CTNF 19/142,376 CTNF 87350 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1,3-12, 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230027478 A1 Deng; Zhipin et al. (hereafter Deng), and further in view of US 20240397078 A1 PALURI; Seethal et al. (hereafter Paluri) . Regarding claim 1, Deng discloses A method for video decoding in a video decoder (Fig.4), comprising: receiving a first syntax element from a video parameter set (VPS), a sequence parameter set (SPS), or a picture parameter set (PPS) in a bitstream (Fig.6, [07], the constraint flag is the first syntax in PPS of a coded bitstream), the first syntax element indicating whether a second syntax element is signaled in a slice header (SH) or a picture header (PH) of a current picture ([20], the correspondent syntax in picture header or slice header is a second syntax); in response to the first syntax element having a first value indicating that the second syntax element is not signaled in the SH or the PH, deriving a value of the second syntax element based on values of at least one of the first syntax element and one or more third syntax elements in a network abstraction layer (NAL) unit header, the VPS, the SPS, the PPS, the SH, or the PH ([280]-[282], when corresponding syntax elements in PH is not signalled, the value of the related syntax element in PH will be equal to a certain value based on the value of the general constraint flag, such as PH syntax ph_inter_slice_allowed_flag is 0, PH syntax ref_pic_lists( ) and ref_pic_list_struct(listIdx, rplsIdx) are referred); Deng fails to disclose in response to the first syntax element having a second value indicating that the second syntax element is signaled in the SH or the PH, deriving the value of the second syntax element based on the second syntax element signaled in the SH or PH. Paluri teaches in response to the first syntax element having a second value indicating that the second syntax element is signaled in the SH or the PH, deriving the value of the second syntax element based on the second syntax element signaled in the SH or PH ([206], [208], syntax elements related to MDMVR are signaled at PPS as the second syntax in response to a first syntax (e.g. first flag), then the syntax elements related to MDMVR are derived in decoder). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for video decoding in a video decoder disclosed by Deng to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Paluri, in order to provide highly efficient image/video compression technique, as identified by Paluri. Regarding claim 3, Deng discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH, and when the first syntax element has the first value, the derived value of the second syntax element is determined as a value indicating that a picture associated with the PH is not a gradual decoding refresh (GDR) picture, or a value of a third syntax elements, where the third syntax element is received in the VPS, the SPS, or the PPS ([567], [573]). Regarding claim 4, Deng discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH, and when the first syntax element has the first value, the derived value of the second syntax element is determined as a value specifying that there may or may not be one or more coded slices in a picture associated with the PH that are I slices ([567], [592]). Regarding claim 5, Deng discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH, and when the first syntax element has the first value, the derived value of the second syntax element is determined as 0, which specifies that a picture associated with the PH is associated with a picture parameter set having an ID equal to 0 ([60]). Regarding claim 6, Deng discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH, and when the first syntax element has the first value, the derived value of the second syntax element is determined as a value specifying that a picture associated with the PH is in an output layer ([510], [537]). Regarding claim 7, Deng discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH, and when the first syntax element has the first value, the derived value of the second syntax element is determined as a value specifying that a reference index of a collocated picture used for temporal motion vector prediction of a picture associated with the PH is 0 ([443], [577]). Regarding claim 8, Deng discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH or SH, and when the first syntax element has the first value, the derived value of the second syntax element is determined as a value specifying that a reference index of a collocated picture used for temporal motion vector prediction of a slice associated with the PH or the SH is 0 ([443], [172]). Regarding claim 9, Deng discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH or SH, and when the first syntax element has the first value, the derived value of the second syntax element is determined as a value specifying that a slice associated with the PH or the SH is a B slice, or a value determined based on a value of a third syntax element, where the third syntax element specifies whether an inter slice is allowed or not for coding the picture associated with the PH or the SH ([166]-[167]. Regarding claim 10, Deng discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH or SH, and when the first syntax element has the first value, the derived value of the second syntax element is determined as a value indicating that 8-state dependent quantization is used in a slice associated with the PH or the SH, or a value of a third syntax element, where the third syntax element is received in the VPS, the SPS, or the PPS ([169]). Regarding claim 11, Deng discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH, when the first syntax element has the first value, the derived value of the second syntax element is determined based on a value of the third syntax element, where the third syntax element specifying whether a picture associated with the PH is an Instantaneous Decoder Refresh (IDR) picture or not ([604], [615]). Regarding claim 12, see the rejection for claim 1, further Deng discloses in response to the first syntax element having a first