DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Limitation “signal generation condition setting unit” in claim 12.
Limitation “signal generation unit” in claim 12.
Limitation “signal collection unit” in claim 12.
Limitation “frequency analysis unit” in claim 12.
Limitation “signal control unit” in claim 12.
Regarding limitation “signal generation condition setting unit” in claim 12, the corresponding structural disclosure in the specification of present application is recited as: “The term "~ part" or "~- unit" used herein is used as a unit for processing at least one function or operation, and may mean, for example, software, an FPGA, or a hardware component. A function provided by "~ part" or "~ unit" may be distributed and performed by a plurality of components, or may be integrated with any other additional component(s). In the specification, the term "~ part" or "~ unit" is not necessarily limited to software or hardware, and may be configured to reside on an addressable storage medium or to reproduce one or more processors. Hereinafter, an embodiment of the present disclosure will be described in detail with reference to the accompanying drawings” in [0034]. Thus, the above limitation is interpreted as processor or any reasonable equivalent in combination with software or any reasonable equivalent to perform the claimed functions.
Regarding limitation “signal generation unit” in claim 12, the corresponding structural disclosure in the specification of present application is recited as: “The term "~ part" or "~- unit" used herein is used as a unit for processing at least one function or operation, and may mean, for example, software, an FPGA, or a hardware component. A function provided by "~ part" or "~ unit" may be distributed and performed by a plurality of components, or may be integrated with any other additional component(s). In the specification, the term "~ part" or "~ unit" is not necessarily limited to software or hardware, and may be configured to reside on an addressable storage medium or to reproduce one or more processors. Hereinafter, an embodiment of the present disclosure will be described in detail with reference to the accompanying drawings” in [0034]. Thus, the above limitation is interpreted as processor or any reasonable equivalent in combination with software or any reasonable equivalent to perform the claimed functions.
Regarding limitation “signal collection unit” in claim 12, the corresponding structural disclosure in the specification of present application is recited as: “The term "~ part" or "~- unit" used herein is used as a unit for processing at least one function or operation, and may mean, for example, software, an FPGA, or a hardware component. A function provided by "~ part" or "~ unit" may be distributed and performed by a plurality of components, or may be integrated with any other additional component(s). In the specification, the term "~ part" or "~ unit" is not necessarily limited to software or hardware, and may be configured to reside on an addressable storage medium or to reproduce one or more processors. Hereinafter, an embodiment of the present disclosure will be described in detail with reference to the accompanying drawings” in [0034]. Thus, the above limitation is interpreted as processor or any reasonable equivalent in combination with software or any reasonable equivalent to perform the claimed functions.
Regarding limitation “frequency analysis unit” in claim 12, the corresponding structural disclosure in the specification of present application is recited as: “The term "~ part" or "~- unit" used herein is used as a unit for processing at least one function or operation, and may mean, for example, software, an FPGA, or a hardware component. A function provided by "~ part" or "~ unit" may be distributed and performed by a plurality of components, or may be integrated with any other additional component(s). In the specification, the term "~ part" or "~ unit" is not necessarily limited to software or hardware, and may be configured to reside on an addressable storage medium or to reproduce one or more processors. Hereinafter, an embodiment of the present disclosure will be described in detail with reference to the accompanying drawings” in [0034]. Thus, the above limitation is interpreted as processor or any reasonable equivalent in combination with software or any reasonable equivalent to perform the claimed functions.
Regarding limitation “signal control unit” in claim 12, the corresponding structural disclosure in the specification of present application is recited as: “The term "~ part" or "~- unit" used herein is used as a unit for processing at least one function or operation, and may mean, for example, software, an FPGA, or a hardware component. A function provided by "~ part" or "~ unit" may be distributed and performed by a plurality of components, or may be integrated with any other additional component(s). In the specification, the term "~ part" or "~ unit" is not necessarily limited to software or hardware, and may be configured to reside on an addressable storage medium or to reproduce one or more processors. Hereinafter, an embodiment of the present disclosure will be described in detail with reference to the accompanying drawings” in [0034]. Thus, the above limitation is interpreted as processor or any reasonable equivalent in combination with software or any reasonable equivalent to perform the claimed functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites limitation “an output condition” in line 4, then recites “output conditions” in line 13 – 14. It is unclear the “output condition” in line 4 is different from the “output conditions” in line 13 – 14, or one of the “output conditions” in line 13 – 14.
