DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s preliminary amendment of 06/23/2025 is acknowledged.
An Abstract amendment of 06/23/2025 is acknowledged. This amendment is acceptable and is entered.
New claims 16-31 are presented.
The present Office action treats claims 16-31 on the merits.
The present Office action is a non-final rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 25 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “sock-like” in claim 25 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “sock-like” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear how much like a sock a structure must be and/or whether and how a structure could be sufficiently and/or insufficiently “sock-like” to meet the limitation. For the purpose of applying art, the phrase “presenting a flexible sock-like structure” is interpreted as if it reads -- presenting a flexible structure--
Claim 30 line 5 recites “each comprising a first arm”. However, it is not clear what “each” is in reference to insofar as what precedes “each” is “A suspension element for attachment at an upper of a footwear, wherein the suspension element is formed as one-piece suspension bracket having a conformation suitable for wrapping at least partially around a lower lateral edge of a bottom region of the upper”. In other words, claim 30 lines 1-4 recite “A suspension element...the suspension element” such that it is not clear whether and how “each” further limits the claimed suspension element and/or if plural suspension elements are claimed. For the purpose of applying art, claim 30 is interpreted as if the term “each” is stricken therefrom.
Claim 31 is indefinite if only because it depends from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 31 fails to include all the limitations of claim 30 upon which it depends. It is noted claim 31 requires A suspension element formed as one-piece suspension bracket. And claim 31 recites “a...suspension bracket[] according to claim 30” but fails to recite the suspension element of claim 30.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18, 20-21, 23-24, and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Langvin, US 2019/0075885, cited by Applicant on the IDS of 06/23/2025] in view of [Misevich, GB-2155759-A, newly cited].
Regarding claim 16:
Langvin discloses (Figs. 4-15 and 22-25):
A footwear 900 comprising:
an upper 902 comprising a flexible (as evidenced by its flexing upon from the “unloaded state” of Fig. 22 in response to the “downward force...applied” in Fig. 23 and then the “rebound back” in Figs. 24-25; paras 102-103; Figs. 22-25) body 902 defining a cavity,
a sole body 400 comprising at least one midsole 404 associated with (Figs. 22-24) said upper to support the sole of the user's foot, and
a suspension structure 402 comprising a plurality of suspension elements 440 defining corresponding distinct and separate ground support surfaces (Figs. 4-5, 7-15, and 22-25), said suspension elements being each independent of the others (spaced apart by...gaps 450”; para 71)
wherein the single suspension elements are formed as one-piece suspension brackets (Fig. 4) having a conformation suitable for wrapping at least partially around the lower lateral edge of the bottom region of the upper (Figs. 6-15) and are arranged in succession around the entire perimeter of the upper (Figs. 22-25),
wherein each suspension bracket wraps around or encloses the midsole and the upper at least partly along the perimeter of the upper (Figs. 22-25).
Langvin does not expressly disclose said suspension elements being each elastically deformable independently of the others.
In further view of Langvin:
Langvin teaches another element of the footwear is “more elastic than each of the” suspension elements (Abstract) such that Langvin at least suggests each suspension element has a finite elasticity that is less elastic than said another element.
Misevich teaches a suspension element 24 of a “sole unit 22” is “flexible elastically deformable ground-engaging outsole 24” (p. 3 lines 44-45).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the footwear of Langvin such that each of its suspension elements is elastically deformable in order to yield the predictable result of permitting each suspension element to absorb shock and/or participate in energy return due to the elastic deformability thereof.
In adopting the modification, the limitation “each elastically deformable independently of the others” would be met insofar as the suspension elements reman spaced apart by gaps as described in para 71 of Langvin such that each suspension element is capable of elastic deformation by itself and independent of the others when a force capable of evincing such elastic deformation is applied thereto.
Regarding claim 17:
Langvin in view of Misevich teach The footwear according to claim 16, as set forth above.
