DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicants are reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. For example, in line 1, “The present invention relates to” should be deleted. In line 3, “of the present invention” should be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2010-0010176 A to Tong in view JP 2020-187621 A to Mitsubishi.
Regarding claim 1, Tong discloses a pressure reducing valve comprising: a valve body 120 providing an inlet 210 for introduction of water, an outlet 122 for discharge of water, a drain port 181, or overpressure discharge outlet, for draining water to the outside, and a communication passage 123, or water inlet flow path, for providing a passage for water introduced through the inlet 210 to flow to the outlet 122 or the drain port 181; a plunger 100, or electronic valve, that operates to be placed in a discharge state in which water introduced through the inlet 210 is allowed to flow to the outlet 122 or a blocking state in which water introduced through the inlet 210 is blocked from flowing to the outlet 122; an operating rod 130, or main spool, that selectively comes into close contact with the communication passage 123 to selectively allow communication between the inlet 210 and the outlet 122; and a overpressure valve 140 operating inside the rod 130 according to the pressure of water introduced from the inlet 210 so as to selectively communicate the inlet 210 with the port 181, wherein when the plunger 100 is placed in the discharge state, the overpressure valve 140 is placed in a normal open state in which water is blocked from flowing to the drain port 181 and allowed to flow to the outlet 122, or in a safe operating state in which water is allowed to flow to the drain port 181 and the outlet 122 (figs. 1-5; [0018-0035]). Tong does not disclose a sub-diaphragm which selectively comes into close contact with the operating rod depending on the pressure of water introduced through the inlet. Mitsubishi teaches a diaphragm 33 that selectively is brough into close contact with a second valve body 43 in order to selectively communicate an inlet 230 and drain 250 as the water pressure on outlet pipe 24 becomes higher than the desired pressure ([0053-0058]; figs. 4-5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tong as taught by Mitsubishi such that an inlet pipe and drain cooperatively communicate as water pressure fluctuates on an outlet for the purpose of providing a safe operating state for water flow.
Tong:
Mitsubishi:
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Tong does not disclose the sub-diaphragm in the normal open state when the pressure of water introduced through the inlet is equal to or less than a predetermined pressure and the water introduced through the inlet is allowed to flow to the outlet, and is in the safe operating state when the pressure of water introduced through the inlet is greater than the predetermined pressure and the water introduced through the inlet is allowed to flow to the outlet and wherein in the safe operating state, the sub- diaphragm is moved to form a gap between the operating rod and the sub-diaphragm so that water is drained through the drain port. Mitsubishi teaches the water pressure on the outlet pipe 24 side becomes higher than the desired pressure, the diaphragm 33, a second valve seat 41, second valve body 43 move in the direction toward a stopper 45, wherein a valve shaft 42 of body 43 comes into contact with stopper 45, the movement of the body 43 is restricted so as to generate a gap between the seat 41 and body 43, thereby opening a relief valve 40 ([0058]; figs. 4-5). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art for water introduced through the inlet is equal to or less than a predetermined pressure and water introduced through the inlet is greater than the predetermined pressure according to an operating state because Applicant has not disclosed that the water introduced through the inlet is equal to or less than a predetermined pressure and the water introduced through the inlet is greater than the predetermined pressure provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Tong’s device modified by Mitsubishi, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either pressure level taught by Mitsubishi or the claimed invention because both pressures would perform the same function of properly and safely regulating the flow of water. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Tong in view of Mitsubishi to obtain the invention as specified because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Nash. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding Claim 5, Tong discloses a first elastic member 170, or main spool spring, that applies elastic force to the operating rod 130 between valve covers 180 such that in the blocking state, the operating rod 130 is firmly seated on body 120 (i.e., pressed against the communication passage to block the communication between the inlet and the outlet; [0031]; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Tong does not disclose a second elastic member that applies elastic force to the sub-diaphragm such that in the blocking state or the normal open state, the sub-diaphragm is pressed against the operating rod to block the communication between the inlet and the drain port. Instead, Mitsubishi teaches a small spring 44 or, a second elastic member, which brings the second valve body 43 into close contact with the valve seat 41 ([0056]; figs. 4-5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tong as taught by Mitsubishi such that an inlet pipe and drain cooperatively communicate as water pressure fluctuates on an outlet for the purpose of providing a safe operating state for water flow.
Regarding claim 8, Tong does not disclose the sub-diaphragm includes an elastically deformable material. Mitsubishi teaches diaphragm 33 is formed of a thin metal plate so as to be elastically deformable ([0047]; figs. 4-5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tong as taught by Mitsubishi such that the deformable material enables a plunger to move freely as the elasticity absorbs pressure fluctuations, compensates for wear, misalignments and a deformable material is a reliable seal against a seat, all for the purpose of providing a safe operating state for water flow.