Thus, the above limitation renders claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the “output condition” in line 4 is interpreted as any reasonable output condition.
Claim 2 recites the limitation ""the initial number of stimulus pulses per preset time"" in line 4 – 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites limitation “an output condition” in line 2, then recites “output conditions” in line 12. It is unclear the “output condition” in line 2 is different from the “output conditions” in line 12, or one of the “output conditions” in line 2.
Thus, the above limitation renders claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the “output condition” in line 4 is interpreted as any reasonable output condition.
Therefore, claim 1, 2, 12 and all corresponding dependent claim 3 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konofagou et al. (US 2016/0346526 A1; published on 12/01/2016) (hereinafter "Konofagou") in view of Levy et al. (US 2020/0139158 A1; published on 05/07/20120) (hereinafter "levy").
Regarding claim 1, Konofagou teaches an ultrasonic wave control method of a therapeutic ultrasonication system for blood-brain barrier opening ("Systems and methods for opening a tissue to a target value are disclosed herein. Systems and methods for drug delivery across tissues, e.g., across the blood brain barrier (BBB), are also disclosed herein." [0005]; "The acoustic parameter can be selected to control an acoustic cavitation event." [0009]), which is driven by at least one processor ("Computer 328 typically includes a processor ... A memory unit (not shown), such as a disk drive, flash memory, volatile memory, etc., can be used to store software for positioning and operating the transducer assembly, image data, a user interface software, and any other software which can be loaded onto the CPU." [0064]; this citation applies to all method steps performed by the at least one processor), the method comprising the steps of:
(a) setting, by the at least one processor, an output condition for outputting ultrasound energy ("… determining 120 at least one acoustic parameter corresponding to the target value …" [0047]) to an acoustic cavitation generation material ("The mechanistic event underlying the tissue opening in such examples is the reaction of microbubbles to ultrasonic pulses, which can result in an array of behaviors known as acoustic cavitation." [0049]) injected into an object ("... positioning 140 the microbubbles can include performing an injection of the microbubbles such that the microbubbles are positioned proximate to the targeted region." [0047]);
(b) outputting, by the at least one processor, ultrasound energy corresponding to the output condition to the object ("… and applying 170 an ultrasound beam at the acoustic parameter to the targeted region such that the tissue is opened with the assistance of the microbubbles to the target value." [0047]);
(c) receiving, by the at least one processor, an acoustic signal due to an acoustic cavitation phenomenon of the acoustic cavitation generation material ("The method 200 further includes imaging 210 the opened tissue. In some embodiments, imaging 210 the opened tissue can be the same as the application 170 of an ultrasound beam to open the tissue." [0060]; here the imaging step inherently include the step of receiving ultrasound signal);
wherein the output conditions include a duty cycle ("The acoustic parameter can be a pulse length ..." [0006]; the pulse length is equivalent to duty cycle according to the definition), the number of stimulus pulses per preset time ("... a burst length, a burst repetition frequency ..." [0006]; a burst is a group of pulses, such that the burst length and repetition frequency determines numbers of pulse in unit time), a pulse repetition frequency per preset time ("… a pulse repetition frequency ..." [0006]), and an applied voltage ("… a pressure range ..." [0006]; here the pressure range is a direct result of applied voltage).
