two temporal subframes (M = 2 as well) [0096] process incoming image data using the method 1300 to be displayed on the display device. The method 1300 includes identifying M primary colors to be displayed in M sub-frames by temporal dithering. The M primary colors can produce a color that is perceptually similar to an input color (C) of the image pixel when temporally dithered. by:
selecting a color value in a color space for the first color according to a selection criterion [0095] tone , grayscale, hue , chroma, saturation, brightness, lightness, luminance, correlated color temperature, dominate wavelength or coordinate in the color space; and
determining the second color as being the symmetrical color to the first color with regards to the input color [0096] the M primary colors can produce a color that is perceptually similar to an input color C of the image pixel when temporally dithered.
Wang does not explicitly disclose if a sum of the energies of a pair of pixels having alternating complementary colors using the first and second colors is lower than twice the energy of a pixel having the input color.
Buckley however discloses if a sum of the energies of a pair of pixels having alternating complementary colors using the first and second colors is lower than twice the energy of a pixel having the input color [0037][0090] The power management logic prevents a display from presenting an image using CCC subfields if doing so would require more than a predetermined degree of power beyond that necessary to present an image using only ICCs. [0207].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image displaying method of Wang to include if a sum of the energies of a pair of pixels having alternating complementary colors using the first and second colors is lower than twice the energy of a pixel having the input color, as taught by Buckley, to display images with only necessary power [0090] [0094].
Consider claim 3. Wang as modified by Buckley disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the selection criterion is a maximal color distance from the input color. Wang [0095]As used herein, a color associated with each of the plurality of image pixels can include at least one of tone, grayscale, hue, chroma, saturation, brightness, lightness, luminance, correlated color temperature, dominant wavelength or a coordinate in the color space. In various implementations, the color associated with each of the plurality of image pixels can have a value between 0 and 255 (Max).
Consider claim 4. Wang as modified by Buckley disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the selection criterion is that the color is a saturated color Wang [0095]As used herein, a color associated with each of the plurality of image pixels can include at least one of tone, grayscale, hue, chroma, saturation, brightness, lightness, luminance, correlated color temperature, dominant wavelength or a coordinate in the color space. In various implementations, the color associated with each of the plurality of image pixels can have a value between 0 and 255 (Max).
Consider claim 5. Wang as modified by Buckley disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the selection criterion is that the color is a greyscale color Wang [0095]As used herein, a color associated with each of the plurality of image pixels can include at least one of tone, grayscale, hue, chroma, saturation, brightness, lightness, luminance, correlated color temperature, dominant wavelength or a coordinate in the color space. In various implementations, the color associated with each of the plurality of image pixels can have a value between 0 and 255 (Max).
Consider claim 6. Wang as modified by Buckley disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the selection criterion is that the color has the same luminance than as the input color Wang [0095]As used herein, a color associated with each of the plurality of image pixels can include at least one of tone, grayscale, hue, chroma, saturation, brightness, lightness, luminance, correlated color temperature, dominant wavelength or a coordinate in the color space. In various implementations, the color associated with each of the plurality of image pixels can have a value between 0 and 255 (Max).
Consider claim 7. Wang as modified by Buckley disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the color space is a XYZ color space or a uniform color space. Wang [0076] average color of these primaries, for example, in a linear color space such as the CIE L*a*b* color space.
Consider claim 9. Wang as modified by Buckley disclose the method of claim 1 , wherein the determining of the pairs of colors is iterated multiple times to generate a set of pairs of alternating complementary colors, and further comprising selecting the pair of alternating complementary colors of the set of pair of alternating complementary colors having the lowest energy consumption Buckley fig. 11 [0202]-[0213].
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 10. Wang as modified by Buckley disclose the method of claim 9, being further iterated over a set of input colors comprising the colors of all pixels of an input image or of a subset of all pixels of the input image or all possible color values of a selected color space or a subset of all possible color values of a selected color space. Buckley [0153] the color selection process includes providing the contributing color selection logic 502 with a set of available FSCCs to select from (stage 702) converting received image data into XYZ tristimulus values for processing 706, identifying a color corresponding to the medians of the tristimulus values and setting the FSCC to the available FSCC closes to the color corresponding to the set median tristimulus values 710.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 12. Wang as modified by Buckley disclose the method of any of claim 10 further comprising storing an association between the set of input colors and the corresponding determined pair of alternating complementary colors Wang [0082] It may be desirable to determine the primary color P.sub.i that is closest to the modified color C.sub.i′ in a perceptually linear color space that resembles the human visual system, such as, for example, the CIE L*a*b* color space. Accordingly, in some implementations, a look-up-table (LUT) 1109 can be used to store the color in the perceptually linear color space that corresponds to each of the discrete primary colors.
Consider claim 13. Wang as modified by Buckley disclose the method of claim 12,wherein the association is stored in a look-up table using an input color as index Wang [0082] LUT.
Claim 30 is rejected, mutatis mutandis, to claim 1. the device being a display 600 fig. 6 Wang.
Claim 38 is rejected, mutatis mutandis, to claim 9.
Claim 39 is rejected, mutatis mutandis, to claim 10.
Claim 41 is rejected, mutatis mutandis, to claims 12-13.
Consider claim 59. Wang as modified by Buckley disclose the device according to any of claims 30 wherein the device is selected in a set comprising smartphones, tablets, laptops, external monitors, head-mounted displays, television set, video projectors, computer screens, vehicles control system, vehicles entertainment systems, advertisement display panels, medical monitors Wang [0030] mobile telephone television etc.
Consider claim 61. Wang as modified by Buckley disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program code instructions for implementing the method according to any of claims claim 1 when executed by a processor Wang [0107].
2. Claims 14, 23, 43, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US 20150287354 in view of Buckley et al. US 20140118388 and further in view of Huang et al. US 20110074808.
Consider claim 14. Wang as modified by Buckley disclose the method comprising:
obtaining a pixel of an image, obtaining a pair of alternating complementary colors based on the color of the pixel according to claim 1 Wang [0095][0096], and;
Wang as modified by Buckley does not disclose, adding new pixels to the image, horizontally or vertically, to double a width or a height of the image to transform a single pixel into a pair of adjacent pixels wherein the color of the first pixel of the pair of adjacent pixels is set to the first color and the color of the second pixel of the pair of adjacent pixels is set to the second color.
Huang however discloses adding new pixels to the image, horizontally or vertically, to double a width or a height of the image to transform a single pixel into a pair of adjacent pixels wherein the color of the first pixel of the pair of adjacent pixels is set to the first color and the color of the second pixel of the pair of adjacent pixels is set to the second color fig. 7 [0055-0060] teaches adjacent pixels 604a 604bare able to operate spatial division and time division multiplex. the subpixels 604a 604b are arranged horizontally and double the width see fig. 6 for comparison.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image displaying method of Wang as modified by Buckley to include adding new pixels to the image, horizontally or vertically, to double a width or a height of the image to transform a single pixel into a pair of adjacent pixels wherein the color of the first pixel of the pair of adjacent pixels is set to the, as taught by Huang, because such an arrangement conserves power and makes to display suitable for portable e-book applications [0060].
Claim 23 is rejected, mutatis mutandis, for similar reasons to claim 14. Although Huang [0055] fig. 7 illustrates the neighboring subpixels being in a horizontal direction neighboring subpixels can be in a vertical direction as well.
Claim 43 is rejected, mutatis mutandis, for similar reasons to claim 14.
Claim 52 is rejected, mutatis mutandis, for similar reasons to claim 23.
CONCLUSION
IBRAHIM A. KHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2628
/IBRAHIM A KHAN/ 06/22/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628