DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the U.S. patent application 19142469 filed on June 23, 2025, as well as the Preliminary Amendment filed on June 23, 2025.
Original claims 1-11 were canceled and replaced with new claims 12-22 via the Preliminary Amendment filed on June 23, 2025. Claims 12 and 18 are independent claims. Accordingly, claims 12-22 are pending, and have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 23, 2025, complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word "means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an ID provider configured to issue …;” “certification authority configured to issue …;” and “ID provider is configured to perform …” recited in claims 12 and 17.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 12 and 18 recite the acronym “ID” without spelling out in full at its first occurrence. It’s requested that said acronym be spelled out in full at its first occurrence.
Claims 17 and 18 recite the acronym “eKYC” without spelling out in full at its first occurrence. It’s requested that said acronym be spelled out in full at its first occurrence.
Claim 12, line 7, change “a second electronic certificate [] certified” to “the second electronic certificate [] certified;” (emphasis added) to clarify antecedent.
Claim 12, line 10, change “certificate,” to “certificate, and” (emphasis added).
Claim 18, line 12, change “certificate,” to “certificate, and” (emphasis added).
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (“Takahashi”; US20260046145A1).
Per claim 12: Takahashi disclosed an electronic authentication system (Takahashi FIG. 1) comprising:
an ID provider configured to issue a digital ID to a user after performing identity proofing on the user (Takahashi para. [0041], “The issuing server 420 issues, as an authentication attribute certificate, data obtained by generating an electronic signature by the server signature key managed by the server signature key management unit 424 of the issuing server 420”; [NOTE: The “electronic signature” is being interpreted as the claimed “digital ID”.]);
a first certification authority configured to issue a first electronic certificate to the user, the first electronic certificate being certified by government (Takahashi para. [0019], “it is assumed that a person is issued an electronic certificate in advance by an institution that can be trusted (such as a national or local government, a financial institution, or a private proof authority)”); and
a second certification authority configured to issue a second electronic
certificate to the user, a second electronic certificate being certified by self or by a private
third-party organization (Takahashi para. [0090], “The issuing server 420 issues, as an authentication attribute certificate …adding the electronic signature to a group of information including all or a part of the attributes described in the electronic certificate, the additional attribute information, the authentication public key, a validity period, information related to the issuing server, an attribute confirmation level, and a certificate ID, and transmits the authentication attribute certificate to the registration terminal 400 (S515).”),
wherein the first certification authority describes the digital ID, issued to the user by the ID provider, in the first electronic certificate (Takahashi para. [0019], “wherein the electronic certificate is data in which an electronic signature generated by a signature key of the institution is applied to data including personal public key and basic attributes (name, date of birth, gender, address, and the like)”),
the second certification authority describes the same digital ID as that of the first electronic certificate in the second electronic certificate (Takahashi para. [0090], “adding the electronic signature to a group of information including all or a part of the attributes described in the electronic certificate, the additional attribute information, the authentication public key, a validity period, information related to the issuing server, an attribute confirmation level, and a certificate ID, and transmits the authentication attribute certificate to the registration terminal 400 (S515).”).
Per claim 13: Takahashi disclosed the electronic authentication system according to claim 12. Takahashi further disclosed an arrangement wherein the
digital ID is an identifier in a format in which the user cannot be identified by the identifier alone (Takahashi para. [0019], “wherein the electronic certificate is data in which an electronic signature generated by a signature key of the institution is applied to data including personal public key and basic attributes (name, date of birth, gender, address, and the like), and is data whose authenticity can be verified by a public key of the institution.”; [NOTE: Given that the “electronic signature” must be verified using a “public key”, the signature is encrypted and must be decrypted via the “key”.]).
Per claim 14: Takahashi disclosed the electronic authentication system according to claim 12. Takahashi further disclosed an arrangement wherein
a first public key and the digital ID of the user are described in the first
electronic certificate, and a data description including the first public key and the digital ID is electronically signed by the first certification authority (Takahashi para. [0019], “wherein the electronic certificate is data in which an electronic signature generated by a signature key of the institution is applied to data including personal public key and basic attributes (name, date of birth, gender, address, and the like), and is data whose authenticity can be verified by a public key of the institution.”), and
a second public key and the digital ID of the user are described in the second electronic certificate, and a data description including the second public key and the digital ID is electronically signed by the second certification authority (Takahashi para. [0110], “The service provision server 440 verifies the authentication portion attribute proof (S611). Specifically, with respect to the attribute information, the user authentication information, and the authentication public key included in the authentication portion attribute proof, it is confirmed that the attribute information is indeed a part of the authentication attribute certificate issued from the issuing server 420, and the user authentication information is successfully verified by the authentication public key.”).
