DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 21, 2025; August 22, 2025; and March 28, 2026, are in accordance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
The “elastic feed piece”, as described in claims 2 and 15, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The “feed source”, as described in claims 2, 14 and 15, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The “first ground terminal”, as described in claims 3, 14 and 16, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The “second ground terminal”, as described in claims 3, 14 and 16, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The “Inductor”, as described in claims 4 and 17, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The “Capacitor”, as described in claims 5 and 18, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The “one widened portion”, as described in claims 6 and 19, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The “width”, as described in claims 6, 7, 19 and 20, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The “non-widened portion”, as described in claims 6 and 19, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The “one narrowed portion”, as described in claims 7 and 20, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The “non-narrowed portion”, as described in claims 7 and 20, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The “square ring”, as described in claim 9, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim.
The “camera decoration area”, as described in claims 11, 12 and 13, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The “ring-shaped inner side”, as described in claims 12 and 13, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show
The “elastic feed piece”, as described in the specification, ¶ 7.
The “feed source”, as described in the specification, ¶ 7.
The “first ground terminal”, as described in the specification, ¶ 8.
The “second ground terminal”, as described in the specification, ¶ 8.
The “Inductor”, as described in the specification, ¶ 9.
The “Capacitor”, as described in the specification, ¶ 10.
The “one widened portion”, as described in the specification, ¶ 11.
The “width”, as described in the specification, ¶ 11 and 12.
The “non-widened portion”, as described in the specification, ¶ 11.
The “one narrowed portion”, as described in the specification, ¶ 12.
The “non-narrowed portion”, as described in the specification, ¶ 12.
The “square ring”, as described in the specification, ¶ 156.
The “camera decoration area”, as described in the specification, ¶ 17.
The “ring-shaped inner side”, as described in the specification, ¶ 19.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
The drawings are objected to because:
The unlabeled “elastic feed piece”, as described in the specification, ¶ 7.
The unlabeled “feed source”, as described in the specification, ¶ 7.
The unlabeled “first ground terminal”, as described in the specification, ¶ 8.
The unlabeled “second ground terminal”, as described in the specification, ¶ 8.
The unlabeled “Inductor”, as described in the specification, ¶ 9.
The unlabeled “Capacitor”, as described in the specification, ¶ 10.
The unlabeled “one widened portion”, as described in the specification, ¶ 11.
The unlabeled “width”, as described in the specification, ¶ 11 and 12.
The unlabeled “non-widened portion”, as described in the specification, ¶ 11.
The unlabeled “one narrowed portion”, as described in the specification, ¶ 12.
The unlabeled “non-narrowed portion”, as described in the specification, ¶ 12.
The unlabeled “outer diameter”, as described in the specification, ¶ 14.
The unlabeled “inner diameter”, as described in the specification, ¶ 14.
The unlabeled “square ring”, as described in the specification, ¶ 156.
The unlabeled “camera decoration area”, as described in the specification, ¶ 17.
The unlabeled “ring-shaped inner side”, as described in the specification, ¶ 19.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The unlabeled “elastic feed piece”, as described in the specification, ¶ 7.
The unlabeled “feed source”, as described in the specification, ¶ 7.
The unlabeled “first ground terminal”, as described in the specification, ¶ 8.
The unlabeled “second ground terminal”, as described in the specification, ¶ 8.
The unlabeled “Inductor”, as described in the specification, ¶ 9.
The unlabeled “Capacitor”, as described in the specification, ¶ 10.
The unlabeled “one widened portion”, as described in the specification, ¶ 11.
The unlabeled “width”, as described in the specification, ¶ 11 and 12.
The unlabeled “non-widened portion”, as described in the specification, ¶ 11.
The unlabeled “one narrowed portion”, as described in the specification, ¶ 12.
The unlabeled “non-narrowed portion”, as described in the specification, ¶ 12.
The unlabeled “outer diameter”, as described in the specification, ¶ 14.
The unlabeled “inner diameter”, as described in the specification, ¶ 14.
The unlabeled “square ring”, as described in the specification, ¶ 156.