Regarding claim 9, Tong further discloses overpressure valve cap 160 fitted and fixed for integration with main spool 130, or operating rod, is provided with an overpressure discharge passage 161 through which water flows, and when a fluid exceeding a set pressure flows into valve body 120, and the overpressure valve 140 operates in the direction corresponding to overpressure valve cap 160, discharge passage 161 guides the water to be drained through the overpressure outlet 181, or drain port ([00030-0031,0035];fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Tong does not disclose the pressure of water introduced through the inlet is in a range of 0.5 kg/cm2 to 8.0 kg/cm2, the sub-diaphragm is placed in the safe operating state when the plunger is placed in the discharge state. Instead, Tong indicates the electronic valve 100, or plunger operates with an external signal so that the fluid flows, and it’s at this time, when a fluid exceeding a set pressure flow into the valve body 120, the overpressure valve 140 overcomes the elastic force of an overpressure valve spring 150 and operates such that the fluid is discharge through the overpressure outlet 181, or drain port ([0030-0035]; fig. 5). Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Tong such that the water pressure through an inlet is in a range of 0.5 kg/cm2 to 8.0 kg/cm2 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over Tong.
Regarding claim 11, Tong further discloses plunger 100, or electronic valve operates in accordance with an external signal so that the fluid flows, and it’s at this time, the operating rod 130, or main spool elastically moves by the elastic force of the main spool spring 170 according to the pressure of the fluid introduced into a water faucet, and the rod 130 moves to a stop surface 183 of the valve covers 180 when a fluid exceeding a set pressure flow into the body 120 ([0033-0035]; i.e., the distance between the positions of the operating rod in the blocking state vs. safe operating state is greater than a distance between the positions of the operating rod in the blocking state vs. normal open state (figs. 3, 5)).
Regarding claims 12-13, Tong does not disclose a distance between a position of the sub-diaphragm in the blocking state and a position of the sub-diaphragm in the safe operating state is greater than a distance between a position of the operating rod in the blocking state and a position of the operating rod in the normal open state; nor does Tong disclose a relative movement distance between the sub-diaphragm and the operating rod when the blocking state is switched to the normal open state is smaller than a relative movement distance between the sub- diaphragm and the operating rod when the blocking state is switched to the safe operating state. Instead, Mitsubishi teaches when the water pressure on the outlet pipe 24 side becomes higher than the desired pressure, the diaphragm 33, a second valve seat 41, and a second valve body 43 move in the direction toward a stopper 45, wherein when a valve shaft 42 of the body 43 comes into contact with the stopper 45, the movement of the body 43 is restricted so as to generate a gap between the second valve seat 41 and the body 43 ([0058]; figs. 4-5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tong as taught by Mitsubishi such that the positions of the sub-diaphragm relative to the blocking state, safe operating state and normal state are aligned at appropriate distances for the purpose of providing a safe operating state for water flow.
Regarding claim 14, Tong discloses a bidet the pressure reducing valve and a nozzle through which fluid flow via an outlet pipe 122 of the pressure reducing valve [0002, 0018-0035] and discharging water toward a user.
Regarding claim 15, Tong discloses a pressure reducing valve and a water purifier [0002] for filtering water supplied from the pressure reducing valve to provide purified water. Tong does not teach filters. Instead, Tong indicates a water purifier [0002], wherein said water purifier provides for filtering water supplied from the pressure reducing valve to provide purified water ([0018-0035]; figs.1-5); thus, the water purifier is a functional equivalent. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the filter with a water purifier as taught by Tong, wherein doing so would merely be substituting equivalents known for the same purpose. An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. See MPEP 2144.06.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong and Mitsubishi as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of KR 10-2019-0092660 to Izen.
Regarding Claim 3, Tong modified by Mitsubishi, Tong discloses a main diaphragm 110 which is operated by electronic valve 100, or plunger so as to selectively open and close the flow path of the used fluid ([0023]; figs. 2-3). Tong does not disclose main diaphragm interposed between the plunger and the operating rod to regulate a flow rate of water flowing through the communication passage, wherein the main diaphragm is in close contact with the plunger in the blocking state and is separated from the plunger in the discharge state. Izen teaches a plunger 300 ascends and descends by a certain length, and in a descending return state, the lower end of the plunger 300 seals the upper end of a discharge guide hole 220 of upper diaphragm 200 ([0045]; figs 5a-5b). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tong as taught by Izen such that the main diaphragm proximity to the plunger and the operating rod is crucial in order to regulate the flow rate.
Regarding Claim 4, Tong modified by Mitsubishi does not disclose the main diaphragm includes an elastically deformable material. Izen teaches the central portion of upper diaphragm 200 is moved by a predetermined distance in the vertical direction via pressure of an upper chamber 131 ([0041]; figs. 5a-5c). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tong as taught by Izen such that the deformable material enables a diaphragm to move freely as the elasticity absorbs pressure fluctuations, compensates for wear, misalignments and a deformable material is a reliable seal against a seat, all for the purpose of providing a safe operating state for water flow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see USPTO Form 892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LORI BAKER whose telephone number is (571)272-4971. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday: 9 am - 6 pm CST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/LORI L BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754