DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11-15, 17, 19-20, 22-25, 28 and 30 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 06/26/2025 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Objections
Claim 2, 11-14, 17, 19-20, 23-25, and 28 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 states:
‘the controller’ however needs proper primary antecedent basis of ‘a [[the]] controller’
Claim(s) 2, 11 and 14 state:
‘AC source’ however needs proper antecedent basis related back to the ‘AC [[source]] power supply’
Claim 12 includes several concerns with clarity / antecedent basis resulting in the following suggested amendments by the Examiner (please also review the 112(b) rejections indicated below):
The patient support apparatus according to claim 11, further comprising a timer, the timer having a predetermined time period approximately equal to the time to open the valve manifold, the predetermined time period providing the parameter, and the control system being configured to selectively power the second electrical device using the second DC power supply independent of the first DC power supply when the control system is disconnected from the AC [[source]] power supply based on the predetermined time period.
Claim 13 states:
‘the pressure in the plurality of inflatable bladders’, however needs proper primary antecedent basis of ‘a [[the]] pressure in the plurality of inflatable bladders’
Claim 13 states:
‘the valve manifold actuator’, however needs proper primary antecedent basis of ‘[[the]] a valve manifold actuator’
Claim 17 states:
‘using the voltage’, however needs proper primary antecedent basis of ‘using [[the]] a voltage’
Claim 19 states:
‘the time it takes to fully’ however to provide clarity and proper antecedent basis, the following is suggested by the Examiner (please also review the 112(b) rejections indicated below): ‘[[the]] a time
Claim 20 includes several concerns with clarity / antecedent basis resulting in the following suggested amendments by the Examiner (please also review the 112(b) rejections indicated below):
The patient support apparatus according to claim 13, wherein; the valve manifold comprises a plurality of chambers, each chamber of the plurality of chambers in fluid communication with at least one inflatable bladder of the plurality of inflatable bladders, a manifold housing, and a cover operable to open the plurality of chambers of the valve manifold to allow the air from the plurality of inflatable bladders to exhaust through the manifold, and wherein the powered valve manifold actuator is mechanically coupled to the cover to selectively open the plurality of valves; the control system is configured to power the valve manifold actuator to close the valve manifold in response to an input; the input is selected from a group of inputs consisting of a predetermined time period, a reset signal, a mechanical release, and pressure/quantity of air released by the manifold.
Claim 23 states:
‘the manual operable handle, to allow the deck to move to a flat configuration.’ however needs proper primary antecedent basis of ‘[[the]] a manual operable handle, to allow the articulatable deck to move to a flat configuration.’
Claim 24 states:
‘to allow the patient to be supported on the deck,’ however needs proper primary antecedent basis of ‘to allow [[the]] a patient to be supported on the articulatable deck,’
Claim 25 states:
‘adjacent the back section of the deck’ however needs proper primary antecedent basis of ‘adjacent the pivotal back section of the articulatable deck’
Claim 28 states:
‘released by the manifold’, however needs proper primary antecedent basis of ‘released by the valve manifold’
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 12-14, 19-20, 24-25, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to Claim(s) 12 and 19, the term ‘approximately’ is not defined by the disclosure, further it does not define a precise numerical boundary making its meaning dependent on context, subjective interpretation and specific (often subjective) user experiences rather than objective, universally defined measurement. The exact time span covered by "approximately" is relative because it varies by the technology or a human’s consideration of what is considered to be within the bounds or tolerance of such limitation. For example, "approximately 5 milliseconds" might denote a very narrow, strict window, whereas, "approximately 1 minute" might encompass a much broader timeframe.
It is suggested to replace "approximately" with a specific objective tolerance (e.g., changing "approximately equal to the time" -> "within 40 seconds and 1 minute to open the valve manifold" OR "between 10 to 20 seconds to open the valve manifold", whatever is considered to be of an approximate period of time to equal the estimated value).
For examination purposes, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as removing the term ‘approximately’ and stating ‘[[approximately]] equal to the time’.