The unlabeled “camera decoration area”, as described in the specification, ¶ 17.
The unlabeled “ring-shaped inner side”, as described in the specification, ¶ 19.
Character “8”, as shown in Figure 4, is not described in the specifications.
Character “H”, as shown in Figure 6, is not described in the specifications.
When there are drawings, there shall be a brief description of the several views of the drawings and the detailed description of the invention shall refer to the different views by specifying the numbers of the figures and to the different parts by use of reference letters or numerals (preferably the latter). (see MPEP 37 CFR 1.74).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20180004247 by Qing Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al. teaches: An antenna structure (slot antenna, Abstract; fig. 1-6), comprising an antenna body (¶ 39, 46, 57; fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) and a dielectric layer (fig. 5 [PCB] annotated hereinbelow), wherein
the antenna body (¶ 39, 46, 57; fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) is attached to the dielectric layer (fig. 5 [PCB] annotated hereinbelow);
the antenna body (¶ 39, 46, 57; fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) is shaped like a ring (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow), and comprises a feed point (feed point, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [106] annotated hereinbelow), a gap (gap/feeding channels, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [105/501-502] annotated hereinbelow), a first ground point (ground point, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [301] annotated hereinbelow), and a second ground point (ground point, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [301] annotated hereinbelow); and
the gap (gap/feeding channels, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [105/501-502] annotated hereinbelow) is located between the feed point (feed point, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [106] annotated hereinbelow) and the second ground point (ground point, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [301] annotated hereinbelow), and the gap (gap/feeding channels, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [105/501-502] annotated hereinbelow) extends toward the first ground point (ground point, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [301] annotated hereinbelow; As shown in Figure 5, the gap (105) extends (clockwise/counterclockwise) toward the first ground point (301); in addition, the feed channel (501), which is placed in a slot, extends toward the first ground point (301)).
Regarding claim 6, Liu et al. teaches further comprising at least one widened portion (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow), wherein a width (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of each of the at least one widened portion (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) is greater than a width (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) at a non-widened portion (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of the antenna body (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow).
Regarding claim 7, Liu et al. teaches further comprising at least one narrowed portion (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow), wherein a width (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of each of the at least one narrowed portion (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) is less than a width (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) at a non-narrowed portion (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of the antenna body (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow).
Regarding claim 8, Liu et al. teaches wherein the gap (gap/feeding channels, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [105/501-502] annotated hereinbelow) extends from an outer diameter (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) of the antenna body (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) toward an inner diameter (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) of the antenna body (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow), and then extends toward the first ground point (ground point, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [301] annotated hereinbelow; As shown in Figure 5, the gap (105) extends (clockwise/counterclockwise) toward the first ground point (301); in addition, the feed channel (501), which is placed in a slot, extends toward the first ground point (301)).
Regarding claim 9, Liu et al. teaches wherein the antenna body (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) is shaped like a circular ring (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) or a square ring.
Examiner’s Note regarding the other limitation in the claim, “wherein the antenna body is shaped like a square ring”, is recited as an alternative limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180004247 by Qing Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu et al.) in view of US 20140266920 by Allen M. Tran et al. (hereinafter Tran et al.).
Regarding claim 2, Liu et al. does not explicitly teach further comprising an elastic feed piece, wherein the feed point is connected to a feed source through the elastic feed piece.
However, Tran et al. teaches further comprising an elastic feed piece (the feed may be formed from flexible material, ¶ 39, 37; fig. 5 [185] annotated hereinbelow), wherein the feed point (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) is connected to a feed source (feed, ¶ 37; fig. 5 [185] annotated hereinbelow) through the elastic feed piece (the feed may be formed from flexible material, ¶ 39, 37; fig. 5 [185] annotated hereinbelow).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include further comprising an elastic feed piece, wherein the feed point is connected to a feed source through the elastic feed piece as taught by Tran et al. in the antenna of Liu et al. for the benefit of maintaining uninterrupted power delivery under vibration and/or deformation conditions.
Regarding claim 3, Liu et al. does not explicitly teach further comprising a first elastic ground piece and a second elastic ground piece, wherein the first ground point is connected to a first ground terminal through the first elastic ground piece; and the second ground point is connected to a second ground terminal through the second elastic ground piece.
