DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on June 25, 2025. Claims 1-9 are currently pending and examined below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an acquisition module configured to acquire…
a setting module configured to set…
an execution module configured to identify…
in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hoshide et al. US2023/0312144 (“Hoshide”).
Regarding claim(s) 1. Hoshide discloses a mobile robot comprising: a main body portion having a plurality of propulsion units each configured to generate a propulsion force by driving of a rotary wing (fig. 1, ); a plurality of support portions provided on the main body portion and configured to come into contact with a predetermined contact surface to be capable of supporting at least a part of the main body portion (0032] Here, a flying robot 1 according to the present embodiment will be described on the basis of FIG. 1. FIG. 1 is a view illustrating an example of a schematic configuration of the flying robot 1 according to the present embodiment. The flying robot 1 includes a body portion 2. The body portion 2 includes a plurality of propulsion units 23. Note that while in the example illustrated in FIG. 1, four propulsion units 23 are mounted on the body portion 2, the number of the propulsion units 23 is not limited to four if the body portion 2 can fly, and it is only necessary that a plurality of propulsion units 23 be provided. Each of the propulsion units 23 includes a propeller 21 that is a rotor blade, and an actuator 22 for rotationally driving the propeller. While the propulsion units 23 mounted on the body portion 2 are all units of the same type, the actuators 22 can be independently controlled at the respective propulsion units 23. Thus, propulsion force obtained by the respective propulsion units 23 can be controlled as appropriate, so that a flying posture, flying speed, and the like, in the body portion 2 and the flying robot 1 can be controlled as appropriate. Note that flying control of the flying body portion, and the like, by the propulsion units 23 will be described later.);
a first controller configured to perform movement control for moving the main body portion on the predetermined contact surface by the plurality of support portions while supporting the main body portion by the plurality of support portions ([0019] Further, in a process of causing the body portion to descend by the propulsion portion for landing on the landing surface from the flying state, the controller may execute first processing of recognizing, as a first leg portion, a leg portion that comes into contact with the landing surface first among the plurality of leg portions and second processing of causing the body portion to further descend and causing another leg portion to come into contact with the landing surface while moving the joint of the first leg portion while keeping contact between the first leg portion and the landing surface.); and
a second controller configured to perform assist control for the movement control by the first controller by using a part or all of the plurality of propulsion units; wherein in the assist control, when a target pressure position related to the transition of a center of gravity of the main body portion in the movement control is not inside an actual support region in which the main body portion is actually supported by predetermined support portions that are in contact with the predetermined contact surface among the plurality of support portions ([0021] In the second processing, the body portion is caused to further descend while moving the joint of the first leg portion. By moving the joint of the first leg portion, even if the body portion is caused to further descend, reaction force from the landing surface can be reduced, so that it is possible to prevent the body portion from tilting. Further, by causing the body portion to further descend, another leg portion other than the first leg portion can come into contact with the landing surface. In this manner, the second processing makes it possible to cause the other leg portion other than the first leg portion to come into contact with the landing surface while preventing the body portion from tilting.),
the second controller drives a part or all of the plurality of propulsion units to generate in the outside of the actual support region an assistive support force that assists a shortage of a support force required for the movement control ([0034] Further, four leg portions 30 that support the body portion 2 are connected to the body portion 2. The four leg portions 30 are arranged at equal intervals on the circumference centering around the body 25. Each of the leg portions 30 includes a first link portion 31 whose tip portion comes into contact with the landing surface when landing, a second link portion 32 provided closer to the body 25 than the first link portion 31, a first joint 33 that rotatably connects the first link portion 31 and the second link portion 32,).
Regarding claim(s) 2. Hoshide discloses wherein the second controller comprises: an acquisition module configured to acquire the target pressure position; a setting module configured to set a support generation position at which the support force by the predetermined support portions is generated inside the actual support region; and an execution module configured to identify, based on the target pressure position and the support generation position ([0026] Further, a pressure sensor capable of detecting a pressure when each leg portion of the plurality of leg portions comes into contact with the landing surface may be provided at a tip of the leg portion, and the controller may recognize the first leg portion on the basis of whether or not there is output regarding contact from the pressure sensor provided at the first leg portion in the first processing, and the controller may further execute fourth processing of determining that landing on the landing surface of the flying robot is completed when output values of the pressure sensors respectively provided at the plurality of leg portions are in a predetermined correlated state. In other words, if the leg portion comes into contact with the landing surface, output of the pressure sensor provided at the leg portion changes.), a virtual support positionon the predetermined contact surface outside the actual support region, with which the predetermined support portions are not in contact, calculate the assistive support force at the virtual support position, and drive a part or all of the plurality of propulsion units to generate the assistive support force ([0041] Here, a state of the leg portions 30 when the flying robot 1 lands will be described on the basis of FIG. 3. FIG. 3 is a view illustrating the state of the leg portions 30 when the flying robot 1 according to the present embodiment lands. In FIG. 3, part of a structure of the flying robot 1 is omitted. 3001 illustrates a state of the leg portions 30 in a case where the flying robot 1 is in a flying state. In a case of the flying state, for example, the joints of the leg portions 30 are fixed so as to bend the leg portions 30 so that air resistance during movement back and force and around becomes the smallest. For example, the first joint 33 is rotated so that an axial direction of the first link portion 31 comes closer to a horizontal direction and a tip side of the first link portion 31 comes closer to a central axis of the body portion 2. Note that the state of the leg portions 30 in the flying state is not limited to this. For example, the state of the leg portions 30 may be such a state that stabilizes flying of the flying robot 1 in view of center of gravity of the flying robot 1 as well as air resistance.).