In regards to Claim 13, the term ‘quickly’ is not defined by the disclosure, further it does not define a precise numerical boundary making its meaning dependent on context, subjective interpretation and specific (often subjective) user experiences rather than objective, universally defined measurement. The exact time span covered by "quickly" is relative because it varies by the technology or a human’s consideration of what is considered to be of ‘quick’ with respect to speed of inflation/deflation. For example, "5 milliseconds" might denote a very short, strict window, whereas, "1 minute" might encompass a much broader timeframe that would not be defined as a quick deflation period.
It is suggested to remove "quickly" entirely OR replace the term with a specific objective tolerance (i.e. further defining the term within the disclosure).
For examination purposes, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as removing the term ‘quickly’ and stating the following: ‘valve manifold allows air to [[quickly]] exhaust’ AND ‘to allow the inflatable cushion to deflate [[quickly]]’
Claim(s) 14-15, 17, 19-20, 22 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C 112(b) or 35 U.S.C 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being dependent upon a rejected base claim (claim 13).
In regards to Claim 14, the claim recites "the second electrical device," but it fails to introduce or recite "a first electrical device" (or any "first" electrical device) earlier in the claim. Without an initial introduction, a person skilled in the art cannot reasonably ascertain what the "second" device is referencing or what the structural boundaries of the claimed invention encompass.
In regards to Claim 20, the following is stated: ‘to exhaust through the manifold’, yet the Examiner is unsure if ‘the manifold’ is referring to (1) ‘the valve manifold’, (2) ‘the valve manifold actuator’ or (3) is needing primary recitation to ‘a manifold’. The Examiner for examination purposes has interpreted it as option (1) indicated above, yet if another alternative is taken please modify not only the claim language but indicate this within the specification as well for clarity to the record.
To resolve the antecedent issue in Claim 14, the following is suggested: if the instant invention requires two electrical devices, introduce the first one as "a first electrical device” in this claim or a prior one. Alternatively, this element could be referred to as ‘a first electrical device’ if only one electrical device is required.
In regards to Claim 24, states ‘a second dedicated DC power supply’, yet the term "dedicated" is a relative and non-limiting structural term that fails to provide objective metes and bounds. A person having ordinary skill in the art cannot discern with "reasonable certainty" when a power supply is "dedicated" versus shared, secondary, or generalized, leading to ambiguity in claim scope. For examination purposes the following are suggested:
Remove the word "dedicated" from Claim 24. For example, change "a second dedicated DC power supply" to "a second [[dedicated]] DC power supply", OR
Alternatively, if "dedicated" is necessary for the invention's novelty, amend the specification and claims to define precisely what "dedicated" means structurally or functionally. (An Examiner’s Example/Suggested amendment: "...a second DC power supply dedicated exclusively to [Component X], wherein said power supply provides continuous power solely to [Component X] independent of the first DC power supply."
Claim(s) 25, 28 and 30 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C 112(b) or 35 U.S.C 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being dependent upon a rejected base claim (claim 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11-15, 19-20, 22-25, 28, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zerhusen (US 20180161225 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Zerhusen teaches: A patient support apparatus (10 - Fig. 1) comprising: a control system (384 - Fig. 35, Para 0334/0338/0539); a first electrical device (2404 - Fig. 68-59, and Para 0510); a second electrical device (92 - Fig. 12, Para 0334/0337), wherein the control system is configured to electrically couple to a first DC power supply (2746, 2748 - Fig. 51J, Para 0511) and is configured to electrically couple to and disconnect from an AC power supply (Fig. 51K, ac power cord) and to rely on the first DC power supply (2746, 2748 - Fig. 51J) to power the first electrical device when disconnected from the AC power supply (Fig. 51K - AC power cord, Para 0511 discuss disconnection); and wherein the control system is configured to electrically couple to a second DC power supply (386 - Fig. 12, Para 0334/0337/0539), the control system being configured to selectively power the second electrical device (2404 - Fig. 68, Para 0511/0512) using the second DC power supply independent of the first DC power supply when the control system is disconnected from the AC power supply (Fig. 51K - AC power cord, Para 0511 'mains power source' and Para 0337 'unplug the hospital bed 10 from the wall').
In regards to Claim 2, Zerhusen teaches (as best understood by the claim objection indicated above): The patient support apparatus of claim 1 wherein the control system being configured to selectively power the second electrical device using the second DC power supply independent of the controller and the first DC power supply when the control system is disconnected from the AC source (Fig. 51K AC POWER CORD, para [0511] - mains power source; para [0337] - unplug from the wall).
