CTNF 19/143,742 CTNF 82329 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitations “ a first primary coil arranged to surround a first outer portion of an outer circle … a second primary coil arranged to surround a second outer portion of the outer circle … a third primary coil arranged to surround a third outer portion of the outer circle … wherein the first primary coil, the second primary coil, and the third primary coil are arranged to form the outer circle by being overlaid .” This language states that the first, second, and third primary coils simultaneously surround the outer circle AND form the outer circle. It is unclear how the first, second, and third coils can both form the outer circle and surround the outer circle. For purposes of examination, claim 1 will be interpreted as: A wireless power transmission pad configured to transmit wireless power to a reception pad including a secondary coil, comprising: a first primary coil arranged to surround form a first outer portion of an outer circle and surround a first inner portion of an inner circle; a second primary coil arranged to surround form a second outer portion of the outer circle and surround a second inner portion of the inner circle; and a third primary coil arranged to surround form a third outer portion of the outer circle and surround a third inner portion of the inner circle, wherein the first primary coil, the second primary coil, and the third primary coil are arranged to form the outer circle by being overlaid. Similar language is present in independent claims 11 and 16 and will be interpreted similarly. Claim 3 recites the limitation “ wherein the first primary coil, the second primary coil, and the third primary coil are arranged to divide a space between the outer circle and the inner circle into six regions having uniform areas .” However, as seen in figure 9 of the instant application, the regions 610-670 do not have uniform areas. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as--wherein the first primary coil, the second primary coil, and the third primary coil are arranged to divide a space between the outer circle and the inner circle into six regions having uniform areas --. Similar language is present in claims 13 and 20 and will be interpreted similarly. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-5, 7, 9-10, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. (US 2018/0287435; “Wilson”) . Regarding claim 1, Wilson teaches a wireless power transmission pad (420; figures 4 and 5A) configured to transmit wireless power to a reception pad (108) including a secondary coil (108), comprising: a first primary coil (406) arranged to form a first outer portion (406) of an outer circle (502) and surround a first inner portion of an inner circle (surrounding 504); a second primary coil (408) arranged to form a second outer portion (408) of the outer circle (502) and surround a second inner portion of the inner circle (surrounding 504); and a third primary coil (410) arranged to form a third outer portion (410) of the outer circle (502) and surround a third inner portion of the inner circle (surrounding 504), wherein the first primary coil (406), the second primary coil (408), and the third primary coil (410) are arranged to form the outer circle (502) by being overlaid (See configuration of figure 5A). As for claim 2, Wilson teaches wherein the first primary coil (406), the second primary coil (408), and the third primary coil (410) are arranged to form the inner circle (surrounding 504) by being overlaid (See configuration of figure 5A). As for claim 3, Wilson teaches wherein the first primary coil (406), the second primary coil (408), and the third primary coil (410) are arranged to divide a space between the outer circle (502) and the inner circle (surrounding 504) into six regions (See six regions in figure 5A). Regarding claim 4, Wilson teaches wherein the first primary coil (406) includes: a first outer coil portion (near 502) disposed on the first outer portion; a first inner coil portion (near 504) disposed on the first inner portion and facing the first outer coil portion; and a first connection coil portion (between areas 502 and 504) connecting the first outer coil portion and the first inner coil portion, wherein the second primary coil (408) includes: a second outer coil portion (near 502) disposed on the second outer portion; a second inner coil portion (near 504) disposed on the second inner portion and facing the second outer coil portion; and a second connection coil portion (between areas 502 and 504) connecting the second outer coil portion and the second inner coil portion, wherein the third primary coil (410) includes: a third outer coil portion (near 502) disposed on the third outer portion; a third inner coil portion (near 504) disposed on the third inner portion and facing the third outer coil portion; and a third connection coil portion (between areas 502 and 504) connecting the third outer coil portion and the third inner coil portion. Regarding claim 5, Wilson teaches wherein the first primary coil (406), the second primary coil (408), and the third primary coil (410) are formed by winding a flat wire at least once (Para. [0031]). As for claim 7, Wilson teaches wherein the first primary coil, the second primary coil, and the third primary coil are controlled to perform a single-phase operation or a three-phase operation according to a phase difference of input power among the primary coils (Para. [0040], [0044]). As for claim 9, Wilson teaches wherein the first primary coil, the second primary coil, and the third primary coil are controlled to perform a three-phase operation based on input power having a predetermined phase difference being applied to each of the primary coils (Para. [0040], [0044]). Regarding claim 10, Wilson teaches wherein the first primary coil, the second primary coil, and the third primary coil are controlled to perform a single-phase operation or a three-phase operation based on an operation mode permitted by the secondary coil of the reception pad (Para. [0040], [0044]). Regarding claims 16 and 18-20, the methods as recited in the claims are inherently present in the structure discussed above in the rejection of claims 1, 3, 7, 9, and 10 . 