DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This is a Non-Final Action in response to the claims submitted on 07/30/2025.
Claims 1-5 and 7-18 are pending and examined herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Information processing device to ensure traceability of resin materials during the recycling process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13, 15-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear if claim 12 is dependent from claim 1 or if the claim is an independent claim that requires some information associated with claim 1. The claim is found to be unclear since the claim does not appear to further modify claim 12 and is claiming an information processing system, whereas claim 1 is an information processing apparatus. One trying to avoid infringement would be unclear as to what are the meets and bounds of the claim. For examination purposes the claim is interpreted as being dependent of claim 1.
It is unclear if claims 15 and 16 are dependent from claim 1 and 12 respectively, or if the claims are independent claims. The claims are found to be unclear since the claims do not appear to modify claim 1 or claim 12. One trying to avoid infringement would be unclear as to what are the meets and bounds of the claims. For examination purposes the claims are interpreted as being dependent of claims 1 and 12 respectively.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the process that involves changes in chemical structure of the resin material" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear to what process the Applicant is referring to since the requirement of the claim is “… a process of recycling the resin material…” and there is no recitation of a process that involves changes in chemical structure of the resin material. For examination purposes the claim is interpreted as “the process of recycling includes a process that involves changes in chemical structure of the reason material”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 and 7- 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to Step 1 of the eligibility inquiry (as explained in MPEP 2106), it is first noted that the claims are directed to at least one potentially eligible category of subject matter (i.e., process and machine, respectively). Thus, Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility test for claims 1-5 and 7-18 is satisfied.
With respect to Step 2A Prong One, it is next noted that the claims recite an abstract idea that falls under the “Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity” and “Mental Processes” groups within the enumerated groupings of abstract ideas set forth in the MPEP 2106 since the claims set forth steps that recite commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations) and concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Claims 1 and 14 recite the abstract idea of ensure traceability of resin materials during the recycling process [006]. In claims 1 and 14, this idea is described by the following claim steps:
acquiring first information by associating a resin material with information related to a predetermined parameter obtained by measuring the resin material in any of steps of a process of recycling the resin material, the information related to a predetermined parameter including information on an isotopic ratio of a constituent element of the resin material; and
registering the acquired first information.
This idea falls within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas because it is directed towards commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). The noted abstract idea is also directed to mental processes as it is related to observation and recording of data.
Because the above-noted limitations recite steps falling within the Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and Mental Processes abstract idea groupings of the MPEP 2106, they have been determined to recite at least one abstract idea when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One of the eligibility inquiry.
Therefore, because the limitations above set forth activities falling within the Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and Mental Processes abstract idea groupings described in the MPEP 2106, the additional elements recited in the claims are further evaluated, individually and in combination, under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B below. Claim 14 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore determined to recite the same abstract idea.
With respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements that fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application are:
an acquisition unit implemented by circuitry;
a registration unit implemented by circuitry;
blockchain.
However, using a computer environment such as units implemented by circuitry and storing data on a blockchain amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Ensure traceability of resin materials during the recycling process can reasonably be performed by pencil and paper until limited to a computerized environment by requiring a processor and a memory to perform the steps.
These additional elements have been evaluated, but fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they amount to using generic computing elements or computer-executable instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), and alternatively serve to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h).
In addition, these limitations fail to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, fail to apply the exception with a particular machine, fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, fail to effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, and fail to apply/use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, because the Step 2A Prong One and Prong Two analysis resulted in the conclusion that the claims are directed to an abstract idea, additional analysis under Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry must be conducted in order to determine whether any claim element or combination of elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry, it has been determined that the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As noted above, the claims as a whole merely describes a method, computer system, and computer program product that generally “apply” the concepts discussed in prong 1 above. (See MPEP 2106.05 f (II)) In particular applicant has recited the computing components at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. As the court stated in TLI Communications v. LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613 (Fed. Cir. 2016) merely invoking generic computing components or machinery that perform their functions in their ordinary capacity to facilitate the abstract idea are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea within a computing environment and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional computer components do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea and as a result the claim is not patent eligible.
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that, as an ordered combination, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
For the reasons identified with respect to Step 2A, prong 2, claims 1 and 14 fail to recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept. For example, use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a commercial or legal interaction or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). In addition, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 2-13 and 15-18 recite the same abstract idea as recited in the independent claims, and when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One are found to merely recite details that serve to narrow the same abstract idea recited in the independent claims accompanied by the same generic computing elements or software as those addressed above in the discussion of the independent claims, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, or other additional elements that fail to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, as noted above.
