DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11, line 2 which recites “…the measurement tool…” should be corrected to “…the tool…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a reception module for receiving…a control unit configured to define at least…” in claim 1; “…the control module is configured to command the…” in claim 7; “A control unit configured to implement a method in a display device” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the control module…" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim limitation “a reception module for receiving…, a control unit configured to define at least…” in claim 1; “…the control module is configured to command the…” in claim 7; “means for arranging the display device on the head of the user.” in claim 10; “A control unit configured to implement a method in a display device…” in claim 12 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specification as originally filed fails to provide the corresponding structure for claimed reception module, control unit and control module. Specification also fails to provide means for arranging the display device on the head of the user; as claimed. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dias et al. (2019/0283778).
Regarding claim 1, Dias teaches a display device comprising: a display module (Fig 1; para [0081] a head-up display system (301, shown in FIG. 3) that displays a graphical element 106); a tool (para [0098] the imaging means 202 for capturing images of the head 311 and/or at least one eye 305 of the driver 306 of the vehicle 101.) for measuring a gaze direction of a user (para [0098] The head-up display system 301 also includes processing means for analysing the images captured by the imaging means 202 to determine a head orientation and/or an eye-gaze direction of a driver 306 of the vehicle 101.); a reception module for receiving movement information of a vehicle (para [0099] The control means 309 is configured to obtain first directional data indicative of the steering angle of the vehicle 101.); and a control unit (309; Fig 3) configured to define at least one feature of an indicator (106; Fig 1; Fig 2; Fig 4) according to the received movement information and to command the display module to display the indicator with said the feature at a position that is dependent on the measured gaze direction (para [0099] The control means 309 is configured to obtain first directional data indicative of the steering angle of the vehicle 101. The first directional data may be provided to the control means 309 by the sensing means 307 or the first direction data may be determined from signals received by the sensing means 307. The control means 309 is also configured to adjust a position of the graphical element 106 presented by the head-up display apparatus 302 in dependence on the first directional data. Thus, as illustrated by FIGS. 1 and 2, the position at which the graphical element 106 is displayed depends upon the angle through which the steering wheel 103 is turned.; para [0100] In the present embodiment, the control means 309 is also configured to obtain second directional data representative of an orientation of the head 311 of the user 306 and/or an eye-gaze direction of the user 306. As indicated above, this second directional data may be provided to the control means 309 by the one or more cameras 202 or may be determined by the control means 309 from signals received from the one or more cameras 202. The control means 309 is configured to adjust the position of the graphical element 106 in dependence on the second directional data, as well as the first directional data. For example, the control means 309 may be configured to determine a first displacement of the graphical element 106 in dependence on the first directional data and determine a second displacement of the graphical element in dependence on the second graphical data, and determine an average displacement of the graphical element 106 as a weighted mean of the first displacement and the second displacement. The control means 309 is then configured to adjust the position of the graphical element 106 in dependence on the determined average displacement.).
Regarding claim 2, Dias teaches the display device as claimed in claim 1, wherein said the position is located, relative to an eye of the user, in a direction forming, with the gaze direction, an angle ranging between 10° and 40° (para [0100] For example, the control means 309 may be configured to determine a first displacement of the graphical element 106 in dependence on the first directional data and determine a second displacement of the graphical element in dependence on the second graphical data, and determine an average displacement of the graphical element 106 as a weighted mean of the first displacement and the second displacement. The control means 309 is then configured to adjust the position of the graphical element 106 in dependence on the determined average displacement. Fig 4 shows regions 402A, 402B, 402C and 402D (considering element 106 in Fig 4 to be at Zero degrees and user being in behind 103, while regions 402B para [0134] At block 1302 it is determined whether second directional data indicative of eye-gaze direction is available and, if it is, then the method 1300 adjusts a position of a graphical element presented by a head-up display apparatus in dependence on the first directional data and the second directional data indicative of eye-gaze direction, at block 1303.).
Regarding claim 8, Dias teaches the display device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the reception module is designed to receive the movement information originating from a communication unit installed on the vehicle (para [0110] A picture generator 701 provides image data for display by the head up display apparatus 302. In the illustrated embodiment, the image data generated by the picture generator 701 is generated in dependence on a first signal indicative of the current road speed received from an antilock braking system (ABS) 704 (or alternatively a speedometer) (= claimed communication unit) and a second signal indicative of the currently selected gear received from a transmission control module (TCM) 703. The picture generator 701 generates graphical data comprising a graphical element (106 in FIG. 1) that illustrates the current road speed and the currently selected gear in a format determined by graphical data stored in a memory device 702.).
