Claim Objections
Claim 12, line 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “A combustor” should be - -The combustor- -Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13, line 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a combustion gas” should be - -the combustion gas- -Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizukami et al (US 20170108221), hereafter Mizukami ‘221 (These rejections use a first interpretation of Mizukami ‘221. Dependent claims use this first interpretation unless otherwise stated).
Regarding claim 1, Mizukami ‘221 discloses a tubular body (Figure 2; 12 using the embodiment of Figure 18 which covers 33A and the components below. Paragraph 0180, 0181) for a combustor (Figure 2; 2), in which a combustion gas (The combustion gas of Paragraph 0069) generated by combustion of fuel (The fuel of Paragraph 0069) is flowable, the tubular body comprising:
a tube body (The body of Figure 2; 12) extending along an axis (The central axis of Figure 2; 12);
a first cooling passage (Figure 4; 22) that is formed in an upstream-side region (Figure 4; 21A) located on an upstream side (The upstream side of Figure 2; 12) of the tube body in a wall portion (The wall defining the body of Figure 2; 12) of the tube body, that has a supply port (Figure 4; 25A) that is open to an outer peripheral surface (The outer peripheral surface of Figure 4; 12) of the tube body, and that is capable of cooling the upstream-side region by receiving a first cooling fluid (The cooling fluid into Figure 4; 25A) introduced from a space (Figure 2; 10A) outside the tube body through the supply port;
a second cooling passage (Figure 4; 23) that is formed in a downstream-side region (Figure 4; 21B) located on a downstream side (The downstream side of Figure 2; 12) of the tube body with respect to the upstream-side region in the wall portion, that is capable of cooling the downstream-side region by receiving supply of a second cooling fluid (The fluid into Figure 4; 23) different from the first cooling fluid, and that has a discharge port (Figure 4; 27) that is open to the outer peripheral surface at a position (The position of Figure 4; 27 is different from 25A) different from the supply port along the axis and through which the second cooling fluid is dischargeable to the space outside the tube body; and
a first wall (Figure 4; 31) that is disposed between the supply port and the discharge port and that extends in a circumferential direction (The circumferential direction of the tube body) of the tube body along the outer peripheral surface,
wherein the first wall includes a first wall portion (The bottom of Figure 4; 31) that has a base end portion (The bottom of Figure 4; 31) connected to the outer peripheral surface and extending in a direction away (The up direction in Figure 4) from the outer peripheral surface and that extends in the circumferential direction, and a first discontinuous portion (A circumferential gap between adjacent Figure 4; 31 of 35) in which the first wall portion is discontinuous in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 6, Mizukami ‘221 discloses the invention as claimed.
Mizukami ‘221 further discloses a second wall (Figure 4; 32) that is disposed on a side (The side opposite the first wall) opposite to the first wall across the supply port along the axis and that extends in the circumferential direction along the outer peripheral surface,
wherein the second wall includes a second wall portion (The bottom of Figure 4; 32) that has a base end portion (The bottom of Figure 4; 32) connected to the outer peripheral surface and extending in the direction away from the outer peripheral surface and that extends in the circumferential direction, and a second discontinuous portion (The circumferential gaps between adjacent Figure 4; 32 of 35) in which the second wall portion is discontinuous in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 7, Mizukami ‘221 discloses the invention as claimed.
Mizukami ‘221 further discloses a top plate (Figure 18; 39) that is connected to a distal end portion (The top end of the first wall in Figure 4) of the first wall portion on a side (The side opposite the base end portion of the first wall) opposite to the base end portion and to a distal end portion (The top end of the second wall in Figure 4) of the second wall portion on a side (The side opposite the base end portion of the second wall) opposite to the base end portion and that partially covers a space (The space outside the tube body between the first and second wall portion, Paragraph 0173) outside the tube body that is interposed between the first wall portion and the second wall portion.
Regarding claim 12, Mizukami ‘221 discloses the invention as claimed.
Mizukami ‘221 further discloses the combustor comprising:
the tubular body for a combustor according to Claim 1; and
a burner (Figure 2; 15, 16) that injects fuel (Paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 13, Mizukami ‘221 discloses the invention as claimed.
Mizukami ‘221 further discloses a gas turbine (Figure 1) comprising:
the combustor according to Claim 12;
a compressor (Figure 1; 1) that generates compressed air to be delivered to the combustor (Paragraph 0068-0070); and
a turbine (Figure 1; 3) including a rotor (The portion of Figure 1; 4 in 3) that rotates by means of the combustion gas delivered from the combustor (Paragraph 0068-0070).
Claim(s) 1, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizukami et al (US 20170108221), hereafter referred to as Mizukami ‘221 (These rejections use a second interpretation of Mizukami ‘221).