However, Tran et al. teaches teach further comprising a first elastic ground piece and a second elastic ground piece (the ground contacts may be formed from flexible material, ¶ 39, 37; fig. 5 [171, 172] annotated hereinbelow), wherein the first ground point (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) is connected to a first ground terminal (fig. 5 [171] annotated hereinbelow) through the first elastic ground piece (the ground contact may be formed from flexible material, ¶ 39, 37; fig. 5 [171] annotated hereinbelow); and the second ground point (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) is connected to a second ground terminal (fig. 5 [172] annotated hereinbelow) through the second elastic ground piece (the ground contact may be formed from flexible material, ¶ 39, 37; fig. 5 [172] annotated hereinbelow).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include further comprising a first elastic ground piece and a second elastic ground piece, wherein the first ground point is connected to a first ground terminal through the first elastic ground piece; and the second ground point is connected to a second ground terminal through the second elastic ground piece as taught by Tran et al. in the antenna of Liu et al. for the benefit of maintaining a continuous ground connection under vibration and/or deformation conditions.
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180004247 by Qing Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu et al.) in view of US 20250004424 by Wei Su et al. (hereinafter Su et al.).
Regarding claim 4, Liu et al. does not explicitly teach further comprising an inductor, wherein at least one of the first ground point and the second ground point is grounded through the inductor.
However, Su et al. teaches further comprising an inductor (inductor, ¶ 225; fig. 23 [343]), wherein at least one of the first ground point (first ground point, ¶ 225; fig. 21, 23 [311]) and the second ground point is grounded through the inductor (the first ground point (311) is grounded through the inductor (343), ¶ 225; fig. 23 [343]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include further comprising an inductor, wherein at least one of the first ground point and the second ground point is grounded through the inductor as taught by Su et al. in the antenna of Liu et al. for the benefit of creating a filter that allows the passage of high-frequency signals (Su et al., ¶ 42).
Examiner’s Note regarding the other limitation in the claim, “the second ground point is grounded through the inductor”, is recited as an alternative limitation.
Regarding claim 5, Liu et al. does not explicitly teach further comprising a capacitor, wherein at least one of the first ground point and the second ground point is grounded through the capacitor.
However, Su et al. teaches further comprising a capacitor (capacitor, ¶ 225; fig. 23 [341]), wherein at least one of the first ground point (first ground point, ¶ 225; fig. 21, 23 [311]) and the second ground point is grounded through the capacitor (the first ground point (311) is grounded through the capacitor (341), ¶ 225; fig. 23 [341]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include further comprising a capacitor, wherein at least one of the first ground point and the second ground point is grounded through the capacitor as taught by Su et al. in the antenna of Liu et al. for the benefit of creating a filter that allows the passage of low-frequency signals (Su et al., ¶ 42).
Examiner’s Note regarding the other limitation in the claim, “the second ground point is grounded through the capacitor”, is recited as an alternative limitation.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180004247 by Qing Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu et al.) in view of US 20210239847 by Abu T. Sayem et al. (hereinafter Sayem et al.).
Regarding claim 10, Liu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein an operating band of the antenna structure is configured to cover a Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz band and a Wi-Fi 5 GHz band.
However, Sayem et al. wherein an operating band (frequency band, ¶ 2; IEEE 802.11 Wi-Fi standards, ¶ 36-37) of the antenna structure (fig. 3) is configured to cover a Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz band (IEEE 802.11 Wi-Fi standards operating at 2.4 GHz, ¶ 36) and a Wi-Fi 5 GHz band (IEEE 802.11 Wi-Fi standards operating at 5 GHz, ¶ 37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein an operating band of the antenna structure is configured to cover a Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz band and a Wi-Fi 5 GHz band as taught by Sayem et al. in the antenna of Liu et al. for the benefit of transmitting and receiving signals in two different frequencies and ranges (Sayem et al., ¶ 36-37).
Claim(s) 11-13, 15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180004247 by Qing Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu et al.) in view of US 20240186701 by Xiaoyong Dong et al. (hereinafter Dong et al.).
