DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Preliminary Amendment filed 6/30/2025. Amendments to the Specification have been reviewed and entered. Claims 1, 18 and 25 have been amended. Claims 9, 19-21, 23-24, 26-28 and 30-43 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-8, 10-18, 22, 25 and 29 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
A certified copy of foreign priority application has been received on 6/24/2025.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 10-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 10-11 depend from the canceled claim 9. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 22 (recited the same claim scope as dependent claim 5) and claim 29 (recited the same claim scope as dependent claims 3, 12-13 and 16) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-8, 10-18, 22, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MANJUNATH et al. (US 2021/0249009) hereinafter MANJUNATH.
In claim 1, MANJUNATH teaches
A method for information processing, comprising:
obtaining first information input by a target object for a first processing entity ([0046] a digital assistant is capable of accepting a user request at least partially in the form of a natural language command, request, statement, narrative, and/or inquiry. Typically, the user request seeks either an informational answer or performance of a task by the digital assistant. For example, a user asks the digital assistant a question, such as “Where am I right now?” Based on the user's current location, the digital assistant answers, “You are in Central Park near the west gate.”); and
generating second information based on the first information and historical interaction information between the target object and the first processing entity, as a reply of the first processing entity to the first information ([0046] A satisfactory response to the user request includes a provision of the requested informational answer, a performance of the requested task, or a combination of the two. The user also requests the performance of a task, for example, “Please invite my friends to my girlfriend's birthday party next week.” In response, the digital assistant can acknowledge the request by saying “Yes, right away,” and then send a suitable calendar invite on behalf of the user to each of the user's friends listed in the user's electronic address book. During performance of a requested task, the digital assistant sometimes interacts with the user in a continuous dialogue involving multiple exchanges of information over an extended period of time [0278] the context information associated with the first user input includes a dialog history between a digital assistant of user device 802 and a user of user device 802 during the video communication session (e.g., data representing the dialog history). In some examples, the dialog history includes previous user inputs received by user device 802 during the video communication session (e.g., prior to receiving the first user input) and/or previous digital assistant responses determined and/or provided by user device 802 during the video communication session (e.g., determined and/or provided prior to determining and/or providing the first digital assistant response)), wherein generating the second information comprises:
determining a target data range corresponding to the target object ([0304] in response to receiving a user input from a user and prior to obtaining a digital assistant response based on the user input, user device 802 or user device 804 determines whether the user input includes a digital assistant trigger (e.g., “Hey Siri,” “Siri,” or the like). In response to determining that the user input includes a digital assistant trigger, user device 802 or user device 804 performs the invocation indication process or the invocation permission process (also called the “baton” sharing process) to determine whether to proceed with obtaining a digital assistant response based on the user input); and
generating the second information based on the historical interaction information, the first information, and the target data range ([0352] in response to receiving the user voice input and prior to determining whether the user voice input represents a communal digital assistant request, user device 1202 determines whether the user voice input (e.g., audio data corresponding to the user voice input or a text representation of the user voice input) includes a digital assistant trigger (e.g., “Hey Siri,” “Siri,” or the like). In response to determining that the user voice input includes a digital assistant trigger, user device 1202 performs the invocation indication process or the invocation permission process to determine whether it should (1) proceed with determining whether the user voice input represents a communal digital assistant request or (2) forgo determining whether the user voice input represents a communal digital assistant request (and thus forgo obtaining and/or providing a digital assistant response based on the user voice input) [0362] context information associated with a user voice input includes, for example, the contextual state of a user device (e.g., a current location of the user device at the time the user voice input is received), contact information associated with the user voice input, user-specific information and/or data associated with the user voice input, dialog history information associated with the user voice input (and. corresponding to digital assistant dialog sessions during the video communication session), or the like. Thus, a general request for context information associated with the user voice input is a request for user-specific information associated with the user voice input as well as for other types of context information associated with the user voice input (e.g., contextual state of a user device, stored contact information, dialog history information, etc.). For example, if the user voice input is “Hey Siri, how long will it take John and I to get to Palo Alto”, user device 1202 may transmit a general request for context information such as user-specific navigational preferences and a current location of user device 1204).
