DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 – 7, 10 – 11, 13, 18 – 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kennell et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2014/0278683).
Regarding Claim 1, Kennell et al. teach a display method, comprising:
displaying a resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114), wherein the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114) comprises at least one division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), the at least one division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) divides the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114) into a plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) corresponding to a plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual scheduled interviews. Paragraph 115) to be allocated, each sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) comprises a timeline (Seen in Figures 3A – 3D), and a plurality of sub-periods (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual steps of the time duration (15 minutes). Paragraph 87) corresponding to a plurality of timelines are consecutive periods (Seen in Figures 3A – 3D); and
in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on the at least one division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) corresponding to the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual scheduled interviews. Paragraph 115) to be allocated in the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114), to adjust (Seen in Figures 3C – 3D) the sub-periods (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual steps of the time duration (15 minutes). Paragraph 87) corresponding to the sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115).
Regarding Claim 5, Kennell et al. teach the method of claim 1 (See Above), wherein the sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) further comprises resource allocation information (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled but is the information on the timeline. Paragraph 114); and the method further comprises:
after adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) in the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114), updating (Seen in Figure 3D) resource allocation information (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled but is the information on the timeline. Paragraph 114) in the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115).
Regarding Claim 6, Kennell et al. teach the method of claim 5 (See Above), further comprising:
in response to an edition operation on the resource allocation information (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled but is the information on the timeline. Paragraph 114) in a sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115), adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) a timeline of the sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) corresponding to the resource allocation information (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled but is the information on the timeline. Paragraph 114).
Regarding Claim 7, Kennell et al. teach the method of claim 1 (See Above), wherein for a second sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) of the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115), the method further comprises:
in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on a timeline in the second sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115), displaying a second division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114);
in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on the second division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), dividing the second sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) into two sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115).
Regarding Claim 10, Kennell et al. teach the method of claim 1 (See Above), wherein the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114) is a workforce allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled but is the information to the right of the timeline. Paragraph 114), the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) corresponding to the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual scheduled interviews. Paragraph 115) to be allocated are work shift regions corresponding to a plurality of workforce teams, and the sub-period (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual steps of the time duration (15 minutes). Paragraph 87) is a work shift time period (Seen in Figures 3A – 3D).
Regarding Claim 11, Kennell et al. teach the method of claim 5 (See Above), wherein the resource allocation information (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled but is the information on the timeline. Paragraph 114) is work shift information (Figures 3A – 3D. Paragraphs 118 – 119), and the work shift information comprises time period (Figures 3A – 3D. Paragraphs 118 – 119), fee (Figures 3A – 3D, Element type. Paragraphs 118 – 119) and work shift requirement information (Figures 3A – 3D. Paragraphs 118 – 119).
Regarding Claim 13, Kennell et al. teach an electronic device, comprising: a processor (Figure 7, Element 710. Paragraph 148) and a memory (Figure 7, Element 718. Paragraph 145); the memory (Figure 7, Element 718. Paragraph 145) stores computer executable instructions; the processor (Figure 7, Element 710. Paragraph 148) executes the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory (Figure 7, Element 718. Paragraph 145), to cause the processor (Figure 7, Element 710. Paragraph 148) to perform acts comprising:
displaying a resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114), wherein the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114) comprises at least one division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), the at least one division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) divides the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114) into a plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) corresponding to a plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual scheduled interviews. Paragraph 115) to be allocated, each sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) comprises a timeline (Seen in Figures 3A – 3D), and a plurality of sub-periods (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual steps of the time duration (15 minutes). Paragraph 87) corresponding to a plurality of timelines are consecutive periods (Seen in Figures 3A – 3D); and
in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on the at least one division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) corresponding to the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual scheduled interviews. Paragraph 115) to be allocated in the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114), to adjust (Seen in Figures 3C – 3D) the sub-periods (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual steps of the time duration (15 minutes). Paragraph 87) corresponding to the sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115).
Regarding Claim 18, Kennell et al. teach the electronic device of claim 13 (See Above), wherein the sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) further comprises resource allocation information (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled but is the information on the timeline. Paragraph 114); and the acts further comprise:
after adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) in the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114), updating (Seen in Figure 3D) resource allocation information (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled but is the information on the timeline. Paragraph 114) in the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115).
Regarding Claim 19, Kennell et al. teach the electronic device of claim 18 (See Above), wherein the acts further comprise:
in response to an edition operation on the resource allocation information (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled but is the information on the timeline. Paragraph 114) in a sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115), adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) a timeline of the sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) corresponding to the resource allocation information (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled but is the information on the timeline. Paragraph 114).
Regarding Claim 20, Kennell et al. teach the electronic device of claim 13 (See Above), wherein for a second sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) of the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115), the acts further comprise:
in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on a timeline in the second sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115), displaying a second division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114);
in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on the second division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), dividing the second sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) into two sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115).