Regarding claim 11, Liu et al. teaches: An electronic device (wearable device, Abstract fig. 1-6), comprising:
an antenna structure (slot antenna, Abstract; fig. 1-6), wherein the antenna structure (slot antenna, Abstract; fig. 1-6) comprises an antenna body (¶ 39, 46, 57; fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) and a dielectric layer (fig. 5 [PCB] annotated hereinbelow), wherein
the antenna body (¶ 39, 46, 57; fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) is attached to the dielectric layer (fig. 5 [PCB] annotated hereinbelow),
the antenna body (¶ 39, 46, 57; fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) is shaped like a ring (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow), and comprises a feed point (feed point, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [106] annotated hereinbelow), a gap (gap/feeding channels, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [105/501-502] annotated hereinbelow), a first ground point (ground point, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [301] annotated hereinbelow), and a second ground point (ground point, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [301] annotated hereinbelow); and
the gap (gap/feeding channels, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [105/501-502] annotated hereinbelow) is located between the feed point (feed point, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [106] annotated hereinbelow) and the second ground point (ground point, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [301] annotated hereinbelow), and the gap (gap/feeding channels, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [105/501-502] annotated hereinbelow) extends toward the first ground point (ground point, ¶ 57; fig. 5 [301] annotated hereinbelow; As shown in Figure 5, the gap (105) extends (clockwise/counterclockwise) toward the first ground point (301); in addition, the feed channel (501), which is placed in a slot, extends toward the first ground point (301)).
Liu et al. does not explicitly teach a camera decoration member configured to cover a camera decoration area of the electronic device; and an antenna structure located in the camera decoration area.
However, Dong et al. teaches a camera decoration member (decorative lens, ¶ 71; fig. 6 [80]) configured to cover a camera decoration area (camera bracket, ¶ 60; fig. 2, 4-5, 8-11 [20]) of the electronic device (electronic device, ¶ 6, 31, 33-34, 37-40; fig. 2, 4-5, 8-11); and an antenna structure (NFC antenna, ¶ 46, 48; fig. 2-11 [30]) located in the camera decoration area (camera bracket, ¶ 48; fig. 2, 4-5, 8-11 [20]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a camera decoration member configured to cover a camera decoration area of the electronic device; and an antenna structure located in the camera decoration area as taught by Dong et al. in the antenna of Liu et al. for the benefit of allowing radiation to propagate without being obstructed by the frame (Dong et al., ¶ 8-9).
Regarding claim 12, Liu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a flash is further arranged in the camera decoration area of the electronic device; and
the flash is arranged on a ring-shaped inner side of the antenna body.
However, Dong et al. teaches wherein a flash (camera flash, ¶ 60) is further arranged in the camera decoration area (camera bracket, ¶ 60; fig. 5 [20] annotated hereinbelow) of the electronic device (electronic device, ¶ 6, 31, 33-34, 37-40; fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow); and the flash (camera flash, ¶ 60) is arranged on a ring-shaped inner side (the light hole (K1) is configured to mount the camera flash, ¶ 61, ll. 6-8; fig. 5 [K1] annotated hereinbelow) of the antenna body (¶ 74; fig. 5 [31, 32] annotated hereinbelow; As shown in Figure 5, the camera flash, mounted on the light hole (K1), is located on an inner side of the ring-shaped NFC antenna).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein a flash is further arranged in the camera decoration area of the electronic device; and the flash is arranged on a ring-shaped inner side of the antenna body as taught by Dong et al. in the antenna of Liu et al. for the benefit of improving the antenna's radiation performance (Dong et al., ¶ 23).
Regarding claim 13, Liu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a camera is further arranged in the camera decoration area of the electronic device; and
the camera is arranged on a ring-shaped inner side of the antenna body.
