DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 2 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 09/16/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of White.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2 appears merely to restate that the locator is configured for playback of that same content by that same device. Claim 1 already requires use of the media resource locator to initiate streaming of the identified media content item through the native application on the network-enabled display device. Claim 2 merely restates the locator’s capability to enable playback of that content on that device, without specifying an additional limitation. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 14, 16-19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamberlin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0007080) in view of Champy (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0390580) and further in view of White et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0006474).
Regarding claim 1, Chamberlin et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that cause at least one processor to execute operations, the operations comprising (see paragraph 0027):
displaying, by a media aggregator application executable by a computing device, a user interface that identifies a plurality of media content items hosted by a plurality of streaming platforms (see paragraphs 0032, 0045-0050, 0067, fig. 3A; an executable client application displays aggregated content from multiple streaming services in a unified interface);
connecting the media aggregator application to a network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0029, 0033-0034, 0039, 0059, fig.. 2A (step 206), 3C (select a TV to Play On); the aggregation engine connects to broadcasting devices, including network-connected smart TVs; the disclosed WebSocket supports communication with the client device);
in response to selection of a media content item of the plurality of media content items, displaying a user interface (UI) control in the user interface for streaming the media content item on the network-enabled display device, the media content item hosted by a streaming platform of the plurality of streaming platforms (see paragraphs 0055-0056 and 0068-0069, figs. 3B-3C; selecting content produces a subscreen with playback controls, hosting-service information, and TV-selection options); and
in response to selection of the UI control, transmitting, over a network, a cast request to the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0056-0057, 0060; selecting a broadcasting device through the interface leads to a network request and initiation of playback).
Although Chamberlin discloses sending playback instructions, however, Chamberlin et al. does not explicitly call the a “cast request”.
Champy discloses the cast request including an application identifier of a native application and a media resource locator that references the media content item on the native application (see paragraphs 0167, 0178; launch instruction identify a preinstalled streaming application. The LOAD command identifies content through a URI, URL, or other locator) and
initiate streaming of the media content item to the network-enabled display device via the native application using the media resource locator (see paragraphs 0170, 0178, 0179; requesting content from a specified address after application launch, identifying content through a locator, and starting playback automatically).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chamberlin et al. with the teachings of Champy, the motivation being to ensure compatibility across devices and to use a standardized casting protocol.
However, Chamberlin et al. and Champy are silent as to the cast request, when executed by the network-enabled display device, configured to launch the native application on the network-enabled display device using the application identifier.
White discloses the cast request, when executed by the network-enabled display device, configured to launch the native application on the network-enabled display device using the application identifier (see paragraphs 0047-0051, 0089-0090 and Table 1; remotely launching an installed Netflix application on a networked television).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chamberlin et al. and Champy with the teachings of White et al., the motivation being to permit the receiver to direct the request to the appropriate application and provide the information needed for playback.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Chamberlin et al. discloses wherein the media resource locator configured to be used by the network-enabled display device to playback content of the media content item (see paragraphs 0049, 0060-0062).
Regarding claim 3, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Chamberlin et al. discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from a server system, information that identifies the plurality of media content items and a plurality of media reference locators associated with the plurality of media content items (see paragraphs 0047-0049, 0029-0035).
Regarding claim 5, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Chamberlin et al. discloses wherein the operations further comprise: displaying, by the media aggregator application (see paragraphs 0032, 0041, 0065), a virtual remote controller for controlling the network-enabled display (see paragraphs 0059, 0063, 0065), the virtual remote controller configured to control playback of the media content item that is streamed via the native application (see paragraphs 0060-0063).
Regarding claim 6, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Champy discloses receiving, over the network, a media status message from the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0171, 0189, 0215), the media status message including a playback status (see paragraphs 0190, 0192) and a time progress of the media content item (see paragraphs 0215-0216); and displaying the playback status (see paragraphs 0215-0216) and the time progress (see paragraph 0211). Chamberlin et al. discloses on the virtual remote controller provided by the media aggregator application (see paragraphs 0063, 0065, 0070).
Regarding claim 7, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Chamberlin et al. discloses in response to the media content item being streamed on the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0060, 0063), continuing to display the user interface of the media aggregator application on the computing device (see paragraphs 0031-0032, 0050, 0063-0065).
Regarding claim 8, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Chamberlin et al. discloses wherein the network-enabled display device is a first network-enabled display device, the operations further comprising (see paragraph 0033):
detecting that the first network-enabled display device and a second network-enabled display device are connected to a Wi-Fi network that is also connected to the computing device (see paragraphs 0052);
identifying the first network-enabled display device and the second network-enabled display device for selection on the user interface (see paragraph 0052);
in response to selection of the first network-enabled display device, connecting the first network-enabled display device to the media aggregator application (see paragraphs 0039, 0057, 0059).