Regarding Claim 22, Kennell et al. teach a computer-readable storage medium (Paragraph 145) storing computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a processor (Figure 7, Element 710. Paragraph 148), perform acts comprising:
displaying a resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114), wherein the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114) comprises at least one division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), the at least one division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) divides the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114) into a plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) corresponding to a plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual scheduled interviews. Paragraph 115) to be allocated, each sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) comprises a timeline (Seen in Figures 3A – 3D), and a plurality of sub-periods (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual steps of the time duration (15 minutes). Paragraph 87) corresponding to a plurality of timelines are consecutive periods (Seen in Figures 3A – 3D); and
in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on the at least one division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) corresponding to the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual scheduled interviews. Paragraph 115) to be allocated in the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114), to adjust (Seen in Figures 3C – 3D) the sub-periods (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual steps of the time duration (15 minutes). Paragraph 87) corresponding to the sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 4, 8 – 9, 15 – 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennell et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2014/0278683) in view of Jaeger (U.S. PG Pub 2004/0027371).
Regarding Claim 2, Kennell et al. teach the method of claim 1 (See Above), wherein for any first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) of the at least one division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on the at least one division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) corresponding to the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual scheduled interviews. Paragraph 115) to be allocated in the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114), to adjust the sub-periods (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual steps of the time duration (15 minutes). Paragraph 87) corresponding to the sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) comprises:
in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114); and
in response to a drag operation (Figure 3D, Element dragging. Paragraphs 118 - 119) on the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) first sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) on both sides of the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114).
Kennell et al. is silent with regards to in response to a touch operation displaying a first time window, wherein the first time window comprises a time instant corresponding to the first division line.
Jaeger teach displaying a first time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51), wherein the first time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51) comprises a time instant corresponding to the first division line (Figure 5, Element 7. Paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the scheduler of Kennell et al. with the time window of Jaeger. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kennell et al. with the teachings of Jaeger is to show the user the position of the cursor along a timeline, as taught by Jaeger (Paragraph 51).
Regarding Claim 3, Kennell et al. in view of Jaeger teach the method of claim 2 (See Above). Kennell et al. teach wherein in response to a drag on the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) first sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) on both sides of the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) comprises:
in response to a drag operation (Figure 3D, Element dragging. Paragraphs 118 - 119) on the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), moving the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), and adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) a timeline of a first sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) to adjust a sub-period (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual steps of the time duration (15 minutes). Paragraph 87) corresponding to a group to be allocated in the first sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115); and
in response to a release operation on the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), ceasing the moving of the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), and the adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) of the timeline of the first sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115).
Kennell et al. is silent with regards to updating a time instant of the first time window; and in response to a release operation ceasing the displaying of the first time window.
Jaeger teach updating a time instant of the first time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51); and in response to a release operation ceasing (Paragraph 51. Jaeger discloses “Referring to FIG. 5 when the mouse cursor 16 is floated over the play cursor 7, a parameter window 15 appears for the play cursor.” Therefore, when the mouse cursor is removed (release operation) then the parameter window will not appear.) the displaying of the first time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the scheduler of Kennell et al. with the time window of Jaeger. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kennell et al. with the teachings of Jaeger is to show the user the position of the cursor along a timeline, as taught by Jaeger (Paragraph 51).
Regarding Claim 4, Kennell et al. in view of Jaeger teach the method of claim 3 (See Above). Kennell et al. teach wherein in response to a release operation on the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), ceasing the moving of the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) comprises:
in response that the time instant corresponding to the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) is on an hour or half an hour (Paragraph 87), ceasing the moving of the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114); and
in response that the time instant corresponding to the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) is a time instant other than a time instant on an hour or half an hour, moving the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) to a position corresponding to the time instant on an hour or half an hour (Paragraph 87. Kennell et al. discloses “Regarding the modulo constraint, most meetings start on the top of the hour, or on the half-hour. If all of the durations of the various meetings are multiples of 30 minutes, this constraint will require that the interview start on the half hour.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Kennell et al. teach the method of claim 7 (See Above), wherein in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on a timeline in the second sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115), displaying a second division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) comprises:
in response to the touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on the timeline in the second sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115), displaying the second division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) at a position corresponding to the touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144).
Kennell et al. is silent with regards to displaying a second time window, the second time window comprising a time instant corresponding to the second division line.
Jaeger teach displaying a second time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51), the second time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51) comprising a time instant corresponding to the second division line (Figure 5, Element 7. Paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the scheduler of Kennell et al. with the time window of Jaeger. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kennell et al. with the teachings of Jaeger is to show the user the position of the cursor along a timeline, as taught by Jaeger (Paragraph 51).
Regarding Claim 9, Kennell et al. teach the method of claim 7 (See Above), wherein in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on the second division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), dividing the second sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) into two sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) comprises:
in response to a drag operation (Figure 3D, Element dragging. Paragraphs 118 - 119) on the second division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), moving the second division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114); and
in response to a release operation on the second division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), and adding a division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) at a position corresponding to the release operation to divide the second sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) into two sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115).
Kennell et al. is silent with regards to updating a time instant of the second time window; and in response to a release operation ceasing the displaying of the second time window.