Konofagou fails to explicitly teach the steps of (d) analyzing, by the at least one processor, the acoustic signal to determine whether a preset control condition is satisfied; and (e) depending on whether the preset control condition is satisfied, stopping, by the at least one processor, the output of the ultrasound energy or adjusting at least one of output conditions to output the ultrasound energy.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Levy teaches the steps of:
(b) outputting, by the at least one processor ("... the imager 122 and/or the administration system 124 may be controlled by the controller 108 or other separate processor(s)." [0057]; this citation applies to all method steps performed by the at least one processor), ultrasound energy corresponding to the output condition to the object ("In a fourth step 608, the ultrasound transducer array may be activated to apply waves or pulses so as to induce microbubble cavitation near the target BBB region." [0052]; the ultrasound wave is applied with certain output condition);
(c) receiving, by the at least one processor, an acoustic signal due to an acoustic cavitation phenomenon of the acoustic cavitation generation material ("In a fifth step 610, acoustic signals from the microbubbles may be continuously measured (e.g., after delivery of each sonication) …" [0052]);
(d) analyzing, by the at least one processor, the acoustic signal to determine whether a preset control condition is satisfied ("… and compared to the predetermined threshold values of the acoustic response level and/or cumulative acoustic response dose. If the amplitudes of the detected acoustic signals are above the threshold values, the magnitude and/or amount of microbubble cavitation may exceed a safe (i.e., clinically tolerable) level ..." [0052]); and
(e) depending on whether the preset control condition is satisfied, stopping, by the at least one processor, the output of the ultrasound energy ("… therefore, the ultrasound procedure may be suspended until the detected acoustic signal amplitudes fall below the threshold values or after a recovery interval following application of the maximum tolerable dose (in a sixth step 612)." [0052]) or adjusting at least one of output conditions to output the ultrasound energy ("... operation of the transducer elements 104 (such as activation, deactivation or adjustment of the sonication pattern) and/or the administration system 124 is determined based on a tissue response dose." [0050]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ultrasound procedure as taught by Konofagou with acoustic response analysis as taught by Levy. Doing so would make it possible "to reliably detect microbubble cavitation resulting from ultrasound waves and monitor effects of the cavitation on the local tissue in real time so as to avoid permanent damage to the BBB or its surrounding tissue." (see Levy; [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Konofagou in view of Levy teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and Konofagou further teaches wherein the (a) step includes steps of: (a-1) setting an initial center frequency ("For all entries the sonication was for 11 minutes at a center frequency of 1.5 MHz …" [0092]; "Lowering the transmitted center frequency of the ultrasound can result in a decrease of the acoustic pressure threshold." [0044]); and
(a-2), setting at least one of ("… determining 120 at least one acoustic parameter corresponding to the target value …" [0047]) an initial duty cycle ("The acoustic parameter can be a pulse length ..." [0006]; the pulse length is equivalent to duty cycle according to the definition), the initial number of stimulus pulses per preset time ("... a burst length, a burst repetition frequency ..." [0006]; a burst is a group of pulses, such that the burst length and repetition frequency determines numbers of pulse in unit time), and an initial pulse repetition frequency per preset time among the output conditions ("… a pulse repetition frequency ..." [0006]).
Regarding claim 3, Konofagou in view of Levy teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 2, and Konofagou further teaches wherein the (b) step includes: outputting, to the object, the ultrasound energy having at least one of ("… and applying 170 an ultrasound beam at the acoustic parameter to the targeted region such that the tissue is opened with the assistance of the microbubbles to the target value." [0047]) the set initial center frequency ("For all entries the sonication was for 11 minutes at a center frequency of 1.5 MHz …" [0092]; "Lowering the transmitted center frequency of the ultrasound can result in a decrease of the acoustic pressure threshold." [0044]), the set initial duty cycle ("The acoustic parameter can be a pulse length ..." [0006]; the pulse length is equivalent to duty cycle according to the definition), the set initial number of stimulus pulses ("... a burst length, a burst repetition frequency ..." [0006]; a burst is a group of pulses, such that the burst length and repetition frequency determines numbers of pulse in unit time), and the set initial pulse repetition frequency ("… a pulse repetition frequency ..." [0006]), and
wherein the (c) step includes: receiving the acoustic signal from the acoustic cavitation generation material injected into the object ("The method 200 further includes imaging 210 the opened tissue. In some embodiments, imaging 210 the opened tissue can be the same as the application 170 of an ultrasound beam to open the tissue." [0060]; here the imaging step inherently include the step of receiving ultrasound signal).
In addition, Levy further teaches wherein the (c) step includes: receiving the acoustic signal from the acoustic cavitation generation material injected into the object ("In a fifth step 610, acoustic signals from the microbubbles may be continuously measured (e.g., after delivery of each sonication) …" [0052]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ultrasound procedure as taught by Konofagou with acoustic response analysis as taught by Levy. Doing so would make it possible "to reliably detect microbubble cavitation resulting from ultrasound waves and monitor effects of the cavitation on the local tissue in real time so as to avoid permanent damage to the BBB or its surrounding tissue." (see Levy; [0006]).
