DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the term “substantially” that renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 5, 9, 10 recite “preferably …” It is unclear if the preferable language is limiting or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jensen (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2025/0059978).
As per claim 1, Jensen (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2025/0059978) discloses a liner arrangement or a centrifugal pump for processing slurries, the centrifugal pump comprising an impeller (5; figure 5) and a drive shaft (6) connected with a back portion (4) of the impeller, the liner arrangement comprising: a back liner (7) arrangeable around at least the back portion of the impeller (5) of the centrifugal pump and around a circumferential portion of the drive shaft (6), a complementary liner (rear conical portion of impeller 5 shown; see annotated figure 12 below) arrangeable at a circumferential end portion of the drive shaft (6) and at a central back portion of the impeller (5), wherein the back liner comprises an inclined back liner portion providing an inclined back liner surface and the complementary liner comprises an inclined complementary liner surface, wherein the inclined back liner surface is opposite the inclined complementary liner surface (see annotated figure 12 below), and wherein the liner arrangement is configured to provide a channel (39) between the inclined back liner surface and the inclined complementary liner surface (as shown; figure 12), and wherein the inclined back liner surface comprises one or more grooves (formed by ribs 29; figures 5E, 12).
As per claim 2, Jensen discloses the liner arrangement according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the back liner further comprises: a first back liner portion arrangeable around the circumferential portion of the drive shaft of the centrifugal pump, a second back liner portion arrangeable around at least the back portion of the impeller of the centrifugal pump, and the inclined back liner portion configured to connect the first back liner portion with the second back liner portion (see annotated figure 12 above).
As per claim 3, Jensen discloses the liner arrangement according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein the first back liner portion comprises a sealing configurable to extend from a surface portion of the first back liner portion to a circumferential surface portion of the drive shaft such to seal a space therebetween (sealing arrangement 17 having a annular seal 24 extending from a surface of the back liner portion to the sleeve portion for the shaft; figure 12).
As per claim 4, Jensen discloses the liner arrangement according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the one or more grooves extend helically along the inclined back liner surface (protrusions 29 are helical, i.e., forming helical grooves; paragraph [0104]-[106]).
As per claim 5, Jensen discloses the liner arrangement according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the one or more grooves have a groove depth of 1-13 mm (protrusions having a height of 0.5-5mm; paragraph [0098]).
As per claim 7, Jensen discloses the liner arrangement according to claim 1, and further disclose wherein the complementary liner is substantially conical (as shown; figure 12).
As per claim 9, Jensen discloses the liner arrangement according to claim 1, and further disclose wherein the inclined complementary liner surface and the inclined back liner portion each have an inclination angle (a) of between 10° and 85° (both inclinations shown to be in between 10° and 85°; figure 12), preferably between 20° and 70°, more preferably between 30° and 60°.
As per claim 11, Jensen discloses a centrifugal pump for processing slurries comprising a drive shaft (6), an impeller (5), and a liner arrangement according claim 1, wherein the back liner (7) of the liner arrangement is arranged around at least the back portion of the impeller of the centrifugal pump and around a circumferential portion of the drive shaft (as shown; figure 12), and wherein the complementary liner of the liner arrangement is arranged at a circumferential end portion of the drive shaft and at a central back portion of the impeller (see annotated figure 12 below).
As per claim 12, Jensen discloses the centrifugal pump according to claim 11, and further discloses wherein the complementary liner is releasably arranged at the circumferential end portion of the drive shaft and/or at the central back portion of the impeller (the rear portion of the impeller 50 forming the rear portion (complementary liner) can be detached from shaft 6; figure 5B).
As per claim 13, Jensen discloses the centrifugal pump according to claim 11, and further discloses wherein the complementary liner is integral with the circumferential end portion of the drive shaft or with the central back portion of the impeller (as shown; figure 12).
As per claim 14, Jensen discloses the centrifugal pump according to claim 11, and further discloses wherein the complementary liner is fixedly arranged at the circumferential end portion of the drive shaft or at the central back portion of the impeller (formed integrally as shown; figure 12).
As per claim 15, Jensen discloses the centrifugal pump according to claim 11, and further discloses wherein the centrifugal pump further comprises a sealing arranged around the drive shaft immediately adjacent the back liner (sealing arrangement 17 having a annular seal 24 extending from a surface of the back liner portion to the sleeve portion for the shaft; figure 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen.
As per claim 10, Jensen discloses the liner arrangement according to claim 1. Jensen does not explicitly teach wherein the channel (30) has a channel width (W) of up to 10 mm, preferably of up to 5 mm, more preferably of 0.1-3 mm. Jensen however teaches the annular recess 39 (channel) is intended for creating turbulence (paragraph [0087]). The person of ordinary skill is a person having a working knowledge in fluid mechanics and would recognize the fluid channel width to be a result effective variable for creating turbulence. Jensen also teaches the circulating fluid collides with the protrusion to create the turbulence (paragraph [0009]). The person of ordinary skill in the art would also recognize that in order for the circulating fluid to collide with the protrusion effectively, the distance between the rotating body and the protrusion must be sufficiently small. Therefore, in order to optimize the turbulence made from the channel, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Jensen’s channel to incorporate a width less than 10mm, in order to promote fluid colliding with the protrusion in the channel and where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen in view of Barrow (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0370561).
As per claims 8 and 16, Jensen discloses the liner arrangement according to claim 1 and the centrifugal pump according to claim 15. Jensen does not explicitly teach wherein the back liner comprises a through-hole arranged such to allow a flow therethrough and further through the channel (claim 8) and wherein a fluid inlet is arranged at a portion of the intersection between the back liner and the sealing such to allow a flow through the inlet and further through the channel (claim 16).
Barrow is related prior art in that it deals with centrifugal pump. Barrow teaches wherein the back liner (housing 12 forming a back liner; figure 1) comprises a through-hole (30) arranged such to allow a flow therethrough and further through the channel (through gallery space 42; figures 1, 3; paragraph [0071]) and wherein a fluid inlet (30) is arranged at a portion of the intersection between the back liner (12) and the sealing (36, 38) such to allow a flow through the inlet and further through the channel (through gallery space 42; figures 1, 3; paragraph [0071]). Barrow teaches this allows to exclude abrasives from the slurry from entering and consequently reduce wear on the impeller (paragraph [0071]). Therefore, in order to reduce the wear on the impeller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Barrow’s through-hole because as Barrow teaches, it prevents abrasive from entering and consequently reduce wear.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 contains allowable subject matter wherein the inclined complementary liner surface comprises a plurality of protrusions.
In the closest prior art, Loyd (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2005/0147491) teaches wherein the rear surface of the impeller comprises a plurality of protrusions (figure 3). However, Loyd’s protrusions are not on the inclined complementary liner surface.
No relevant prior art of record sufficiently teaches the allowable subject matter in such a way that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior arts to create the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pawlik (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0163741) teaches an impeller having vanes at the rear portion.
Burgess (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0341705) teaches a liner having a through-hole.
/SANG K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745