DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Claims 10-18 recite a motor comprising the centrifugal fan wherein the centrifugal fan is connected to the rotating shaft of the motor via bolts. However, the drawings do not show a motor, rotating shaft and bolts connected to the rotating shaft and the centrifugal fan. Therefore, the abovementioned features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10-18 recite “the rotating shaft” without proper antecedent bases.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (Chinese patent document CN 101846087B).
As per claim 1, Huang discloses a centrifugal fan, comprising: a centrifugal fan body (10; figure 1) comprising a plurality of main air ducts (defined by discs 11 and blades 15; figure 1) circumferentially arranged around the rotation axis of the centrifugal fan; an air duct ring (20) comprising a plurality of extended air ducts circumferentially arranged around the rotation axis of the centrifugal fan (as shown; figure 1); the air duct ring is configured to sleeve onto the centrifugal fan body so that the extended air ducts and the main air ducts are connected one-to-one (as shown; figures 1, 2, 5).
As per claim 4, Huang discloses the centrifugal fan according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the air duct ring (20; figure 1) comprises an upper panel (31), a lower panel (41), and a plurality of partition plates (23) between the upper panel and the lower panel (as shown; figure 1), wherein any two adjacent partition plates, together with the upper panel and the lower panel, form the extended air ducts (as shown; figure 1).
As per claim 8, Huang discloses the centrifugal fan according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the main air duct and the extended air duct are connected to form a curved duct (as shown; figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
As per claim 9, Huang discloses the centrifugal fan according to claim 1. Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the centrifugal fan body comprises a plurality of fan blades, with a diameter of 250-288 mm and an outlet angle of 120-130 degrees. Huang recognizes the diameter and the outlet angle to be result effective variable in terms of determining the required pressure and the efficiency (see machine translation paragraphs [0038], [0043]). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the diameter of the fan to be within 250-288 mm and the outlet angle of the fan to be 120-130 degrees for required pressure and efficiency because it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 10, 13, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Kegg (U.S. Patent No. 6,666,660).
As per claims 10, 13, 17 and 18, Huang discloses the motor comprising the centrifugal fan according to claims 1, 4, 8 and 9. Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the centrifugal fan is connected to the rotating shaft of the motor via bolts.
Kegg (U.S. Patent No. 6,666,660) is related prior art in that it deals with a centrifugal fan. Kegg teaches wherein the centrifugal fan is bolted to motor-shaft via bolt (column 5, lines 7-9). Therefore, in order to mount the centrifugal fan to the motor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Huang to incorporate Kegg’s bolted connection to the shaft as it would allow the fan to be mounted to the motor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5-7, 11, 12, and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 contains allowable subject matter wherein the centrifugal fan body and the air duct ring have a plurality of positioning slots and fixing brackets, respectively, arranged at opposite edges, wherein the fixing brackets correspond one-to-one with the positioning slots for connection.
No relevant prior art of record sufficiently teaches the allowable subject matter of claim 2 in such a way that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior arts to create the claimed invention.
Claims 3, 5-7 and 11, 12, 14-16 also contain allowable subject matter by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bentley (U.S. Patent No. 1,462,592) teaches a centrifugal blower having ducted blades with sleeved ducted passages.
Kim (U.S. Patent No. 10,465,696) teaches a centrifugal fan having an inner fan portion and an outer fan portion surrounding the inner fan portion.
Lin (U.S. Patent No. 12,055,157) also teaches a centrifugal fan having an inner fan portion and an outer fan portion surrounding the inner fan portion.
/SANG K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745