The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and the collective functions merely provide high level of generality computer implementation. Therefore, whether taken individually or as an order combination, the claims are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
For more information see MPEP 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Ide (US Patent Publication 2023/0394444).
Regarding claim 1, Ide discloses an information processing apparatus, comprising:
an acquisition unit implemented by circuitry ([0313] An example of the functions of the blockchain network 20 will be described with reference to FIG. 5A. In the example shown in FIG. 5A, the respective node apparatuses 200 in the blockchain network 20 include a receiving information acquisition unit 202) configured to acquire first information by associating a resin material with information related to a predetermined parameter obtained by measuring the resin material in any of steps of a process of recycling the resin material the information related to the predetermined parameter including information on an isotopic ratio of a constituent element of the resin material ([0334] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 acquires information on the receiving amount of recycled resins in the manufacturing entity of resin products. The receiving amount of the recycled resins indicates the receiving amount of the recycled resins as raw materials for manufacturing the resin products by the manufacturing entity. When the manufacturing entity is a company as described above, the receiving amount indicates, for example, the receiving amount of the recycled resins by the company. [0335] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 may acquire information on a receiving amount transmitted from an apparatus (for example, a terminal apparatus 10. [0336] For example, a responsible person of a recycling company may operate a terminal apparatus 10 to input the amount of collected used resin products as the receiving amount of recycled resins for manufacturing recycled pellets. See also [0337]-[0338].); and
a registration unit implemented by circuitry configured to register the acquired first information on a blockchain (See Fig. 5A and The information on the receiving amounts input via the terminal apparatuses 10 by the responsible persons of the respective companies as described above is transmitted to the blockchain network 20 and acquired by the receiving information acquisition unit 202. [0340] The sending information acquisition unit 204 may acquire information on a sending amount transmitted from an apparatus (for example, a terminal apparatus 10) outside the blockchain network 20 or may acquire information on a sending amount stored in advance in at least a part of the storage units 212 of the plurality of node apparatuses 200 in the blockchain network 20. [0342] Information on resin products acquired by the sending information acquisition unit 204 may include identification information on recycled resins associated with the recycled resins used in the resin products. For example, when shipping compounds, a responsible person of a resin maker may input the shipment amount of the compounds to terminal apparatuses 10 in association with identification information on recycled resins used in the manufacturing of the compounds and transmit the same to the blockchain network 20. The sending information acquisition unit 204 acquires identification information on recycled resins transmitted from a terminal apparatus 10 and information on the shipment amount of compounds.).
Regarding claim 2, Ide discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the information related to the predetermined parameter includes information on a molecular weight of the resin material ([0334] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 acquires information on the receiving amount of recycled resins in the manufacturing entity of resin products. The receiving amount of the recycled resins indicates the receiving amount of the recycled resins as raw materials for manufacturing the resin products by the manufacturing entity. When the manufacturing entity is a company as described above, the receiving amount indicates, for example, the receiving amount of the recycled resins by the company. [0335] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 may acquire information on a receiving amount transmitted from an apparatus (for example, a terminal apparatus 10. [0336] For example, a responsible person of a recycling company may operate a terminal apparatus 10 to input the amount of collected used resin products as the receiving amount of recycled resins for manufacturing recycled pellets. See also [0337]-[0338]). The Examiner notes the use of non-functional language in the claim. The description of the information related to the predetermined parameter does not change or alter the function or capacities of the acquisition unit. That is, the acquisition unit is able to acquire information regardless of the type of information being acquired. Therefore, the specific type of information has little to no patentable weight since it does not alter or modify the requirement of acquiring information.