Regarding claim 4, Konofagou in view of Levy teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and Levy further teaches wherein the (d) step includes steps of:
(d-1) performing a frequency analysis on the acoustic signal ("… This is because each type of the cavitation at each location may have its own spectral “signature” that represents the unique nonlinear response of the microbubbles." [0043]);
(d-2) determining whether a broadband noise is present in the frequency analysis ("Likewise, if inertial cavitation is induced at a high acoustic power (e.g., 10 Watts above the microbubble-generation threshold), the detected signals may include a broadband response." [0043]);
(d-3) analyzing a value of sub-harmonics in the frequency analysis ("...the spectral distribution of the detected signals may include a strong sub-harmonic response (i.e., having more components at the sub-harmonic frequencies and/or having larger amplitudes of the sub-harmonic frequencies)." [0043]); and
(d-4) analyzing the value of the sub-harmonics or the ultra-harmonics to determine whether to reach a preset first threshold value ("If stable cavitation is induced at an intermediate acoustic power (e.g., 5 Watts above the microbubble-generation threshold) … having more components at the sub-harmonic frequencies and/or having larger amplitudes of the sub-harmonic frequencies …" [0043]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ultrasound procedure as taught by Konofagou with acoustic response analysis as taught by Levy. Doing so would make it possible "to reliably detect microbubble cavitation resulting from ultrasound waves and monitor effects of the cavitation on the local tissue in real time so as to avoid permanent damage to the BBB or its surrounding tissue." (see Levy; [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Konofagou in view of Levy teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 4, and Levy further teaches wherein the (e) step includes steps of:
(e-1) stopping the output of the ultrasound energy, when the broadband noise exists ("If the acoustic response level and/or acoustic response dose is at or above the predetermined threshold value, the ultrasound procedure may be suspended to avoid inducing more microbubble cavitation …" [0047]; each signature as defined in [0043] is associated with predetermined threshold values);
(e-2) stopping the output of the ultrasound energy, when the value of the sub- harmonics or the ultra-harmonics reaches the preset first threshold value ("If the acoustic response level and/or acoustic response dose is at or above the predetermined threshold value, the ultrasound procedure may be suspended to avoid inducing more microbubble cavitation …" [0047]; each signature as defined in [0043] is associated with predetermined threshold values); and
(e-3) analyzing a value of harmonics in the frequency analysis, when the broadband noise does not exist and when the value of the sub-harmonics or the ultra-harmonics does not reach the preset first threshold value (the above limitations are contingent limitations in a method claim. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. When analyzing the claimed method as a whole, the PTAB determined that giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, “[i]f the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance recited by the step need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed” Schulhauser at 10. See also MPEP 2111.04).
In addition, Levy is capable of performing the step of (e-3) analyzing a value of harmonics in the frequency analysis ("... the spectral distribution of the detected signals may thus include a frequency that is the same as or a harmonic of that of the incident ultrasound waves (i.e., the fundamental frequency or a base harmonic frequency)." [0043]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ultrasound procedure as taught by Konofagou with acoustic response analysis as taught by Levy. Doing so would make it possible "to reliably detect microbubble cavitation resulting from ultrasound waves and monitor effects of the cavitation on the local tissue in real time so as to avoid permanent damage to the BBB or its surrounding tissue." (see Levy; [0006]).
Regarding claim 6, Konofagou in view of Levy teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 5, and all limitations as recited in claim 6 are contingent limitations which depend on the condition of previous step to be met. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. When analyzing the claimed method as a whole, the PTAB determined that giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, “[i]f the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance recited by the step need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed” Schulhauser at 10. See also MPEP 2111.04.