Langvin further discloses wherein said suspension brackets each comprise a first arm (see annotated Figs. 5-6 – a below) adapted to be associated with a corresponding portion of a perimeter edge of a bottom region of said upper attached to a support element and a second arm (see annotated Figs. 5-6 – a below) adapted to be associated with a corresponding portion of a bottom side perimeter edge of said upper and connected to the outer face of the upper (Figs. 22-25).
Regarding claim 18:
Langvin in view of Misevich teach The footwear according to claim 17, as set forth above.
Langvin further discloses wherein the outer part of said first arm of said suspension brackets defines the support surface such that all support surfaces of the plurality of suspension brackets collectively form the tread of the footwear (the outer part of the first arms identified in annotated Figs. 5-6 – a presented in above addressing of claim 17 are configured to engage a ground surface such that the outer part of said first arm of said suspension brackets defines the support surface such that all support surfaces of the plurality of suspension brackets collectively form the tread of the footwear as claimed).
Regarding claim 20:
Langvin in view of Misevich teach The footwear according to claim 16, as set forth above.
Langvin further discloses wherein the suspension brackets are made of foamed polymeric material (“foams...used for...outer sole members include...ethyl vinyl acetate (EVA foam), Phylon (or other compression molded foams), polyurethane, rubber, as well as various combinations of these foams”; para 84).
Regarding claim 21:
Langvin in view of Misevich teach The footwear according to claim 16, as set forth above.
Langvin does not expressly disclose wherein the support surfaces are roughened, patterned or knurled sections of the surface of the suspension bracket and/or an attached extra material layer forming each support surface.
However and in further view of Langvin:
Langvin teaches “one or more of outer sole members 440 can include provisions to improve traction” and further teaches an attached extra material layer forms a support surface: “outer sole member 440 can...include...tread pad 448. The use of ...tread pad 448 may enhance grip” (para 72).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Langvin such that an attached extra material layer is forming each support surface in order to enhance grip, as suggested by Langvin.
Regarding claim 23:
Langvin in view of Misevich teach The footwear according to claim 16, as set forth above.
Langvin further discloses wherein said suspension brackets are arranged around the perimeter of said upper (Figs. 5 and 22-225) uniformly spaced apart from each other (Fig. 5) by the interposition of a corresponding plurality of free spaces 450 of homogeneous and/or variable width (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 24:
Langvin in view of Misevich teach The footwear according to claim 23, as set forth above.
Langvin Figs. 4-15 and 22-25 does not expressly disclose wherein at least one pair of adjacent arranged suspension brackets are connected via a connecting bridge extending into the corresponding free space between the adjacent suspension brackets.
However and in further view of Langvin:
Langvin as embodied in para 92 teaches a connecting bridge (formed by a “groove[] that do[es] not” “go all the way through” (para 92)) extends into a free space between adjacent suspension brackets: “in different embodiments, the selection of gaps or grooves that only go partially through a middle sole member could vary. More specifically, gaps that go all the way through vs. grooves that do not could be selectively applied in various regions of a middle sole assembly, and also in an outer sole assembly, to achieve desired degrees of flexibility, stretching and/or other characteristics for a sole system” (para 92).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Langvin such that at least one pair of adjacent arranged suspension brackets are connected via a connecting bridge extending into the corresponding free space between the adjacent suspension brackets in order to achieve one or more desired degree(s) of flexibility, stretching and/or other characteristics, as suggested by Langvin (para 92).
Regarding claim 28:
Langvin in view of Misevich teach The footwear according to claim 16, as set forth above.
Langvin further discloses wherein the suspension brackets are one-piece elements (Fig. 4), provided in a number greater than four and up to sixteen (Fig. 4), completely distributed around the upper and the sole body with respect to the ground, wrapping around or enclosing the midsole and the upper (Figs. 6-15 and 22-25).
Regarding claim 29:
Langvin in view of Misevich teach The footwear according to claim 16, as set forth above.
Langvin further discloses wherein the suspension brackets are embracing the upper and the sole body at least partly (Figs. 22-25).
Langvin Figs. 4-15 and 22-25 does not expressly disclose wherein the suspension brackets are glued or welded to the ground facing part of the upper and the sole body, embracing the upper and the sole body at least partly.
