The preliminary amendment filed 6/24/2025 has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 9/24/2026 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 14, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (US 2022/0117347) in view of Fitts Jr. (US 7,874,844) (hereinafter Fitts).
Claim 11: Wong teaches A helmet light system for fastening to a protective helmet, the helmet light system comprises: a helmet light (20, fig. 1) which has a plug connection (see fig. 22); a battery holder (22, fig. 1) with a battery pack (16, fig. 1) which has an electrical connection; a connection cable (94, fig. 2) with a plug (plug on opposite end of 94, fig. 9) and a connector plug (98, fig. 2), wherein the plug (plug on opposite end of 94) can be connected to the plug connection (see fig. 22) and the connector plug (98) can be connected to the electrical connection (see fig. 22).
However, Wong fails to teach the connector plug has magnets which interact with the battery pack and which exert a force on the connector plug which pulls the connector plug into its connection position in which respective connection surfaces of the connector plug and the battery pack come to rest on one another, or keeps it there.
Fitts teaches a connection cable (70, fig. 5), a connector plug (80, 90, fig. 1) has magnets (60, 112, fig. 6) (magnets, see Col. 4 lines 46-50) which interact with the battery pack (14, fig. 1) and which exert a force on the connector plug (80, 90) which pulls the connector plug into its connection position in which respective connection surfaces of the connector plug and the battery pack come to rest on one another, or keeps it there (see figs. 1-6).
Therefore, in view of Fitts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add magnets to the connector plug which interact with the battery pack and which exert a force on the connector plug which pulls the connector plug into its connection position in which respective connection surfaces of the connector plug and the battery pack come to rest on one another, or keeps it there, in order to allow safe breakaway of the connector preventing damage to the cable [Fitts, Col. 2 lines 1-9].
Claim 14: Wong fails to teach an electrical contact surface is formed on the connection surface of the battery pack and an electrical contact is formed on the connection surface of the connector plug.
Fitts teaches an electrical contact surface (surface of 30 with 36 and 38, fig. 6) is formed on the connection surface of the battery pack (surface of 18, fig. 6) and an electrical contact (84, 86, fig.6) is formed on the connection surface of the connector plug.
Therefore, in view of Fitts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add magnets to the connector plug where an electrical contact surface is formed on the connection surface of the battery pack and an electrical contact is formed on the connection surface of the connector plug, in order to allow safe breakaway of the connector preventing damage to the cable [Fitts, Col. 2 lines 1-9].
Claim 16: Wong fails to teach the battery pack has magnets which interact with the magnets of the connector plug and, in doing so, exert a force which pulls the connector plug into its connection position or keeps it there.
Fitts teaches the battery pack (14, fig. 1) has magnets (40, fig. 6) which interact with the magnets (82, fig. 6) of the connector plug (70) and, in doing so, exert a force which pulls the connector plug into its connection position or keeps it there (see figs. 1-6).
Therefore, in view of Fitts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add magnets to the connector plug where the battery pack has magnets which interact with the magnets of the connector plug and, in doing so, exert a force which pulls the connector plug into its connection position or keeps it there, in order to allow safe breakaway of the connector preventing damage to the cable [Fitts, Col. 2 lines 1-9].
Claim 20: Wong teaches a protective helmet (11, 12, fig. 1) comprises a helmet light system according to claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 12, 15, 17-19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art taken as a whole does not show nor suggest the connector plug has a projection and the battery pack has a recess corresponding to the projection, wherein the projection lies in the recess when the connector plug is correctly connected to the battery pack with respect to claim(s) 12, the helmet light system further comprises a charging plug, wherein the connector plug, on its back side opposite the connection surface, has a further connection surface with an electrical contact surface for connecting the charging plug with respect to claim(s) 17, as specifically called for in the claimed combinations.
Claim(s) 13, 15, 18-19 is/are dependent upon claim(s) 12 and 17 and is/are therefore allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Andersen (US 2014/0328054), Hsiao (US 2003/0231489), Chen (WO 2020/0124300), Maldonado (US 2019/0350291) all disclose a helmet or a magnetic connector.
/ZHENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875