DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0043], last sentence: “suppled” should read “supplied.”
Paragraph [0048], second sentence: “using the low hydrogen” appears to be missing a word and should read, e.g., “using the low-temperature hydrogen.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
(A) “a compression device provided on the first transport line and configured to suck the boil-off gas from the storage tank and send out the boil-off gas to the carrier” in claim 1. The term “device” is a generic placeholder (MPEP § 2181, subsection I.A), it is modified by the functional language “compression” and “configured to suck the boil-off gas from the storage tank and send out the boil-off gas to the carrier,” and the claim recites no structure for performing those functions. The specification describes the first compression device 12 as including “a rotary element such as an impeller; and a drive source such as a motor that rotationally drives the rotary element” (¶ [0017]);
(B) “a downstream compression device provided on a downstream side of the downstream heater on the second transport line” in claim 5. The generic placeholder “device” is modified only by the functional term “compression” and by its location; no structure for performing the compressing function is recited. The second compression device 22, which corresponds to the claimed downstream compression device, as likewise including a rotary element such as an impeller and a drive source such as a motor that rotationally drives the rotary element (¶ [0021], [0023]). Each of limitations (A) and (B) is accordingly construed as a rotary element (e.g., an impeller) rotationally driven by a drive source (e.g., a motor), and equivalents thereof.
Other Terms Interpreted According to The Specification
“Carrier” (claims 1, 4, 6): the specification states that the carrier “only needs to be any carrier that transports liquefied hydrogen, and may be, for example, a transport vehicle such as a tank truck” (¶ [0045]); the carrier ship 100 is one example (¶ [0010]). The term is given that breadth.
“Consumer” (claim 1): the specification states that the consumer “only needs to be any consumer who consumes hydrogen, and may be, for example, a hydrogen station” (¶ [0044]); the power plant 110 is one example (¶ [0010]).
“Hydrogen having a temperature lower than a temperature of a boil-off gas after being compressed by the compression device” (claim 1): the specification states that this hydrogen “may be hydrogen gas or liquefied hydrogen” (¶ [0042]). The limitation is therefore met by hydrogen gas or liquid that is colder than the compressed boil-off gas.
“A boiling point of nitrogen” (claim 3): the claim states no pressure. The term is given its ordinary meaning, the normal (atmospheric-pressure) boiling point of nitrogen, approximately −196° C, consistent with the specification’s description of the boiling point of nitrogen as “about −200° C” (¶ [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a first transport line that connects the storage tank and a predetermined carrier and is configured to guide out, to the carrier, a boil-off gas in a gas phase portion in the storage tank” and “a second transport line that is disposed to extend from the storage tank to a predetermined consumer through the heat exchanger.” Claim 1 recites these limitations directly; claims 4 and 6 recite “the carrier” directly; claims 2, 3, and 5 incorporate the limitations by dependency.
The specification describes the carrier ship 100 as a vessel that “can be docked in a harbor” and that is absent before it docks (¶ [0010], [0031]-[0032]; Fig. 2, where the carrier ship is shown by an imaginary line), and describes the power plant 110 as a separate plant that burns the supplied hydrogen (¶ [0010]). The claims, however, recite that the first transport line “connects” the storage tank “and a predetermined carrier” and that the second transport line “extend[s] … to a predetermined consumer,” language that can be read either as positively reciting the carrier and the consumer as elements of the claimed liquefied hydrogen facility (a combination) or as merely identifying the environment to which the claimed lines are capable of being connected (a subcombination). The modifier “predetermined” does not resolve the ambiguity, because the claims do not state when, how, or by what criterion the carrier and the consumer are determined. Because one of ordinary skill in the art could not determine whether a facility lacking an attached carrier or consumer falls within the claims, the metes and bounds of claims 1-6 are unclear. See MPEP § 2173.02.
For purposes of examination, the carrier and the consumer are treated as not being positively recited, so that the claims are met by a facility whose first transport line is capable of connecting the storage tank to a carrier and whose second transport line is capable of extending to a consumer. Applicant may overcome this rejection by, for example, reciting that the first transport line is “configured to be connected to a carrier” and that the second transport line is “configured to extend to a consumer,” or, alternatively, by positively reciting the carrier and the consumer as elements of the claimed combination.
