DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 were originally filed on 06/23/2025 and claimed priority on JP2022-204724, which was filed on 12/21/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 06/23/2025 has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 20090037025 A1) in view of Takeuchi (US 20230286142 A1) (Hereinafter referred to as Yamamoto and Takeuchi respectively)
Regarding Claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a robot system (See at least Yamamoto Paragraph 0024 and Figure 1) comprising:
a robot including joint axes (See at least Yamamoto Paragraph 0025, the operation axes J1-J6 are the joint axes);
an external axis to be controlled in cooperation with the joint axes of the robot (See at least Yamamoto Paragraphs 0025-0026, 0036, and Figure 4b, the additional axes J7 and J8 are interpreted as external axes);
a controller configured or programmed to control operation of the joint axes of the robot and operation of the external axis for each axis (See at least Yamamoto Paragraphs 0024, 0036 and Figure 1, the control apparatus/controller controls the joint axes J1-J6, and the additional/external axes J7 and J8); and
a teaching device to receive a teaching operation to teach the operation of the joint axes of the robot and the operation of the external axis to the controller (See at least Yamamoto Paragraphs 0035-0038, and Figure 3, the teaching pendant receives a teaching operation of the joint axes J1-J6, and the additional/external axis J7); wherein
the teaching device includes a teaching target selector to receive a selection of a teaching target from among the joint axes of the robot and the external axis (See at least Yamamoto Paragraphs 0037-0038, and Figure 3, the joint axes and the external/additional axis J7 are selected as the teaching targets); and
the controller includes a power controller configured or programmed to control a supply of power to the joint axes and the external axis for each axis (See at least Yamamoto Paragraphs 0006 0008, 0025, and 0030-0031, the drivers are interpreted as the power controller, which drive the robot axes and the additional axes using the power supply and drive circuits).
Yamamoto fails to explicitly disclose perform a control to supply power to the teaching target.
However, Takeuchi teaches perform a control to supply power to the teaching target (See at least Takeuchi Paragraph 0030, during teaching, power is only supplied to the joints that are to be moved, which are the teaching targets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in Yamamoto with Takeuchi to perform a control to supply power to the teaching target. This modification, as taught by Takeuchi, would allow power-saving teaching to be performed by only supplying power to the joints/axes that are to be operated during teaching (See at least Takeuchi Paragraph 0030), thus, reducing power consumption.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Yamamoto teaches the joint axes of the robot and the external axis include drives to drive the joint axes, and a drive to drive the external axis, respectively (See at least Yamamoto Paragraphs 0025-0026, the servomotors are interpreted as drives).
Modified Yamamoto fails to explicitly disclose the power controller is configured or programmed to perform a control to supply, to the drive of the teaching target, drive power to drive the drive, and not to supply drive power to the drive of a non-teaching target not selected as the teaching target.
However, Takeuchi teaches perform a control to supply, to the drive of the teaching target, drive power to drive the drive (See at least Takeuchi Paragraphs 0015, and 0030, power is supplied to the joints that are to be driven, which are the teaching targets), and not to supply drive power to the drive of a non-teaching target not selected as the teaching target (See at least Takeuchi Paragraphs 0015, and 0030, power is not supplied to the joints that are not to be driven, which are the non-teaching targets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Yamamoto with Takeuchi to supply, to the drive of the teaching target, drive power to drive the drive and not to supply drive power to the drive of a non-teaching target not selected as the teaching target. This modification, as taught by Takeuchi, would allow power-saving teaching to be performed by only supplying power to the joints/axes that are to be operated during teaching (See at least Takeuchi Paragraph 0030), thus, reducing power consumption.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Yamamoto teaches the controller includes a drive circuit to supply drive power to the drive (See at least Yamamoto Paragraphs 0006 and 0008, the drive circuit drives the robot axes and the additional axes).
Even though Yamamoto teaches a drive circuit, Modified Yamamoto fails to explicitly disclose the power controller is configured or programmed to control the drive circuit to supply drive power to the drive of the teaching target, and not to supply drive power to the drive of the non-teaching target.