Regarding claim 3, Ide discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein: the information on the molecular weight of the resin material includes information on a molecular weight distribution of the resin material ([0334] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 acquires information on the receiving amount of recycled resins in the manufacturing entity of resin products. The receiving amount of the recycled resins indicates the receiving amount of the recycled resins as raw materials for manufacturing the resin products by the manufacturing entity. When the manufacturing entity is a company as described above, the receiving amount indicates, for example, the receiving amount of the recycled resins by the company. [0335] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 may acquire information on a receiving amount transmitted from an apparatus (for example, a terminal apparatus 10. [0336] For example, a responsible person of a recycling company may operate a terminal apparatus 10 to input the amount of collected used resin products as the receiving amount of recycled resins for manufacturing recycled pellets. See also [0337]-[0338]). The Examiner notes the use of non-functional language in the claim. The description of the information related to the predetermined parameter does not change or alter the function or capacities of the acquisition unit. That is, the acquisition unit is able to acquire information regardless of the type of information being acquired. Therefore, the specific type of information has little to no patentable weight since it does not alter or modify the requirement of acquiring information.
Regarding claim 4, Ide discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the information related to the predetermined parameter further includes information on a thermal behavior of the resin material ([0334] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 acquires information on the receiving amount of recycled resins in the manufacturing entity of resin products. The receiving amount of the recycled resins indicates the receiving amount of the recycled resins as raw materials for manufacturing the resin products by the manufacturing entity. When the manufacturing entity is a company as described above, the receiving amount indicates, for example, the receiving amount of the recycled resins by the company. [0335] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 may acquire information on a receiving amount transmitted from an apparatus (for example, a terminal apparatus 10. [0336] For example, a responsible person of a recycling company may operate a terminal apparatus 10 to input the amount of collected used resin products as the receiving amount of recycled resins for manufacturing recycled pellets. See also [0337]-[0338]). The Examiner notes the use of non-functional language in the claim. The description of the information related to the predetermined parameter does not change or alter the function or capacities of the acquisition unit. That is, the acquisition unit is able to acquire information regardless of the type of information being acquired. Therefore, the specific type of information has little to no patentable weight since it does not alter or modify the requirement of acquiring information.
Regarding claim 5, Ide discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein: the information on the thermal behavior of the resin material includes information on an analytical value measured by DSC and/or TG-DTA ([0334] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 acquires information on the receiving amount of recycled resins in the manufacturing entity of resin products. The receiving amount of the recycled resins indicates the receiving amount of the recycled resins as raw materials for manufacturing the resin products by the manufacturing entity. When the manufacturing entity is a company as described above, the receiving amount indicates, for example, the receiving amount of the recycled resins by the company. [0335] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 may acquire information on a receiving amount transmitted from an apparatus (for example, a terminal apparatus 10. [0336] For example, a responsible person of a recycling company may operate a terminal apparatus 10 to input the amount of collected used resin products as the receiving amount of recycled resins for manufacturing recycled pellets. See also [0337]-[0338]). The Examiner notes the use of non-functional language in the claim. The description of the information related to the predetermined parameter does not change or alter the function or capacities of the acquisition unit. That is, the acquisition unit is able to acquire information regardless of the type of information being acquired. Therefore, the specific type of information has little to no patentable weight since it does not alter or modify the requirement of acquiring information.
Regarding claim 7, Ide discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the constituent element of the resin material includes a carbon element ([0334] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 acquires information on the receiving amount of recycled resins in the manufacturing entity of resin products. The receiving amount of the recycled resins indicates the receiving amount of the recycled resins as raw materials for manufacturing the resin products by the manufacturing entity. When the manufacturing entity is a company as described above, the receiving amount indicates, for example, the receiving amount of the recycled resins by the company. [0335] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 may acquire information on a receiving amount transmitted from an apparatus (for example, a terminal apparatus 10. [0336] For example, a responsible person of a recycling company may operate a terminal apparatus 10 to input the amount of collected used resin products as the receiving amount of recycled resins for manufacturing recycled pellets. See also [0337]-[0338]). The Examiner notes the use of non-functional language in the claim. The description of the information related to the predetermined parameter does not change or alter the function or capacities of the acquisition unit. That is, the acquisition unit is able to acquire information regardless of the type of information being acquired. Therefore, the specific type of information has little to no patentable weight since it does not alter or modify the requirement of acquiring information.