However and in further view of Langvin: Langvin as embodied in para 95 teaches gluing and welding a suspension bracket to an upper (para 95) and further teaches the suspension structure 402 glued or welded to 406 of the sole body (“fixedly attached”; para 79; attention is drawn to para 40 defining “fixedly attached” wherein “Exemplary modalities of fixed attachment...include...adhesive, welding or other thermal bonding” (para 40). Langvin further teaches such gluing or welding renders “two components joined in a manner such that the components may not be readily separated” (para 40).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Langvin such that the suspension brackets are glued or welded to the ground facing part of the upper and the sole body, embracing the upper and the sole body at least partly in order to join the suspension brackets to the ground facing part of the upper and the sole body in such a way that the glued or welded components are joined together in such a way that they are not readily separated from one another, as suggested by Langvin (para 40).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Langvin, US 2019/0075885] and [Misevich, GB-2155759-A] as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of [Mokos, US 2019/0208859, newly cited].
Regarding claim 19:
Langvin in view of Misevich teach The footwear according to claim 17, as set forth above.
Langvin does not expressly disclose wherein the suspension brackets of the suspension structure arranged in the part proximal to the toe of the footwear have corresponding first arms having thicknesses lower than those of the suspension brackets arranged in the part located at the heel area.
However, Mokos teaches footwear wherein the portion of an outsole that is configured to underlie a foot has a thickness in a part proximal to the toe that is lower than a thickness in a part located at a heel area: “The outsole 32 generally reduces in thickness as it extends from the sole heel end 38 toward the sole toe end 40. The heel portion 62 of the outsole 32 is thicker than the ball portion 66 and the toe portion 68. The midfoot portion 64 reduces in thickness between the heel portion 62 and the ball portion 64. The ball portion 66 is thicker than the toe portion 68” (para 50).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Langvin such that the suspension brackets of the suspension structure arranged in the part proximal to the toe of the footwear have corresponding first arms having thicknesses lower than those of the suspension brackets arranged in the part located at the heel area in order to yield the predictable result of a footwear that is appropriate for a wearer who prefers his heel to be elevated above his toe when wearing the footwear and standing on a flat surface.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Langvin, US 2019/0075885] and [Misevich, GB-2155759-A] as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of [Banich, US 4,694,591, newly cited].
Regarding claim 22:
Langvin in view of Misevich teach The footwear according to claim 16, as set forth above.
Langvin further discloses wherein said suspension brackets are made of polymeric material (para 84).
Langvin does not expressly disclose wherein said suspension brackets are made of polymeric material with different densities to confer different mechanical characteristics according to arrangement of the suspension brackets on the footwear.
However, Banich teaches footwear wherein portions configured to underlie a foot of a wearer are made of a material with different densities to confer different mechanical characteristics according to arrangement on the footwear: “Outsole subassembly 18 is composed of portions of different densities. Portion 26 extends from the rear end of the shoe forwardly to the higher density portion 28 under the ball of the foot. Portion 26 constitutes an expanded rubber of about 45 durometer, Shore A. Likewise, the front toe portion 30 of the outsole is an expanded rubber of about 45 durometer, Shore A. The intermediate portion 28 beneath the ball of the foot constitutes an expanded rubber of about 65 durometer”; col. 2 lines 31-39.
Banich further teaches “heel and ball portions” are “of greater density for wear durability” (Abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Langvin such that said suspension brackets are made of polymeric material with different densities to confer different mechanical characteristics according to arrangement of the suspension brackets on the footwear in order to provide more wear durability in portions of the suspension brackets comprising a higher density than others, as suggested by Banich (Abstract).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Langvin, US 2019/0075885] and [Misevich, GB-2155759-A] as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of [Meir, US 2015/0289579, newly cited].
Regarding claim 25:
Langvin in view of Misevich teach The footwear according to claim 16, as set forth above.
Langvin does not expressly disclose wherein said upper is obtained by "knit" technology, presenting a flexible sock-like structure obtained by thermoforming from a seamless knitted fabric tube.