In claim 2, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining first interaction information between the target object and the first processing entity in a first tool of a plurality of tools;
obtaining second interaction information between the target object and the first processing entity in a second tool of the plurality of tools; and
determining the historical interaction information based at least on the first interaction information and the second interaction information ([0092] Digital assistant client module 229 includes various client-side digital assistant instructions to provide the client-side functionalities of the digital assistant. For example, digital assistant client module 229 is capable of accepting voice input (e.g., speech input), text input, touch input, and/or gestural input through various user interfaces (e.g., microphone 213, accelerometer(s) 268, touch-sensitive display system 212, optical sensor(s) 264, other input control devices 216, etc.) of portable multifunction device 200. Digital assistant client module 229 is also capable of providing output in audio (e.g., speech output), visual, and/or tactile forms through various output interfaces (e.g., speaker 211, touch-sensitive display system 212, tactile output generator(s) 267, etc.) of portable multifunction device 200. For example, output is provided as voice, sound, alerts, text messages, menus, graphics, videos, animations, vibrations, and/or combinations of two or more of the above [0278] the context information associated with the first user input includes a dialog history between a digital assistant of user device 802 and a user of user device 802 during the video communication session (e.g., data representing the dialog history). In some examples, the dialog history includes previous user inputs received by user device 802 during the video communication session (e.g., prior to receiving the first user input) and/or previous digital assistant responses determined and/or provided by user device 802 during the video communication session (e.g., determined and/or provided prior to determining and/or providing the first digital assistant response)).
In claim 3, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of tools comprises a plurality of components in an office suite (FIG. 1, [0045] The terms “digital assistant,” “virtual assistant,” “intelligent automated assistant,” or “automatic digital assistant” refer to any information processing system that interprets natural language input in spoken and/or textual form to infer user intent, and performs actions based on the inferred user intent. For example, to act on an inferred user intent, the system performs one or more of the following: identifying a task flow with steps and parameters designed to accomplish the inferred user intent, inputting specific requirements from the inferred user intent into the task flow; executing the task flow by invoking programs, methods, services, APIs, or the like; and generating output responses to the user in an audible (e.g., speech) and/or visual form).
In claim 4, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 2, wherein interaction information between the target object and the first processing entity in the plurality of tools is stored in association with the target object ([0278] the context information associated with the first user input includes a dialog history between a digital assistant of user device 802 and a user of user device 802 during the video communication session (e.g., data representing the dialog history). In some examples, the dialog history includes previous user inputs received by user device 802 during the video communication session (e.g., prior to receiving the first user input) and/or previous digital assistant responses determined and/or provided by user device 802 during the video communication session (e.g., determined and/or provided prior to determining and/or providing the first digital assistant response) [0362] context information associated with a user voice input includes, for example, the contextual state of a user device (e.g., a current location of the user device at the time the user voice input is received), contact information associated with the user voice input, user-specific information and/or data associated with the user voice input, dialog history information associated with the user voice input (and. corresponding to digital assistant dialog sessions during the video communication session), or the like. Thus, a general request for context information associated with the user voice input is a request for user-specific information associated with the user voice input as well as for other types of context information associated with the user voice input (e.g., contextual state of a user device, stored contact information, dialog history information, etc.)).
In claim 5, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 1, wherein generating the second information based on the first information and the historical interaction information comprises: processing the first information based on the historical interaction information, to generate third information; providing the third information for a second processing entity, the second processing entity being different from the first processing entity; and generating the second information based on a processing result of the second processing entity for the third information ([0318] Private digital assistant conversations such as this (e.g., a user voice input representing a digital assistant request and a subsequent digital assistant response) allow a user of user device 802 or user device 804 to make private digital assistant requests during a video communication session, and receive subsequent digital assistant responses, that the user may not want users of other user devices participating in the video communication session to hear. This in turn prevents the user of user device 802 or user device 804 from having to wait until after the video communication session to, for example, make a digital assistant request for information that the user may want or need during the video communication session. For example, if the user of user device 802 is participating in a video communication session with the user's mother (who is using user device 804), the user may want to find out the birthday of the user's mother without the user's mother knowing. In this situation, the user may, for example, initiate a private digital assistant conversation after user device 802 outputs the second digital assistant response (e.g., by selecting a mute affordance or pushing/pressing a button) and provide the third user input “Hey Siri, when's my mother's birthday?” User device 802 would then forgo providing the third user input and corresponding third digital assistant response (e.g., audio data representing the third user voice input and third digital assistant response) to user device 804. Thus, the user's mother would not hear the third user input or the third digital assistant response).
In claim 6, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 5, wherein the third information comprises guidance information, and the second processing entity comprises a target model ([0128] In conjunction with RF circuitry 208, touch screen 212, display controller 256, contact/motion module 230, graphics module 232, text input module 234, e-mail client module 240, and browser module 247, calendar module 248 includes executable instructions to create, display, modify, and store calendars and data associated with calendars (e.g., calendar entries, to-do lists, etc.) in accordance with user instructions).
