DETAILED ACTION
The non-final office action is responsive to the preliminary amendment to U.S. Patent Application 19/143,250 on 06/25/2025. Claims 1-6, 8-17, 19-20, 25, and 28 are pending; claims 1-6, 8-17, 19-20, 25, and 28 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/25/2025 was filed before the mailing date of the non-final office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 15-17, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2026/0230381 A1 to ALI et al. (hereinafter ALI) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2026/0032427 A1 to LADDU et al. (hereinafter LADDU).
As to claim 1, ALI teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (terminal device or user equipment, ALI, [0057], Abstract), comprising:
a memory (the device 1000 includes one or more processors 1010, one or more memories 1040 may couple to the processor 1010, ALI, [0203]-[0209]); and
one or more processors , coupled to the memory (the device 1000 includes one or more processors 1010, one or more memories 1040 may couple to the processor 1010, ALI, [0203]-[0209]), configured to:
transmit information indicating whether the UE supports a set of features for artificial intelligence or machine learning (AI/ML) a terminal device 110 sends (430), to a first core network device 130, a request 410 for AI/ML model registration or identification. The request 410 comprises at least one AI/ML model capability of the terminal device 110, ALI, [0117]-[0122], [0123]-[0143], [0144]-[0154]); and
ALI does not explicitly disclose AI/ML based beam prediction
LADDU discloses AI/ML based beam prediction (When more than one model can be used/selected for the model inference at the UE side for a given scenario, the UE capability reporting (UE features) will consider the following: the UE indicates the number of ML models (e.g., X=4, 6, 8) that UE can support for the same functionality (e.g., CSI compression with two-sided model, beam prediction in spatial domain with one-sided model, positioning estimated in NLOS scenario with one-sided model), LADDU, [0058]-[0087]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize UE capability reporting as taught by LADDU to modify the device of ALI in order to explore the benefits of augmenting the air-interface with features enabling improved support of AI/ML-based algorithms for enhanced performance and/or reduced complexity/overhead.
ALI-LADDU discloses
perform a communication based at least in part on the information indicating whether the UE supports the set of features (At 562, the UE 502 may configure ML functionality according to the configuration/selection/activation received by the gNB 504. At 590A, the UE 502 may send RRC reconfiguration complete message 564 to the gNB 504. At 590B, the gNB 504 may receive the message 564, ALI, [0144]-[0154], [0117]-[0122], [0123]-[0143]).
As to claim 2, ALI-LADDU discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the set of features includes at least one of: one or more features relating to spatial domain beam prediction, one or more features relating to time domain beam prediction, or a combination thereof (LADDU, [0058]-[0087]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize UE capability reporting as taught by LADDU to modify the device of ALI-LADDU in order to explore the benefits of augmenting the air-interface with features enabling improved support of AI/ML-based algorithms for enhanced performance and/or reduced complexity/overhead.
As to claim 3, ALI-LADDU discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the information indicating whether the UE supports the set of features is for functionality-based lifecycle management of the AI/ML based beam prediction (LADDU, [0058]-[0087]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize UE capability reporting as taught by LADDU to modify the device of ALI-LADDU in order to explore the benefits of augmenting the air-interface with features enabling improved support of AI/ML-based algorithms for enhanced performance and/or reduced complexity/overhead.
As to claim 4, ALI-LADDU discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the information indicating whether the UE supports the set of features comprises capability information (LADDU, [0058]-[0087]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize UE capability reporting as taught by LADDU to modify the device of ALI-LADDU in order to explore the benefits of augmenting the air-interface with features enabling improved support of AI/ML-based algorithms for enhanced performance and/or reduced complexity/overhead.
As to claims 15-17, and 28, the same reasoning applies mutatis mutandis to the corresponding network node claims 15-17 and method claim 28. Accordingly, claims 15-17, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALI in view of LADDU.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8-14, 19-20, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art references on record do not disclose the claim limitations identified above.
Conclusion
/RUOLEI ZONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449 9/11/2026