In regards to Claim 3, Zerhusen teaches: The patient support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control system includes a user input (394, 396 - Fig. 12, Paras 0037-0038), and the control system is configured to selectively power the second electrical device using the second DC power supply based on the user input, and wherein the user input comprises a manually operable handle (394, 396, Fig. 12; para [0337]-[0338] 'push handles').
In regards to Claim 5, Zerhusen teaches: The patient support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control system includes a switch (430, 434 - Fig. 12, Para 0337), and the control system is configured to selectively power the second electrical device using the second DC power supply (386, Fig. 12, Fig. 51L; Paras 0334/0337/0539) when the switch is activated, and further comprising a manually operable handle to actuate the switch (394, 396, Fig. 12; para [0337]-[0338] 'push handles' to actuate switch 430, 434 - Fig. 12).
In regards to Claim 7, Zerhusen teaches: The patient support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control system includes a sensor (Para 0038, 'strain gauges' 1468/1470 provide a signal to the controller 384), and the control system is configured to selectively power the second electrical device using the second DC power supply based on input from the sensor (Para 0334/0337/0539), and wherein the sensor is configured to detect the position of a manually operable handle (394, 396 - Fig. 12, Paras 0037-0338 'push handles').
In regards to Claim 9, Zerhusen teaches: The patient support apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the second electrical device comprises an actuator (334 - Fig. 35, Para 0334), and further comprising a valve manifold (3436 - Fig. 132, Para 0446) and an inflatable cushion (3466/3468/3474/3476 - Fig. 132, Para 0446) supported on the patient support apparatus (Fig. 132), the valve manifold controlling fluid communication with the inflatable cushion (3500/3502/3504/3506 - Fig. 132, Para 0446), and the actuator comprises a valve manifold actuator to open and/or close the valve manifold (Para 0442: 'Referring to FIG. 132, the flow control assembly 3436 includes solenoid actuated valves that open and close to either cause pressurized air from the pump 3434 to be directed to the respective bladder 3466, 3468, 3474, or 3476 or to cause the respective bladder 3466, 3468, 3474, or 3476 to be vented to atmosphere.').
In regards to Claim 11, Zerhusen teaches (as best understood by the claim objection indicated): The patient support apparatus according to claim wherein the control system is configured to selectively power the second electrical device using the second DC power supply independent the first DC power supply when the control system is disconnected from the AC source based on a parameter (Para 0511: 'When the hospital bed 10 is disconnected from a mains power source, the hospital bed 10 may be operated by the batteries 2746, 2748. When the hospital bed 10 is on battery power, the interaction section 2442 displays the text “On Battery Backup” in the center of the interaction section 2442. The head limit icon 2480 and associated indicator 2481 are also displayed as that function remains active. In addition, the foot control retraction section 2294 remains displayed because that function is also available under battery backup. The home screen icon 2472 remains visible such that a caregiver is allowed to activate the home screen 2404. However, the home screen 2404 will revert to the battery backup screen 2492 after a period of time of no interactions with the home screen 2404, such as a time period of 30 seconds, for example. The other functions that appear on the home screen 2404 are not displayed when the hospital bed 10 is on battery backup as those functions are not available under battery power. Any motion of any portion of the hospital bed 10 has to be engaged individually by the keys on the hard panel 64.').
In regards to Claim 12, Zerhusen teaches (as best understood by the claim objection and 112(b) rejection indicated): The patient support apparatus according to claim 11, further comprising a timer, the timer having a predetermined time period approximately equal to the time it takes to open the valve manifold, the predetermined time providing the parameter, and the control system being configured to selectively power the second electrical device using the second DC power supply independent of the first DC power supply when the control system is disconnected from the AC source based on the predetermined time period (Para 0511: 'When the hospital bed 10 is disconnected from a mains power source, the hospital bed 10 may be operated by the batteries 2746, 2748. When the hospital bed 10 is on battery power, the interaction section 2442 displays the text “On Battery Backup” in the center of the interaction section 2442. The head limit icon 2480 and associated indicator 2481 are also displayed as that function remains active. In addition, the foot control retraction section 2294 remains displayed because that function is also available under battery backup. The home screen icon 2472 remains visible such that a caregiver is allowed to activate the home screen 2404. However, the home screen 2404 will revert to the battery backup screen 2492 after a period of time of no interactions with the home screen 2404, such as a time period of 30 seconds, for example. The other functions that appear on the home screen 2404 are not displayed when the hospital bed 10 is on battery backup as those functions are not available under battery power. Any motion of any portion of the hospital bed 10 has to be engaged individually by the keys on the hard panel 64.').