However, Dong et al. teaches wherein a camera (camera, ¶ 60) is further arranged in the camera decoration area (camera bracket, ¶ 60; fig. 5 [20] annotated hereinbelow) of the electronic device (electronic device, ¶ 6, 31, 33-34, 37-40; fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow); and the camera (camera, ¶ 60) is arranged on a ring-shaped inner side (the light hole (K1) is configured to mount the camera, ¶ 61, ll. 3-4; fig. 5 [K1] annotated hereinbelow) of the antenna body (¶ 74; fig. 5 [31, 32] annotated hereinbelow; As shown in Figure 5, the camera, mounted on the light hole (K1), is located on an inner side of the ring-shaped NFC antenna).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein a camera is further arranged in the camera decoration area of the electronic device; and the camera is arranged on a ring-shaped inner side of the antenna body as taught by Dong et al. in the antenna of Liu et al. for the benefit of saving space and thus being able to install one or more cameras if necessary (Dong et al., ¶ 27).
Regarding claim 15, Liu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the antenna structure further comprises an elastic feed piece, wherein
the feed point is connected to a feed source through the elastic feed piece.
However, Dong et al. teaches wherein the antenna structure (NFC antenna, ¶ 46, 48; fig. 2-11 [30]) further comprises an elastic feed piece (flexible printed circuit (FPC), ¶ 66), wherein the feed point (feed point, ¶ 65) is connected to a feed source (radio frequency module, ¶ 65) through the elastic feed piece (flexible printed circuit (FPC), ¶ 66).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein the antenna structure further comprises an elastic feed piece, wherein the feed point is connected to a feed source through the elastic feed piece as taught by Dong et al. in the antenna of Liu et al. for the benefit of maintaining uninterrupted power delivery under vibration and/or deformation conditions.
Regarding claim 19, Liu et al. teaches wherein the antenna structure (slot antenna, Abstract; fig. 1-6) further comprises at least one widened portion (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow), wherein a width (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of each of the at least one widened portion (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) is greater than a width (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) at a non-widened portion (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of the antenna body (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow).
Regarding claim 20, Liu et al. teaches wherein the antenna structure (slot antenna, Abstract; fig. 1-6) further comprises at least one narrowed portion (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow), wherein a width (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of each of the at least one narrowed portion (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) is less than a width (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) at a non-narrowed portion (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow) of the antenna body (fig. 1 annotated hereinbelow).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180004247 by Qing Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu et al.) in view of US 20240186701 by Xiaoyong Dong et al. (hereinafter Dong et al.) and in further view of US 20230121035 by Sewoong Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim et al.).
Regarding claim 14, Liu et al. teaches further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB, ¶ 40; fig. 3 [103]), wherein
the feed point (feed point, ¶ 57; fig. 3 [106]) is connected to a feed source (battery, ¶ 34, 42; fig. 3 [104]) on the printed circuit board (PCB, ¶ 40; fig. 3 [103]).
Liu et al. does not explicitly teach the first ground point is connected to a first ground terminal on the printed circuit board; and the second ground point is connected to a second ground terminal on the printed circuit board.
However, Kim et al. teaches the first ground point (¶ 90; fig. 8 [P2] annotated hereinbelow) is connected to a first ground terminal (¶ 90; fig. 8 [120a] annotated hereinbelow) on the printed circuit board (printed circuit board (PCB), ¶ 7); and the second ground point (¶ 90; fig. 8 [P1] annotated hereinbelow) is connected to a second ground terminal (¶ 90; fig. 8 [160a] annotated hereinbelow) on the printed circuit board (printed circuit board (PCB), ¶ 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the first ground point is connected to a first ground terminal on the printed circuit board; and the second ground point is connected to a second ground terminal on the printed circuit board as taught by Kim et al. in the antenna of Liu et al. and Dong et al. for the benefit of having a return path for the current.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180004247 by Qing Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu et al.) in view of US 20240186701 by Xiaoyong Dong et al. (hereinafter Dong et al.) and in further view of US 20140266920 by Allen M. Tran et al. (hereinafter Tran et al.).
Regarding claim 16, Liu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the antenna structure further comprises a first elastic ground piece and a second elastic ground piece, wherein
the first ground point is connected to a first ground terminal through the first elastic ground piece; and
the second ground point is connected to a second ground terminal through the second elastic ground piece.