Regarding claim 1, Mizukami ‘221 discloses a tubular body (Figure 2; 12 using Figure 24 and the components below) for a combustor (Figure 2; 2), in which a combustion gas (The combustion gas of Paragraph 0069) generated by combustion of fuel (The fuel of Paragraph 0069) is flowable, the tubular body comprising:
a tube body (The body of Figure 2; 12) extending along an axis (The central axis of Figure 2; 12);
a first cooling passage (Figure 4; 22) that is formed in an upstream-side region (Figure 4; 21A) located on an upstream side (The upstream side of Figure 2; 12) of the tube body in a wall portion (The wall defining the body of Figure 2; 12) of the tube body, that has a supply port (Figure 4; 25A) that is open to an outer peripheral surface (The outer peripheral surface of Figure 4; 12) of the tube body, and that is capable of cooling the upstream-side region by receiving a first cooling fluid (The cooling fluid into Figure 4; 25A) introduced from a space (Figure 2; 10A) outside the tube body through the supply port;
a second cooling passage (Figure 4; 23) that is formed in a downstream-side region (Figure 4; 21B) located on a downstream side (The downstream side of Figure 2; 12) of the tube body with respect to the upstream-side region in the wall portion, that is capable of cooling the downstream-side region by receiving supply of a second cooling fluid (The fluid into Figure 4; 23) different from the first cooling fluid, and that has a discharge port (Figure 4; 27) that is open to the outer peripheral surface at a position (The position of Figure 4; 27 is different from 25A) different from the supply port along the axis and through which the second cooling fluid is dischargeable to the space outside the tube body; and
a first wall (Figure 24; 31) that is disposed between the supply port and the discharge port and that extends in a circumferential direction (The circumferential direction of the tube body) of the tube body along the outer peripheral surface,
wherein the first wall includes a first wall portion (The bottom of Figure 24; 31) that has a base end portion (The bottom of Figure 24; 31) connected to the outer peripheral surface and extending in a direction away (The up direction in Figure 24) from the outer peripheral surface and that extends in the circumferential direction, and a first discontinuous portion (A circumferential gap between adjacent Figure 24; 31) in which the first wall portion is discontinuous in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 6, Mizukami ‘221 discloses the invention as claimed.
Mizukami ‘221 further discloses a second wall (Figure 24; 32) that is disposed on a side (The side opposite the first wall) opposite to the first wall across the supply port along the axis and that extends in the circumferential direction along the outer peripheral surface,
wherein the second wall includes a second wall portion (The bottom of Figure 24; 32) that has a base end portion (The bottom of Figure 24; 32) connected to the outer peripheral surface and extending in the direction away from the outer peripheral surface and that extends in the circumferential direction, and a second discontinuous portion (The circumferential gaps between adjacent Figure 24; 32) in which the second wall portion is discontinuous in the circumferential direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizukami ‘221 in view of Mizukami et al (US 20170254267), hereafter Mizukami ‘267.
Annotated Figure 12 of Mizukami ‘267
Regarding claim 2, Mizukami ‘221 discloses the invention as claimed.
Mizukami ‘221 does not disclose a first cover member that is disposed to cover at least a part of the first discontinuous portion in the circumferential direction when viewed along the axis.
However, Mizukami ‘267 teaches a first cover member (A portion of Figure 12; 50e2 covering the right half of Annotated Figure 12; labeled 53) that is disposed to cover at least a part of a first discontinuous portion (The spaces between circumferentially adjacent right halves of Annotated Figure 12; labeled 53. Paragraph 0060 states a plurality of branching portions in the peripheral direction which is the circumferential direction) in a circumferential direction (The circumferential direction with respect to Figure 3; Z) when viewed along an axis (Figure 3; Z).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mizukami ‘221 to include a first cover member that is disposed to cover at least a part of the first discontinuous portion in the circumferential direction when viewed along the axis as taught by and suggested by Mizukami ‘267 in order to reduce the quantity of heat conducted (Paragraph 0083, the modification adds Figure 12; 50e2 of Mizukami ‘267 to Mizukami ‘221).
Regarding claim 4, Mizukami ‘221 discloses the invention as claimed.
Mizukami ‘221 further discloses a dimension (The circumferential distance of the circumferential gap between adjacent Figure 4; 31 of 35) of the first discontinuous portion in the circumferential direction.
Mizukami ‘221 does not disclose wherein a dimension of the first cover member in the circumferential direction is larger than a dimension of the first discontinuous portion in the circumferential direction.
However, Mizukami ‘267 teaches wherein a dimension (Paragraph 0043 states the jacket can be from 0 degrees to 360 degrees, so that it covers the entire circumference) of the first cover member in the circumferential direction covers an entire circumference (Paragraph 0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mizukami ‘221 wherein a dimension of the first cover member in the circumferential direction covers an entire circumference (In the context of Mizukami ‘221, the dimension of the first cover of Mizukami ‘267 is larger than the dimension of the first discontinuous portion of Mizukami ‘221 because the dimension of the first cover of Mizukami ‘267 is equal to the circumference while the dimension of the first discontinuous of Mizukami ‘221 is less than the circumference) as taught by and suggested by Mizukami ‘267 in order to reduce the quantity of heat conducted (Paragraph 0083, this is the same modification as claim 2).