In regards to Claim 13, Zerhusen teaches (as best understood by the claim objection and 112(b) indicated): A patient support apparatus (10 - Fig. 1) comprising: an inflatable cushion formed from a plurality of inflatable bladders (3466, 3468, 3474, 3476 - Fig. 132); a pneumatic system for controlling the pressure in the plurality of inflatable bladders (3436 - Fig. 132), the pneumatic system including a valve manifold (3436 - Fig. 132, Para 0446) in fluid communication with the plurality of inflatable bladders (Fig. 132, Para 0446), wherein, when opened, the valve manifold allows air to quickly exhaust from the plurality of inflatable bladders to allow the inflatable cushion to deflate quickly (Para 0446: 'In addition, the valves may be operated to permit the air in the bladders 3466, 3468, 3474, or 3476 to be vented to atmosphere to deflate the bladders 3466, 3468, 3474, or 3476. In other embodiments, the flow control assembly 3436 may be operable to reverse the flow through the pump 3434 such that the air in the bladders 3466, 3468, 3474, or 3476 is vacuumed from the bladders 3466, 3468, 3474, or 3476 to quickly lower the turn assembly 3426.'); and a control system (384 - Fig. 35, Para 0334/0338/0539) configured to electrically couple to a first DC power supply (2746, 2748 - Fig. 51J, Para 0511) and to electrically couple to and disconnect from an AC power supply (Fig. 51K, ac power cord) and further to rely on the first DC power supply (2746, 2748 - Fig. 51J) when disconnected from the AC power supply (Fig. 51K - AC power cord, Para 0511 discuss disconnection), the control system further including an electrical actuator to selectively open the valve manifold (3430 - Fig. 132, Para 0446), the control system configured to electrically couple a second DC power supply (386 - Fig. 12, Para 0334/0337/0539) wherein the control system selectively powers the valve manifold actuator using the second DC power supply independent of the first DC power supply at least when the control system is disconnected from the AC power supply (Fig. 51K - AC power cord, Para 0511 'mains power source' and Para 0337 'unplug the hospital bed 10 from the wall').
In regards to Claim 14, Zerhusen teaches (as best understood by the claim objection and 112(b) indicated): The patient support apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the control system includes a controller (3430 - Fig. 132, Para 0446) powered by the AC power supply when the control system is electrically coupled to the AC power supply and is powered by the first DC power supply when disconnected from the AC power supply, the control system is configured to selectively power the second electrical device using the second DC power supply independent of the controller and the first DC power supply when the control system is disconnected from the AC source (Para 0511: 'When the hospital bed 10 is disconnected from a mains power source, the hospital bed 10 may be operated by the batteries 2746, 2748. When the hospital bed 10 is on battery power, the interaction section 2442 displays the text “On Battery Backup” in the center of the interaction section 2442. The head limit icon 2480 and associated indicator 2481 are also displayed as that function remains active. In addition, the foot control retraction section 2294 remains displayed because that function is also available under battery backup. The home screen icon 2472 remains visible such that a caregiver is allowed to activate the home screen 2404. However, the home screen 2404 will revert to the battery backup screen 2492 after a period of time of no interactions with the home screen 2404, such as a time period of 30 seconds, for example. The other functions that appear on the home screen 2404 are not displayed when the hospital bed 10 is on battery backup as those functions are not available under battery power. Any motion of any portion of the hospital bed 10 has to be engaged individually by the keys on the hard panel 64.').