Meir teaches an upper obtained by knit technology, presenting a flexible structure obtained by thermoforming from a seamless knitted fabric tube: “articles of footwear can include an upper that includes a knitted component. The knitted component can be lightweight and, yet, durable. The knitted component can additionally provide flexibility to the upper. The knitted component can also provide desirable aesthetics to the upper. Moreover, the knitted component can also increase manufacturing efficiency of the upper. Furthermore, the knitted component can decrease waste and/or or make the upper more recyclable” (para 3).
It is noted that Meir does not state the process by which the structure is obtained is a process of “thermoforming from a seamless knitted fabric tube”; however, the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a process that is silent as to whether said process includes thermoforming from a seamless knitted fabric tube. Attention is drawn to MPEP 2113 which states in relevant part “Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Langvin such that said upper is obtained by "knit" technology, presenting a flexible structure obtained by thermoforming from a seamless knitted fabric tube, as in Meir, in order to provide desirable aesthetics; increase manufacturing efficiency; decrease waste; and/or or make the upper more recyclable, as suggested by Meir (para 3).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Langvin, US 2019/0075885] and [Misevich, GB-2155759-A] as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of [Ogden, US 5,388,349, newly cited].
Regarding claim 26:
Langvin in view of Misevich teach The footwear according to claim 16, as set forth above.
As applied to claim 16 above, the modified Langvin does not meet the limitation wherein said midsole is adapted to be internally housed in said upper and comprises a thermoplastic elastomer.
As applied to claim 16, the midsole 404 is not adapted to be internally housed in said upper 902.
However and in further view of Langvin:
Langvin teaches the footwear is provided with yet another midsole (i.e. the “insole...provide increased comfort for the foot” (para 4); “sole system may include...an insole. It may be appreciated however that sole system 104 is not limited to incorporating traditional sole components and may incorporate various different kinds of elements arranged at the outermost, inner most and intermediate ‘layers’, or locations, of the sole. Thus, a sole system can include an outer sole member or element, which may or may not coincide with a conventional ‘outsole’. Likewise, a sole system may include an inner sole member or element, which may or may not coincide with a conventional ‘insole’” (para 50).
Ogden teaches a midsole (i.e. “insole”; title, Abstract) adapted to be internally housed in an upper (as evidenced by its being capable of directly contacting a wearer’s socked foot as described in col. 10 lines 45-65) and comprises a thermoplastic elastomer (col. 6 lines 55-62).
Ogden further teaches the midsole “provides comfort and control of the shoe 10, and which protects the foot 16 from blistering and from violent collisions with the toe portion and uppers (not shown) of the shoe 10 which can damage the toes and other portions of the foot” (col. 6 lines 34-38).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Langvin such that it is provided with yet another midsole associated with said upper to support the sole of the user's foot, wherein said yet another midsole is adapted to be internally housed in said upper and comprises a thermoplastic elastomer in order to provide comfort, provide control, protect the foot from blistering, and/or protect the foot from violent collision with the upper, as suggested by Ogden (col. 6 lines 34-38). In adopting the modification, the yet another midsole as described hereinabove would be the ” at least one midsole associated with said upper to support the sole of the user's foot” of claim 16 wherein each suspension bracket would wrap around or enclose the midsole and the upper at least partly along the perimeter of the upper in the same way that each suspension bracket wraps around or encloses the upper as shown in Figs. 22-25 of Langvin.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Langvin, US 2019/0075885], [Misevich, GB-2155759-A], and [Ogden, US 5,388,349] as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of [Malet, US 2007/0066725, newly cited].
Regarding claim 27:
Langvin in view of Misevich and Ogden teach The footwear according to claim 26, as set forth above.
Langvin does not expressly disclose wherein the thermoplastic elastomer, is a polyamide elastomeric material.
Malet teaches a thermoplastic elastomer (“thermoplastic elastomer[]”; para 2) appropriate for “shoe soles” (para 2) is a polyamide elastomeric material (“Copolymers comprising polyamide blocks...are thermoplastic elastomers. They are also known as polyamide elastomers” (para 2).