Per claim 15: Takahashi disclosed the electronic authentication system according to claim 12. Takahashi further disclosed an arrangement wherein the first electronic certificate is an electronic certificate having a higher assurance level than the second electronic certificate (Takahashi para. [0126], “According to this configuration, highly secure authentication using biometric information can be implemented.”; Takahashi para. [0079], “it is difficult for a person other than the person to restore the registration feature data or the authentication secret key S from the protected template. Therefore, high safety is ensured, and it is guaranteed that a user who can generate a legitimate signature that is successfully verified with the authentication public key is the registrant who has biometric information sufficiently close to the registration feature data”).
Per claim 16: Takahashi disclosed the electronic authentication system according to claim 15. Takahashi further disclosed an arrangement wherein:
the first electronic certificate includes personal information of the user (Takahashi para. [0019], “wherein the electronic certificate is data in which an electronic signature generated by a signature key of the institution is applied to data including personal public key and basic attributes (name, date of birth, gender, address, and the like)”), and
the second electronic certificate does not include personal information of the
user (Takahashi para. [0090], “The issuing server 420 issues, as an authentication attribute certificate, data obtained by generating an electronic signature by the server signature key managed by the server signature key management unit 424 of the issuing server 420 and adding the electronic signature to a group of information including all or a part of the attributes described in the electronic certificate, the additional attribute information, the authentication public key, a validity period, information related to the issuing server, an attribute confirmation level, and a certificate ID, and transmits the authentication attribute certificate to the registration terminal 400 (S515).”).
Per claim 17: Takahashi disclosed the electronic authentication system according to claim 12. Takahashi further disclosed an arrangement wherein the ID provider is configured to perform identity proofing on the user by eKYC using an official identification document (Takahashi para. [0003], “when purchasing tickets to a conference at a student discount price, it is necessary to present a student ID”).
Per claim 18: Takahashi disclosed an electronic authentication method comprising the steps of:
performing identity proofing on a user by eKYC using an official identification document (Takahashi para. [0003], “when purchasing tickets to a conference at a student discount price, it is necessary to present a student ID”);
issuing a digital ID to the user after the identity proofing (Takahashi para. [0041], “The issuing server 420 issues, as an authentication attribute certificate, data obtained by generating an electronic signature by the server signature key managed by the server signature key management unit 424 of the issuing server 420”; [NOTE: The “electronic signature” is being interpreted as the claimed “digital ID”.]);
issuing, from a first certification authority to the user, a first electronic
certificate certified by government (Takahashi para. [0019], “it is assumed that a person is issued an electronic certificate in advance by an institution that can be trusted (such as a national or local government, a financial institution, or a private proof authority)”);
issuing, from a second certification authority to the user, a second electronic certificate certified by self or by a private third-party organization (Takahashi para. [0090], “The issuing server 420 issues, as an authentication attribute certificate …adding the electronic signature to a group of information including all or a part of the attributes described in the electronic certificate, the additional attribute information, the authentication public key, a validity period, information related to the issuing server, an attribute confirmation level, and a certificate ID, and transmits the authentication attribute certificate to the registration terminal 400 (S515).”); and
storing the digital ID, the first electronic certificate, and the second electronic certificate in a memory of a user terminal in possession of the user (Takahashi para. [0025], “The signature device 130 includes a personal confirmation function 131, a signature generation function 132, and a storage unit 133. The storage unit 133 stores information for personal confirmation, a personal signature key, and an electronic certificate. The signature device 130 may be a smart card such as the Individual Number Card that can be connected to the registration terminal 100 via a contact or contactless communication path, a mobile device such as a smartphone that can be connected to the registration terminal 100 via the same wireless communication path as that of the registration terminal 100 or a wireless communication path that is close to the registration terminal 100, or a server that can communicate with the registration terminal 100 via the network 150.”; Takahashi para. [0046], “requests an attribute certificate including the attribute information from the user terminal 110 (S301)”),
wherein the first certification authority describes the digital ID, issued to the user, in the first electronic certificate when issuing the first electronic certificate (Takahashi para. [0019], “wherein the electronic certificate is data in which an electronic signature generated by a signature key of the institution is applied to data including personal public key and basic attributes (name, date of birth, gender, address, and the like)”),
the second certification authority describes the same digital ID as that of the first electronic certificate in the second electronic certificate when issuing the second electronic certificate (Takahashi para. [0090], “adding the electronic signature to a group of information including all or a part of the attributes described in the electronic certificate, the additional attribute information, the authentication public key, a validity period, information related to the issuing server, an attribute confirmation level, and a certificate ID, and transmits the authentication attribute certificate to the registration terminal 400 (S515).”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (“Takahashi”; US20260046145A1) in view of Iida et al. (“Iida”; JP2004242195A).