Regarding claim 8, Mizukami ‘221 discloses the invention as claimed.
Mizukami ‘221 does not disclose a second cover member that is disposed to cover at least a part of the second discontinuous portion in the circumferential direction when viewed along the axis.
However, Mizukami ‘267 teaches a second cover member (A portion of Figure 12; 50e2 covering the left half of Annotated Figure 12; labeled 53) that is disposed to cover at least a part of the second discontinuous portion (The spaces between circumferentially adjacent left halves of Annotated Figure 12; labeled 53. Paragraph 0060 states a plurality of branching portions in the peripheral direction which is the circumferential direction) in a circumferential direction (The circumferential direction with respect to Figure 3; Z) when viewed along an axis (Figure 3; Z).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mizukami ‘221 to include a second cover member that is disposed to cover at least a part of the second discontinuous portion in the circumferential direction when viewed along the axis as taught by and suggested by Mizukami ‘267 in order to reduce the quantity of heat conducted (Paragraph 0083, the modification adds Figure 12; 50e2 of Mizukami ‘267 to Mizukami ‘221).
Regarding claim 10, Mizukami ‘221 discloses the invention as claimed.
Mizukami ‘221 further discloses a dimension (The circumferential distance of the circumferential gap between adjacent Figure 4; 32 of 35) of the second discontinuous portion in the circumferential direction.
Mizukami ‘221 does not disclose wherein a dimension of the second cover member in the circumferential direction is larger than a dimension of the second discontinuous portion in the circumferential direction.
However, Mizukami ‘267 teaches wherein a dimension (Paragraph 0043 states the jacket can be from 0 degrees to 360 degrees, so that it covers the entire circumference) of the second cover member in the circumferential direction covers an entire circumference (Paragraph 0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mizukami ‘221 wherein a dimension of the second cover member in the circumferential direction covers an entire circumference (In the context of Mizukami ‘221, the dimension of the second cover of Mizukami ‘267 is larger than the dimension of the second discontinuous portion of Mizukami ‘221 because the dimension of the second cover of Mizukami ‘267 is equal to the circumference while the dimension of the second discontinuous of Mizukami ‘221 is less than the circumference) as taught by and suggested by Mizukami ‘267 in order to reduce the quantity of heat conducted (Paragraph 0083, this is the same modification as claim 2).
Claim(s) 5, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizukami ‘221 in view of Kishida et al (US 20150204543) (These rejections use the second interpretation of Mizukami ‘221).
Regarding claim 5, Mizukami ‘221 discloses the invention as claimed.
Mizukami ‘221 does not disclose wherein the tube body has a welding portion extending along the axis in at least one or more locations in the circumferential direction, and
a position of the first discontinuous portion in the circumferential direction overlaps a position of the welding portion in the circumferential direction.
However, Kishida teaches wherein a tube body (The body of Figure 1; 12) has a welding portion (Figure 1; 16) extending along an axis (The central axis of Figure 1; 12) in at least one or more locations (The location of Figure 1; 15 in a circumferential direction with respect to Figure 1; 12) in a circumferential direction, and
a position of a first discontinuous portion (The position of the gap between Figure 1; 15) in the circumferential direction overlaps a position (The position of Figure 1; 16) of the welding portion in the circumferential direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mizukami ‘221 wherein the tube body has a welding portion extending along the axis in at least one or more locations in the circumferential direction, and a position of the first discontinuous portion in the circumferential direction overlaps a position of the welding portion in the circumferential direction as taught by and suggested by Kishida in order to promote heat release into the casing interior space (Paragraph 0047, the modification adds a weld line as described by Kishida).
Regarding claim 11, Mizukami ‘221 discloses the invention as claimed.
Mizukami ‘221 does not disclose wherein the tube body has a welding portion extending along the axis in at least one or more locations in the circumferential direction, and
a position of the second discontinuous portion in the circumferential direction overlaps a position of the welding portion in the circumferential direction.
However, Kishida teaches wherein a tube body (The body of Figure 1; 12) has a welding portion (Figure 1; 16) extending along an axis (The central axis of Figure 1; 12) in at least one or more locations (The location of Figure 1; 15 in a circumferential direction with respect to Figure 1; 12) in a circumferential direction, and
a position of the second discontinuous portion (The position of the gap between Figure 1; 15) in the circumferential direction overlaps a position (The position of Figure 1; 16) of the welding portion in the circumferential direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mizukami ‘221 wherein the tube body has a welding portion extending along the axis in at least one or more locations in the circumferential direction, and a position of the second discontinuous portion in the circumferential direction overlaps a position of the welding portion in the circumferential direction as taught by and suggested by Kishida in order to promote heat release into the casing interior space (Paragraph 0047, the modification adds a weld line as described by Kishida).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDWIN KANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741