In regards to Claim 15, Zerhusen teaches: The patient support apparatus according to claim 13, wherein; the control system is configured to recharge the first and second DC power supplies when coupled to the AC power supply (Para 0337/0539/0547), and the control system includes a timer having a predetermined time period to selectively power the powered valve manifold actuator to open the valve manifold using the second DC power supply for the predetermined time period (Para 0511: 'When the hospital bed 10 is disconnected from a mains power source, the hospital bed 10 may be operated by the batteries 2746, 2748. When the hospital bed 10 is on battery power, the interaction section 2442 displays the text “On Battery Backup” in the center of the interaction section 2442. The head limit icon 2480 and associated indicator 2481 are also displayed as that function remains active. In addition, the foot control retraction section 2294 remains displayed because that function is also available under battery backup. The home screen icon 2472 remains visible such that a caregiver is allowed to activate the home screen 2404. However, the home screen 2404 will revert to the battery backup screen 2492 after a period of time of no interactions with the home screen 2404, such as a time period of 30 seconds, for example. The other functions that appear on the home screen 2404 are not displayed when the hospital bed 10 is on battery backup as those functions are not available under battery power. Any motion of any portion of the hospital bed 10 has to be engaged individually by the keys on the hard panel 64.').
In regards to Claim 19, Zerhusen teaches (as best understood by the 112(b) rejection or claim objection indicated): The patient support apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the predetermined time period of the timer is approximately equal to the time it takes to fully open the valve manifold (Fig. 236, Para 0575).
In regards to Claim 20, Zerhusen teaches (as best understood by the 112(b) rejection or claim objection indicated): The patient support apparatus according to claim 13, wherein; the valve manifold comprises a plurality of chambers (2038, 2040 - Fig. 40), each chamber in fluid communication with at least one inflatable bladder of the plurality of inflatable bladders (2034, 2036 - Fig. 40), a manifold housing (2168 - Fig. 31, further noting, Para 0429/0454), and a cover operable to open the plurality of chambers of the valve manifold to allow the air from the inflatable bladders to exhaust through the manifold (2080 - Fig. 40), and wherein the powered valve manifold actuator is mechanically coupled to the cover to selectively open the plurality of valves (Para 0433/0446); the control system is configured to power the valve manifold actuator to close the valve manifold in response to an input; the input is selected from a group of inputs consisting of a predetermined time period, a reset signal, a mechanical release, and pressure/quantity of air released by the manifold (Para 0457 and 0540/0542).
In regards to Claim 22, Zerhusen teaches: The patient support apparatus according to claim 13, further comprising a user interface in communication with said control system and the user interface operable to allow a caregiver to input a CPR reset signal to the control system (Para 0361), and the control system operable to power the powered valve manifold actuator to close the valve manifold in response to the CPR reset signal (Para 0356).
In regards to Claim 23, Zerhusen teaches (as best understood by the claim objection indicated): The patient support apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an articulatable deck (30 - Fig. 1) and a manual input (430/434 - Fig. 78, Para 0337), such as the manually operable handle (396 - Fig. 12, Para 0337), to allow the deck to move to a flat configuration (104 - Fig. 78, Para 0337).
In regards to Claim 24, Zerhusen teaches (as best understood by the 112(b) rejection and claim objection indicated): A patient support apparatus (10 - Fig. 1) comprising: an articulatable deck (30 - Fig. 1) with a pivotal back section (28 - Fig. 1, Para 0303); an inflatable cushion (1700 - Fig. 10) formed from a plurality of inflatable bladders; a deck actuator to raise or lower the back section of the deck (252 - Fig. 11, Para 0325); a control system for powering and controlling the deck actuator (400, Para 0325); a pneumatic system for inflating and/or deflating the inflatable bladders of the plurality of inflatable bladders (2200 - Fig. 30, Para 0457/0458), the pneumatic system including a valve manifold (3436 - Fig. 132, Para 0446) to allow air to exhaust from the inflatable bladders of the plurality of inflatable bladders to allow the patient to be supported on the deck (Para 0446: 'In addition, the valves may be operated to permit the air in the bladders 3466, 3468, 3474, or 3476 to be vented to atmosphere to deflate the bladders 3466, 3468, 3474, or 3476. In other embodiments, the flow control assembly 3436 may be operable to reverse the flow through the pump 3434 such that the air in the bladders 3466, 3468, 3474, or 3476 is vacuumed from the bladders 3466, 3468, 3474, or 3476 to quickly lower the turn assembly 3426.'), and the valve manifold including a valve manifold actuator selectively powered to open the valve manifold (Para 0442: 'Referring to FIG. 132, the flow control assembly 3436 includes solenoid actuated valves that open and close to either cause pressurized