Per claim 19: Takahashi disclosed the electronic authentication method according to claim 18. As set forth within the claim mapping of claim 18, Takahashi disclosed a plurality of electronic certificates including the first electronic certificate and the second electronic certificate. Takahashi further disclosed an arrangement electronically signing user data necessary for the user registration using a private key corresponding to the selected electronic certificate (Takahashi para. [0109], “The user terminal 410 converts the authentication attribute certificate, deletes or conceals attribute information other than the disclosure attribute, and applies user authentication information by the authentication secret key S′, thereby generating an authentication portion attribute proof and transmitting the authentication portion attribute proof to the service provision server 440”; Takahashi para. [0112], “the electronic certificate issued from an institution that can be trusted, the signature device that manages the personal signature key and has the personal confirmation function, the biometric authentication technique, and the template protection technique are utilized to create and store the protected template by associating the biometric information of the registrant with the authentication secret key at the time of registration”). Takahashi did not explicitly disclose an arrangement: allowing the user to select an electronic certificate to be used for user registration for a service provided by a service provision server, from among a plurality of electronic certificates including the first electronic certificate and the second electronic certificate; electronically signing user data necessary for the user registration using a private key corresponding to the selected electronic certificate; transmitting the selected electronic certificate and the electronically signed user data to the service provision server; and verifying the selected electronic certificate and the electronic signature in the service provision server, and, in a case where the verification is successful, registering the
user data and the digital ID, extracted from the selected electronic certificate, in a database in the service provision server.
However, in an analogous art, Iida discloses an arrangement:
allowing the user to select an electronic certificate to be used for user registration for a service provided by a service provision server, from among a plurality of electronic certificates (Iida para. [0070], “selects any one of the specified number of certificate Cert candidates from the storage device 214 from the certificate Cert candidates”);
transmitting the selected electronic certificate and the electronically signed user data to the service provision server (Iida para. [0070], “outputs the selected certificate Cert to the certificate transmitting unit 27 of the user device 2 (s75). The certificate transmitting unit 27 transmits one certificate Cert from the IC card 20 to the service providing server 3 (s76).”); and
verifying the selected electronic certificate and the electronic signature in the service provision server (Iida para. [0071], “The verifier 34 of the service providing server 3 verifies the received certificate”), and, in a case where the verification is successful, registering the user data and the digital ID, extracted from the selected electronic certificate, in a database in the service provision server (Iida para. [0032], “the service provider issues a certificate when registering the user as a member, and verifies the certificate presented by the user when providing a service according to the user's request.”; Iida para. [0074], “when it is determined that they match, it is proved that the user has issued the certificate from the service provider, and the service providing unit 35 is instructed to provide various services. In response to this command, the service providing unit 35 provides various services to the user device 2”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi to include, as taught by Iida, an arrangement: allowing the user to select an electronic certificate to be used for user registration for a service provided by a service provision server, from among a plurality of electronic certificates including the first electronic certificate and the second electronic certificate; electronically signing user data necessary for the user registration using a private key corresponding to the selected electronic certificate; transmitting the selected electronic certificate and the electronically signed user data to the service provision server; and verifying the selected electronic certificate and the electronic signature in the service provision server, and, in a case where the verification is successful, registering the user data and the digital ID, extracted from the selected electronic certificate, in a database in the service provision server. Motivation for modifying would have been to increase versatility, attractiveness and broadened adoption of the Takahashi/Iida combination within the security field.
Per claim 20: Takahashi disclosed the electronic authentication method according to claim 18. Takahashi disclosed an arrangement linking the digital ID, extracted from the selected electronic certificate, to the login ID in the second service provision server (Takahashi para. [0065], “The storage unit 433 stores information for personal confirmation, a personal signature key, and an electronic certificate.”). Takahashi did not disclose an arrangement: performing login to a second service, provided by a second service provision server, using user authentication performed with a login ID and a password; allowing the user to select an electronic certificate to be used in the second service, from among a plurality of electronic certificates including the first electronic certificate and the second electronic certificate; and transmitting the selected electronic certificate to the second service provision server.
