DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vissenberg et al. (Vissenberg; US Pub No. 2008/0258995 A1).
As per claim 1, Vissenberg discloses a display system comprising:
a display device provided in a moving body (paragraph [0021], lines 2-3); and
a control device configured to display an image on the display device by dividing a display surface of the display device into a first display region and a second display region (Fig. 1; paragraph [0023]), and maintain the first display region in a case where display content in the second display region is changed (paragraph [0021], lines 3-9).
As per claim 2, Vissenberg discloses the display system according to claim 1,
wherein the control device receives no input in the first display region, and receives an input in the second display region (paragraph [0021], lines 3-9: passenger is playing a computer game or browsing the internet on one side of a display and navigation data is being displayed on the other side of the display to be viewed by the driver).
As per claim 3, Vissenberg discloses the display system according to claim 1,
wherein the control device controls an image display by setting an entire display surface of the display device as a third display region that is one display region (paragraph [0033]), and
the control device receives no input in a first region positioned on a driver side, and receives an input in a second region positioned on a passenger side, among the third display region (paragraph [0033], lines 1-12; paragraph [0021], lines 3-9: passenger is playing a computer game or browsing the internet on one side of a display and navigation data is being displayed on the other side of the display to be viewed by the driver).
As per claim 4, Vissenberg discloses the display system according to claim 3,
wherein, in a case where the control device received an input instructing to change display content in the second region of the third display region, the control device sets the first region as the first display region, sets the second region as the second display region, and changes a display of the second display region (paragraph [0033], lines 1-12; paragraph [0021], lines 3-9: passenger is playing a computer game or browsing the internet on one side of a display and navigation data is being displayed on the other side of the display to be viewed by the driver).
As per claim 6, Vissenberg discloses the display system according to claim 1,
wherein the first display region is positioned on a driver side of the moving body in the display surface, and the second display region is positioned on a passenger side of the moving body in the display surface (paragraph [0021]).
As per claim 7, Vissenberg discloses the display system according to claim 1,
wherein the first display region displays driving information (paragraph [0021], lines 3-6).
As per claim 8, Vissenberg discloses a control method comprising:
displaying an image on a display device provided in a moving body by dividing a display surface of the display device into a first display region and a second display region; and
maintaining the first display region in a case where display content in the second display region is changed (see rejection of claim 1 above).
As per claim 9, Vissenberg discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to function as a control device that displays an image on a display device provided in a moving body by dividing a display surface of the display device into a first display region and a second display region, and maintains the first display region in a case where display content in the second display region is changed (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vissenberg in view of Jeong et al. (Jeong; US Pub No. 2022/0105802 A1).
As per claim 5, Vissenberg teaches the display system according to claim 1.
Vissenberg does not expressly teach wherein the control device performs display in a different manner in a region of the display device that receives no input and a region of the display device that receives an input.
Jeong teaches wherein the control device performs display in a different manner in a region of the display device that receives no input and a region of the display device that receives an input (Fig. 1, Display 130; paragraph [0052], lines 15-17; paragraph [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the boundary within a display screen as taught by Jeong, since Jeong states that such a modification would result in creating a clear delineation between display regions on the display.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sugihara et al. (US Pub No. 2005/0046951 A1): similar inventive concept
Watanabe et al. (US Pub No. 2003/0067432 A1): similar inventive concept
/NAOMI J SMALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685