Regarding claim 23, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Chamberlin et al. discloses in response to the cast request being transmitted (see paragraphs 0057, 0060), continuing to display the user interface of the media aggregator application (see paragraphs 0063-0065) in a foreground of the computing device (see paragraphs 0063-0065) for browsing other media content items of the plurality of media content items (see paragraphs 0064, 0067) while playback of the media content item is occurring on the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0063-0064).
Regarding claim 16, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14). Chamberlin et al. discloses display a virtual remote controller for controlling the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0063, 0065, 0070, fig. 3D), the virtual remote controller configured to control playback of the media content item that is streamed via the native application (see paragraphs 0060, 0062-0063, 0069).
Regarding claim 17, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). Champy discloses receive, over the network, a media status message from the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0165, 0171, 0189), the media status message including a playback status (see paragraph 0190, 0192) and a time progress of the media content item (see paragraphs 0190, 0197); and
display the playback status (see paragraph 0215) and the time progress on the virtual remote controller (see paragraph 0211).
Regarding claim 18, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14). Chamberlin et al. discloses wherein the media aggregator application is configured to (see paragraphs 0050, 0070):
in response to the cast request being transmitted (see paragraphs 0057, 0060), continue to display the user interface of the media aggregator application in a foreground of the computing device (see paragraphs 0063-0065, 0070, fig. 3D).
Regarding claim 19, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14). Chamberlin et al. discloses wherein the network- enabled display device is a first network-enabled display device, the media aggregator application is configured to (see paragraphs 0032-0033):
detect that the first network-enabled display device and a second network-enabled display device are connected to a Wi-Fi network that is also connected to the computing device (see paragraph 0052);
identify the first network-enabled display device and the second network-enabled display device for selection on the user interface (see paragraph 0056); and
in response to selection of the first network-enabled display device, connect the first network-enabled display device to the media aggregator application (see paragraph 0039, 0057, 0059).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pan (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0291015).
Regarding claim 21, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Chamberlin et al. discloses displaying a virtual remote controller on the user interface of the media aggregator application (see paragraph 0065, step 222, paragraph 0070, fig. 3D), the virtual remote controller configured to provide a plurality of controls for the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0070, 0033) and to control playback of the media content item by the native application (see paragraphs 0063, 0070), the plurality of controls including a navigation directional pad control (see paragraph 0070, fig. 3D, control 345), a back control (see paragraph 0070, fig. 3D, back button 343), a home control (see paragraph 0070, fig. 3D, home button 344).
However, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. are silent as to a keyboard interface configured to receive and transmit user-entered characters to the network-enabled display device.
Pan discloses a keyboard interface configured to receive and transmit user-entered characters to the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0029, 0032, 0034).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. with the teachings of Pan, the motivation being to allow the same client interface used to navigate and control the television to supply text when television applications require character input, while reducing repeated directional-pad selections.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Redmond (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0053415).
Regarding claim 22, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1).
However, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. are silent as to determining, by a server system, whether a user account associated with the media aggregator application has entitlement rights to stream media content from one or more of the plurality of streaming platforms; and filtering the plurality of media content items identified in the user interface of the media aggregator application based on the entitlement rights of the user account.
Redmond discloses determining, by a server system (see paragraphs 0067, 0080, 0106), whether a user account associated with the media aggregator application has entitlement rights to stream media content from one or more of the plurality of streaming platforms (see paragraphs 0080, 0096, 0060-0061); and
filtering the plurality of media content items identified in the user interface of the media aggregator application (see paragraphs 0106, 0092) based on the entitlement rights of the user account (see paragraphs 0106, 0080).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. with the teachings of Redmond, the motivation being to tailor the displayed selection to the streaming services accessible under the user’s account, reducing selections from inaccessible services.
Claims 9, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamberlin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0007080) in view of Champy (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0390580), further in view of White et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0006474), and further in view of Terho et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0081778).
Regarding claim 9, Chamberlin et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to execute operations, the operations comprising (see paragraph 0027):
receiving, at a network-enabled display device, a cast request, over a network, from a media aggregator application executable by a mobile computing device (see paragraphs 0029, 0032-0033, 0057 and 0062; an aggregation application executable on a client device, including a mobile phone or tablet. Network requests delivered to receive software on that device to initiate playback).
