DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, it is not clear what is exactly required here in order to perform “a cooling gel method” since the only recited step is “using the hard capsule preparation solution according to claim 4.”
Furthermore, the preparation solution according to claim 4 does not include any ingredients that would “gel” as to perform “a cooling gel method.” Limitations from the specification are not read into the claims and so this limitation is not clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palangetic et al. (US 2021/0052505), hereinafter Palangetic.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Palangetic discloses a capsule comprising a shell containing a cellulose compound, a light-shielding agent, and an aqueous solvent (par. 0073; 0124 – “water”),
wherein the light-shielding agent contains calcium carbonate (par. 0089) having a median diameter of 0.7 microns (Table 1 shows both values of 0.7 microns for precipitated calcium carbonate and 3.8 microns for ground calcium carbonate – either of which would be an example falling within the claimed range), and
the content of the light-shielding agent (calcium carbonate) is 3-10%, 4-8%, 5-7% (par. 0089) based on the dry-weight of the composition (where “dry-weight” is considered as excluding the water/aqueous solvent). All of these ranges include examples falling within the claimed range.
It is noted that the term “hard” in the preamble of the claim is not limiting, as the body of the claim recites a structurally complete invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Palangetic discloses the subject matter of claims 1/4 as described above, and further discloses that the cellulose compound is hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC) (par. 0022).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Palangetic discloses the subject matter of claims 1/4 as described above, and further discloses that the shell includes a gelling agent and/or a gelling aid (par. 0074).
Regarding claim 7, Palangetic discloses the subject matter of claim 4, and further discloses “using” said solution as it is used to form capsules in accordance with the disclosure (see par. 0073).
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742