Claim 1 first introduces “a boil-off gas in a gas phase portion in the storage tank,” refers to “the boil-off gas” sucked and sent out by the compression device, and then again introduces “a temperature of a boil-off gas after being compressed by the compression device” in line 11 of claim 1 and claim 4 again introduces “a boil-off gas returned from the storage tank to the carrier” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether these recitations refer to the same boil-off gas first introduced in claim 1 or to separate, additional boil-off gas streams. It follows that the antecedent of “the boil-off gas” in claim 3 is also unclear. Claims 2, 5, and 6 incorporate the ambiguity of claims 1 and 4 by dependency. See MPEP § 2173.05(e). For purposes of examination, each recitation is interpreted as referring to the boil-off gas first introduced in claim 1. Applicant may overcome this rejection by, for example, amending the later recitations to “the boil-off gas.”
Claims 2, 3, 5 and 6 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Citations to Kihara (JP 2007-298052 A) are to the paragraph numbers of the English machine translation made of record with this action. Asada (JP H03-92700 A) was published before paragraph numbering was used in Japanese publications; citations to Asada are to the section headings of the English machine translation made of record with this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kihara (JP 2007-298052 A) in view of Kanei (US 2019/0368426 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Kihara teaches a facility (LNG receiving terminal) (¶ 0025; fig. 1) comprising:
a storage tank (2) that stores liquefied gas (LNG) (¶ 0025-0026; fig. 1);
a first transport line (return gas pipe 11 and return gas arm 13) that connects the storage tank (2) and a predetermined carrier (LNG ship) and is configured to guide out, to the carrier, a boil-off gas in a gas phase portion in the storage tank (BOG from the gas portion of tank 2) (¶ 0004, 0021, 0027; figs. 1, 3);
a compression device (return gas blower 9) provided on the first transport line (11) and configured to suck the boil-off gas from the storage tank (2) and send out the boil-off gas to the carrier (¶ 0004, 0027; fig. 1); and
a second transport line (BOG pipe 21 and gas feed pipe 23) that is disposed to extend from the storage tank (2) to a predetermined consumer (demand point 19, e.g., a power plant) and guides boil-off gas from the storage tank (¶ 0028; fig. 1).
Kihara does not teach that the liquefied gas stored in the storage tank (2) is liquefied hydrogen; the liquefied gas of Kihara is LNG (¶ 0026).
However, Kanei teaches a storage tank (second tank 31) that stores liquefied hydrogen (liquid hydrogen L2 at approximately −252° C), with a line (third path 32 and second gas boosting mechanism 33) that draws the hydrogen boil-off gas generated in the tank and supplies it to a consumer (demander 100, a gas turbine generator) (¶ 0012, 0028-0030; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the receiving terminal of Kihara to include a storage tank that stores liquefied hydrogen, with the hydrogen boil-off gas drawn from the tank and supplied to a power-generation consumer, as taught by Kanei, in order to supply hydrogen as fuel to a gas turbine generator (Kanei ¶ 0012, 0029-0030). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Kihara states that liquefied gas other than LNG may be received in storage tank 2 (Kihara ¶ 0026) and already sends the boil-off gas of tank 2 through BOG compressor 25 to a power plant (Kihara ¶ 0028), and Kanei shows liquefied hydrogen stored in a tank whose boil-off gas is drawn, compressed, and delivered to a power generator with the same kind of boil-off line and compressor (Kanei ¶ 0028-0029), so that the substitution would have been made with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Kihara as modified by Kanei does not teach a heat exchanger provided on a downstream side of the compression device on the first transport line, with the second transport line extending to the consumer through the heat exchanger and guiding, from the storage tank to the heat exchanger, hydrogen having a temperature lower than a temperature of a boil-off gas after being compressed by the compression device.