However, in an analogous art, Iida disclosed an arrangement:
performing login to a second service, provided by a second service provision server, using user authentication performed with a login ID and a password (Iida para. [0054], “When the registration of the personal information is mailed in writing, the service provider is assumed to return the password to the registered user.”; Iida para. [0058], “When the password is transmitted, the user performs an input operation from an input device such as a keyboard of the user device 2. When the session identifier is transmitted, a WWW client such as a WEB browser provided in the user device 2 automatically transmits the session identifier to the service providing server 3.”);
allowing the user to select an electronic certificate to be used in the second service, from among a plurality of electronic certificates including the first electronic certificate and the second electronic certificate (Iida para. [0070], “selects any one of the specified number of certificate Cert candidates from the storage device 214 from the certificate Cert candidates”)”);
transmitting the selected electronic certificate to the second service provision
server (Iida para. [0070], “outputs the selected certificate Cert to the certificate transmitting unit 27 of the user device 2 (s75). The certificate transmitting unit 27 transmits one certificate Cert from the IC card 20 to the service providing server 3 (s76).”); and
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi to include, as taught by Iida, an arrangement: performing login to a second service, provided by a second service provision server, using user authentication performed with a login ID and a password; allowing the user to select an electronic certificate to be used in the second service, from among a plurality of electronic certificates including the first electronic certificate and the second electronic certificate; and transmitting the selected electronic certificate to the second service provision server. Motivation for modifying would have been to increase versatility, attractiveness and broadened adoption of the Takahashi/Iida combination within the security field.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (“Takahashi”; US20260046145A1) in view of Kon et al. (“Kon”; US7103778B2).
Per claim 21: Takahashi disclosed the electronic authentication method according to claim 18. Takahashi did not explicitly disclose an arrangement: performing login to a first service provided by a first service provision server, from the user terminal; requesting, while being logged in to the first service, the first service provision server to perform data linking with a second service provided by a second service provision server, from the user terminal; acquiring, with the first service provision server, an access token from a data linking server; presenting, with the first service provision server, the access token and requesting data from the second service provision server; inquiring, with the second service provision server, of the data linking server about validity of the access token; acquiring, with the second service provision server, the digital ID of the user, who has requested the data linking, from the data linking server; and specifying, with the second service provision server, a user of the second service on the basis of the digital ID and providing data regarding the user of the second service to the first service provision server.
However, in an analogous art, Kon discloses an arrangement:
performing login to a first service provided by a first service provision server, from the user terminal; requesting, while being logged in to the first service, the first service provision server to perform data linking with a second service provided by a second service provision server, from the user terminal; acquiring, with the first service provision server, an access token from a data linking server; presenting, with the first service provision server, the access token and requesting data from the second service provision server; inquiring, with the second service provision server, of the data linking server about validity of the access token; acquiring, with the second service provision server, the digital ID of the user, who has requested the data linking, from the data linking server; and specifying, with the second service provision server, a user of the second service on the basis of the digital ID and providing data regarding the user of the second service to the first service provision server (Kon para. [0262]-[0263], “When the person identification certificate authority (IDA) performs verification, sampling information of a person to be verified and a public key certificate (PKC) of that person or of a user device are transmitted to the person identification certificate authority (IDA) via a service provider (SP). In the case where the person identification certificate authority (IDA) already has the PKC, identification data identifying the PKC may be transmitted. It is desirable that the sampling data be transmitted to the person identification certificate authority (IDA) after being encrypted using a public key of the person identification certificate authority (IDA) so that the sampling data can be decrypted only by the person identification certificate authority (IDA). In this system, the entity which requests verification of a person is the user device or the service provider, and the entity which executes the verification of the person is the person identification certificate authority (IDA). (263) The person identification certificate authority (IDA) retrieves the IDC of the person of interest from the stored IDCs on the basis of the unique ID of the public key certificate (PKC) and acquires the template by decrypting the encrypted template included in the person identification certificate (IDC) using the private key of the person identification certificate authority (IDA), and furthermore, the person identification certificate authority (IDA) performs verification by comparing the template with data which is obtained by decrypting encrypted sampling data such as fingerprint data which is acquired via a sampling data extracting apparatus and transmitted from the user device via the service provider (SP). Depending upon whether they match with each other, verification is concluded as OK or NG. The verification result (OK or NG) is transmitted to the service provider (SP) and the user device, and, depending upon the verification result, it is determined whether or not the following process such as requesting by the user device the service provider (SP) to transmit a content or requesting for viewing of data should be allowed.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi to include, as taught by Kon, an arrangement: performing login to a first service provided by a first service provision server, from the user terminal; requesting, while being logged in to the first service, the first service provision server to perform data linking with a second service provided by a second service provision server, from the user terminal; acquiring, with the first service provision server, an access token from a data linking server; presenting, with the first service provision server, the access token and requesting data from the second service provision server; inquiring, with the second service provision server, of the data linking server about validity of the access token; acquiring, with the second service provision server, the digital ID of the user, who has requested the data linking, from the data linking server; and specifying, with the second service provision server, a user of the second service on the basis of the digital ID and providing data regarding the user of the second service to the first service provision server. Motivation for modifying would have been to increase versatility, attractiveness and broadened adoption of the Takahashi/Iida combination within the security field.