Regarding claim 8, Ide discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the information related to the predetermined parameter further includes information on content of a component different from a base resin of the resin material ([0334] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 acquires information on the receiving amount of recycled resins in the manufacturing entity of resin products. The receiving amount of the recycled resins indicates the receiving amount of the recycled resins as raw materials for manufacturing the resin products by the manufacturing entity. When the manufacturing entity is a company as described above, the receiving amount indicates, for example, the receiving amount of the recycled resins by the company. [0335] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 may acquire information on a receiving amount transmitted from an apparatus (for example, a terminal apparatus 10. [0336] For example, a responsible person of a recycling company may operate a terminal apparatus 10 to input the amount of collected used resin products as the receiving amount of recycled resins for manufacturing recycled pellets. See also [0337]-[0338]). The Examiner notes the use of non-functional language in the claim. The description of the information related to the predetermined parameter does not change or alter the function or capacities of the acquisition unit. That is, the acquisition unit is able to acquire information regardless of the type of information being acquired. Therefore, the specific type of information has little to no patentable weight since it does not alter or modify the requirement of acquiring information.
Regarding claim 9, Ide discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein: the component is one or more components selected from the group consisting of a plasticizer, a filler, a colorant, a weathering agent, a release agent, and an impurity ([0334] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 acquires information on the receiving amount of recycled resins in the manufacturing entity of resin products. The receiving amount of the recycled resins indicates the receiving amount of the recycled resins as raw materials for manufacturing the resin products by the manufacturing entity. When the manufacturing entity is a company as described above, the receiving amount indicates, for example, the receiving amount of the recycled resins by the company. [0335] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 may acquire information on a receiving amount transmitted from an apparatus (for example, a terminal apparatus 10. [0336] For example, a responsible person of a recycling company may operate a terminal apparatus 10 to input the amount of collected used resin products as the receiving amount of recycled resins for manufacturing recycled pellets. See also [0337]-[0338]). The Examiner notes the use of non-functional language in the claim. The description of the information related to the predetermined parameter does not change or alter the function or capacities of the acquisition unit. That is, the acquisition unit is able to acquire information regardless of the type of information being acquired. Therefore, the specific type of information has little to no patentable weight since it does not alter or modify the requirement of acquiring information.
Regarding claim 10, Ide discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a determination unit implemented by circuitry configured to determine authenticity of the first information based on the predetermined parameter registered as the first information and reference information related to the predetermined parameter ([0349] As shown in FIG. 5D, the resin product information database may include, for example, information such as resin product IDs, stock amounts after manufacturing of resin products, discard amounts, recycling ratios, recycled resin IDs used in the resin products, authentication information on the recycled resins, the use amounts of the recycled resins, additive types, and additive amounts. The data shown in FIG. 5D is expressed in a table form but stored according to a blockchain technology. When authentication is given on the basis of the resin product information database, processing is simplified. [0350] The authentication unit 208 gives authentication to resin products when authentication conditions based on the information on the sending amount and the receiving amount are satisfied. The authentication unit 208 gives authentication to resin products on the basis of, for example, information on the receiving amount of recycled resins acquired by the receiving information acquisition unit 202 and information on the sending amount of the resin products using the recycled resins acquired by the sending information acquisition unit 204 about the resin products to be authenticated. Further, the authentication unit 208 may give authentication to resin products on the basis of information on the manufacturing of the resin products by a manufacturing entity acquired by the manufacturing information acquisition unit 206 about the resin products to be authenticated. The authentication unit 208 generates authentication information showing that resin products authenticated as recycled products are the recycled products. Hereinafter, an example of conditions on which resin products are authenticated as recycled products will be shown. Values used in the following conditions are values shown by information acquired by the receiving information acquisition unit 202, the sending information acquisition unit 204, or the manufacturing information acquisition unit 206. In order to authenticate resin products as recycled products, one of the following conditions may be independently used, or two or more of the conditions may be used.).
Regarding claim 11, Ide discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 10, further comprising:
a notification unit implemented by circuitry configured to notify one or more business operators that conduct recycling of the resin material when it is determined that the first information is inauthentic ([0399] The processing shown in FIG. 6 ends when it is determined in step S103 that the authentication conditions are not satisfied (No in step S104), and proceeds to step S105 when it is determined that the authentication conditions are satisfied (Yes in step S104). [428] The raw material resin information 82 may include…the authentication conditions of a recycled product satisfied by the raw material resin.).