Regarding claim(s) 3. Hoshide discloses wherein the virtual support position is identified by the execution module so that the target pressure position is included in an enlarged support region that is defined by the actual support region and the virtual support position (0034] Further, four leg portions 30 that support the body portion 2 are connected to the body portion 2. The four leg portions 30 are arranged at equal intervals on the circumference centering around the body 25. Each of the leg portions 30 includes a first link portion 31 whose tip portion comes into contact with the landing surface when landing, a second link portion 32 provided closer to the body 25 than the first link portion 31, a first joint 33 that rotatably connects the first link portion 31 and the second link portion 32, a second joint 34 that rotatably connects the second link portion 32 and the bridge 24, and an actuator (not illustrated) that drives the first joint 33 and the second joint 34.).
Regarding claim(s) 4. Hoshide discloses wherein the virtual support position is on the opposite side of the support generation position across the target pressure position, and the virtual support position, the target pressure position, and the support generation position are arranged on a straight line ().
Regarding claim(s) 5. Hoshide discloses the virtual support position is identified as a position farthest 30 from the target pressure position within a range allowed to be set based on an arrangement of the plurality of propulsion units ([0044] 3004 illustrates a state where the flying robot 1 is caused to further descend after the first leg portion 10A is recognized. In this event, second processing is executed. The second processing is processing of causing the body portion 2 to further descend to bring another leg portion 30 into contact with the landing surface A1 while moving the first joint 33 and the second joint 34 of the first leg portion 10A while keeping contact between the first leg portion 10A and the landing surface A1 after the first processing. As illustrated in 3004, in the first leg portion 10A, the controller 210 controls the first joint 33 so that an angle formed by the first link portion 31 and the second link portion 32 becomes smaller and controls the second joint 34 so as to move the second link portion 32 obliquely upward from the second joint 34.).
Regarding claim(s) 6. Hoshide discloses mobile robot according to any one of in a case where the number of predetermined support portions in contact with the predetermined contact surface among the plurality of support portions is three or more, the actual support region is a polygonal region formed by connecting contact points between each of the predetermined support portions and the predetermined contact surface; andin a case where the number of predetermined support portions in contact with the predetermined contact surface among the plurality of support portions is two, the actual support region is a straight line region formed by connecting contact points between each of the two predetermined support portions and the predetermined contact surface ([0046] Then, in a case where all of the four leg portions 30 come into contact with the landing surface A1, the controller 210 executes fourth processing of determining that landing on the landing surface A1 is completed. The controller 210, for example, determines that landing of the flying robot 1 on the landing surface A1 is completed in a case where the output values of the pressure sensors 31A respectively provided at the plurality of leg portions 30 are in a predetermined correlated state. The predetermined correlated state is, for example, a state where the flying robot 1 is balanced and a state where the flying robot 1 is prevented from tilting even if the propulsion force of the propulsion units 23 is stopped. For example, if a sum of pressures detected at the respective pressure sensors 31A reaches a pressure corresponding to mass of the flying robot 1, it may be determined that landing is completed.).
Regarding claim(s) 7. Hoshide discloses wherein the plurality of propulsion units are arranged in line symmetry or point symmetry with respect to the main body portion when viewed from the gravity direction of the main body portion (fig. 1).
Regarding claim(s) 8. Hoshide discloses wherein the plurality of support portions are a plurality of leg portions attached to the main body portion so as to be capable of supporting the weight of the main body portion ([0067] 3015 illustrates a state where the other leg portion 30 comes into contact with the landing surface A1 after the first leg portion 10A is recognized. The controller 210 determines that the other leg portion 30 comes into contact with the landing surface A1 also on the basis of output of the pressure sensor 31A provided at the tip portion of each leg portion 30. Note that it is assumed in 3015 that all of the four leg portions 30 are in contact with the landing surface A1. In this case, the controller 210 determines that landing on the landing surface A1 is completed. A method for determining landing is the same as the state of 3005 described above.).
Regarding claim(s) 9. Hoshide discloses wherein the plurality of support portions further comprise a holding portion capable of holding an object, or the object held by the holding portion so as to be capable of coming into contact with the predetermined contact surface (fig. 1, item 25 body is capable of holding an object).
Inquiry
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658