air from the pump 3434 to be directed to the respective bladder 3466, 3468, 3474, or 3476 or to cause the respective bladder 3466, 3468, 3474, or 3476 to be vented to atmosphere.'); and wherein the control system is configured to electrically couple to a first DC power supply (2746, 2748 - Fig. 51J, Para 0511) and is configured to electrically couple to and disconnect from an AC power supply (Fig. 51K - AC power cord, Para 0511 discuss disconnection) and to use the first DC power supply when disconnected from the AC power supply (Fig. 51K - AC power cord, Para 0511 'mains power source' and Para 0337 'unplug the hospital bed 10 from the wall'), and the control system being further configured to electrically couple to a second dedicated DC power supply to selectively power the valve manifold actuator independent of the first DC power supply for a predetermined time period (Para 0511: 'When the hospital bed 10 is disconnected from a mains power source, the hospital bed 10 may be operated by the batteries 2746, 2748. When the hospital bed 10 is on battery power, the interaction section 2442 displays the text “On Battery Backup” in the center of the interaction section 2442. The head limit icon 2480 and associated indicator 2481 are also displayed as that function remains active. In addition, the foot control retraction section 2294 remains displayed because that function is also available under battery backup. The home screen icon 2472 remains visible such that a caregiver is allowed to activate the home screen 2404. However, the home screen 2404 will revert to the battery backup screen 2492 after a period of time of no interactions with the home screen 2404, such as a time period of 30 seconds, for example. The other functions that appear on the home screen 2404 are not displayed when the hospital bed 10 is on battery backup as those functions are not available under battery power. Any motion of any portion of the hospital bed 10 has to be engaged individually by the keys on the hard panel 64.').
In regards to Claim 25, Zerhusen teaches (as best understood by the claim objection indicated): The patient support apparatus according to claim 24, wherein the patient support apparatus includes a manual input to selectively lower the back section (430/434 - Fig. 78, Para 0337) and to provide input to the control system to selectively power the valve manifold actuator; the manual input comprises a manually operable handle (Para 0540: 'The air control board 2198 is an electrical communication with the Main control board 2700 but also controls the manifold 2168, the mattress detect switch 2230, and the blower 2170. The mattress detect switch 2230 is operable to determine if a premium mattress, such as mattress 1900, is coupled to the pneumatic system so that the air control board 2198 will have information pertaining to which functions should be available for the mattress that's attached. The right side rail 50 includes much of the same structure as the left side rail 48 but also includes the personal electronic device charging port board 1216.', noting 394/396 are handles in Fig. 12), the manually operable handle being mounted to the patient support apparatus adjacent the inflatable cushion (handles 394/396 are adjacent to inflatable cushion in Fig. 12) and, further, adjacent the back section of the deck (Fig. 12); and the manually operable handle being coupled to a switch to activate the switch (2230, Para 0540), with the control system providing power to the valve manifold actuator when the switch is activated by the manually operable handle (Para 0539-0540).
In regards to Claim 28, Zerhusen teaches (as best understood by the claim objection indicated): The patient support apparatus according to claim 24, wherein: the control system includes a timer setting the predetermined time period, and the timer is configured to selectively power the valve manifold actuator using the second DC power supply when the control system is disconnected from the AC power supply (Para 0511: 'When the hospital bed 10 is disconnected from a mains power source, the hospital bed 10 may be operated by the batteries 2746, 2748. When the hospital bed 10 is on battery power, the interaction section 2442 displays the text “On Battery Backup” in the center of the interaction section 2442. The head limit icon 2480 and associated indicator 2481 are also displayed as that function remains active. In addition, the foot control retraction section 2294 remains displayed because that function is also available under battery backup. The home screen icon 2472 remains visible such that a caregiver is allowed to activate the home screen 2404. However, the home screen 2404 will revert to the battery backup screen 2492 after a period of time of no interactions with the home screen 2404, such as a time period of 30 seconds, for example. The other functions that appear on the home screen 2404 are not displayed when the hospital bed 10 is on battery backup as those functions are not available under battery power. Any motion of any portion of the hospital bed 10 has to be engaged individually by the keys on the hard panel 64.').; and the control system is configured to power the valve manifold actuator to close the valve manifold in response to an input, the input selected from a group of inputs consisting of a predetermined time period, a reset signal, a mechanical release, and pressure/quantity of air released by the manifold (Para 0457 and 0540/0542).
