DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they recite “computer readable recording medium". Applying the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification and taking into account the meaning of the words in their ordinary usage as they would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP §2111), the claim as a whole covers both transitory and non-transitory media. A transitory medium does not fall into any of the four categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). The examiner advises the applicant to add the term non-transitory to the claim language in order to overcome the 101 issue. Further, if the non-transitory medium performs steps in the claims, there needs to be instructions executable by a processor to perform the steps. The specification appears to use non-transitory when discussing the computer readable recording medium. However, there is no explicit definition of the CRM being non-transitory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: a transmitting step in the body of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2021/0227222) (hereinafter Lee).
In regard to claim 13, claim 13 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored therein a bitstream generated by acts. Significantly, the claimed non-transitory computer readable medium is NOT implementing any actual method; no instructions/steps are being executed. Instead, the claimed storage medium merely stores the data output from and/or generated by a series of acts. In other words, these claims are directed to a mere machine-readable medium storing data content (a bitstream generated by a method).
Applicant therefore seeks to patent the storage of a bitstream in the abstract. In other words, the claim seeks to patent the content of the information (bitstream comprising video information) and not the process itself. Moreover, this stored bitstream does not impose any definitive physical organization on the data as there is no functional relationship between the bitstream and the storage medium. In conclusion, claim 13 and any claims depending therefrom are directed to mere data content (bitstream generated by a series of acts) stored as a bitstream on a computer-readable storage medium. Under MPEP 2111.05(III), such claims are merely machine-readable media. Furthermore, the Examiner found and continues to find that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between the stored data and medium. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored. Therefore, the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 applying In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994) and In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004). As such, this claim is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application. Therefore, claim 13 is anticipated by Lee, as Lee discloses a computer readable medium storing a coded bitstream. Lee discloses:
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein a bitstream comprising video information generated by acts [¶0024; computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream generated by a video coding method] comprising:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen US 20230345023 in view of Lee US 20220312010.
Regarding claim 1, Chen disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
A method of decoding an image performed by an image decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
acquiring geometric partitioning mode (GPM) information on the basis of application of a GPM to a current block (i.e. GPM indicated using index. Information decoded from a bitstream) [69-70,168-169; fig. 4a,b,11];
determining at least one of a partition shape of the GPM and a blending area on the basis of the acquired GPM information (i.e. partition edge signaled using angle index and GPM index. Blending area determined using the partition edge.) [77-79,91,150; fig. 6];
refining at least one of the the blending area on the basis of template matching (TM) (i.e. TM applied to GPM to refine motion. Blending area can be changed. Adaptive blending with TM can be applied.) [89-92,109,152,156-159; fig. 8a,b]; and
generating a prediction block for the current block by executing the GPM on the current block on the basis of the refined partition shape or the refined blending area (i.e reconstruct samples within blending area) [182; fig. 11].
Chen do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
refining at least one of the partition shape and the blending area on the basis of template matching (TM); and
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
refining at least one of the partition shape and the blending area on the basis of template matching (TM) (i.e. partition edge refined using templates) [125-139; fig. 18]; and
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Chen with Lee to have refining at least one of the partition shape and the blending area on the basis of template matching (TM).
It would be advantageous because "For example, larger block partitions may be used in areas of a picture with higher levels of homogeneity to improve coding efficiency.” [65].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Chen with Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Chen meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, selecting one of the partition shape candidates on the basis of TM costs (i.e. TM applied to GPM to refine motion. Blending area can be changed. Adaptive blending with TM can be applied.) [89-92,109,152,156-159; fig. 8a,b]; and
Chen do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein the refining of the partition shape comprises: deriving one or more partition shape candidates;
refining the partition shape on the basis of the selected partition shape candidate.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein the refining of the partition shape comprises: deriving one or more partition shape candidates (i.e. candidate edges 1814 used and are based on reference samples and used to refine partition shape) [130,136; fig. 19];
refining the partition shape on the basis of the selected partition shape candidate (i.e. candidate edges 1814 used and are based on reference samples and used to refine partition shape) [130,136; fig. 19].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Chen with Lee to have wherein the refining of the partition shape comprises: deriving one or more partition shape candidates;
refining the partition shape on the basis of the selected partition shape candidate.
It would be advantageous because "For example, larger block partitions may be used in areas of a picture with higher levels of homogeneity to improve coding efficiency.” [65].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Chen with Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Chen meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 2, wherein the partition shape candidate includes at least one of a partition direction candidate and a distance candidate (i.e. candidate direction (4a) and distance (4b)) [5; fig. 4a,b].
Regarding claim 4, Chen meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the refining of the blending area comprises: deriving one or more blending area candidates (i.e. width candidate) [109]; selecting one of the blending area candidates on the basis of TM costs (i.e. width candidates used in adaptive blending processing with TM) [109]; and refining the blending area on the basis of the selected blending area candidate (i.e. candidates reordered and reconstructed using the adaptive blending process) [109-111].
Regarding claim 5, Chen meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 4, wherein the blending area candidates are derived by adding or subtracting a certain size to or from a signaled blending area of the current block (i.e. width candidates are added and subtracted from the partition edge line) [79; fig. 4c].
Regarding claim 6, Chen meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein both sides of the blending area have different sizes on the basis of a partitioning boundary of the GPM (i.e. unless idx0 is chosen, one of the areas of the blending area would be different sizes) [fig. 4b,c].
Regarding claim 7, Chen meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 6, wherein the GPM information includes information on the sizes of both sides (i.e. candidate width (information) applies to both sides) [fig. 4b,c].
Regarding claim 9, Chen meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 4, wherein the determining of the blending area comprises: reordering the blending area candidates on the basis of TM; and selecting one of the reordered blending area candidates (i.e. candidates reordered and reconstructed using the adaptive blending process) [109-111].
Claim 12 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1. This is the encoder of claim 1. Corresponding encoder disclosed in [fig. 3,10]
Claim 13 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1.
Claim 14 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Lee in view of JVET doc (JVET-AB1000 cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 10, Chen and Lee do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein the GPM is a spatial GPM (SGPM).
However, in the same field of endeavor JVET discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein the GPM is a spatial GPM (SGPM) [p147-149].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Chen and Lee with JVET to have the GPM is a spatial GPM.
It would be advantageous because spatial GPM would be useful in situations where there is a shape to match with the partition to enable efficient compression.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Chen and Lee with JVET to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, JVET meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, further comprising generating an intra prediction mode (IPM) list to derive an IPM of the current block, wherein IPM candidates included in the IPM list are derived on the basis of the partition shape of the GPM [p147-149].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/Jared Walker/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426