In claim 7, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 5, wherein processing the first information to generate the third information comprises: determining, from the historical interaction information, a group of associated historical interaction information associated with the first information; and generating the third information based on the first information and the group of associated historical interaction information ([0279] user device 802 can receive the third user device's dialog history during the video communication session, which can include user inputs received by the third user device during the video communication session (e.g., prior to user device 802 receiving the first user input) and/or previous digital assistant responses determined and/or provided by the third user device during the video communication session (e.g., determined and/or provided prior to user device 802 determining and/or providing the first digital assistant response). Then, user device 802 can transmit data from the third user device's received dialog history that is associated with the first user input (e.g., data representing a user input received at the third user device that is associated with the first user input)).
In claim 8, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 7, wherein the third information is generated further based on policy information corresponding to the first information, the policy information at least indicating a policy for instructing the second processing entity to process the first information ([0280] a device that joins a video communication session late (e.g., after conversation between two or more devices participating in the video communication session has occurred) can still be aware of user inputs and/or digital assistant responses received and/or provided by other user devices participating in the video communication session before the late user device joined the video communication session. This in turn allows a digital assistant of the late device to determine and/or provide digital assistant responses based on the previous user inputs and/or digital assistant responses and thus seamlessly/naturally integrate into the existing conversation).
Claim 9 (Cancelled)
In claim 10, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 9, wherein the target data range is determined based at least on a first data range corresponding to a permission of the target object ([0304] in response to receiving a user input from a user and prior to obtaining a digital assistant response based on the user input, user device 802 or user device 804 determines whether the user input includes a digital assistant trigger (e.g., “Hey Siri,” “Siri,” or the like). In response to determining that the user input includes a digital assistant trigger, user device 802 or user device 804 performs the invocation indication process or the invocation permission process (also called the “baton” sharing process) to determine whether to proceed with obtaining a digital assistant response based on the user input).
In claim 11, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 9, wherein the target data range is determined based at least on a second data range corresponding to configuration information of the target object, the configuration information at least indicating a data range that the target object permits the first processing entity to access ([0304] in response to receiving a user input from a user and prior to obtaining a digital assistant response based on the user input, user device 802 or user device 804 determines whether the user input includes a digital assistant trigger (e.g., “Hey Siri,” “Siri,” or the like). In response to determining that the user input includes a digital assistant trigger, user device 802 or user device 804 performs the invocation indication process or the invocation permission process (also called the “baton” sharing process) to determine whether to proceed with obtaining a digital assistant response based on the user input).
In claim 12, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 1, wherein the target object comprises a user or an organization, and the first processing entity is provided as a digital assistant corresponding to the user or the organization ([0215] user interface module 722, receives user inputs (e.g., voice input, keyboard inputs, touch inputs, etc.) and processes them accordingly. In some examples, e.g., when the digital assistant is implemented on a standalone user device, digital assistant system 700 includes any of the components and I/O communication interfaces described with respect to devices 200, 400, or 600 in FIGS. 2A, 4, 6A-B, respectively. In some examples, digital assistant system 700 represents the server portion of a digital assistant implementation, and can interact with the user through a client-side portion residing on a user device (e.g., devices 104, 200, 400, or 600)).
In claim 13, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 12, wherein the digital assistant is provided as a target contact of the user or the organization in a chat tool ([0119] contacts module 237 are used to manage an address book or contact list (e.g., stored in application internal state 292 of contacts module 237 in memory 202 or memory 470), including: adding name(s) to the address book; deleting name(s) from the address book; associating telephone number(s), e-mail address(es), physical address(es) or other information with a name; associating an image with a name; categorizing and sorting names; providing telephone numbers or e-mail addresses to initiate and/or facilitate communications by telephone 238, video conference module 239, e-mail 240, or IM 241; and so forth).
In claim 14, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 13, wherein the target contact is presented in a contact list corresponding to the user or the organization ([0119] contacts module 237 are used to manage an address book or contact list (e.g., stored in application internal state 292 of contacts module 237 in memory 202 or memory 470), including: adding name(s) to the address book; deleting name(s) from the address book; associating telephone number(s), e-mail address(es), physical address(es) or other information with a name; associating an image with a name; categorizing and sorting names; providing telephone numbers or e-mail addresses to initiate and/or facilitate communications by telephone 238, video conference module 239, e-mail 240, or IM 241; and so forth).