However, Kanei further teaches a heat exchanger (cooling heat exchanger 27) provided on a downstream side of a compression device (reliquefaction gas boosting mechanism 41) on a line carrying the compressed boil-off gas (branch path 28B of reliquefaction path 28), and a second line (fourth path 34 with pump 36, joining third path 32) that extends from the liquefied hydrogen storage tank (31) to the consumer (demander 100) through the heat exchanger (27) and guides, from the storage tank to the heat exchanger, hydrogen having a temperature lower than the compressed boil-off gas (liquid hydrogen L2, which cools the compressed gas and is itself vaporized) (¶ 0021-0024, 0031-0033; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquefied hydrogen facility of Kihara as modified by Kanei to include a heat exchanger on return gas pipe 11 downstream of return gas blower 9 through which BOG pipe 21 passes, so that the boil-off gas compressed by blower 9 is cooled by the cold hydrogen flowing from storage tank 2 toward demand point 19, as taught by Kanei, in order to cool the compressed gas with the cold of the hydrogen while warming the hydrogen being sent to the consumer (Kanei ¶ 0033, 0037, 0039). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because the hydrogen that Kihara sends from storage tank 2 through BOG pipe 21 is compressed and delivered as gas to the power plant (Kihara ¶ 0028), so that its cold is otherwise not used, while the boil-off gas leaving blower 9 on return gas pipe 11 is a warmer compressed stream in the same facility that Kihara returns to the ship tank to hold that tank’s pressure constant (Kihara ¶ 0004, 0027). See KSR, 550 U.S. 398; MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
In regard to claim 4, Kihara in view of Kanei teaches the liquefied hydrogen facility of claim 1, wherein Kihara teaches that the first transport line (return gas pipe 11) is a line through which a boil-off gas returned from the storage tank (2) to the carrier (LNG ship tank) when the liquefied gas is received from the carrier flows (¶ 0004, 0027; figs. 1, 3), the received liquefied gas being liquefied hydrogen in the facility as modified for claim 1.
In regard to claim 6, Kihara in view of Kanei teaches the liquefied hydrogen facility of claim 4, and Kihara further teaches:
an unloading line (loading arm 3 and receiving pipe 5) through which liquefied gas transferred from the carrier (LNG ship tank) to the storage tank (2) at a time of receiving the liquefied gas flows (¶ 0026; fig. 1); and
a branch line (gas vent pipes 7, 8) that branches from a position on the first transport line (return gas pipe 11, between return gas blower 9 and return gas arm 13) and leads to the unloading line (receiving pipe 5) (¶ 0021, 0031, 0036-0038; fig. 1).
Kihara, as modified above, teaches the unloading line and the branch line, but does not explicitly teach that the position from which the branch line branches is on a downstream side of the heat exchanger on the first transport line.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquefied hydrogen facility of Kihara as modified by Kanei to include the heat exchanger on return gas pipe 11 at the discharge of return gas blower 9, upstream of the junctions of gas vent pipes 7, 8, so that the branch line branches from a position downstream of the heat exchanger, as taught by Kanei, which locates cooling heat exchanger 27 on the line receiving the gas discharged from reliquefaction gas boosting mechanism 41 (Kanei ¶ 0021-0022, 0024; fig. 1), in order to cool the compressed gas with the cold of the hydrogen (Kanei ¶ 0033). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this arrangement because blower 9 and the branch point of BOG pipe 21 both lie on the storage tank side of the vent pipe junctions (Kihara fig. 1), so that a heat exchanger at the blower discharge sits beside the source of the cold hydrogen with which it exchanges heat, and because the heat exchanger can occupy only one of two identified, predictable positions relative to the vent pipe junctions, neither of which changes Kihara’s cool-down flow path (Kihara ¶ 0036-0039) or the heat exchange taught by Kanei. See KSR, 550 U.S. 398; In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP §§ 2143(I)(E), 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kihara (JP 2007-298052 A) in view of Kanei (US 2019/0368426 A1), and further in view of Asada (JP H03-92700 A).
In regard to claim 2, Kihara in view of Kanei teaches the liquefied hydrogen facility of claim 1, wherein Kihara as modified by Kanei does not teach a heater provided on an upstream side of the compression device on the first transport line.