Regarding claim 9, Dias teaches the display device as claimed in claim 1,wherein the movement information is speed information of the vehicle (para [0110] A picture generator 701 provides image data for display by the head up display apparatus 302. In the illustrated embodiment, the image data generated by the picture generator 701 is generated in dependence on a first signal indicative of the current road speed), or acceleration information of the vehicle, or braking force information of the vehicle, or steering angle information of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 12, Dias teaches a control unit configured to implement a method in a display device comprising a display module (Fig 1; para [0081] a head-up display system (301, shown in FIG. 3) that displays a graphical element 106) and a tool (para [0098] the imaging means 202 for capturing images of the head 311 and/or at least one eye 305 of the driver 306 of the vehicle 101.) for measuring a gaze direction of a user (para [0098] The head-up display system 301 also includes processing means for analysing the images captured by the imaging means 202 to determine a head orientation and/or an eye-gaze direction of a driver 306 of the vehicle 101.), the method comprising: receiving movement information of a vehicle (para [0099] The control means 309 is configured to obtain first directional data indicative of the steering angle of the vehicle 101.); defining at least one feature of an indicator (106; Fig 1; Fig 2; Fig 4) according to the received movement information and controlling the display of the indicator with said the feature at a position depending on the measured gaze direction (para [0099] The control means 309 is configured to obtain first directional data indicative of the steering angle of the vehicle 101. The first directional data may be provided to the control means 309 by the sensing means 307 or the first direction data may be determined from signals received by the sensing means 307. The control means 309 is also configured to adjust a position of the graphical element 106 presented by the head-up display apparatus 302 in dependence on the first directional data. Thus, as illustrated by FIGS. 1 and 2, the position at which the graphical element 106 is displayed depends upon the angle through which the steering wheel 103 is turned.; para [0100] In the present embodiment, the control means 309 is also configured to obtain second directional data representative of an orientation of the head 311 of the user 306 and/or an eye-gaze direction of the user 306. As indicated above, this second directional data may be provided to the control means 309 by the one or more cameras 202 or may be determined by the control means 309 from signals received from the one or more cameras 202. The control means 309 is configured to adjust the position of the graphical element 106 in dependence on the second directional data, as well as the first directional data. For example, the control means 309 may be configured to determine a first displacement of the graphical element 106 in dependence on the first directional data and determine a second displacement of the graphical element in dependence on the second graphical data, and determine an average displacement of the graphical element 106 as a weighted mean of the first displacement and the second displacement. The control means 309 is then configured to adjust the position of the graphical element 106 in dependence on the determined average displacement.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dias et al. (2019/0283778) in view of Rao et al. (2021/0055548).
Regarding claim 3, Dias teaches the display device as explained for claim 1 above.
Dias fails to teach, wherein the display module is designed to display a three-dimensional scene and wherein the displayed indicator has an extension in each of the three dimensions of the three-dimensional scene; as claimed.
Rao teaches a multi-plane heads-up display comprising: a display module (202; Fig 2A); wherein the display module is designed to display a three-dimensional scene and wherein the displayed indicator has an extension in each of the three dimensions of the three-dimensional scene (para [0024] The display configuration 202 of 2A may be included inside a vehicle 204 and configured to project light onto and/or through a windshield 206. The display configuration may include a display 208, one or more micro lens arrays 210a and 210b, and a three-dimensional element 212 positioned between the display 208 and micro lens array 210a. The three-dimensional element 212 may include a parallaxial or lenticular element (e.g., film) that generates auto-stereoscopic images from the output of display 208. Para [0027] FIG. 2E shows an exemplary projection for overlaying a virtual image 232′ on the sign 234 using stereoscopic images 238a and 238b that are configured for presenting the virtual image 232′ at the user focal point 227 from the perspective of the second occupant 226. Para[0028] Due to the differences in position of the two occupants, the stereoscopic images 238a/b are positioned in a different location than the stereoscopic images 236a/b. In the illustrated example, different display units 207 (e.g., middle display units) are used to project the stereoscopic images 236a/b relative to the units used to project the stereoscopic images 238a/b. In other examples, the same display units may be used to project either set of stereoscopic images, and a directionality of output light and/or other parameter (e.g., selective dimming of backlights for selected display units) may be adjusted to display the stereoscopic images in the different positions. In each example of FIGS. 2D and 2E, the stereoscopic images for the respective occupant are positioned based on the eye position and eye gaze of that respective occupant in order to ensure alignment of the virtual image from the perspective of the respective occupant. By positioning the virtual image based on a location of the eyes and eye gaze of a selected occupant, the projected images may accommodate any occupant of the vehicle, which may be useful in scenarios such as driverless vehicle scenarios in which an occupant may be seated anywhere in the vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the display of Dias with the three-dimensional display as taught by Rao, because this will provide mechanisms for providing display systems that are reconfigurable to dynamically change the feature set of the displays (e.g., based on an environment in which the display system is used and/or a user context for the display system). Such a reconfigurable display system may also decrease manufacturing complexities for deploying in multiple types of vehicles, as the same display system may be provided for each vehicle type and then adjusted on the fly to operate for a given vehicle configuration or type (Rao: para [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Dias teaches the display device as explained for claim 3 above.
Dias fails to teach, wherein an extension of the indicator displayed in an observation direction of the three-dimensional scene is greater than an extension of the indicator displayed in a plane perpendicular to said the observation direction; as claimed.
