DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on June 23, 2025 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamberlin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0007080) in view of Champy (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0390580).
Regarding claim 1, Chamberlin et al. discloses a method comprising:
rendering, by a media aggregator application executable by a user device, a user interface that identifies a plurality of media content items hosted by a plurality of streaming platforms (see paragraphs 0008, 0045-0048, fig. 3A, 3B, 3C; aggregate media content from multiple streaming services a user is subscribed to, allow the user to navigate through and select that media content within one user interface);
connecting the media aggregator application to a network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0033-0034, fig.. 2A (step 206), 3C (select a TV to Play On));
rendering a user interface (UI) control on the user interface for streaming a media content item of the plurality of media content items on the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0009, 0038, figs. 3A-3C (“Play On TV”, “Play On Disney+”, “Select a TV to Play On”; the user can launch the show or movie they wish to see from their mobile device, for playback on their own smart TV or TV connected to a smart TV box); and
in response to selection of the UI control, transmitting, over a network, a request to the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0034, fig. 2A (step 212), fig. 3C (“Play On TV”); the client device will send a signal back to the system servers, which subsequently forward the data to the broadcasting device).
Although Chamberlin discloses sending playback instructions, however, Chamberlin et al. does not explicitly call the a “cast request”.
Champy discloses transmitting a cast request from a computing device to a media receiving device (see paragraphs 0005-0007, fig. 8 (steps 808-818); browser executes instructions that cause the media presentation device to request media content),
the cast request, when executed by the network-enabled display device, configured to launch a native application on the network-enabled display device and cause the native application to stream the media content item on a display of the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0006, fig. 5 (steps 516-526), fig. 8 (step 818, remote source path)).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chamberlin et al. with the teachings of Champy, the motivation being to ensure compatibility across devices and to use a standardized casting protocol.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Chamberlin et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to execute operations, the operations comprising:
receiving, at a network-enabled display device, a request, over a network, from a media aggregator application executable by a user device (see paragraph 0034, fig. 2A (step 212), fig. 3C (“Play On TV”), device receives the request to play the selected content),
determining whether a native application associated with the media content item is installed on an operating system of the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0033, fig. 3C (“Not Available On This TV”);
in response to the native application associated with the media content item being determined as installed on the operating system of the network-enabled display device, launching the native application (see paragraph 0009, fig. 3C (“Play On Disney+”, “Play On TV”); the user can launch the show or movie they wish to see from their mobile device, for playback on their own smart TV or TV connected to a smart TV box (e.g., Roku, WebOS, FireTV, Android TV, or similar)) and
generating a view intent, the view intent including a content deep link that identifies the media content item within the native application (see paragraph 0049),
the view intent, when executed by the native application, configured to cause the native application to stream the media content item on a display of the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0009, fig. 2A (step 212)).
Although Chamberlin discloses sending playback instructions, however, Chamberlin et al. does not explicitly call the a “cast request”.
Champy discloses a cast, request, the cast request identifying a media content item to be streamed on the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0006, fig. 5 (steps 510-520), fig. 8 (steps 808-818));
determining whether a native application associated with the media content item is installed on an operating system of the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0006, fig. 5 (step 504 – determine whether media receiving device is available)); and
generating a view intent, the view intent including a content deep link that identifies the media content item within the native application (see paragraph 0006, Fig. 5 (steps 516-526), Fig. 8; the instructions cause the media presentation device to request the media content from an address associated with the media content. This “address associated with the content” is a deep link identifying the specific media item),
the view intent, when executed by the native application, configured to cause the native application to stream the media content item on a display of the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0006, fig. 5 (steps 520-526), fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chamberlin et al. with the teachings of Champy, the motivation being to ensure compatibility across devices and to use a standardized casting protocol.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 14). Champy discloses wherein the cast request includes a content deep link that identifies the media content item within the native application, the content deep link configured to be used by the network-enabled display device to playback content of the media content item (see paragraph 0116).
Regarding claim 3, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Champy discloses receiving, from a server computer, information that identifies the plurality of media content items and a plurality of content deep links associated with the plurality of media content items (see paragraphs 0106-0107, 0137).
Regarding claim 4, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Champy discloses wherein the cast request includes a launch request that includes an application identifier associated with the native application, the method further comprising:
in response to the native application being launched, receiving, over the network, a launch response from the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0154, 0167); and
in response to the launch response, transmitting, over the network, a media load request to the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0170),
the media load request including a content deep link that identifies the media content item within the native application (see paragraph 0170).
