DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (US 2023/0040881 A1).
Regarding claim 1, notes Figure 1-3, a control apparatus [control device (12)] for a rider support system for supporting driving of a straddle-type vehicle [motorcycle (10)] by a rider [para. 0001], the control apparatus (12) configured execute a rider support operation for supporting driving by the rider [Figure 3 describes the execution of a rider supporting driving operation by the rider; and abstract teaches a control section of control device (12) causes a straddle-type vehicle (10) to execute a safety operation]; and determine a visibility of the straddle-type vehicle (10) from an oncoming vehicle (preceding vehicle) [S104, Figure 3], wherein control apparatus (12) executes, based on a visibility determination result [S104, Figure 3], a traveling position support operation which is the rider support operation of recommending or correcting a traveling position of the straddle-type vehicle in a lane width direction [S105, S106; Figure 3].
Regarding claim 2, as discussed in claim 1, Yamada invention further teaches wherein the traveling position support operation is the rider support operation of recommending or correcting not only the traveling position of the straddle-type vehicle (10) in the lane width direction but also a traveling position of the straddle-type vehicle (10) in a front-rear direction [para. 0051 teaches positional relation information between plurality of preceding vehicles (20) is information about the positional relation between the plurality of preceding vehicles (20), and may be, for example, information indicative of a positional relation between a plurality of preceding of vehicles (20) in the width direction of the lane, information indicative of a positional relation between the plurality of preceding vehicles (20) in a length direction of a lane, or information indicative of positional relation between the plurality of preceding vehicles (20) in the width direction of the lane and in the length direction].
Regarding claim 3, as discussed in claim 1, Yamada invention further teaches wherein the control apparatus (12) determines the visibility based on an image obtained from a camera [para. 0026 teaches the environment sensor (11) may include a plurality of cameras] mounted to the straddle-type vehicle (10) and facing a front of the straddle-type vehicle (10) [Figure 1].
Regarding claim 4, as discussed in claim 1, Yamada invention further teaches wherein the control apparatus (12) determines the visibility based on information on a size of a leading vehicle (20) on the image [para. 0058 teaches the specification information of the preceding vehicle would be included a size of a preceding vehicle].
Regarding claim 5, as discussed in claim 1, Yamada invention further teaches wherein the control apparatus (12) determines the visibility based not only on the information on the size of the leading vehicle (20) on the image but also on information on the traveling position of the straddle-type vehicle (10) in the lane width direction [discussion in claims 1-4].
Regarding claim 6, as discussed in claim 1, Yamada invention further teaches wherein the control apparatus (12) determines the visibility based on information on timing of the image showing the oncoming vehicle (20) [at least para. 0035 teaches a notification control section (122c) is configured to control an operation of the notification device (15). Thereby, a timing at which a notification is issued to the rider and a content of the notification are controlled]. Notes preceding vehicle (20) would be equivalent to an oncoming vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, as discussed in claim 1, Yamada invention further teaches wherein the control apparatus (12) determines the visibility based on positional relationship information on the straddle-type vehicle (10) and a leading vehicle (20) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 8, as discussed in claim 1, Yamada invention further teaches wherein the control apparatus determines the visibility based on positional relationship information on the straddle-type vehicle (10) and the oncoming vehicle (20) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 9, as discussed in claim 1, Yamada invention further teaches wherein the control apparatus executes the traveling position support operation based not only on the visibility determination result but also on traveling state information on the straddle-type vehicle (10) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 10, as discussed in claim 1, Yamada invention further teaches wherein the traveling state information includes traveling position information on the straddle- type vehicle (10) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 11, as discussed in claim 1, Yamada invention further teaches wherein the traveling state information includes blinker information on the straddle-type vehicle (10) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 12, as discussed in claim 1, Yamada invention further teaches wherein the control apparatus (12) executes the traveling position support operation based not only on the visibility determination result but also on positional relationship information on the straddle-type vehicle (10) and a leading vehicle (20) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 14, as discussed in claim 1, Yamada invention further teaches wherein the control apparatus (12) executes the traveling position support operation based not only on the visibility determination result but also on positional relationship information on the straddle-type vehicle (10) and the oncoming vehicle (20) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 14, see discussion in claim 1.
Conclusion
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free)? If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/J.H.H./
June 7, 2026
/Johnny H. Hoang/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747