In regards to Claim 30, Zerhusen teaches: The patient support apparatus according to claim 24, wherein the first DC power supply comprises a first onboard rechargeable DC power supply (Para 0539: 'The control system 1700 also includes a battery charge board 2740 which is positioned in the head end of the base frame as shown in FIG. 12. The battery charge board is coupled to a pair of nightlights 2742, 2744 and the sensor 242 that determines the orientation of the break steer petals. The battery charge board 2740 also in includes a phone jack 2750 is available for certain nurse call systems. The batteries 2746, 2748 are coupled to the battery charge board with the battery charge board 2740 managing the charging of the batteries 2746, 2748'), wherein the second DC power supply comprises a second onboard rechargeable DC power supply (Para 0539: 'The control system 1700 also includes a battery charge board 2740 which is positioned in the head end of the base frame as shown in FIG. 12. The battery charge board is coupled to a pair of nightlights 2742, 2744 and the sensor 242 that determines the orientation of the break steer petals. The battery charge board 2740 also in includes a phone jack 2750 is available for certain nurse call systems. The batteries 2746, 2748 are coupled to the battery charge board with the battery charge board 2740 managing the charging of the batteries 2746, 2748').
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to Claim 17, the prior art of Zerhusen teaches a patient support apparatus including first and second DC power supplies, an AC power supply, a timer, a valve manifold, and a control system (384 – Fig. 35; Paras. 0334, 0338, 0539). However, Zerhusen fails to teach or suggest a dedicated power circuit that independently interfaces with both the valve manifold actuator and the second DC power supply to provide a timed emergency or manual actuation function. Rather, Zerhusen’s control architecture relies upon the overall system controller for operation and does not disclose a separate power circuit configured to energize the valve manifold actuator directly from the second DC power supply for a predetermined time interval in response to an input. Additionally, Zerhusen does not disclose or suggest that the input is provided by a manually operable handle that actuates a switch to initiate the timed powering sequence. The claimed arrangement provides a distinct manual override architecture that permits controlled operation of the valve manifold actuator through a dedicated timed power path, independent of the primary control scheme. The prior art neither teaches nor suggests this specific combination of structural and functional relationships, and there is no apparent motivation to modify Zerhusen to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lemire (US 7690059 B2) teaches: A patient bed includes a patient support, a base, and an electrical control system. The patient support is mounted relative to said base, which has a plurality of bearing members for moving the base and the patient support across a surface. Each of the bearing members includes a brake operatively associated therewith, with the electrical control system having a user actuatable device and being configured to actuate one or more of the brakes upon actuation of the user actuatable device.
Shami (US 20200306115 A1) teaches: A patient support apparatus, such as a bed, cot, stretcher, operating table, recliner, or the like, include a litter frame, a support deck, a battery, an AC connector for receiving electrical power, a plurality of motorized actuators, and a control system. The control system limits the amount of electrical power available to the motorized actuators to different levels depending upon whether the AC connector or the battery is powering the patient support apparatus. The control system may also or alternatively change the power available to the motorized actuators depending upon whether a mattress therapy is currently in progress or not. Still further, the control system may pause battery recharging during actuator movement, may utilize one or electronic fuses to control power delivery, and/or wake up sleeping (or shut down) microcontrollers using a specialized network transceiver command that cause the recipient transceiver to wake up its associated microcontroller.
Rawls-Meehan (US 20130283531 A1) teaches: This disclosure concerns an adjustable bed with a deck-on-deck appearance. A concealing assembly is attached to the center frame of an articulating bed, wherein the concealing assembly is situated below the mattress platform and conceals the base frame as the center frame moves along the base frame when the bed articulates. In other embodiments, such as for non-wall hugger beds where the center frame is stationary, a concealing assembly may still be used but will also be stationary.
MADISON MATTHEWS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/MADISON MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673
07/16/2026