Regarding claim 12, Ide discloses an information processing system, comprising:
a reception unit implemented by circuitry configured to receive a display request from a user to display a history of a recycled resin material ([0315] For example, when storing and processing are performed in order of a raw material stock, a mixer that mixes a plurality of recycled resin pellets together, a kneading extruder, and a product stock, the raw material stock (receiving from a raw material maker and sending to the mixer), the mixer (receiving from the raw material stock and sending to the kneading extruder), and the kneading extruder (receiving from the mixer and sending to the product stock (manufacturing amount)) may be recorded. [0426] The supply information showing information on the supply chain of resin products may be, every time recycled resins or resin products are traded or transferred between the companies shown in FIG. 3, stored in the storage unit 230 according to input to terminal apparatuses 10 by the companies. Further, the supply information is stored in the storage unit 230 so that the supply chain of resin products is traceable. For example, the supply information is stored in the storage unit 230 so that the trade or transfer of recycled resins or resin products between the companies is traceable by identification information on the recycled resins. In this case, the supply information acquisition unit 222 is able to acquire the supply information that is information on the supply chain of the resin products using the recycled resins associated with the same identification information from the storage unit 230. The supply information acquired from the storage unit 230 by the supply information acquisition unit 222 may be transmitted to and displayed on the terminal apparatuses 10. [0427] An example of supply information showing information on the supply chain of resin products displayed on a terminal apparatus 10 will be described with reference to FIG. 8. An image 80 shown in FIG. 8 is an image showing supply information displayed on the display device of the terminal apparatus 10. The image 80 shows resin product information 81, raw material resin information 82, and supply chain information 83.);
a display control unit implemented by circuitry configured to display, based on the display request, history information of the recycled resin material to be visually perceivable by the user ([0292] The display device 111 is a device used to display various information. Specific examples of the display device 111 include a liquid crystal display, an organic EL (Electro-Luminescence) display, a wearable device display, or the like. The display device 111 may be provided outside the computer 100. In this case, the display device 111 is connected to the computer 100 via, for example, a display cable or the like. Further, when a touch panel is employed as the input I/F 107, the display device 111 may be configured to be integrated with the input I/F 107. [0426] The supply information showing information on the supply chain of resin products may be, every time recycled resins or resin products are traded or transferred between the companies shown in FIG. 3, stored in the storage unit 230 according to input to terminal apparatuses 10 by the companies. Further, the supply information is stored in the storage unit 230 so that the supply chain of resin products is traceable. For example, the supply information is stored in the storage unit 230 so that the trade or transfer of recycled resins or resin products between the companies is traceable by identification information on the recycled resins. In this case, the supply information acquisition unit 222 is able to acquire the supply information that is information on the supply chain of the resin products using the recycled resins associated with the same identification information from the storage unit 230. The supply information acquired from the storage unit 230 by the supply information acquisition unit 222 may be transmitted to and displayed on the terminal apparatuses 10. [0427] An example of supply information showing information on the supply chain of resin products displayed on a terminal apparatus 10 will be described with reference to FIG. 8. An image 80 shown in FIG. 8 is an image showing supply information displayed on the display device of the terminal apparatus 10. The image 80 shows resin product information 81, raw material resin information 82, and supply chain information 83.), wherein:
the history information is visual information in which a business operator that has conducted a recycling process and the predetermined parameter acquired by the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 are associated ([0426] The supply information showing information on the supply chain of resin products may be, every time recycled resins or resin products are traded or transferred between the companies shown in FIG. 3, stored in the storage unit 230 according to input to terminal apparatuses 10 by the companies. Further, the supply information is stored in the storage unit 230 so that the supply chain of resin products is traceable. For example, the supply information is stored in the storage unit 230 so that the trade or transfer of recycled resins or resin products between the companies is traceable by identification information on the recycled resins. In this case, the supply information acquisition unit 222 is able to acquire the supply information that is information on the supply chain of the resin products using the recycled resins associated with the same identification information from the storage unit 230. The supply information acquired from the storage unit 230 by the supply information acquisition unit 222 may be transmitted to and displayed on the terminal apparatuses 10. [0427] An example of supply information showing information on the supply chain of resin products displayed on a terminal apparatus 10 will be described with reference to FIG. 8. An image 80 shown in FIG. 8 is an image showing supply information displayed on the display device of the terminal apparatus 10. The image 80 shows resin product information 81, raw material resin information 82, and supply chain information 83. ).