However, Takeuchi teaches supply drive power to the drive of the teaching target (See at least Takeuchi Paragraphs 0015, and 0030, power is supplied to the joints that are to be driven, which are the teaching targets), and not to supply drive power to the drive of the non-teaching target (See at least Takeuchi Paragraphs 0015, and 0030, power is not supplied to the joints that are not to be driven, which are the non-teaching targets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Yamamoto with Takeuchi to control the drive circuit to supply drive power to the drive of the teaching target and not to supply drive power to the drive of the non-teaching target not selected as the teaching target. This modification, as taught by Takeuchi, would allow power-saving teaching to be performed by only supplying power to the joints/axes that are to be operated during teaching (See at least Takeuchi Paragraph 0030), thus, reducing power consumption.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Yamamoto teaches wherein the external axis includes a plurality of external axes (See at least Yamamoto Paragraphs 0025-0026, 0036, and Figure 4a, the additional axes J7 and J8 are interpreted as external axes); and
the teaching target selector is configured to receive, as the teaching target, the joint axes of the robot and the external axis selected from among the plurality of external axes (See at least Yamamoto Paragraphs 0037-0038, and Figure 3, the joint axes and the external/additional axis J7 are selected from the plurality of external/additional axes), the joint axes and the external axis having been associated with each other (See at least Yamamoto Paragraphs 0037-0038, and Figure 3, the teaching pendant is used to preset link information between the joint axes and the external/additional axis J7, which is interpreted as the joint axes and the external axis having been associated with each other).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Yamamoto teaches the teaching target selector is configured to receive a teaching operation for cooperative operation between the joint axes of the robot and the external axis (See at least Yamamoto Paragraphs 0037-0038, 0044, and Figures 3-4a, the teaching operation includes cooperative operation between the joint axes and the additional/external axis J7).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Yamamoto teaches the teaching target selector includes an operation check receiver to receive an operation check to cause the robot and the external axis to collectively perform operation taught thereto (See at least Yamamoto Paragraphs 0032, and 0034-0036, the teaching pendant is used to execute the taught program, which is interpreted as causing the robot and the external axis to collectively perform the operation taught).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Yamamoto teaches the external axis includes at least one of an axis of a positioner to position a workpiece, an axis of a turning roll to rotate the workpiece, a linear motion axis to horizontally move the robot, a lifting/lowering axis to raise and lower the robot, or a rotation axis to rotate the robot (See at least Yamamoto Paragraphs 0025-0026, 0036, and Figure 4b, the additional axes J7 and J8 are linear motion axes).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto in view of Takeuchi, and in further view of Takeda (US 20170232614 A1) and Kothari et al (US 11571805 B1) (Hereinafter referred to as Takeda and Kothari respectively)
Regarding Claim 4, modified Yamamoto fails to disclose the joint axes of the robot include brakes to maintain stopped states of the joint axes, and
the controller includes a brake controller configured or programmed to perform a control to release the brake of the teaching target and maintain the brake of a non-teaching target not selected as the teaching target in an applied state.
However, Takeuchi teaches the teaching target has power and the non-teaching target does not have power (See at least Takeuchi Paragraph 0030), and Takeda teaches the joint axes of the robot include brakes to maintain stopped states of the joint axes (See at least Takeda Paragraphs 0008, and 0038, each drive axis/joint of the robot includes brakes), and
the controller includes a brake controller configured or programmed to perform a control to release the brake of the drive axis with power (See at least Takeda Paragraphs 0008, 0038, and 0041, the brake for a drive axis is not actuated when the drive axis has electricity/power), and maintain the brake of a drive axis with no power in an applied state (See at least Takeda Paragraphs 0008, 0038, and 0041, the brake for a drive axis is actuated when the drive axis has no electricity/power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Yamamoto with Takeuchi and Takeda to perform a control to release the brake of the teaching target and maintain the brake of a non-teaching target not selected as the teaching target in an applied state. This modification, as taught by Takeda, would prevent rotation and maintain the position and posture of the non-teaching target when the non-teaching target has no power (See at least Takeda Paragraphs 0008, 0038, and 0041), which would improve the accuracy of the teaching operation.
Modified Yamamoto fails to disclose the external axis include brakes to maintain a stopped state of the external axis.
However, Kothari teaches the external axis include brakes to maintain a stopped state of the external axis (See at least Kothari Column 13 lines 4-15, and Figure 2a, the carriage on the track/external axis includes a brake to affix the location of the carriage on the track/external axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Yamamoto with Kothari to have the external axis include brakes to maintain a stopped state of the external axis. This modification, as taught by Kothari, would temporarily affix the location of the robot on the track/external axis when the robot arrives at the command location (See at least Kothari Column 13 lines 4-15, and Figure 2a), which would improve the position control of the robot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Motohashi et al (US 20200306865 A1) teaches a robot control device for operating a robot with an external axis based on teaching data
/ESVINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657