DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges pending claims 1-7, 9, 13-14, 16-19 and 22-27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 is rendered indefinite because it is unclear if the average fiber diameter for the continuous fibers ranges from1 micron to 100 microns OR from 5 microns to 50 microns OR from 7 microns to 35 microns. For purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting the claim to refer to a range of 1 micron to 100 microns.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 16-17, 19, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cordeau et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2025/0229507.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 22, Cordeau discloses a metal layer [substrate layer]; a thermally conductive hybrid layer disposed over the metal layer; and a thermally conductive continuous fiber composite layer wherein the thermally conductive hybrid layer includes a polymer matrix with glass or ceramic and a first thermally conductive material disposed therein [polymer layer][abstract, 0002, 0005 and 0016]. Paragraph 0031 discloses that the thermally conductive hybrid layer comprises glass hollow beads dispersed in the polymeric matrix or the hollow beads may comprise ceramic.
Regarding claim 2, paragraph 0033 discloses that the hollow beads have a particle size from 1 µm to 50 µm
Regarding claims 6-7, paragraph 0046 discloses that the thermally conductive material can include milled carbon fiber, graphene, copper, silver and carbon nanomaterial.
Regarding claim 9, paragraph 0036 discloses that the polymeric matrix can include thermoplastic polymer, thermoset polymer.
Regarding claim 13, paragraph 0045 discloses continuous fibers that can include carbon, E-glass, ECR-glass, H-glass, R-glass, S-glass, or basalt.
Regarding claims 9, 14 and 16, Example 6B [0075] discloses unidirectional carbon fiber impregnated with an anhydride bisphenol A epoxy resin.
Regarding claim 17, the claim depends on claim 16 which requires carbon fibers, glass fibers, aramid fibers, basalt fibers,. metal fiber fibers or a combination of thereof. Cordeau satisfies the claim limitations with continuous carbon fibers.
Regarding claim 19, paragraph 0037 discloses that the thermally conductive layer has a thickness from 0.127 mm to 10.6 mm.
Regarding claim 23, paragraph 0026 discloses that metal layer can include stainless steel, titanium, brass, iron, bronze or aluminum.
Regarding claim 24, paragraph 0027 discloses that the metal layer has a thickness from 1.27 mm to 7.62 mm.
Claims 4-5 and 25-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Applicant claims a multilayer composite as recited in claim 1, further including wherein the thermally conductive material comprises an average length from 10 microns to 500 microns as recited in claim 4. Applicant claims a multilayer composite as recited in claim 1, further including wherein the thermally conductive material comprises an average geometrical dimension from 1 nm to 800 nm as recited in claim 5. Applicant claims a multilayer composite as recited in claim 1, further including wherein the polymeric layer comprises a thermal inertia from 420 J/m2Ks1/2 to 1200 J/m2Ks1/2 as recited in claim 25. Applicant claims a multilayer composite as recited in claim 1, further including wherein the polymeric layer comprises a heat capacity from 0.62 J/gK to 1.75 J/gK or a volumetric heat capacity from 0.62 J/g/gK to 1.95 J/gK as recited in claim 26. Applicant claims a multilayer composite as recited in claim 1, further including wherein the polymeric layer comprises a density from 1.00 g/cm3 to 1.80 g/cm3 as recited in claim 27. The closest prior art, Cordeau et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2025/0229507, teaches a metal layer [substrate layer]; a thermally conductive hybrid layer disposed over the metal layer; and a thermally conductive continuous fiber composite layer wherein the thermally conductive hybrid layer includes a polymer matrix with glass or ceramic and a first thermally conductive material disposed therein [polymer layer][abstract, 0002, 0005 and 0016]. Paragraph 0031 discloses that the thermally conductive hybrid layer comprises glass hollow beads dispersed in the polymeric matrix or the hollow beads may comprise ceramic. Cordeau fails to teach or suggest the limitations of claims 4-5 and 25-27.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786