DETAILED ACTION
1. This is a first Office Action in response to application no. 19/143,770 filed on June 26, 2025 in which claims 1-9, 13-14, 16-24 are presented for examination. Claims 10-12 and 15 were canceled with a preliminary amendment filed on June 26, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 13-14, 16-18, 20 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff (US Patent Application Publication no. 2018/0341835) in view of Morita et al (US Patent Application Publication no. 2018/0019996).
Regarding claim 1, Siminoff discloses a method of signal processing, comprising: capturing, using a camera, a first image for a first portion of a user (See Siminoff [0006] and [0008]), the first image having a first precision; performing biometric-based identity verification on the user using information of the first portion comprised in the first image (See Siminoff [0189]); and in response to the identity verification being passed, obtaining at least one second image for a second portion of the user (See Siminoff [0008]), the at least one second image having a second precision (See Siminoff [0185] “Note that the improved precision is considered as a second precision”).
It is noted that although Siminoff discloses a precision (See Siminoff [0179]), it is silent about second precision different from as first.
However, Morita teaches the at least one second image having a second precision different from the first precision (See Morita [0048], [0079] and [0084]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Siminoff to incorporate Morita to teach at least one second image having a second precision different from the first precision. The motivation for performing such a modification in Siminoff is to perform an authentication with higher precision using the biometric information as taught by Morita (See Morita [0092]).
As per claim 13, Siminoff discloses a device, comprising: a camera (See Siminoff [0004]); and a controller configured (See Siminoff [0163] and processor 370 of Fig. 21) to: capture, using a camera, a first image for a first portion of a user (See Siminoff [0006] and [0008]), the first image having a first precision (See
Siminoff [ 0179], [0189]); perform biometric-based identity verification on the user using information of the first portion comprised in the first image (See Siminoff [0189]); and in response to the identity verification being passed, obtain at least one second image for a second portion of the user (See Siminoff [0190] “Note that the improved precision is considered as a second precision”), the at least one second image having a second precision (See Siminoff [0185]).
It is noted that although Siminoff discloses a precision (See Siminoff [0179]), it is silent about second precision different from as first.
However, Morita teaches the at least one second image having a second precision different from the first precision (See Morita [0048], [0079] and [0084]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Siminoff to incorporate Morita to teach at least one second image having a second precision different from the first precision. The motivation for performing such a modification in Siminoff is to perform an authentication with higher precision using the biometric information as taught by Morita (See Morita [0092]).
It is also noted that Siminoff is silent about a wearable device.
However, Morita teaches a wearable device (See Morita [0056]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Siminoff to incorporate Morita’s teaching of a wearable device. The motivation for performing such a modification in Siminoff is to provide a wearable fingerprint authentication platform to perform authentication based on a user's fingerprint in order to provide a device to successfully authenticates the user.
As per claim 14, Siminoff discloses an electronic device, comprising: at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions for execution by
at least one processing unit, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit (See Siminoff [0034] and [0038]), causing the electronic device to perform acts comprising: capturing, using a camera (See Siminoff [0004]), a first image for a first portion of a user (See Siminoff [0006] and [0008]), the first image having a first precision (See Siminoff [ 0179], [0189]); performing biometric-based identity verification on the user using information of the first portion comprised in the first image (See Siminoff [0189]); and in response to the identity verification being passed, obtaining at least one second image for a second portion of the user (See Siminoff [0190] “Note that the improved precision is considered as a second precision”), the at least one second image having a second precision (See Siminoff [0185] “Note that the improved precision is considered as a second precision”).
It is noted that although Siminoff discloses a precision (See Siminoff [0179]), it is silent about second precision different from as first.
However, Morita teaches the at least one second image having a second precision different from the first precision (See Morita [0048], [0079] and [0084]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Siminoff to incorporate Morita to teach at least one second image having a second precision different from the first precision. The motivation for performing such a modification in Siminoff is to perform an authentication with higher precision using the biometric information as taught by Morita (See Morita [0092]).
As per claims 2-3 and 17-18, the combination of Siminoff and Morita further teaches wherein information of a predetermined type is present in one of the first image and the second image, and information of the predetermined type is absent in the other one of the first image and the second image (See Siminoff [0189] where different types of biometric verification are taught).
As per claims 5 and 20, the combination of Siminoff and Morita further teaches wherein obtaining the at least one second image for the second portion of the user comprises: configuring the camera to capture the at least one second image with the second precision (See Siminoff [0216]-[0217] where the quality of the image will be considered as relating to the image precision, as suggested in [0179] and [0185] with low and enhanced precision).
As per claims 7, 16 and 22, the combination of Siminoff and Morita further teaches in response to the identity verification being passed, deleting the first image (See Siminoff [0213]-[0214]).
As per claims 8 and 23, the combination of Siminoff and Morita further teaches a wearable device arranged as claimed (See Morita [0056]).
As per claims 9 and 24, the combination of Siminoff and Morita further teaches wherein the second precision is lower than the first precision (See Morita [0104], [0107]).
5. Claims 4, 6, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff (US Patent Application Publication no. 2018/0341835) in view of Morita et al (US Patent Application Publication no. 2018/0019996) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2020/0311305).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the above rejection of claims 1 and 14. It is noted that the combination of Siminoff and Morita is silent about
generating the at least one second image by sampling the at least one original image to change a precision of the at least one original image.
However, Kim teaches generating the at least one second image by sampling the at least one original image to change a precision of the at least one original image (See Kim [0115]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Siminoff and Morita to incorporate Kim’s teachings to generate the at least one second image by sampling the at least one original image to change a precision of the at least one original image. The motivation for performing such a modification in the combination of Siminoff and Morita is for proper adjustment of the image resolution.
As per claims 6 and 21, the combination of Siminoff, Morita and Kim further teaches wherein the first image and the second image have different resolutions (See Kim [0048]-[0049]).
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892).
/GIMS S PHILIPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424