07-15 AIA Claim s 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Ookawa et al. (US 2016/0094082; “Ookawa”) . Regarding claim 11, Ookawa teaches a wireless power reception pad (10/341; figures 9 and 13) configured to receive wireless power from a wireless power transmission pad (240) including a primary coil (241), comprising: a first secondary coil (2A) arranged to form a first outer portion of an outer circle (see outer circle in coils of figure 9) and surround a first inner portion of an inner circle (see inner circle in coils in figure 9); a second secondary coil (3A) arranged to form a second outer portion of the outer circle (see outer circle in coils of figure 9) and surround a second inner portion of the inner circle (see inner circle in coils of figure 9); and a third secondary coil (6A) arranged to form a third outer portion (see outer circle in coils of figure 9) of the outer circle and surround a third inner portion of the inner circle (see inner circle in coils of figure 9), wherein the first secondary coil (2A), the second secondary coil (3A), and the third secondary coil (6A) are arranged to form the outer circle by being overlaid (See stacked configuration in figure 9). As for claim 12, Ookawa teaches wherein the first secondary coil (2A), the second secondary coil (3A), and the third secondary coil (6A) are arranged to form the inner circle by being overlaid (See stacked configuration in figure 9). As for claim 13, Ookawa teaches wherein the first secondary coil (2A), the second secondary coil (3A), and the third secondary coil (6A) are arranged to divide a space between the outer circle and the inner circle into six regions having uniform areas (See spacing between windings in each of the coils 2A, 3A, and 6A). Regarding claim 14, Ookawa teaches wherein the first secondary coil (2A) includes: a first outer coil portion (outer winding of 2A) disposed on the first outer portion; a first inner coil portion (inner winding of 2A) disposed on the first inner portion and facing the first outer coil portion; and a first connection coil portion (windings between the inner and outer windings of 2A) connecting the first outer coil portion and the first inner coil portion, wherein the second secondary coil (3A) includes: a second outer coil portion (outer winding of 3A) disposed on the second outer portion; a second inner coil portion (inner winding of 3A) disposed on the second inner portion and facing the second outer coil portion; and a second connection coil portion (windings between the inner and outer windings of 3A) connecting the second outer coil portion and the second inner coil portion, wherein the third secondary coil (6A) includes: a third outer coil portion (outer winding of 6A) disposed on the third outer portion; a third inner coil portion (inner winding of 6A) disposed on the third inner portion and facing the third outer coil portion; and a third connection coil portion (windings between the inner and outer windings of 6A) connecting the third outer coil portion and the third inner coil portion. Regarding claim 15, Ookawa teaches wherein the first secondary coil (2A), the second secondary coil (3A), and the third secondary coil (6A) are formed by winding a flat wire (see structure in figures 9-10) or a litz wire at least once . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6, 8, 11-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Covic et al. (US 2015/0236513; “Covic”; reference of record) . Regarding claim 6, Wilson teaches the wireless power transmission pad of claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein the first primary coil, the second primary coil, and the third primary coil are formed by winding a litz wire at least once. However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to form coils in wireless power transmission systems with litz wires. For example, see para. [0121] of Covic. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the general coil of Wilson with a litz wire because such a modification would have been a replacement with a well-known coil device utilized in wireless power transmission systems. As for claim 8, Wilson teaches the wireless power transmission pad of claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein the first primary coil, the second primary coil, and the third primary coil are controlled to perform a single-phase operation based on input power having the same phase being applied to each of the primary coils. However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to operate multi-coil wireless power transmission systems in multiple modes, including single-phase operation and three-phase operation. For example, see para. [0147] of Covic. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the wireless power transmission system of Wilson with a single-phase operation or a three-phase operation because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known wireless power transmission phase operation. Regarding claims 11-15, Wilson teaches the overlapping coil configurations of claims 11-15 as a wireless power transmission pad (see rejection of claims 1-4 and 6), but fails to teach the overlapping coil configurations forming a wireless power reception pad. However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an overlapping coil configuration in either a wireless power transmission device or a wireless power reception device. For example, see para. [0013] of Covic. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the overlapping coil configuration of Wilson in a wireless power reception device because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known application of an overlapping coil configuration. Regarding claim 17, the method as recited in the claim is inherently present in the structure discussed above in the rejection of claim 8. Conclusion The prior art references made of record and not relied upon teach wireless power transmission/reception pads including three circular coils. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LEVI GANNON whose telephone number is (571)272-7971. The examiner can normally be reached 7:00AM-4:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Menatoallah Youssef can be reached at 571-270-3684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 May 28, 2026 Application/Control Number: 19/143,742 Page 2 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/143,742 Page 3 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/143,742 Page 4 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/143,742 Page 5 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/143,742 Page 6 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/143,742 Page 7 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/143,742 Page 8 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/143,742 Page 9 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/143,742 Page 10 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/143,742 Page 11 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/143,742 Page 12 Art Unit: 2836