In addition, Levy is capable of performing the steps of (e-3-1) determining whether the value of the harmonics reaches a preset second threshold value ("the acoustic response of microbubbles may be linear at a relatively low acoustic power (e.g., 1-2 Watts above the microbubble-generation threshold); the spectral distribution of the detected signals may thus include a frequency that is the same as or a harmonic of that of the incident ultrasound waves" [0043]; the presence is a threshold); and
(e-3-2) adjusting sonication patter ("... operation of the transducer elements 104 (such as activation, deactivation or adjustment of the sonication pattern) and/or the administration system 124 is determined based on a tissue response dose." [0050]), when the value of the harmonics does not reach the preset second threshold value ("If the acoustic response level and/or cumulative acoustic response dose are below the respective threshold values, more microbubbles may be generated and/or introduced to increase cavitation events to continue disruption of the target BBB region (in a seventh step 614)." [0053]; see also above citations of signature feature of harmonic).
Further, Konofagou is capable of performing the step of (e-3-2) adjusting at least one of the duty cycle, the number of stimulus pulses per preset time, the pulse repetition frequency per preset time (see detail citations in the rejection of claim 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ultrasound procedure as taught by Konofagou with acoustic response analysis as taught by Levy. Doing so would make it possible "to reliably detect microbubble cavitation resulting from ultrasound waves and monitor effects of the cavitation on the local tissue in real time so as to avoid permanent damage to the BBB or its surrounding tissue." (see Levy; [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, Konofagou in view of Levy teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 6, and all limitations as recited in claim 6 are contingent limitations which depend on the condition of previous step to be met. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. When analyzing the claimed method as a whole, the PTAB determined that giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, “[i]f the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance recited by the step need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed” Schulhauser at 10. See also MPEP 2111.04.
In addition, Konofagou is capable of performing the step of (e -3 -3-1) increasing at least one of the duty cycle, the number of stimulus pulses per preset time, the pulse repetition frequency per preset time (see detail citations in the rejection of claim 1), such that an intensity of the ultrasound energy to be output is increased (this is inherent results of increasing the duty cycle, the number of stimulus pulses per preset time, or the pulse repetition frequency per preset time).
Further, Levy is capable of performing the step of (e-3-1-2) determining whether the sub-harmonics exist or whether the value of the sub-harmonics or the value of the ultra-harmonics reaches a preset third threshold value ("the spectral distribution of the detected signals may include a strong sub-harmonic response (i.e., having more components at the sub-harmonic frequencies and/or having larger amplitudes of the sub-harmonic frequencies)." [0043]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ultrasound procedure as taught by Konofagou with acoustic response analysis as taught by Levy. Doing so would make it possible "to reliably detect microbubble cavitation resulting from ultrasound waves and monitor effects of the cavitation on the local tissue in real time so as to avoid permanent damage to the BBB or its surrounding tissue." (see Levy; [0006]).
Regarding claim 8, Konofagou in view of Levy teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 7, and all limitations as recited in claim 6 are contingent limitations which depend on the condition of previous step to be met. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. When analyzing the claimed method as a whole, the PTAB determined that giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, “[i]f the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance recited by the step need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed” Schulhauser at 10. See also MPEP 2111.04.
In addition, Levy is capable of performing the step of (e-3-1-2-1) adjusting sonication patter ("... operation of the transducer elements 104 (such as activation, deactivation or adjustment of the sonication pattern) and/or the administration system 124 is determined based on a tissue response dose." [0050]), when the sub-harmonics do not exist or when the value of the sub-harmonics does not reach the preset third threshold value ("If the acoustic response level and/or cumulative acoustic response dose are below the respective threshold values, more microbubbles may be generated and/or introduced to increase cavitation events to continue disruption of the target BBB region (in a seventh step 614)." [0053]; see also above citations of signature fature of sub-harmonic); and
(e-3-1-2-2) determining whether a preset treatment time arrives ("... the cumulative acoustic response dose may be an integral of the acoustic response level over a predetermined time period, Δt; the predetermined time period may be the entire sonication procedure or over one or more successive sonication pulses." [0046]; "If the acoustic response level and/or acoustic response dose is at or above the predetermined threshold value ..." [0047]; here the dose is equivalent to predetermined sonication time).
