DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because “a high-temperature melt” in line 4 should be --the high-temperature melt--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“drive control device” in claim 2 -- see Para 34 of instant disclosure (“…drive control device 8 is configured to include a central processing unit (CPU), a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), an input/output unit, a storage unit, a communication unit, and an inverter…”);
“a pulsation adjusting device” in claim 3 -- see Para 33 of the instant disclosure (“…pulsation adjusting device 9 is a tank…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tornberg (U.S. 1,843,491).
Re claim 1:
Tornberg discloses a high-temperature melt pump (Figs. 4-5 (see Page 1, Lines 1-19)) that transports a high-temperature melt (Page 2, Lines 63-64) within a pipe (Modified Fig. 4 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of pipe (see Page 2, Line 47 - “…discharge tube 14…”))) in a predetermined direction (see Figs. 4-5 and Page 2, Lines 29-72), the pump comprising:
the pipe (Modified Fig. 4 above - A);
a plurality of fluid diodes (16, valve - Page 2, Line 53; 38, check valve - Page 2, Lines 68-69 (see Figs. 4-5 and Page 2, Lines 29-72)) provided midway along the pipe (Modified Fig. 4 above - A)(see Modified Figs. 4-5);
a pump main body container (41, tube - Page 2, Line 67) configured to be connected to the pipe (Modified Fig. 4 above - A) and filled with a cover gas (Page 2, Line 66 - “…air…”) that comes into contact with the high-temperature melt (see Figs. 4-5 and Page 2, Lines 29-72 - “…When the air pump descends on its downward stroke, as shown in Fig. 5, the pressure of air created thereby enters through a tube 41 into the chamber 40. This closes the inlet valve 16 and opens the check valve 38, forcing metal within the chamber 40, past the check valve 38 and into the discharge tube 14…”); and
a gas vibration generating device (31, crank - Page 1, Line 78; 32, piston rod - Page 1, Line 79; 33, piston - Page 1, Line 79; 34, cylinder - Page 1, Line 80; 35, pin - Page 1, Line 81; 36, hose - Page 1, Line 36; 37, piping - Page 1, Line 86 (elements 31-37 are collectively a type of gas vibration generating device as shown in Figs. 4-5 and per description at Page 1, Line 78 - Page 2, Line 9 and Page 2, Lines 29-72 (“…Thus a pulsating pressure is exerted on the metal…”))) configured to transmit vibrations to the high-temperature melt in the pump main body container by way of reciprocating motion of the cover gas generated by reciprocating motion of a piston (33)(see Figs. 4-5, Page 1, Line 78-Page 2, Line 9, and Page 2, Lines 29-72),
wherein the gas vibration generating device (31-37) is disposed in external environment (Modified Fig. 4 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of environment outside of element 11)) which is outside of a storage container (11, melting pot - Page 1, Line 49) in which the plurality of fluid diodes (16, 38) and the pump main body container (41) are housed together with the pipe (Modified Fig. 4 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 4 above), the external environment (Modified Fig. 4 above - B) being at a temperature lower than a temperature inside the storage container (11)(see Modified Fig. 4 above (element 11 is a melting pot containing molten metal per Page 1, Lines 48-51 and a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element would recognize element B being a temperature below the temperature of the molten metal within element 11)).
Re claim 4:
Tornberg discloses the high-temperature melt pump (Figs. 4-5) according to Claim 1 (as described above), wherein at least one of the fluid diodes (16, 38) is provided outside of the pump main body container (41)(see Modified Fig. 4 above).
Re claim 5:
Tornberg discloses the high-temperature melt pump (Figs. 4-5) according to Claim 4 (as described above), wherein the piston (33) of the gas vibration generating device (31-37) moves linearly up and down (see Figs. 4-5).
Re claim 6:
Tornberg discloses the high-temperature melt pump (Figs. 4-5) according to Claim 1 (as described above), wherein the piston (33) of the gas vibration generating device (31-37) moves linearly up and down (see Figs. 4-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2-3 would be allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Additionally, the prior art of record does not teach “a plurality of the high-temperature melt pumps according to Claim 1; and a drive control device configured to adjust a phase of vibrations generated by each gas vibration generating device of the plurality of high-temperature melt pumps” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claims 2-3.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by one or more references.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Schwenk (U.S. 2,445,127).
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 9/11/26