However, Tran et al. teaches teach wherein the antenna structure (fig. 5 [100] annotated hereinbelow) further comprises a first elastic ground piece and a second elastic ground piece (the ground contacts may be formed from flexible material, ¶ 39, 37; fig. 5 [171, 172] annotated hereinbelow), wherein the first ground point (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) is connected to a first ground terminal (fig. 5 [171] annotated hereinbelow) through the first elastic ground piece (the ground contact may be formed from flexible material, ¶ 39, 37; fig. 5 [171] annotated hereinbelow); and the second ground point (fig. 5 annotated hereinbelow) is connected to a second ground terminal (fig. 5 [172] annotated hereinbelow) through the second elastic ground piece (the ground contact may be formed from flexible material, ¶ 39, 37; fig. 5 [172] annotated hereinbelow).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein the antenna structure further comprises a first elastic ground piece and a second elastic ground piece, wherein the first ground point is connected to a first ground terminal through the first elastic ground piece; and the second ground point is connected to a second ground terminal through the second elastic ground piece as taught by Tran et al. in the antenna of Liu et al. and Dong et al. for the benefit of maintaining a continuous ground connection under vibration and/or deformation conditions.
Claim(s) 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180004247 by Qing Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu et al.) in view of US 20240186701 by Xiaoyong Dong et al. (hereinafter Dong et al.) and in further view of US 20250004424 by Wei Su et al. (hereinafter Su et al.).
Regarding claim 17, Liu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the antenna structure further comprises an inductor, wherein at least one of the first ground point and the second ground point is grounded through the inductor.
However, Su et al. teaches wherein the antenna structure (antenna structure, ¶ 224; fig. 21 [300]) further comprises an inductor (inductor, ¶ 225; fig. 23 [343]), wherein at least one of the first ground point (first ground point, ¶ 225; fig. 21, 23 [311]) and the second ground point is grounded through the inductor (the first ground point (311) is grounded through the inductor (343), ¶ 225; fig. 23 [343]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein the antenna structure further comprises an inductor, wherein at least one of the first ground point and the second ground point is grounded through the inductor as taught by Su et al. in the antenna of Liu et al. and Dong et al. for the benefit of creating a filter that allows the passage of high-frequency signals (Su et al., ¶ 42).
Examiner’s Note regarding the other limitation in the claim, “the second ground point is grounded through the inductor”, is recited as an alternative limitation.
Regarding claim 18, Liu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the antenna structure further comprises a capacitor, wherein at least one of the first ground point and the second ground point is grounded through the capacitor.
However, Su et al. teaches wherein the antenna structure (antenna structure, ¶ 224; fig. 21 [300]) further comprises a capacitor (capacitor, ¶ 225; fig. 23 [341]), wherein at least one of the first ground point (first ground point, ¶ 225; fig. 21, 23 [311]) and the second ground point is grounded through the capacitor (the first ground point (311) is grounded through the capacitor (341), ¶ 225; fig. 23 [341]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include further comprising a capacitor, wherein at least one of the first ground point and the second ground point is grounded through the capacitor as taught by Su et al. in the antenna of Liu et al. and Dong et al. for the benefit of creating a filter that allows the passage of low-frequency signals (Su et al., ¶ 42).
Examiner’s Note regarding the other limitation in the claim, “the second ground point is grounded through the capacitor”, is recited as an alternative limitation.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US-20250226572 by Sangha Lee et al.
US-20230208015 by Chih-Wei Hsu et al.
US-11632618- by Jui-Hsien Chien et al.
US-11460587 by Abu T. Sayem et al.
US-10944158 by Abu T. Sayem et al.
US-10734731 by Mikko Sepänniitty et al.
US-20200103833- by Kazunori Kita et al.
US-10559874 by Ioannis Tzanidis et al.
US-20180358707 by Nima Jamaly et al.
US-20170214422 by Youngsoo Na et al.
US-20240322439 by Hang Meng et al.
US-20220115774 by Brandon Potens et al.
US-20230032316 by Mathias Hintermann et al.
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/JOSE A. MIRANDA GONZALEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845