Further, Konofagou is capable of performing the step of (e -3 -3-1) increasing at least one of the duty cycle, the number of stimulus pulses per preset time, the pulse repetition frequency per preset time (see detail citations in the rejection of claim 1), such that an intensity of the ultrasound energy to be output is increased (this is inherent results of increasing the duty cycle, the number of stimulus pulses per preset time, or the pulse repetition frequency per preset time).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ultrasound procedure as taught by Konofagou with acoustic response analysis as taught by Levy. Doing so would make it possible "to reliably detect microbubble cavitation resulting from ultrasound waves and monitor effects of the cavitation on the local tissue in real time so as to avoid permanent damage to the BBB or its surrounding tissue." (see Levy; [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Konofagou in view of Levy teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 8, and all limitations as recited in claim 6 are contingent limitations which depend on the condition of previous step to be met. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. When analyzing the claimed method as a whole, the PTAB determined that giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, “[i]f the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance recited by the step need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed” Schulhauser at 10. See also MPEP 2111.04.
In addition, Levy is capable of performing the step of (e-3-1-2-2-1) stopping the output of the ultrasound energy, when the preset treatment time arrives ("... If the acoustic response level and/or acoustic response dose is at or above the predetermined threshold value, the ultrasound procedure may be suspended to avoid inducing more microbubble cavitation ..." [0047]).
Further, Konofagou is capable of performing the step of (e-3-1-2-2-2) decreasing at least or more of the duty cycle such that the intensity of the ultrasound energy to be output is decreased ("At lower PRPs, the BBB can close relatively faster, and the PRPs used can be below 0.50 MPa." [0171]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ultrasound procedure as taught by Konofagou with acoustic response analysis as taught by Levy. Doing so would make it possible "to reliably detect microbubble cavitation resulting from ultrasound waves and monitor effects of the cavitation on the local tissue in real time so as to avoid permanent damage to the BBB or its surrounding tissue." (see Levy; [0006]).
Regarding claim 10, Konofagou in view of Levy teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 8, and all limitations as recited in claim 6 are contingent limitations which depend on the condition of previous step to be met. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. When analyzing the claimed method as a whole, the PTAB determined that giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, “[i]f the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance recited by the step need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed” Schulhauser at 10. See also MPEP 2111.04.
In addition, Levy is capable of performing the step of (e-3-1-2-2-3) stopping the output of the ultrasound energy, when the preset output time arrives ("... If the acoustic response level and/or acoustic response dose is at or above the predetermined threshold value, the ultrasound procedure may be suspended to avoid inducing more microbubble cavitation ..." [0047]).
Further, Konofagou is capable of performing the step of (e-3-1-2-2-4) decreasing at least or more of the duty cycle such that the intensity of the ultrasound energy to be output is decreased ("At lower PRPs, the BBB can close relatively faster, and the PRPs used can be below 0.50 MPa." [0171]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ultrasound procedure as taught by Konofagou with acoustic response analysis as taught by Levy. Doing so would make it possible "to reliably detect microbubble cavitation resulting from ultrasound waves and monitor effects of the cavitation on the local tissue in real time so as to avoid permanent damage to the BBB or its surrounding tissue." (see Levy; [0006]).
Regarding claim 11, Konofagou in view of Levy teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and Konofagou further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for executing the ultrasonic wave control method ("Computer 328 typically includes a processor ... A memory unit (not shown), such as a disk drive, flash memory, volatile memory, etc., can be used to store software for positioning and operating the transducer assembly, image data, a user interface software, and any other software which can be loaded onto the CPU." [0064]) of the therapeutic ultrasonication system for blood-brain barrier opening of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 over Konofagou in view of Levy).