Malet teaches the polyamide elastomeric material is “resistant to ageing due to heat and/or UV (ultraviolet) radiation” (para 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Langvin such that the thermoplastic elastomer, is a polyamide elastomeric material in order to render the thermoplastic elastomer resistant to aging due to heat and/or ultraviolet radiation, as suggested by Malet (para 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by [Langvin, US 2019/0075885, cited by Applicant on the IDS of 06/23/2025].
Regarding claim 30:
Langvin discloses (Figs. 4-15):
A suspension element 440 for attachment at an upper of a footwear, wherein the suspension element is formed as one-piece (Fig. 4) suspension bracket 440 having a conformation suitable for wrapping at least partially around a lower lateral edge of a bottom region of the upper (Figs. 4-15), each comprising a first arm (see annotated Figs. 5-6 – a presented in above addressing of claim 17) adapted to be associated with a corresponding portion of a perimeter edge of a bottom region attached to a support element and a second arm (see annotated Figs. 5-6 – a presented in above addressing of claim 17) adapted to be associated with a corresponding portion of a bottom side perimeter edge of said upper and connected to the outer face of the upper.
Regarding claim 31:
Langvin discloses the suspension bracket according to claim 30.
Langvin further discloses (Figs. 4-15 and 22-25):
A footwear 900 comprising a plurality of suspension brackets 440 according to claim 30, fixed along a perimeter edge of a bottom region of (Figs. 22-25) an upper 902 of the footwear, encompassing or wrapped at least partly around (Figs. 9-15 and 22-25) a support element 406 and the bottom region of the upper of the footwear.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by [Fadden, US 3,827,430, newly cited].
Regarding claim 30:
Fadden discloses (Figs. 1-9):
A suspension element 12 for attachment at an upper of a footwear, wherein the suspension element is formed as one-piece (Figs. 1-9) suspension bracket 12 having a conformation suitable for wrapping at least partially around a lower lateral edge of a bottom region of the upper (as evidenced in Figs. 3 and 9 wherein at least the curvature of 14 is such that the suspension bracket is capable of wrapping at least partially around a lower lateral edge of a bottom region of an upper), each comprising a first arm 16 adapted to be associated with a corresponding portion of a perimeter edge of a bottom region attached to a support element (first arm is adapted to be associated with a corresponding portion of a perimeter edge of a shoe 17; Fadden is silent as to the specific structure of shoe 17; nonetheless, first arm is capable of being associated with a corresponding portion of a perimeter edge of a bottom region of a shoe attached to a support element; it is noted the corresponding portion, perimeter edge, bottom region, and support element are functionally claimed in claim 30) and a second arm 14 adapted to be associated with a corresponding portion of a bottom side perimeter edge of said upper (as in Fig. 1 in relation to an upper of the shoe 17; in addition, second arm is capable of being associated with a corresponding portion of a bottom side perimeter edge of another upper) and connected to the outer face of the upper (second arm is capable of being connected to an outer face of the upper of shoe 17; in addition, second arm is capable of being connected to an outer face of another upper of another shoe; it is noted the outer face and the upper are functionally claimed).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by [Schwartz, US 2012/0255194].
Regarding claim 30:
Schwartz discloses (Figs. 1-4):
A suspension element 32, 34 (i.e. the combined 32 and 34) for attachment at an upper of a footwear,
wherein the suspension element is formed as one-piece (para 49; Figs. 1-4) suspension bracket 32, 34 (i.e. the combined 32 and 34) having a conformation suitable for wrapping at least partially around a lower lateral edge of a bottom region of the upper (as evidenced in Figs. 1-2),each comprising a first arm 32 adapted to be associated with a corresponding portion of a perimeter edge of a bottom region (of shoe 10; Figs. 1-2) attached to a support element 16 and a second arm 34 adapted to be associated with a corresponding portion of a bottom side perimeter edge of said upper (as evidenced in Figs. 1-2) and connected to the outer face of the upper (para 50; Figs. 1-2).
Conclusion
/GRADY ALEXANDER NUNNERY/Examiner, Art Unit 3732