Regarding claim 13, Ide discloses the information processing system according to claim 12, wherein:
the reception unit executes reception of the display request in response to a terminal owned by the user reading a code attached to a molded product formed from the recycled resin material ([337] The identification information on the recycled resins may be displayed on, for example, the packages or transaction documents of manufactured resin products. In this case, a seal displaying a code image such as a two-dimensional code (for example, a QR Code™) including the identification information and information on the amount of the recycled resins may be pasted on the packages of the resin products. A responsible person of a resin maker who has bought recycled pellets from a recycling company may be enabled to input identification information on recycled resins and the receiving amount of the recycled resins to a terminal apparatus 10 by reading two-dimensional codes displayed on the packages of the recycled pellets.).
Regarding claim 14, Ide discloses an information processing method executed by an information processing apparatus, comprising:
acquiring first information by associating a resin material with information related to a predetermined parameter obtained by measuring the resin material in any of steps of a process of recycling the resin material, the information related to a predetermined parameter including information on an isotopic ratio of a constituent element of the resin material ([0334] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 acquires information on the receiving amount of recycled resins in the manufacturing entity of resin products. The receiving amount of the recycled resins indicates the receiving amount of the recycled resins as raw materials for manufacturing the resin products by the manufacturing entity. When the manufacturing entity is a company as described above, the receiving amount indicates, for example, the receiving amount of the recycled resins by the company. [0335] The receiving information acquisition unit 202 may acquire information on a receiving amount transmitted from an apparatus (for example, a terminal apparatus 10. [0336] For example, a responsible person of a recycling company may operate a terminal apparatus 10 to input the amount of collected used resin products as the receiving amount of recycled resins for manufacturing recycled pellets. See also [0337]-[0338].); and
registering the acquired first information on a blockchain (See Fig. 5A and The information on the receiving amounts input via the terminal apparatuses 10 by the responsible persons of the respective companies as described above is transmitted to the blockchain network 20 and acquired by the receiving information acquisition unit 202. [0340] The sending information acquisition unit 204 may acquire information on a sending amount transmitted from an apparatus (for example, a terminal apparatus 10) outside the blockchain network 20 or may acquire information on a sending amount stored in advance in at least a part of the storage units 212 of the plurality of node apparatuses 200 in the blockchain network 20. [0342] Information on resin products acquired by the sending information acquisition unit 204 may include identification information on recycled resins associated with the recycled resins used in the resin products. For example, when shipping compounds, a responsible person of a resin maker may input the shipment amount of the compounds to terminal apparatuses 10 in association with identification information on recycled resins used in the manufacturing of the compounds and transmit the same to the blockchain network 20. The sending information acquisition unit 204 acquires identification information on recycled resins transmitted from a terminal apparatus 10 and information on the shipment amount of compounds.).
Regarding claim 15, Ide discloses a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium storing a program for causing a computer to function as each unit of the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 ([0289] The storage device 105 is, for example, a non-volatile storage medium such as a hard disk drive (HDD) and a flash memory. The storage device 105 stores an operating system or various programs used to realize the above respective configurations.).
Regarding claim 16, Ide discloses a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium storing a program for causing a computer to function as each unit of the information processing system according to claim 12 ([0289] The storage device 105 is, for example, a non-volatile storage medium such as a hard disk drive (HDD) and a flash memory. The storage device 105 stores an operating system or various programs used to realize the above respective configurations.).
Regarding claim 17, Ide discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the process of recycling includes a process that involves changes in chemical structure of the resin material ([0307] “Recycling”: Recycling indicates the use of waste plastic materials. The recycling may be material recycling in which waste plastic materials are reused as plastic product materials or may be chemical recycling in which waste plastic materials are chemically decomposed and reused as chemical product materials.).
Regarding claim 18, Ide discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the process that involves changes in chemical structure of the resin material includes a process of obtaining ethanol from syngas derived from the resin material ([0307] “Recycling”: Recycling indicates the use of waste plastic materials. The recycling may be material recycling in which waste plastic materials are reused as plastic product materials or may be chemical recycling in which waste plastic materials are chemically decomposed and reused as chemical product materials.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen US Patent Publication 2022/0309476 METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR FACILITATING VERIFYING A RECYCLING PROCESS OF A RECYCLABLE ITEM. The present disclosure relates to the field of data processing. More specifically, the present disclosure relates to methods and systems for facilitating verifying a recycling process of a recyclable item.
R. W. Ahmad, K. Salah, R. Jayaraman, I. Yaqoob and M. Omar, "Blockchain for Waste Management in Smart Cities: A Survey," in IEEE Access, vol. 9, pp. 131520-131541, 2021
/MARIA C SANTOS-DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629