Regarding claim 12, Konofagou teaches a therapeutic ultrasonication system for blood-brain barrier opening ("Systems and methods for opening a tissue to a target value are disclosed herein. Systems and methods for drug delivery across tissues, e.g., across the blood brain barrier (BBB), are also disclosed herein." [0005]; "The acoustic parameter can be selected to control an acoustic cavitation event." [0009]), comprising:
a signal generation condition setting unit ("Computer 328 typically includes a processor ... A memory unit (not shown), such as a disk drive, flash memory, volatile memory, etc., can be used to store software for positioning and operating the transducer assembly, image data, a user interface software, and any other software which can be loaded onto the CPU." [0064]; this citation applies to all units in later sections) configured to set an output condition ("… determining 120 at least one acoustic parameter corresponding to the target value …" [0047]) for outputting ultrasound energy to an acoustic cavitation generation material ("The mechanistic event underlying the tissue opening in such examples is the reaction of microbubbles to ultrasonic pulses, which can result in an array of behaviors known as acoustic cavitation." [0049]) injected into an object ("... positioning 140 the microbubbles can include performing an injection of the microbubbles such that the microbubbles are positioned proximate to the targeted region." [0047]);
a signal generation unit, wherein the ultrasound energy corresponding to the output condition is output to the object under control of the signal generation unit ("… and applying 170 an ultrasound beam at the acoustic parameter to the targeted region such that the tissue is opened with the assistance of the microbubbles to the target value." [0047]);
a signal collection unit configured to receive an acoustic signal due to an acoustic cavitation phenomenon of the acoustic cavitation generation material ("The method 200 further includes imaging 210 the opened tissue. In some embodiments, imaging 210 the opened tissue can be the same as the application 170 of an ultrasound beam to open the tissue." [0060]; here the imaging step inherently include the step of receiving ultrasound signal);
wherein the output conditions include a duty cycle ("The acoustic parameter can be a pulse length ..." [0006]; the pulse length is equivalent to duty cycle according to the definition), the number of stimulus pulses per preset time ("... a burst length, a burst repetition frequency ..." [0006]; a burst is a group of pulses, such that the burst length and repetition frequency determines numbers of pulse in unit time), a pulse repetition frequency per preset time ("… a pulse repetition frequency ..." [0006]), and an applied voltage ("… a pressure range ..." [0006]; here the pressure range is a direct result of applied voltage).
Konofagou fails to explicitly teach a frequency analysis unit configured to analyze the acoustic signal to determine whether to satisfy a preset control condition; and a signal control unit configured to stop the output of the ultrasound energy or to adjust at least one of output conditions of the ultrasound energy, depending on whether the preset control condition is satisfied.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Levy teaches a signal generation unit ("... the imager 122 and/or the administration system 124 may be controlled by the controller 108 or other separate processor(s)." [0057]; this citation applies to all units in later sections), wherein the ultrasound energy corresponding to the output condition is output to the object under control of the signal generation unit ("In a fourth step 608, the ultrasound transducer array may be activated to apply waves or pulses so as to induce microbubble cavitation near the target BBB region." [0052]; the ultrasound wave is applied with certain output condition);
a signal collection unit configured to receive an acoustic signal due to an acoustic cavitation phenomenon of the acoustic cavitation generation material ("In a fifth step 610, acoustic signals from the microbubbles may be continuously measured (e.g., after delivery of each sonication) …" [0052]);
a frequency analysis unit configured to analyze the acoustic signal to determine whether to satisfy a preset control condition ("… and compared to the predetermined threshold values of the acoustic response level and/or cumulative acoustic response dose. If the amplitudes of the detected acoustic signals are above the threshold values, the magnitude and/or amount of microbubble cavitation may exceed a safe (i.e., clinically tolerable) level ..." [0052]); and
a signal control unit configured to stop the output of the ultrasound energy ("… therefore, the ultrasound procedure may be suspended until the detected acoustic signal amplitudes fall below the threshold values or after a recovery interval following application of the maximum tolerable dose (in a sixth step 612)." [0052]) or to adjust at least one of output conditions of the ultrasound energy, depending on whether the preset control condition is satisfied ("... operation of the transducer elements 104 (such as activation, deactivation or adjustment of the sonication pattern) and/or the administration system 124 is determined based on a tissue response dose." [0050]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ultrasound procedure as taught by Konofagou with acoustic response analysis as taught by Levy. Doing so would make it possible "to reliably detect microbubble cavitation resulting from ultrasound waves and monitor effects of the cavitation on the local tissue in real time so as to avoid permanent damage to the BBB or its surrounding tissue." (see Levy; [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Levy et al. (EP 3645116 B1; published on 07/28/2021) teach a system and method for enhancing the target drug delivery using an ultrasound procedure. A feedback mechanism is provided to adjust ultrasound parameters based on tissue permeability map.
/CHAO SHENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797