In claim 15, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 14, wherein the target contact is presented at a predetermined position in the contact list ([0119] contacts module 237 are used to manage an address book or contact list (e.g., stored in application internal state 292 of contacts module 237 in memory 202 or memory 470), including: adding name(s) to the address book; deleting name(s) from the address book; associating telephone number(s), e-mail address(es), physical address(es) or other information with a name; associating an image with a name; categorizing and sorting names; providing telephone numbers or e-mail addresses to initiate and/or facilitate communications by telephone 238, video conference module 239, e-mail 240, or IM 241; and so forth).
In claim 16, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 13, further comprising: causing the second information to be provided in a chat interface corresponding to the target contact ([0269] the first user input is a user voice input. In some examples, the first user input includes a digital assistant trigger (e.g., “Hey Siri”, “Siri”, or the like) that invokes a digital assistant of user device 802 (e.g., initiates a dialog session between a user of user device 802 and a digital assistant of user device 802). For example, the first user input can include a digital assistant trigger at the beginning of the first user input (e.g., “Hey Siri, what's the weather like in Palo Alto?”) [0272] if the first user input is “Hey Siri, what's the weather like in Palo Alto?”, the first digital assistant response may include the natural language expression “it is currently 90 degrees in Palo Alto.” In this example, the natural language expression “It is currently 90 degrees in Palo Alto” corresponds to the digital assistant tasks of, for example, searching for, retrieving, and providing weather information/data for Palo Alto).
In claim 17, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 16, wherein a target chat corresponding to the chat interface is fixedly presented at a predetermined position in a chat list of the user or the organization ([0099] Contacts module 237 (sometimes called an address book or contact list) [0119] contacts module 237 are used to manage an address book or contact list (e.g., stored in application internal state 292 of contacts module 237 in memory 202 or memory 470), including: adding name(s) to the address book; deleting name(s) from the address book; associating telephone number(s), e-mail address(es), physical address(es) or other information with a name; associating an image with a name; categorizing and sorting names; providing telephone numbers or e-mail addresses to initiate and/or facilitate communications by telephone 238, video conference module 239, e-mail 240, or IM 241; and so forth).
In claim 18, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 16, wherein the chat interface is further configured to present interaction information between the user or the organization and the digital assistant in at least one further office component other than the chat tool ([0204] the term “focus selector” refers to an input element that indicates a current part of a user interface with which a user is interacting. In some implementations that include a cursor or other location marker, the cursor acts as a “focus selector” so that when an input (e.g., a press input) is detected on a touch-sensitive surface (e.g., touchpad 455 in FIG. 4 or touch-sensitive surface 551 in FIG. 5B) while the cursor is over a particular user interface element (e.g., a button, window, slider or other user interface element), the particular user interface element is adjusted in accordance with the detected input. In some implementations that include a touch screen display (e.g., touch-sensitive display system 212 in FIG. 2A or touch screen 212 in FIG. 5A) that enables direct interaction with user interface elements on the touch screen display, a detected contact on the touch screen acts as a “focus selector” so that when an input (e.g., a press input by the contact) is detected on the touch screen display at a location of a particular user interface element (e.g., a button, window, slider, or other user interface element), the particular user interface element is adjusted in accordance with the detected input [0215] 110 interface 706 couples input/output devices 716 of digital assistant system 700, such as displays, keyboards, touch screens, and microphones, to user interface module 722. I/O interface 706, in conjunction with user interface module 722, receives user inputs (e.g., voice input, keyboard inputs, touch inputs, etc.) and processes them accordingly).
Claims 19-21 (Canceled)
In claim 22, MANJUNATH teaches
A method for information processing, comprising:
obtaining first information input by a target object for a first processing entity;
processing the first information based on historical interaction information between the target object and the first processing entity, to generate third information;
providing the third information for a second processing entity, the second processing entity being different from the first processing entity; and generating second information based on a processing result of the second processing entity for the third information, as a reply of the first processing entity to the first information (see claim 5).
Claims 23-24 (Cancelled)
In claim 25, MANJUNATH teaches
The method according to claim 22, wherein the third information is generated further based on policy information corresponding to the first information, the policy information at least indicating a policy for instructing the second processing entity to process the first information (see claim 8).
Claims 26-28 (Cancelled)
In claim 29, MANJUNATH teaches
A method for message processing, comprising:
obtaining at least one chat message between a target object and a first processing entity in a first component of an office suite; and
presenting, in a second component of the office suite, a chat interface between the target object and the first processing entity, the chat interface displaying at least a portion of the at least one chat message (see claims 3, 12, 13 and 16).
Claims 30-43 (Cancelled)
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on 892 form.
Examiner’s Note: Examiner has cited particular figures, and paragraphs in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested for the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Contact Information
/HUAWEN A PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169