Rao teaches the display, wherein an extension of the indicator displayed in an observation direction of the three-dimensional scene is greater than an extension of the indicator displayed in a plane perpendicular to said the observation direction (Fig 2E; para [0028] Due to the differences in position of the two occupants, the stereoscopic images 238a/b are positioned in a different location than the stereoscopic images 236a/b. In the illustrated example, different display units 207 (e.g., middle display units) are used to project the stereoscopic images 236a/b relative to the units used to project the stereoscopic images 238a/b. In other examples, the same display units may be used to project either set of stereoscopic images, and a directionality of output light and/or other parameter (e.g., selective dimming of backlights for selected display units) may be adjusted to display the stereoscopic images in the different positions. In each example of FIGS. 2D and 2E, the stereoscopic images for the respective occupant are positioned based on the eye position and eye gaze of that respective occupant in order to ensure alignment of the virtual image from the perspective of the respective occupant. By positioning the virtual image based on a location of the eyes and eye gaze of a selected occupant, the projected images may accommodate any occupant of the vehicle, which may be useful in scenarios such as driverless vehicle scenarios in which an occupant may be seated anywhere in the vehicle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the display of Dias with the three-dimensional display as taught by Rao, because this will provide mechanisms for providing display systems that are reconfigurable to dynamically change the feature set of the displays (e.g., based on an environment in which the display system is used and/or a user context for the display system). Such a reconfigurable display system may also decrease manufacturing complexities for deploying in multiple types of vehicles, as the same display system may be provided for each vehicle type and then adjusted on the fly to operate for a given vehicle configuration or type (Rao: para [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, Dias teaches the display device as explained for claim 3 above.
Dias fails to teach, wherein the control unit is configured to command the display module to display an object or information at a distance that differs from a display distance of the indicator in the three- dimensional scene; as claimed.
Rao teaches the display, wherein a control unit is configured to command the display module to display an object or information at a distance that differs from a display distance of the indicator in the three- dimensional scene (Fig 2E and Fig 2F; para [0029] Accordingly, the relative positioning of the stereoscopic images 238a/b and the sign 234 in FIGS. 2E and 2F may be substantially to scale to show the movement of the sign 234 in the real world and the resulting movement of the stereoscopic images (and resulting virtual image) to maintain alignment with the sign 234 as viewed from the perspective of the second occupant.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the display of Dias with the three-dimensional display as taught by Rao, because this will provide mechanisms for providing display systems that are reconfigurable to dynamically change the feature set of the displays (e.g., based on an environment in which the display system is used and/or a user context for the display system). Such a reconfigurable display system may also decrease manufacturing complexities for deploying in multiple types of vehicles, as the same display system may be provided for each vehicle type and then adjusted on the fly to operate for a given vehicle configuration or type (Rao: para [0005]).
Regarding claim 6, Dias teaches the display device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the control unit is configured to command the display module to display the indicator at a variable distance according to the movement information or other movement information received by the reception module (Fig 5; Fig 6; para [0108]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dias et al. (2019/0283778) in view of Krueger (2015/0273179).
Regarding claim 10, Dias teaches the display device as explained for claim 3 above.
Dias fails to teach, comprising means for arranging the display device on the head of a user; as claimed.
Krueger teaches a display device comprising: means for arranging the display device on the head of a user (Fig 1B; para [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the display of Dias with the teachings of Krueger, because it is well known in the art to provide different configuration in which the display device can be mounted on the user in order to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dias et al. (2019/0283778) in view of Ishikawa et al. (2018/0239136).
Regarding claim 11, Dias teaches the display device as explained for claim 1 above.
Dias fails to teach, wherein at least the display module and the measurement tool form part of a virtual reality headset; as claimed.
Ishikawa teaches a head mounted display device comprising a display module (70; Fig 2) and a tool for measuring gaze direction (20; Fig 2); wherein at least the display module and the measurement tool form part of a virtual reality headset (para [0033] The HMD device 100 comprises a control unit 10, a gaze position detection unit 20, an imaging unit 30, a position information acquisition unit 40, a state information acquisition unit 50, a communication unit 60, a display 70, and an imaging position adjustment unit 80. Fig 4; Fig 5; Fig 6; para [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the system of Dias with the teachings of Ishikawa, because this will allow user to visually recognize a virtual image while viewing a scene, thus allow a user to organize information to be added and improve the recognition of information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 7, prior art of record fails to teach the following claim limitations of “wherein the control module is configured to command the display module to display, in an overlapping zone of the indicator and of a displayed element, at least one pixel mixing a pixel of the indicator and a corresponding pixel of the displayed element with a variable coefficient according to the movement information or other movement information received by the reception module.”; in combination with all other claim limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Alcaidinho et al. (2019/0047498) teaches Systems and techniques for an adaptive display for preventing motion sickness are described herein. In an example, an adaptive display system is adapted to determine, such as from sensor information, movement of a vehicle. The sensor information may be obtained from sensors installed in the vehicle. The adaptive display system may display, to a passenger of the vehicle, visual content that changes orientation in correspondence to the movement of the vehicle. The adaptive display system may be further adapted to determine a gaze direction of the passenger and display the visual content in the gaze direction of the passenger. The adaptive display system may be further adapted to obtain physiological data about the passenger and determine the passenger is experiencing motion sickness.
/PREMAL R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624