DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits of Application No. 19/143,845 filed on 06/26/2026. Claims 1-23 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the bolt, rivet or fastener in claim 9 must be shown or labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the claim phrase “wherein the attachment mechanism comprises a bolt, rivet, or fastener” renders the claim indefinite. Th claim is not fully supported by the description. There is no support in the specification for an embodiment where a frameless clutch is attached to a surrounding mechanical system using a bolt, rivet, or fastener. Note that claim 8, from which claim 9 depends, states "wherein the clutch is frameless and attaches to a surrounding mechanical system using an attachment mechanism." However, the specification states, "This clutch body 115 embodiment is "frameless" meaning it does not include holes for bolted attachment to a greater mechanical structure 120." (Para. [0050]) and "Fig. 19 depicts a
frameless clutch body 115. This embodiment does not include bolt holes or other features to interact with fasteners like screws, but is instead intended to be press fit or clamped into a housing integrated into a greater structure 120" (Para. [0070]). The specification fails to describe or depict how a "frameless" clutch that by Applicant's definition "does not include bolt holes or other features to interact with fasteners like screws" (Para. [0070]) would be "attached to a surrounding mechanical system using a bolt, rivet, or fastener" as recited in claim 9. For the purposes of examination, claim 9 will be addressed as best understood such as any structure that can capable of fastening the other structure is considered as a fastener.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schmitz et al. (US 20190107157 A1)(hereinafter “Schmitz”).
Regarding claim 1, Schmitz discloses an electroadhesive clutch (e.g. electrostatic rotary clutch 100, figs. 1-22, see abstract) comprising:
a plurality of clutch units (e.g. 300, 500, fig. 8) wherein each clutch unit comprises:
a reinforcing structure (e.g. 108, 106, fig. 9),
a first electrode (e.g. 300, fig. 9),
a second electrode (e.g. 500, fig. 9), (see para 46 “300 can be made from any suitable electrically-conductive material, such as, a metal (e.g. Cu, Al, etc.) or combinations of metals/ally (e.g. steel)” and see para 48 “ 500 can be made from any suitable electrically-conductive material, such as a metal (e.g. Cu, Al, etc.) or combinations of metals/ally (e.g. steel), see col. 5, lines 45-48, Rotor plates 500 may be made from the same material or different material as housing plate 300”);
and
a dielectric material disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, (e.g. 1202 or 1208, fig. 12, nonlimiting examples of suitable dielectrics include thin polyimide films such as DuPont's Kapton film and a barium titanate-filled ceramic polymer composite such as DuPont's LuxPrint, see para 57)
wherein at least one of the first and the second electrode is flexible (see para 57 “Other materials/coatings/lubricants may be applied to one or both of housing plates 300 and rotor plates 500 at second surface 1202 and first surface 504 to reduce wear or improve grip. Specific, nonlimiting examples of suitable dielectrics include thin polyimide films such as DuPont's Kapton film and a barium titanate-filled ceramic polymer composite such as DuPont's LuxPrint. Dielectric material 1206 and/or dielectric material 1208 may be coated on, adhered to, or otherwise deposited on housing plates 300 and/or rotor plates 500 in any suitable manner”);
Regarding claim 2, Schmitz discloses the electroadhesive clutch according claim 1, wherein each clutch unit of the plurality of clutch units is a rotary clutch (e.g. electrostatic rotary clutch 100, see para 43)
Claims 1-5, 7, 10-12, 14-19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DILLER et al. (WO 2022232707 A1)(hereinafter “DILLER”)(machine translation relied upon as attached).
Regarding claim 1, DILLER discloses an electroadhesive clutch (e.g. rotary electroadhesive clutch, figs. 1-21, see para 3) comprising:
a plurality of clutch units (e.g. 102, fig. 3B and fig. 10) wherein each clutch unit comprises:
a reinforcing structure (e.g. 136, fig. 10),
a first electrode (e.g. 102, fig. 10),
a second electrode (e.g. 102, fig. 10),
and
a dielectric material (101, fig. 10) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode,
wherein at least one of the first and the second electrode is flexible (see para 59).
Regarding claim 2, DILLER discloses the electroadhesive clutch according claim 1, wherein each clutch unit (e.g. 102, fig. 3B) of the plurality of clutch units is a rotary clutch (e.g. 3B)
Regarding Claim 3, DILLER discloses the electroadhesive clutch of claim 1, wherein each clutch unit of the plurality of clutch units is modular (See para 65 ” Any number of clutch frames 135/136 may be added or removed to achieve the desired torque capabilitiy”).
Regarding Claim 4, DILLER discloses the electroadhesive clutch of claim 1, wherein outside clutch units of the plurality of clutch units are physically and electrically connected (Fig. 18A-18C, para 66, 68-69).
Regarding Claim 5, DILLER discloses the electroadhesive clutch of claim 1, wherein adjacent clutch units of the plurality of clutch units are physically and electrically connected (Fig. 18A-18C, para 66, 68-69).