Jaeger teach updating a time instant of the second time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51); and in response to a release operation ceasing (Paragraph 51. Jaeger discloses “Referring to FIG. 5 when the mouse cursor 16 is floated over the play cursor 7, a parameter window 15 appears for the play cursor.” Therefore, when the mouse cursor is removed (release operation) then the parameter window will not appear.) the displaying of the second time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the scheduler of Kennell et al. with the time window of Jaeger. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kennell et al. with the teachings of Jaeger is to show the user the position of the cursor along a timeline, as taught by Jaeger (Paragraph 51).
Regarding Claim 15, Kennell et al. teach the electronic device of claim 13 (See Above), wherein for any first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) of the at least one division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on the at least one division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) corresponding to the plurality of sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual scheduled interviews. Paragraph 115) to be allocated in the resource allocation region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the timeline. Paragraph 114), to adjust the sub-periods (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual steps of the time duration (15 minutes). Paragraph 87) corresponding to the sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) comprises:
in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114); and
in response to a drag operation (Figure 3D, Element dragging. Paragraphs 118 - 119) on the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) first sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) on both sides of the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114).
Kennell et al. is silent with regards to in response to a touch operation displaying a first time window, wherein the first time window comprises a time instant corresponding to the first division line.
Jaeger teach displaying a first time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51), wherein the first time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51) comprises a time instant corresponding to the first division line (Figure 5, Element 7. Paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the scheduler of Kennell et al. with the time window of Jaeger. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kennell et al. with the teachings of Jaeger is to show the user the position of the cursor along a timeline, as taught by Jaeger (Paragraph 51).
Regarding Claim 16, Kennell et al. in view of Jaeger teach the electronic device of claim 15 (See Above). Kennell et al. teach wherein in response to a drag on the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) first sub-regions (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) on both sides of the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) comprises:
in response to a drag operation (Figure 3D, Element dragging. Paragraphs 118 - 119) on the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), moving the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), and adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) a timeline of a first sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115) to adjust a sub-period (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the individual steps of the time duration (15 minutes). Paragraph 87) corresponding to a group to be allocated in the first sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115); and
in response to a release operation on the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), ceasing the moving of the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), and the adjusting (Figures 3C - 3D, Element not labeled, but is the changing of the scheduled interviews. Paragraphs 118 - 119) of the timeline of the first sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115).
Kennell et al. is silent with regards to updating a time instant of the first time window; and in response to a release operation ceasing the displaying of the first time window.
Jaeger teach updating a time instant of the first time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51); and in response to a release operation ceasing (Paragraph 51. Jaeger discloses “Referring to FIG. 5 when the mouse cursor 16 is floated over the play cursor 7, a parameter window 15 appears for the play cursor.” Therefore, when the mouse cursor is removed (release operation) then the parameter window will not appear.) the displaying of the first time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the scheduler of Kennell et al. with the time window of Jaeger. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kennell et al. with the teachings of Jaeger is to show the user the position of the cursor along a timeline, as taught by Jaeger (Paragraph 51).
Regarding Claim 17, Kennell et al. in view of Jaeger teach the electronic device of claim 16 (See Above). Kennell et al. teach wherein in response to a release operation on the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114), ceasing the moving of the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) comprises:
in response that the time instant corresponding to the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) is on an hour or half an hour (Paragraph 87), ceasing the moving of the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114); and
in response that the time instant corresponding to the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) is a time instant other than a time instant on an hour or half an hour, moving the first division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) to a position corresponding to the time instant on an hour or half an hour (Paragraph 87. Kennell et al. discloses “Regarding the modulo constraint, most meetings start on the top of the hour, or on the half-hour. If all of the durations of the various meetings are multiples of 30 minutes, this constraint will require that the interview start on the half hour.”).
Regarding Claim 21, Kennell et al. teach the electronic device of claim 20 (See Above), wherein in response to a touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on a timeline in the second sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115), displaying a second division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) comprises:
in response to the touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144) on the timeline in the second sub-region (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the scheduled interviews and gaps. Paragraph 115), displaying the second division line (Figures 3A - 3D, Element not labeled, but are the lines on the timeline between appointments (gaps). Paragraph 114) at a position corresponding to the touch operation (Figures 3A - 3D, Element touch. Paragraphs 118 and 144).
Kennell et al. is silent with regards to displaying a second time window, the second time window comprising a time instant corresponding to the second division line.
Jaeger teach displaying a second time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51), the second time window (Figure 5, Element 15. Paragraph 51) comprising a time instant corresponding to the second division line (Figure 5, Element 7. Paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the scheduler of Kennell et al. with the time window of Jaeger. The motivation to modify the teachings of Kennell et al. with the teachings of Jaeger is to show the user the position of the cursor along a timeline, as taught by Jaeger (Paragraph 51).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Karstens (U.S. PG Pub 2005/0050061); Denner et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2011/0072362); Chen (U.S. PG Pub 2015/0248229); and Anderson (U.S. PG Pub 2018/0322471) provide a scheduling timeline similar to the instant invention.
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625