However, Chamberlin et al. is silent as to the cast request including an application identifier of a native application and a media resource locator that references a media content item on the native application.
Champy discloses the cast request including an application identifier of a native application and a media resource locator that references a media content item on the native application (see paragraph 0167; launch instructions identifying a preinstalled streaming application. Paragraph 0178 teaches a LOAD command containing a content identifier that can be a URI or URL);
the view request, when executed by the native application, configured to cause the native application to stream the media content item on a display of the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0170, 0178-0179; requesting content from the specified address and beginning playback automatically..
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chamberlin et al. with the teachings of Champy, the motivation being to ensure compatibility across devices and to use a standardized casting protocol.
However, Chamberlin et al. and Champy are silent as to transmitting, by an operating system of the network-enabled display device, a launch request to the native application, the launch request including the application identifier, the launch request configured to cause the network-enabled display device to launch the native application.
White et al. discloses transmitting, by an operating system of the network-enabled display device, a launch request to the native application, the launch request including the application identifier, the launch request configured to cause the network-enabled display device to launch the native application (see paragraphs 0047-0051; remote launch of an installed Netflix application on a networked TV; paragraph 0082, 0089-0092; an application manager may be an operating-system service; the application name is extracted and the application is started).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chamberlin et al. and Champy with the teachings of White et al., the motivation being to permit the receiver to direct the request to the appropriate application and provide the information needed for playback.
However, Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. are silent as to transmitting, by an operating system of the network-enabled display device, a view request to the native application, the view request including the media resource locator, the view request, when executed by the native application, configured to cause the native application to stream the media content item on a display of the network-enabled display device.
Terho et al. discloses transmitting, by an operating system of the network-enabled display device, a view request to the native application, the view request including the media resource locator (see paragraphs 0062-0063, 0083, 0085, Table 1; places message dispatch within the operating system).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chamberlin et al., Champy and White et al. with the teachings of Terho et al., the motivation being to provide controlled communication with separately executing applications using a common dispatch mechanism, preserving application isolation and interoperability.
Regarding claim 26, Chamberlin et al., Champy, White et al. and Terho et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). White et al. discloses transmitting a launch response to the media aggregator application (see paragraph 0090 and fig. 7), the launch response indicating that the native application has been launched on the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0090-0091). Chamberlin et al. discloses the launch response configured to cause the media aggregator application to render a virtual remote controller (see paragraphs 0063, 0070, 0065).
Regarding claim 27, Chamberlin et al., Champy, White et al. and Terho et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Champy discloses transmitting, over the network, a media status message to the media aggregator application (see paragraphs 0171 and 0189), the media status message including a playback status (see paragraphs 0190, 0192) and a time progress of the media content item streamed by the native application (see paragraph 0190, 0196-0197), wherein the media status message is configured to cause the media aggregator application to update a display aspect of a virtual remote controller rendered on the mobile computing device (see paragraphs 0215-0216).
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamberlin et al., Champy, White et al. and Terho et al. as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Molinet et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0142858).
Regarding claim 24, Chamberlin et al., Champy, White et al. and Terho et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). White et al. discloses determining whether the native application is installed on the operating system of the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0098-0101, 0082, Table 2);
in response to the native application being determined as installed on the operating system of the network-enabled display device, launching the native application on the network- enabled display device using the application identifier (see paragraphs 0086-0090, Table 1);
in response to the native application being determined as not installed on the operating system of the network-enabled display device, transmitting an installation request to an online store application installed on the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0103-0106).
However, Chamberlin et al., Champy, White et al. and Terho et al. are silent as to the installation request including the application identifier; and the installation request configured to cause the online store application to render an installation interface for installing the native application on the network-enabled display device.
Molinet et al. discloses the installation request including the application identifier (see paragraph 0083); and
the installation request configured to cause the online store application to render an installation interface for installing the native application on the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0083).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chamberlin et al., Champy, White et al. and Terho et al. with the teachings of Molinet et al., the motivation being to provide direct recovery path when the application needed for the requested playback is absent, allowing the user to reach the correct installation page without manually searching the store.
Regarding claim 25, Chamberlin et al., Champy, White et al., Terho et al. and Molinet et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 24). Molinet et al. discloses detecting completion of installation of the native application by the online store application (see paragraphs 0083 and 0109); and
in response to detecting completion of installation, programmatically launching the native application on the operating system of the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0109).
White et al. discloses transmitting a launch response over the network to the media aggregator application (see paragraphs 0090-0091, figs. 7-8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NNENNA EKPO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/NNENNA N EKPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 October 31, 2026.