Regarding Claim 7, DILLER discloses the electroadhesive clutch of claim 1, wherein at least one clutch unit of the plurality of clutch units has a second electrodes (102, Fig. 10) open on one side, forming an open clutch unit (see para 59).
Regarding Claim 10, DILLER discloses the electroadhesive clutch of claim 1, further comprising an adapter (housing 131, Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 11, DILLER discloses the electroadhesive clutch of claim 10, further the adapter (housing 131, Fig. 3B) is electrically insulating.
Please note: The specification discloses in para 49 “Figs. 3A-3B depict a rotary clutch 100 with parallel plates 102 that transmit torque between an input shaft 130 and a housing 131, where the plates 102 are oriented perpendicular to the shaft 130. A thick electrode 102 can be used for both electroadhesion and force transmission, while a thin electrode 102 is connected to a frame or substrate 110 that transmits torque between the electrode 102 and the housing 131 or shaft 130” which indicates that the housing 131 is electrically insulating to transmit the torque as best understood.
Regarding Claim 12, DILLER discloses the electroadhesive clutch of claim 10, wherein an outer clutch member (e.g. 136, fig. 13, para 59) of each clutch unit of the plurality of clutch units is electrically isolated (see para 66) from a mechanical input (135).
(see para 66 “Fig. 16A shows the exploded view of a configuration for an inner frame 135. The rigid frame 135 includes teeth for interacting with a splined shaft 130, and four apertures 140. The circular apertures 140 are for inserting swages that can be used to clamp the flexible electrode 102 to the frame to establish electrical connections. The rectangular apertures 140 are for passing the electrode tails through to the opposite side of the frame 135. This can be advantageous for avoiding electrical contact between inner 135 and outer frames 136 or for simplifying electrical connections.”)
Regarding Claim 14, DILLER discloses the electroadhesive clutch of claim 1, wherein at least one clutch unit of the plurality of clutch units has a different configuration than another clutch unit in the plurality of clutch units (see para 59 "The inner and outer electrodes 102 can be flexible or rigid in any combination other than both being rigid.").
Regarding Claim 15, DILLER discloses the electroadhesive clutch of claim 1, wherein at least one clutch unit of the plurality of clutch units further comprises an integrated ball bearing. (see figs. 13- 17, paras 62-65).
Regarding Claim 16, DILLER discloses the electroadhesive clutch of claim 1, wherein the plurality of clutch units (100) are connected without an external housing. (see fig. 17)
Regarding Claim 17, DILLER discloses the electroadhesive clutch of claim 1, wherein the plurality of clutch units are connected to form an integrated housing (131). (see fig. 15)
Regarding Claim 18, DILLER discloses the electrostatic clutch of claim 1, wherein the plurality of clutch units are directly electrically connected (Fig. 18A-18C, para 68).
Regarding Claim 19, DILLER discloses the electrostatic clutch of claim 1, wherein the reinforcing structure is conductive. (see para 68 and Fig. 18C)
Regarding Claim 23, DILLER discloses the electrostatic clutch of claim 1, further comprising a sleeve (131, Fig. 3B) encompassing an outer portion of the reinforcing structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DILLER et al. (WO 2022232707 A1) in view of Schmitz et al. (US 20190107157 A1).
Regarding claim 8, DILLER discloses all the elements of the electrostatic clutch of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the clutch is frameless and attaches to a surrounding mechanical system using an attachment mechanism.
Schmitz teaches an electroadhesive clutch (e.g. electrostatic rotary clutch 100, figs. 1-22, see abstract) wherein the clutch is frameless (e.g. housing plates 300, fig. 4) and attaches to a surrounding mechanical system using an attachment mechanism (e.g. aperture 304 received in rib-like structure 208 as shown figs. 2-3 and para 46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DILLER by adding attachment mechanism as taught by Schmitz, such as it will provide reduction of the design by reducing the mass of the clutch plates, therefore improves the efficiency of the clutch as a whole.
Regarding claim 9, DILLER/ Schmitz discloses the electroadhesive clutch as modified according to claim 8, Schmitz further discloses wherein the attachment mechanism comprises fastener (e.g. aperture 304, fig. 3 of Schmitz) .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13, and 20-22 are objected to as been dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for allowance, if applicable, will be the subject of a separate communication to the Applicant or patent owner, pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.104 and MPEP § 1302.14.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Suzuki et al. (US 6564916 B1) discloses a frictional engaging device and frictional engagement control method, wherein the phenomenon of the frictional coefficient of the friction surfaces of a friction engagement device being changed when an electric field is applied to the friction surfaces, is utilized to control the transmittal force.
Onuma et al. (US 20220190749 A1) discloses an electrostatic chuck includes a base body having a placement surface on which a suction target object is placed, and an electrode embedded in the base body. The base body is provided with a groove that opens to the placement surface-side and does not reach the electrode.
Conclusion
/F.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/FARHANA PERVIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655