However, Asada teaches, in a liquefied gas receiving terminal, a heater (suction gas heater 12) provided on an upstream side of a compression device (room-temperature screw compressor 13) on a boil-off gas line (BOG line L3) drawing boil-off gas from a storage tank (LNG tank 11) (Asada, Means for Solving the Problem and Embodiment sections; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquefied hydrogen facility of Kihara as modified by Kanei to include a suction gas heater on return gas pipe 11 upstream of return gas blower 9 that heats the boil-off gas drawn from storage tank 2 before it is compressed, as taught by Asada, in order to allow an inexpensive room-temperature machine to be used in place of an expensive cryogenic machine of special structure and to eliminate the cool-down otherwise required at start-up (Asada, Operation section and final paragraph of the description). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because blower 9 draws boil-off gas directly from storage tank 2 (Kihara ¶ 0027), which in the facility as modified for claim 1 is hydrogen boil-off gas from liquefied hydrogen at approximately −252° C (Kanei ¶ 0028), far colder than the −150° C to −130° C boil-off gas that Asada heats before compression (Asada, Problem to be Solved by the Invention section), and Asada explains that a room-temperature compressor becomes inoperable when its suction gas is too cold (Asada, Embodiment section). See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
In regard to claim 3, the modified Kihara teaches the liquefied hydrogen facility of claim 2, wherein Kihara as modified does not explicitly teach that the heater has a function of heating the boil-off gas to a temperature equal to or higher than a boiling point of nitrogen.
However, Asada further teaches that the heater has a function of heating the boil-off gas to a temperature equal to or higher than a boiling point of nitrogen (suction gas heater 12 heats the boil-off gas from −150° C to −130° C to about −40° C, with controller 24 holding the suction gas temperature at a reference of −40° C and a minimum of −60° C) (Asada, Embodiment section; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquefied hydrogen facility of Kihara as modified by Kanei and Asada so that the suction gas heater heats the boil-off gas to about −40° C, and not below −60° C, before it is compressed, as taught by Asada, in order to keep the suction gas within the temperature range in which a room-temperature machine operates without losing lubricating oil flow or compression capacity (Asada, Embodiment section). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because the heater of claim 2 is provided so that blower 9 can be a room-temperature machine (Asada, Operation section), and Asada identifies the suction temperature range that achieves that purpose, a range far above the approximately −196° C boiling point of nitrogen. See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
In regard to claim 5, Kihara in view of Kanei teaches the liquefied hydrogen facility of claim 4, wherein Kihara further teaches a downstream compression device (BOG compressor 25) provided on the second transport line (BOG pipe 21) (¶ 0028, 0031; fig. 1), which lies on a downstream side of the heat exchanger on the second transport line in the facility as modified for claim 1.
Kihara teaches the downstream compression device, but does not teach a downstream heater provided on a downstream side of the heat exchanger on the second transport line, with the downstream compression device provided on a downstream side of the downstream heater.
However, Asada teaches a heater (suction gas heater 12) on a boil-off gas line (BOG line L3) that extends from a storage tank (LNG tank 11) to a consumer (low-pressure demand destination, e.g., a power plant, via a mixing tank), with a compression device (room-temperature screw compressor 13) provided on a downstream side of the heater on that line (Asada, Prior Art and Embodiment sections; figs. 1, 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquefied hydrogen facility of Kihara as modified by Kanei to include a suction gas heater on BOG pipe 21 between the heat exchanger and BOG compressor 25 that heats the boil-off gas before it enters BOG compressor 25, as taught by Asada, in order to allow an inexpensive room-temperature compressor to be used in place of an expensive cryogenic compressor of special structure and to eliminate the cool-down otherwise required at start-up (Asada, Operation section and final paragraph of the description). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because the heat exchanger warms the gas in BOG pipe 21 only while compressed gas is being returned to a carrier (Kihara ¶ 0004, 0027), whereas Kihara feeds demand point 19 through BOG compressor 25 at other times as well, including during cool-down when no liquefied gas is being received (Kihara ¶ 0028, 0036-0037); at those times hydrogen boil-off gas would reach BOG compressor 25 at liquefied hydrogen temperature, approximately −252° C (Kanei ¶ 0028), colder than the boil-off gas that Asada heats before its compressor. See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763