Regarding claim 5, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Champy discloses rendering a virtual device remote on the user interface of the media aggregator application, the virtual device remote configured to control at least one of playback of the media content item or a function of the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0133, 0218, fig.13A, 13C).
Regarding claim 6, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Champy discloses receiving, over the network, a media status message from the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0173, 0189-0191, 0215-0216); and
updating a display aspect of the virtual device remote based on the media status message (see paragraphs 0173, 0189-0191, 0215-0216).
Regarding claim 7, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Champy discloses wherein streaming of the media content item on the display of the network-enabled display device is initiated from the media aggregator application, the method further comprising:
in response to the media content item being streamed on the display of the display device, continue to display the user interface of the media aggregator application (see paragraph 0091, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Champy discloses wherein the network-enabled display device is a first display device, the method further comprising:
detecting that the first display device and a second display device is connected to a Wi-Fi network that is also connected to the user device (see paragraphs 0092, 0152, fig. 8 (step 812));
receiving, via the user interface of the media aggregator application, selection of the first display device (see paragraphs 0092, 0152, fig. 8 (step 812)); and
connecting the first display device to the media aggregator application (see paragraphs 0092, 0152, fig. 8 (step 812)).
Regarding claim 10, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Champy discloses wherein the cast request includes a launch request, the launch request including an application identifier associated with the native application, wherein the application identifier is used to determine whether the native application is installed on the operating system of the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0154, 0167-0168).
Regarding claim 11, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Champy discloses in response to the native application being launched, transmitting, over the network, a launch response to the media aggregator application; and
receiving, over the network, a media load request from the media aggregator application, the media load request including the content deep link (see paragraphs 0154, 0167, 0170).
Regarding claim 12, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Champy discloses receiving, at the network-enabled display device, the content deep link from a server computer (see paragraph 0006, fig. 5, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Chamberlin et al. discloses in response to the native application associated with the media content item being determined as not installed on the operating system of the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0033 and fig. 3C), the installation intent, when executed by an online store application on the network-enabled display device, configured to cause an installation interface to be rendered on the network-enabled display device to initiate installation of the native application (see paragraph 0033).
Champy discloses generating an installation intent with an application identifier of the native application (see paragraph 0006, fig. 5 (504, 510, 516-526)).
Regarding claim 16, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14). Champy discloses render a virtual device remote on the user interface of the media aggregator application, the virtual device remote configured to control at least one of playback of the media content item or a function of the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0133, 0218, fig.13A, 13C).
Regarding claim 17, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). Champy discloses the media aggregator application is configured to: receive, over the network, a media status message from the network-enabled display device (see paragraphs 0173, 0189-0191, 0215-0216); and
update a display aspect of the virtual device remote based on the media status message (see paragraphs 0173, 0189-0191, 0215-0216).
Regarding claim 18, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Champy discloses in response to the media content item being streamed on the display of the network- enabled display device, continue to display the user interface of the media aggregator application (see paragraphs 0091, 0154, 0167, 0170).
Regarding claim 19, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14). Champy discloses wherein the network-enabled display device is a first display device, the media aggregator application is configured to:
detect that the first display device and a second display device is connected to a Wi-Fi network that is also connected to the user device (see paragraphs 0092, 0152, fig. 8 (step 812));
receive, via the user interface of the media aggregator application, selection of the first display device (see paragraphs 0092, 0152, fig. 8 (step 812)); and
connect the first display device to the media aggregator application (see paragraphs 0092, 0152, fig. 8 (step 812)).
Regarding claim 20, Chamberlin et al. and Champy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14). Chamberlin et al. discloses determine whether the native application associated with the media content item is installed on an operating system of the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0033, fig. 3C (“Not Available On This TV”);
in response to the native application associated with the media content item being determined as installed on the operating system of the network-enabled display device, launch the native application (see paragraph 0009, fig. 3C (“Play On Disney+”, “Play On TV”); the user can launch the show or movie they wish to see from their mobile device, for playback on their own smart TV or TV connected to a smart TV box (e.g., Roku, WebOS, FireTV, Android TV, or similar)); and
generate a view intent, the view intent including a content deep link that identifies the media content item within the native application (see paragraph 0049),
the view intent, when executed by the native application, configured to cause the native application to stream the media content item on the display of the network-enabled display device (see paragraph 0009, fig. 2A (step 212)).
Conclusion
NNENNA EKPO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/NNENNA N EKPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 June 12, 2026