Per claim 22: Takahashi disclosed the electronic authentication method according to claim 18. Takahashi did not explicitly disclose an arrangement: performing login to a first service provided by a first service provision server, from the user terminal; transmitting, while being logged in to the first service, an electronic certificate and a data linking request for data linking with a second service provided by a second service provision server, from the user terminal to the first service provision server; transmitting, with the first service provision server, to the second service provision server the digital ID linked to the received electronic certificate, together with an inter-service cooperation request; and specifying, with the second service provision server, a user of the second service on the basis of the digital ID, and providing data regarding the user of the second service to the first service provision server.
However, in an analogous art, Kon discloses an arrangement:
performing login to a first service provided by a first service provision server, from the user terminal; transmitting, while being logged in to the first service, an electronic certificate and a data linking request for data linking with a second service provided by a second service provision server, from the user terminal to the first service provision server; transmitting, with the first service provision server, to the second service provision server the digital ID linked to the received electronic certificate, together with an inter-service cooperation request; and specifying, with the second service provision server, a user of the second service on the basis of the digital ID, and providing data regarding the user of the second service to the first service provision server (Kon para. [0262]-[0263], “When the person identification certificate authority (IDA) performs verification, sampling information of a person to be verified and a public key certificate (PKC) of that person or of a user device are transmitted to the person identification certificate authority (IDA) via a service provider (SP). In the case where the person identification certificate authority (IDA) already has the PKC, identification data identifying the PKC may be transmitted. It is desirable that the sampling data be transmitted to the person identification certificate authority (IDA) after being encrypted using a public key of the person identification certificate authority (IDA) so that the sampling data can be decrypted only by the person identification certificate authority (IDA). In this system, the entity which requests verification of a person is the user device or the service provider, and the entity which executes the verification of the person is the person identification certificate authority (IDA). (263) The person identification certificate authority (IDA) retrieves the IDC of the person of interest from the stored IDCs on the basis of the unique ID of the public key certificate (PKC) and acquires the template by decrypting the encrypted template included in the person identification certificate (IDC) using the private key of the person identification certificate authority (IDA), and furthermore, the person identification certificate authority (IDA) performs verification by comparing the template with data which is obtained by decrypting encrypted sampling data such as fingerprint data which is acquired via a sampling data extracting apparatus and transmitted from the user device via the service provider (SP). Depending upon whether they match with each other, verification is concluded as OK or NG. The verification result (OK or NG) is transmitted to the service provider (SP) and the user device, and, depending upon the verification result, it is determined whether or not the following process such as requesting by the user device the service provider (SP) to transmit a content or requesting for viewing of data should be allowed.”)..
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi to include, as taught by Kon, an arrangement: performing login to a first service provided by a first service provision server, from the user terminal; transmitting, while being logged in to the first service, an electronic certificate and a data linking request for data linking with a second service provided by a second service provision server, from the user terminal to the first service provision server; transmitting, with the first service provision server, to the second service provision server the digital ID linked to the received electronic certificate, together with an inter-service cooperation request; and specifying, with the second service provision server, a user of the second service on the basis of the digital ID, and providing data regarding the user of the second service to the first service provision server. Motivation for modifying would have been to increase versatility, attractiveness and broadened adoption of the Takahashi/Iida combination within the security field.
Conclusion
/Paul Skwierawski/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439