DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 5, the phrase “made thin so as to follow shapes” in claims 3 and 5 is a relative phrase which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “made thin so as to follow shapes” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It’s unclear how to interpret “made thin so as to follow shapes”. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. JP 2017-084784 A (hereinafter “Saito”, previously cited as JP 6829577 B2 in an IDS) in view of Wada et al. US 2017/0036688 A1 (hereinafter “Wada”, previously cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Saito, with reference to FIG. 16-20, teaches a planar unit comprising a base material (11), a first linear body (1) to be arranged on one surface of the base material, and a second linear body (2) to be arranged on another surface of the base material, the first linear body being one of a heater wire, a sensor wire, or a shield wire, and the second linear body being one of a heater wire, a sensor wire, or a shield wire, wherein
a thermal fusion bonding part is formed on an outermost layer of the second linear body and the base material and the second linear body are thermally fused together.
Saito teaches the claimed invention except the base material and the first linear body are coupled to each other by a sewing thread.
Wada teaches that it’s conventionally known that fixing a linear heater (1) to a base material can be done by various methods including sewing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace Saito’s thermally fused together first linear body to the base material the sewing the first linear body to the base material of Wada in order to provide a well-known alternative means of fixing the first linear body to the base material.
Regarding claim 6, Saito teaches a steering wheel (refer to Background-Art), a wheel core material, and a covering material, wherein the planar unit is installed between the wheel core material and the covering material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 7-9 are allowable because no prior art was found to teach or suggest the method as claimed.
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3 and 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LUIS A GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653