DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/23/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 06/23/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a supplemental enhancement information decoder that decodes…” in claim 5, “a supplemental enhancement information coder that codes…” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. US 2022/0329837 A1, hereafter Li.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a bitstream generated by acts. Significantly, the claimed non-transitory computer readable medium is NOT implementing any actual method; no instructions/steps are being executed. Instead, the claimed storage medium merely stores the data output from and/or generated by a series of acts. In other words, these claims are directed to a mere machine-readable medium storing data content (a bitstream generated by a method).
Applicant therefore seeks to patent the storage of a bitstream in the abstract. In other words, the claim seeks to patent the content of the information (bitstream comprising video information) and not the process itself. Moreover, this stored bitstream does not impose any definitive physical organization on the data as there is no functional relationship between the bitstream and the storage medium. In conclusion, claim 9 is directed to mere data content (bitstream generated by a series of acts) stored as a bitstream on a computer-readable storage medium. Under MPEP 2111.05(III), such claims are merely machine-readable media.
Furthermore, the Examiner found and continues to find that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between the stored data and medium. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored. Therefore, the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 applying In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994) and In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004). As such, this claim is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application. Therefore, claim 9 is anticipated by Li, as Li discloses a computer readable medium storing a coded bitstream.
Li discloses, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein a bitstream comprising video information generated by acts (non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method) [0023].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the modification of a strength control value for setting a first variable to an integer value that is based on a syntax element in a neural network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) SEI message.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Li et al. US 2022/0329837 discloses determining neural network filter model candidates using an SEI message. Hannuksela et al. US 2023/0112309 A1 discloses high level syntax for signaling neural networks within a media stream including a neural network representation model (NNR) post-filter SEI message. Santamaria et al. “Context-adaptive neural network post processing filter with NNR-coded weight updates” discloses neural network post filtering syntax.
STEFAN GADOMSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2485
/STEFAN GADOMSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485