value indicating that the second syntax element is left for the decoder to derive, avoiding signaling the second syntax element in the SH or the PH (Fig.6, ([280]-[282]); and Paluri teaches in response to the first syntax element having a second value indicating that the second syntax element is signaled in the SH or the PH, signaling the second syntax element in the SH or the PH ([206], [208]). Regarding claim 14, Deng discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH, and when a picture associated with the PH is not a gradual decoding refresh (GDR) picture, the first syntax element is signaled with the first value, or the first syntax element is signaled with the first value, and a third syntax element is signaled to specify whether the picture associated with the PH is a GDR picture or not ([567], [573]). Regarding claim 15, Deng discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH, and when there may or may not be one or more coded slices in a picture associated with the PH that are I slices, the first syntax element is signaled with the first value ([567], [592]). Regarding claim 16, Deng discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH, and when a picture associated with the PH is associated with a Picture Parameter Set (PPS) having an ID equal to 0, the first syntax element is signaled with the first value ([60]). Regarding claim 17, Deng discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH, and when a picture associated with the PH is in an output layer, the first syntax element is signaled with the first value ([510], [537]). Regarding claim 18, Deng discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH, and when a reference index of a collocated picture used for temporal motion vector prediction of a picture associated with the PH is 0, the first syntax element is signaled with the first value ([443], [577]). Regarding claim 19, Deng discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH or SH, and when a reference index of a collocated picture used for temporal motion vector prediction of a slice associated with the PH or the SH is 0, the first syntax element is signaled with the first value ([443], [172]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng , in view of Paluri, and further in view of US 20230114860 A1 Zhang; Li et al.(hereafter Zhang) . Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH, and when the first syntax element has the first value, the derived value of the second syntax element is determined as a value indicating that a picture associated with the PH may or may not be used as a reference picture ([11]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Deng, Paluri and Zhang before him/her, to modify the method for video decoding in a video decoder disclosed by Deng to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Paluri and Zhang, in order to provide highly efficient image/video compression technique, as identified by Paluri, and techniques that can be used by video encoders and decoders for processing coded representation of video using control information, as identified by Zhang. Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches The method of claim 12, wherein the second syntax element is a syntax element in the PH, and when a picture associated with the PH may or may not be used as a reference picture, the first syntax element is signaled with the first value ([11]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng, and further in view of Zhang . Regarding claim 20, Deng discloses A method for video decoding in a video decoder, comprising: in response to receiving a first syntax element from a video parameter set (VPS), a sequence parameter set (SPS), or a picture parameter set (PPS) in a bitstream (Fig.6, [07]), determining that a lower limit of a value range for a third syntax element in a picture header (PH) of a current picture is a value of the received first syntax element ([11], [134]-[135]), ph_pic_parameter_set_id=0 is the low limit) , where a value of the third syntax element specifies an ID of a picture parameter set associated with the current picture ([134]-[135]); in response to not receiving the first syntax element from the VPS, the SPS, or the PPS, determining that the lower limit of the value range for the third syntax element is 0 ([228]-[229]); in response to receiving a second syntax element from the VPS, the SPS, or the PPS, determining that an upper limit of the value range for the third syntax element is a value of the received second syntax element ([105], [134]-[135]). Deng fails to disclose in response to not receiving the second syntax element from the VPS, the SPS, or the PPS, determining that the upper limit of the value range for the third syntax element is 63. However, Zhang teaches and in response to not receiving the second syntax element from the VPS, the SPS, or the PPS, determining that the upper limit of the value range for the third syntax element is 63 ([147]-[148]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for video decoding in a video decoder disclosed by Deng to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Zhang, in order to provide techniques that can be used by video encoders and decoders for processing coded representation of video using control information, as identified by Zhang . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : US 20250220243 A1, US 20240333916 A1, US 20240040133 A1 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRACY Y. LI whose telephone number is (571)270-3671. The examiner can normally be reached Monday Friday (8:30 AM- 4:30 PM) EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Czekaj can be reached at (571) 272-7327. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TRACY Y. LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/142,376 Page 2 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/142,376 Page 3 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/142,376 Page 4 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/142,376 Page 5 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/142,376 Page 6 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/142,376 Page 7 Art Unit: 2487